DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Applicant states:
However, Ha teaches that the first anode 141A is located within the opening of the anode 142A:
The anode 140A includes a first anode 141A and a second anode 142A formed on the same plane. The second anode 142A is spaced apart from the first anode 141A so as to surround the first anode 141A. That is, the second anode 142A has an opening in the middle, and the first anode 141A, which is on the same plane as the second anode 142A, is formed within the opening of the second anode 142A. ... (Paragraph [0056], emphasis added.)
Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment (filed 12 February 2026) at 7. The Examiner respectfully asserts that Ha discloses several features that may be considered “openings,” including an opening shown in, for example, FIG. 2A, which separates a first part of the anode 242A from a second part of the anode 241A, the anodes 241A/242A together forming the anode 240A. Thus, Choi in view of Ha and Lee discloses all of the limitations of currently amended independent claims 1 and 13.
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the Species 2 (FIG. 12) subspecies I (FIG. 3) embodiment in the reply filed on 20 May 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6, 7, 10, 17, and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Substantive examination of claims 1-5, 8, 9, 11-16, and 19-20 is as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 9, 11-16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0193758 (filed Dec. 23, 2020) (hereinafter “Choi”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0358992 (filed Aug. 19, 2016) (hereinafter “Ha”) and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0091151 (published Mar. 25, 2021) (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Choi discloses: A light emitting display device (FIG. 7, [0077]: “FIG. 7 is an exemplary diagram illustrating in detail a cross-sectional surface of an organic light emitting display panel applied to an organic light emitting display apparatus according to an embodiment of the present disclosure.”) comprising
a transparent display area (FIG. 7, depicting wherein the display panel is a transparent display area, the transparent display area including a transparent area AA1, a buffer area AA2, and an opaque area AA3, [0078]) including a light transmission area (FIG. 7, transparent area AA1) and a normal display area (FIG. 7, opaque area AA3),
wherein the transparent display area (FIGS. 7, transparent area AA1) includes:
an anode (FIG. 7, depicting wherein the transparent area AA1 includes a transparent area anode TAN disposed as a layer in the transparent area AA1, [0083]).
Choi does not specifically disclose an anode including an opening, the anode completely surrounding the opening; a first light blocking part completely filling the opening; and a second light blocking part positioned along an exterior side of the anode.
In the same field of endeavor, Ha discloses a light emitting display device (FIGS. 2A/2B, [0080]: “FIG. 2A is a schematic plane view illustrating a shape of an anode and a bank layer for explaining a bridge electrode employed in an organic light emitting display device according to one embodiment.”) including an anode including an opening, the anode completely surrounding the opening (FIGS. 2A/2B, anode 242A/241A including an opening, wherein the anode 242A/241A completely surrounds the opening, [0080]), as well as a first part filling the opening (FIGS. 2A/2B, depicting wherein the bank layer 271A completely fills the opening, [0058], [0101]) and a second part positioned along an exterior side of the anode (FIGS. 2A/2B, depicting wherein the bank layer 272A is positioned along an exterior side of the anode 242A/241A, [0058]). Regarding the anode and bank layer configuration, in [0062], Ha states: “Corner portions of the first anode 141A and the second anode 142A may be formed into a round shape. With the round shape of the corner portions, the bending stress, which may be concentrated on the corner portions of the first anode 141A and the second anode 142A can be spread out to a wider portion of the respective anodes. In this way, the possibility of crack generation at the corners of the first anode 141A and the second anode 142A can be reduced.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display device of Choi with the anode and bank layer configuration of Ha in order to reduce the possibility of crack generation in the anode. See Ha [0062].
Choi in view of Ha does not specifically disclose wherein a height of a highest part of the first light blocking part is different than a height of a highest part of the second light blocking part.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a light emitting display device (FIG. 7, display apparatus 20, [0134]) including a first light blocking part (FIG. 7, the portion of the pixel defining layer 29 also including spacer P, wherein the pixel defining layer 29 and spacer P may be formed from light blocking material including black material or material with an optical density (“OD”) of 1, configured to reduce external light reflection, [0061], [0135]) and second light blocking part (FIG. 7, the portion of the pixel defining layer 29 not including a spacer P), wherein a height of a highest part of the first light blocking part (FIG. 7, depicting wherein the first portion of the pixel defining layer 29 including spacer P has a first height) is different than a height of a highest part of the second light blocking part (FIG. 7, depicting wherein the portion of the pixel defining layer 29 not including the spacer P has a second height, and the first height is different from the second height). Regarding the differing heights of the various portions of the pixel-defining layer 29, in [0137], Lee states: “The spacer P may be provided to prevent damage of the substrate 21 in a method of manufacturing the display apparatus 20 in the invention.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display device of Choi and Ha by substituting the variable height pixel-defining layer configuration of Lee, including the spacer P, of Lee such that the portion of the pixel-defining layer 29 including spacer P is substituted in place of the bank layer 271A of Ha and the portion of the pixel-defining layer 29 not including spacer P is substituted in place of the bank layer 272A of Ha, such that the height of a highest part of the bank layer 271A is different than a height of a highest part of the bank layer 172A in order reduce the reflection of external light and block light, and to prevent damage to the display device during the manufacturing of the display device. See Lee [0061], [0137].
Regarding claim 2, Choi in view of Ha and Lee further discloses wherein the first light blocking part (Ha FIGS. 2A/2B; Lee FIG. 7; the bank layer 271A/ portion of the pixel defining layer 29 including spacer P) and the second light blocking part (Ha FIGS. 2A/2B; Lee FIG. 7; the bank layer 272A/ portion of the pixel defining layer 29 not including spacer P) include a light blocking material or a negative organic material having a black color (Lee [0061]: “A pixel-defining layer 29 is arranged to cover the pixel electrode 28-1 and the passivation layer 27 and includes an organic and/or inorganic material . . . . In some exemplary embodiments, the pixel-defining layer 29 may include a black material or a material with an optical density (‘OD’) of 1. The pixel-defining layer 29 including the black material or the material with an OD of 1 may reduce external light reflection of the display apparatus 20.”).
Regarding claim 3, Choi in view of Ha and Lee further discloses wherein the height of the highest part of the first light blocking part (Ha FIGS. 2A/2B; Lee FIG. 7; the bank layer 271A/ portion of the pixel defining layer 29 including spacer P, which has a first highest part height) is higher than the height of the highest part of the second light blocking part (Ha FIGS. 2A/2B; Lee FIG. 7; the bank layer 272A/ portion of the pixel defining layer 29 not including spacer P, which has a second height that is less than the first highest part height).
Regarding claim 4, Choi in view of Ha and Lee further discloses wherein the first light blocking part (Ha FIGS. 2A/2B; Lee FIG. 7; the bank layer 271A/ portion of the pixel defining layer 29 including spacer P) is divided into a periphery part (Ha FIGS. 2A/2B; Lee FIG. 7, the portion of the pixel defining layer 29 including spacer P on each side of the spacer P, having a first height) and a center part (Ha FIGS. 2A/2B; Lee FIG. 7, the portion of the pixel defining layer 29 including spacer P, having a second height), and a height of the center part is higher than a height of the periphery part (Ha FIGS. 2A/2B; Lee FIG. 7, depicting wherein the first height is less than the second height).
Regarding claim 5, Choi in view of Ha does not specifically disclose wherein a partition wall and a spacer are positioned in the normal display area, and the partition wall and the spacer comprise a same material as the first light blocking part and the second light blocking part.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a light emitting display device (FIG. 7, display apparatus 20, [0134]) including a partition wall (FIG. 7, the portion of the pixel defining layer 29 not including spacer P) and spacer (FIG. 7, the portion of the pixel defining layer 29 including spacer P, wherein the pixel defining layer 29 and spacer P may be formed from light blocking material including black material or material with an optical density (“OD”) of 1, configured to reduce external light reflection, [0061], [0135]) positioned in a normal display area (FIG. 7, depicting wherein the display area of the display apparatus 20 in which the pixel defining layer 29 and spacer P are disposed is a normal display area), and the partition wall (FIG. 7, the portion of the pixel defining layer 29 not including spacer P) and the spacer comprise a same material as the first light blocking part and the second light blocking part (Lee FIG. 7, the pixel defining layer 29 and spacer P may be formed from light blocking material including black material or material with an optical density (“OD”) of 1, configured to reduce external light reflection, [0061], [0135]). Regarding the pixel defining layer 29 and the spacer P, in [0061], Lee discloses: “A pixel-defining layer 29 is arranged to cover the pixel electrode 28-1 and the passivation layer 27 and includes an organic and/or inorganic material . . . . In some exemplary embodiments, the pixel-defining layer 29 may include a black material or a material with an optical density (‘OD’) of 1. The pixel-defining layer 29 including the black material or the material with an OD of 1 may reduce external light reflection of the display apparatus 20.” In [0137], Lee further states: “The spacer P may be provided to prevent damage of the substrate 21 in a method of manufacturing the display apparatus 20 in the invention.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display device of Choi by substituting the pixel-defining layer 29 including the spacer P of Lee with the portion of the bank in the opaque area AA3 of Choi in the bank configuration of Choi and Ha in order reduce the reflection of external light and block light, and to prevent damage to the display device during the manufacturing of the display device. See Lee [0061], [0137].
Regarding claim 8, Choi in view of Ha and Lee does not specifically disclose wherein among an entire area surrounded by the exterior side of the anode for the transparent display area, an area occupied by the opening is 5 % or more and 20 % or less.
In [0091], however, Ha states: “When an anode is bent in a specific direction, a tensile force and a compressive force received by the anode due to bending in the specific direction are proportional to a segment length of the anode in the specific direction. If a segment length of the anode in the bending direction of the anode is longer, a strain on the anode from the bending stress is increased, and as the strain on the anode is increased, the possibility of occurrence of cracks in the anode is also increased. Therefore, the possibility of occurrence of cracks in an anode in a specific bending direction is proportional to the maximum value of a segment length of the anode in the bending direction of the anode, and the possibility of occurrence of cracks in an anode in various bending directions is proportional to the average of the maximum values of segment lengths of the anode in the various bending directions.” Accordingly, the size of the opening, which is defined by the segment length, is a result-effective variable for optimizing the size of the pixel area, as well as for achieving a specific resistance to cracking due to bending.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the area occupied by the opening, identified by Ha as a result-effective variable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at an area occupied by the opening that is 5 % or more and 20 % or less of the total area of the transparent area AA1 occupied by the transparent area anode TAN disposed as a layer in the transparent area AA1 in order to achieve a desired balance between pixel size and resistance to cracking due to bending as disclosed in Ha in [0091]. See MPEP § 2144.05 (“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Moreover, the Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed range is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e., that the invention would not work without the specific claimed dimensions).
Regarding claim 9, Choi in view of Ha and Lee further discloses wherein at least one of a plurality of insulating layers (Choi FIG. 7, depicting wherein a plurality of insulating layers are disposed in the display panel in both the opaque area AA3 and the transparent area AA1; Choi [0107]-[0108]: “At least two of the transparent area electrode lines TEL connecting the transparent area pixel driving circuits TPDC to the transparent area organic light emitting diodes TOLED may be provided on different layers with an insulation layer therebetween. For example, in FIG. 7, an organic light emitting display panel where two transparent area electrode lines TELa and TELb are provided on different layers is illustrated. In this case, in FIG. 7, one transparent area electrode line may be provided on each layer, but the present disclosure is not limited thereto and two transparent area electrode lines may be provided on each layer.”) positioned in the normal display area and transparent connection wiring (Choi FIG. 7, transparent area electrode lines TELa and TELb are connected to the transparent area anode TAN, Choi [0090]: “In this case, the transparent area electrode line TEL may include only the transparent metal 142.”) connected to the anode for the transparent display area are positioned in the light transmission area (Choi FIG. 7, depicting wherein the insulating layer between transparent area electrode lines TELa and TELb and transparent area electrode lines TELa and TELb are positioned in the transparent area AA1).
Regarding claim 11, Choi in view of Ha and Lee further discloses wherein the transparent connection wiring (Choi FIG. 7, transparent electrode line TELb) is connected to the anode for the transparent display area (Choi FIG. 7, depicting wherein the transparent electrode line TELb is connected to the transparent area anode TAN) at a position where the first light blocking part and the second light blocking part, and the anode for the transparent display area, do not overlap on a plane (Choi FIG. 7; Ha FIGS. 2A/2B; Lee FIG. 7, depicting wherein the bank layer 271A/ portion of the pixel defining layer 29 including spacer P, the bank layer 272A/ portion of the pixel defining layer 29 not including spacer P, and the anode 242A do not all overlap each other, such that the transparent electrode line TELb is connected to anode 242A at a position where the bank layer 271A/ portion of the pixel defining layer 29 including spacer P, the bank layer 272A/ portion of the pixel defining layer 29 not including spacer P, and the anode 242A do not overlap on a plane).
Regarding claim 12, Choi in view of Ha and Lee further discloses wherein a part where the transparent connection wiring (Choi FIG. 7, transparent electrode line TELb) and the anode for the transparent display area are connected overlaps the first light blocking part or the second light blocking part on a plane (Choi FIG. 7; Ha FIGS. 2A/2B; Lee FIG. 7, depicting wherein the anode 242A includes a connection portion under the bank layer 272A).
Regarding independent claim 13, Choi discloses: A light emitting display device (FIG. 7, [0077]: “FIG. 7 is an exemplary diagram illustrating in detail a cross-sectional surface of an organic light emitting display panel applied to an organic light emitting display apparatus according to an embodiment of the present disclosure.”) comprising:
a normal display area (FIGS. 7/10, opaque area AA3, [0078]) where a pixel circuit unit for a normal display area (FIGS. 7/10, opaque area pixel driving circuit OPDC, [0080]) and a light-emitting element for the normal display area (FIGS. 7/10, opaque area organic light emitting device OOLED connected to the opaque area pixel driving circuit OPDC, [0093]) connected to the pixel circuit unit for the normal display area are positioned (FIGS. 7/10, depicting wherein the opaque area organic light emitting diodes OOLED and the opaque area pixel driving circuits OPDC are provided in the opaque area AA3);
a transparent display area (FIGS. 7/10, transparent area AA1, [0078]) where a light-emitting element for a light transmission area (FIGS. 7/10, transparent area organic light emitting device TOLED, [0079]) and the transparent display area is positioned (FIGS. 7/10, depicting wherein the transparent area organic light emitting device TOLED and the transparent area AA1 are positioned in the transparent area AA1); and
an intermediate display area (FIGS. 7/10, buffer area AA2, [0078]) where a pixel circuit unit for the intermediate display area (FIGS. 7/10, buffer area pixel driving circuit BPDC, [0080]), a light-emitting element for the intermediate display area (FIGS. 7/10, buffer area organic light emitting device BOLED connected to the buffer area pixel driving circuit BPDC, [0080]) connected to the pixel circuit unit for the intermediate display area, and a pixel circuit unit for the transparent display area (FIGS. 7/10, transparent area pixel driving circuit TPDC connected to the transparent area organic light emitting device TOLED, [0080]) connected to the light-emitting element for the transparent display area are positioned (FIGS. 7/10, depicting wherein the buffer area pixel driving circuit BPDC, buffer area organic light emitting device BOLED, and transparent area pixel driving circuit TPDC are positioned in the buffer area AA2),
wherein the light-emitting element for the transparent display area (FIGS. 7/10, transparent area organic light emitting device TOLED) includes
an anode for the transparent display area (FIG. 7, depicting wherein the transparent area AA1 includes a transparent area anode TAN disposed as a layer in the transparent area AA1, [0083]).
Choi does not specifically disclose an anode including an opening, the anode completely surrounding the opening; a first light blocking part filling the opening; and a second light blocking part positioned along an exterior side of the anode.
In the same field of endeavor, Ha discloses a light emitting display device (FIGS. 2A/2B, [0080]: “FIG. 2A is a schematic plane view illustrating a shape of an anode and a bank layer for explaining a bridge electrode employed in an organic light emitting display device according to one embodiment.”) including an anode including an opening, the anode completely surrounding the opening (FIGS. 2A/2B, anode 242A/241A including an opening, wherein the anode 242A/241A completely surrounds the opening, [0080]), as well as a first part filling the opening (FIGS. 2A/2B, depicting wherein the bank layer 271A completely fills the opening, [0058], [0101]) and a second part positioned along an exterior side of the anode (FIGS. 2A/2B, depicting wherein the bank layer 272A is positioned along an exterior side of the anode 242A/241A, [0058]). Regarding the anode and bank layer configuration, in [0062], Ha states: “Corner portions of the first anode 141A and the second anode 142A may be formed into a round shape. With the round shape of the corner portions, the bending stress, which may be concentrated on the corner portions of the first anode 141A and the second anode 142A can be spread out to a wider portion of the respective anodes. In this way, the possibility of crack generation at the corners of the first anode 141A and the second anode 142A can be reduced.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display device of Choi with the anode and bank layer configuration of Ha in order to reduce the possibility of crack generation in the anode. See Ha [0062].
Choi in view of Ha does not specifically disclose wherein a height of a highest part of the first light blocking part is different than a height of a highest part of the second light blocking part.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a light emitting display device (FIG. 7, display apparatus 20, [0134]) including a first light blocking part (FIG. 7, the portion of the pixel defining layer 29 also including spacer P, wherein the pixel defining layer 29 and spacer P may be formed from light blocking material including black material or material with an optical density (“OD”) of 1, configured to reduce external light reflection, [0061], [0135]) and second light blocking part (FIG. 7, the portion of the pixel defining layer 29 not including a spacer P), wherein a height of a highest part of the first light blocking part (FIG. 7, depicting wherein the first portion of the pixel defining layer 29 including spacer P has a first height) is different than a height of a highest part of the second light blocking part (FIG. 7, depicting wherein the portion of the pixel defining layer 29 not including the spacer P has a second height, and the first height is different from the second height). Regarding the differing heights of the various portions of the pixel-defining layer 29, in [0137], Lee states: “The spacer P may be provided to prevent damage of the substrate 21 in a method of manufacturing the display apparatus 20 in the invention.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display device of Choi and Ha by substituting the variable height pixel-defining layer configuration of Lee, including the spacer P, of Lee such that the portion of the pixel-defining layer 29 including spacer P is substituted in place of the bank layer 171A of Ha and the portion of the pixel-defining layer 29 not including spacer P is substituted in place of the bank layer 172A of Ha, such that the height of a highest part of the bank layer 171A is different than a height of a highest part of the bank layer 172A in order reduce the reflection of external light and block light, and to prevent damage to the display device during the manufacturing of the display device. See Lee [0061], [0137].
Regarding claim 14, Choi in view of Ha and Lee further discloses wherein the height of the highest part of the first light blocking part (Ha FIGS. 2A/2B; Lee FIG. 7; the bank layer 271A/ portion of the pixel defining layer 29 including spacer P, which has a first highest part height) is higher than the height of the highest part of the second light blocking part (Ha FIGS. 2A/2B; Lee FIG. 7; the bank layer 272A/ portion of the pixel defining layer 29 not including spacer P, which has a second height that is less than the first highest part height).
Regarding claim 15, Choi in view of Ha and Lee further discloses wherein the first light blocking part (Ha FIGS. 2A/2B; Lee FIG. 7; the bank layer 271A/ portion of the pixel defining layer 29 including spacer P) is divided into a periphery part (Ha FIGS. 2A/2B; Lee FIG. 7, the portion of the pixel defining layer 29 including spacer P on each side of the spacer P, having a first height) and a center part (Ha FIGS. 2A/2B; Lee FIG. 7, the portion of the pixel defining layer 29 including spacer P, having a second height), and a height of the center part is higher than a height of the periphery part (Ha FIGS. 2A/2B; Lee FIG. 7, depicting wherein the first height is less than the second height).
Regarding claim 16, Choi in view of Ha does not specifically disclose wherein a partition wall and a spacer are positioned in the normal display area, and the partition wall and the spacer comprise a same material as the first light blocking part and the second light blocking part.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a light emitting display device (FIG. 7, display apparatus 20, [0134]) including a partition wall (FIG. 7, the portion of the pixel defining layer 29 not including spacer P) and spacer (FIG. 7, the portion of the pixel defining layer 29 including spacer P, wherein the pixel defining layer 29 and spacer P may be formed from light blocking material including black material or material with an optical density (“OD”) of 1, configured to reduce external light reflection, [0061], [0135]) positioned in a normal display area (FIG. 7, depicting wherein the display area of the display apparatus 20 in which the pixel defining layer 29 and spacer P are disposed is a normal display area), and the partition wall (FIG. 7, the portion of the pixel defining layer 29 not including spacer P) and the spacer comprise a same material as the first light blocking part and the second light blocking part (Lee FIG. 7, the pixel defining layer 29 and spacer P may be formed from light blocking material including black material or material with an optical density (“OD”) of 1, configured to reduce external light reflection, [0061], [0135]). Regarding the pixel defining layer 29 and the spacer P, in [0061], Lee discloses: “A pixel-defining layer 29 is arranged to cover the pixel electrode 28-1 and the passivation layer 27 and includes an organic and/or inorganic material . . . . In some exemplary embodiments, the pixel-defining layer 29 may include a black material or a material with an optical density (‘OD’) of 1. The pixel-defining layer 29 including the black material or the material with an OD of 1 may reduce external light reflection of the display apparatus 20.” In [0137], Lee further states: “The spacer P may be provided to prevent damage of the substrate 21 in a method of manufacturing the display apparatus 20 in the invention.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display device of Choi by substituting the pixel-defining layer 29 including the spacer P of Lee with the portion of the bank in the opaque area AA3 of Choi in the bank configuration of Choi and Ha in order reduce the reflection of external light and block light, and to prevent damage to the display device during the manufacturing of the display device. See Lee [0061], [0137].
Regarding claim 19, Choi in view of Ha and Lee does not specifically disclose wherein among an entire area surrounded by the exterior side of the anode for the transparent display area, an area occupied by the opening is 5 % or more and 20 % or less.
In [0091], however, Ha states: “When an anode is bent in a specific direction, a tensile force and a compressive force received by the anode due to bending in the specific direction are proportional to a segment length of the anode in the specific direction. If a segment length of the anode in the bending direction of the anode is longer, a strain on the anode from the bending stress is increased, and as the strain on the anode is increased, the possibility of occurrence of cracks in the anode is also increased. Therefore, the possibility of occurrence of cracks in an anode in a specific bending direction is proportional to the maximum value of a segment length of the anode in the bending direction of the anode, and the possibility of occurrence of cracks in an anode in various bending directions is proportional to the average of the maximum values of segment lengths of the anode in the various bending directions.” Accordingly, the size of the opening, which is defined by the segment length, is a result-effective variable for optimizing the size of the pixel area, as well as for achieving a specific resistance to cracking due to bending.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the area occupied by the opening, identified by Ha as a result-effective variable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at an area occupied by the opening that is 5 % or more and 20 % or less of the total area of the transparent area AA1 occupied by the transparent area anode TAN disposed as a layer in the transparent area AA1 in order to achieve a desired balance between pixel size and resistance to cracking due to bending as disclosed in Ha in [0091]. See MPEP § 2144.05 (“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Moreover, the Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed range is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e., that the invention would not work without the specific claimed dimensions).
Regarding claim 20, Choi in view of Ha and Lee further discloses wherein at least one of a plurality of insulating layers (Choi FIG. 7, depicting wherein a plurality of insulating layers are disposed in the display panel in both the opaque area AA3 and the transparent area AA1; Choi [0107]-[0108]: “At least two of the transparent area electrode lines TEL connecting the transparent area pixel driving circuits TPDC to the transparent area organic light emitting diodes TOLED may be provided on different layers with an insulation layer therebetween. For example, in FIG. 7, an organic light emitting display panel where two transparent area electrode lines TELa and TELb are provided on different layers is illustrated. In this case, in FIG. 7, one transparent area electrode line may be provided on each layer, but the present disclosure is not limited thereto and two transparent area electrode lines may be provided on each layer.”) positioned in the normal display area and transparent connection wiring (Choi FIG. 7, transparent area electrode lines TELa and TELb are connected to the transparent area anode TAN, Choi [0090]: “In this case, the transparent area electrode line TEL may include only the transparent metal 142.”) connected to the anode for the transparent display area are positioned in the light transmission area (FIG. 7, depicting wherein the insulating layer between transparent area electrode lines TELa and TELb and transparent area electrode lines TELa and TELb are positioned in the transparent area AA1).
Conclusion
/ADAM D WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813