DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: tissue retaining structures of claim 39 which are disclosed as barbs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23, 34, and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0268375 (Cichocki, Jr. ‘375) in view of US 2,240330 (Flagg) and further in view of US 2009/0209980 (Harris).
23. Cichocki, Jr. ‘375 disclose a method of suturing tissues (P0001), the method comprising:
(a) providing a suturing needle (needle 300), the suturing needle comprising: a needle tip portion having a needle tip (sharpened tip 312) at a distal end for piercing tissue (FIG. 13A; P0140); a needle body having a distal end connected to a proximal end of the needle tip portion (FIG. 13A; P0140); a flexible portion (see annotated FIG. 13A where the portion is “flexible” at P0008 and P0111) having a distal end connected to a proximal end of the needle body; a thread attachment component (post 314) having a distal end connected to a proximal end of the flexible portion (FIG. 13A); a suture thread (suture 350) attached to a proximal end of the thread attachment component (attachment post 314); and a tapered ramp (see annotated FIG. 13A where the connector 330 is “tapered” at least because it included rounded end 144) extending from the proximal end of the flexible portion and covering the thread attachment component and at least a portion of the suture thread (FIG. 13B; P0143-P0144).
Cichocki, Jr. ‘375 discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above but does not disclose the tapered ramp tapering from the proximal end of the flexible portion to the suture thread. Flagg teaches a suturing needle in the same field of endeavor having a tapered ramp (10) tapering from the proximal end of the needle to the suture thread (FIG. 4) for the purpose of providing a smooth outer surface transitioning from the proximal end of the needle to the suture thread (FIG. 4; Page 2, col. 1, lns. 32-55). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ramp of Cichocki, Jr. ‘375 to have it tapered from the proximal end of the needle to the suture thread as taught by Flagg in order to provide a smooth outer surface transitioning from the proximal end of the needle to the suture thread.
Cichocki, Jr. ‘375 discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above and further discloses its method including suturing tissues (P0001) but does not disclose suturing tissues with a roller needle driver. Harris teaches a method in the same field of endeavor where tissues are sutured using a roller needle driver (FIG. 6-7; P0037) for the purpose of mechanically creating a running stitch (FIG. 6-7; P0037). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Cichocki, Jr. ‘375 to suture tissues using a roller needle driver as taught by Harris in order to mechanically create a running stitch. Harris teaches its method including:
(b) grasping, between rollers (gears 119) of the roller needle driver, the suture thread or the tapered ramp distal from the flexible portion (e.g., entirety of needle 11 is grasped between gears 119 as it is actuated in FIG. 6);
(c) loading the needle so that the rollers are positioned on the needle body without opening the rollers (FIG. 7; P0025-P0026);
(d) driving the needle through a tissue being subjected to suture (P0037);
(e) moving the needle through the tissue without releasing the needle from the tissue P0037);
(f) grasping the suture needle at an end exiting from the tissue through which the needle was moved (P0037); and
repeating steps (d) - (f) until completion of the suturing process (P0037).
34. The tapered ramp is formed of a biocompatible material (stainless steel at Abstract).
36. The needle tip portion is formed to become gradually thicker from the needle tip to the proximal end thereof (FIG. 13A).
37. The suture thread is mono-filamentary or multi-filamentary (FIG. 13A; P0061).
Claim(s) 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0268375 (Cichocki, Jr. ‘375) in view of US 2,240330 (Flagg) and further in view of US 2009/0209980 (Harris), as applied above to claim 23, and further in view of DE 3223153 (Beiter).
32. Cichocki, Jr. ‘375 discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above and further discloses a first end of the tapered ramp proximal to the flexible portion has a diameter equal to a needle body diameter (FIG. 13B). However, Cichocki, Jr. ‘375 does not disclose a second end of the tapered ramp opposite the first end of the tapered ramp has a diameter equal to a suture thread diameter, and the tapered ramp provides a smooth transition from the first end to the second end thereof. Beiter teaches a method in the same field of endeavor having a needle with a first end of the tapered ramp proximal to the flexible portion has a diameter equal to a needle body diameter, a second end of the tapered ramp opposite the first end of the tapered ramp has a diameter equal to a suture thread diameter, and the tapered ramp provides a smooth transition from the first end to the second end thereof for the purpose of having an outer diameter with a smooth transition (FIG. 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second end of the ramp of Cichocki, Jr. ‘375 to have a diameter equal to a suture thread diameter with the ramp providing a smooth transition from the first end to the second end as taught by Harris in order to having an outer diameter with a smooth transition.
Claim(s) 33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0268375 (Cichocki, Jr. ‘375) in view of US 2,240330 (Flagg) and further in view of US 2009/0209980 (Harris), as applied above to claim 23, and further in view of US 5,156,615 (Korthoff).
33. Cichocki, Jr. ‘375 discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above but does not disclose the ramp being flexible or cyanoacrylate. Korthoff teaches a method in the same field of endeavor having a flexible ramp including cyanoacrylate for the purpose of securing the needle to the thread with shrinkable tubing (FIG. 1-2; Abstract and col. 9, lns. 18-53). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ramp of Cichocki, Jr. ‘375 to be flexible and include cyanoacrylate as taught by Korthoff in order to secure the needle to the thread with a shrinkable tubing.
Claim(s) 38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0268375 (Cichocki, Jr. ‘375) in view of US 2,240330 (Flagg) and further in view of US 2009/0209980 (Harris), as applied above to claim 23, and further in view of US 2013/0226233 (D’Agostino).
38. Cichocki, Jr. ‘375 discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above but does not disclose the suture thread being bioabsorbable. D’Agostino teaches a method in the same field of endeavor having a bioabsorbable suture thread (P0101) for the purpose of breaking down and absorbing the suture after introduction into a tissue (P0101). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suture thread of Cichocki, Jr. ‘375 to be bioabsorbable as taught by D’Agostino in order to break down and absorb the suture after introduction into a tissue.
39-41. Cichocki, Jr. ‘375 discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above but does not disclose the suture thread having barbs. D’Agostino teaches a method in the same field of endeavor having a suture thread with barbs (P0123) for the purpose of allowing movement of the thread in tissue in one direction and resisting movement of the thread in tissue in the opposite direction (P0123). The at least one region of tissue retaining structures is distal from the tapered ramp (FIG. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suture thread of Cichocki, Jr. ‘375 to include barbs as taught by D’Agostino in order to allow movement of the thread in tissue in one direction and resist movement of the thread in tissue in the opposite direction.
Claim(s) 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0268375 (Cichocki, Jr. ‘375) in view of US 2,240330 (Flagg) and further in view of US 2009/0209980 (Harris), as applied above to claim 23, and further in view of US 2020/0268379 (Cichocki, Jr. ‘379).
42. (New) The method of claim 23, wherein the suturing needle is hardened by at least one of thermal treatment or siliconization.
42. Cichocki, Jr. ‘375 discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above but does not disclose the needle being hardened by thermal treatment. Cichocki, Jr. ‘379 teaches a method in the same field of endeavor having a needle hardened by thermal treatment (P0013 and P0016) for the purpose of strengthening, stiffening, and hardening the needle (P0016). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the needle of Cichocki, Jr. ‘375 to have been hardened by thermal treatment as taught by Cichocki, Jr. ‘379 in order to strengthen, stiffen, and harden the needle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24-31 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TJ SCHERBEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3771
/TODD J SCHERBEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771