DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (i.e., claims 1-12) in the reply filed on 9/29/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bian (US 20230314730).
Regarding claim 1, Bian teaches an optical system, comprising: a substrate 14/16 (e.g., figs. 6, 6A); a waveguide 20 disposed on the substrate (e.g., figs. 6, 6A); an optical fiber 70 (e.g., ¶ 0038) optically coupled to the waveguide 20 (e.g., figs. 5-6A); and an optical coupling device 48/50/52/28/30/19/18 extending between the optical fiber 70 and the waveguide 20 (e.g., figs. 5-6A), wherein the optical coupling device comprises a dielectric layer 24/25/26/44/46/66 disposed on the substrate 14/16, a tapered structure 19/18 (e.g., fig. 1) disposed in the dielectric layer 24/25/26/44/46/66, and a multi-tip nitride structure 48/50/52/28/30 disposed above the tapered structure 19/18 in the dielectric layer 24/25/26/44/46/66 (e.g., figs.1, 3-6A; ¶s 0031, 0036).
Regarding claim 2, Bian teaches wherein the multi-tip nitride structure 48/50/52/28/30 comprises a two-dimensional array of nitride structures disposed in the dielectric layer 24/25/26/44/46/66.
Regarding claim 3, Bian teaches wherein the multi-tip nitride structure comprises a two-dimensional array of nitride structures, and wherein a number of the nitride structures in a first row of the two-dimensional array is less than a number of the nitride structures in a second row of the two-dimensional array (e.g., fig. 6; the 1st row comprises elements 28 30; the 2nd row comprises elements 48 50 52).
Regarding claim 4, Bian teaches wherein the multi-tip nitride structure comprises a two-dimensional array of nitride structures (e.g., fig. 6), and wherein dimensions of the nitride structures in a first column of the two-dimensional array are greater than dimensions of the nitride structures in a second column of the two-dimensional array (e.g., fig. 6; rotating fig. 6 90 degrees clockwise about a central axis going into the page, the far right/1st column will contain elements 48 50 52 which have larger dimensions than elements 28 30 contained in the 2nd column).
Regarding claim 5, Bian teaches wherein dimensions of adjacent tips in the multi- tip nitride structure are different from each other (e.g., at least as shown in fig. 5 the dimensions of tip 50 is shown as different than either tip 48 or tip 52).
Regarding claim 6, Bian teaches wherein a first tip of the multi-tip nitride structure overlapping the tapered structure is wider than a second tip of the multi-tip nitride structure that is non-overlapping with the tapered structure (e.g., as a non-limiting example, as shown in fig. 6, tip 50 overlaps a tapering portion of core 12; moreover, fig. 5 shows that element 50 has a wider portion than element 48 along a vertical line drawn through fig. 5 along the two facing arrows that point out a width of element 48).
Regarding claim 7, Bian teaches wherein the tapered structure 19/18 comprises a semiconductor material (e.g., ¶ 0025; Silicon Nitride is a semiconductor material).
Regarding claim 8, Bian teaches wherein the multi-tip nitride structure overlaps the tapered structure (e.g., figs. 6, 6A).
Regarding claim 10, Bian teaches wherein the multi-tip nitride structure comprises an array of nitride structures having silicon nitride material (e.g., figs.1, 3-6A; ¶s 0031, 0036).
Regarding claim 12, Bian teaches wherein a base of the tapered structure is substantially aligned with a base of the multi-tip nitride structure (e.g., fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (US 20230314730).
Regarding claim 11, Bian teaches the system of claim 1 (see above 102 rejection). Furthermore, Bian teaches the waveguide core may be Si at ¶ 0025. Also, Bian ¶ 0031 teaches elements 28 30 may be Si nitride. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the index transitions as stated in claim 11 at least for the purpose of promoting efficient optical coupling (this takes into account that the typical OF core has a refractive index {RI} of about 1.45).
Thus claim 11 is rejected.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (US 20230314730) as applied to claim 1 above with obviousness evidenced by {OEB} Painchaud et al. (US 20190384003; “Painchaud”).
Regarding claim 9, Bian does not expressly teach the multi-tip nitride structure comprises an array of tips that are in contact with the optical fiber {OF}.
However, it was well-known for an optical fiber to contact an array of tips of an edge coupler at least as evidenced by Painchaud (e.g., Painchaud fig. 3). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the multi-tip nitride structure comprises an array of tips that are in contact with the OF at least for the purpose efficient optical coupling.
Thus claim 9 is rejected.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL P MOONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874