DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s arguments with respect to features claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
It should be noted that Applicant’s arguments are directed toward a lacking disclosure of a first and second refrigerant flow path (previously of claim 2) and further the functionality of a controller, relay, and output signal as they relate to one another within a control system.
As such, it is this Examiner’s opinion that the prior art of reference discloses the structure and functionality disclosed by the presently amended claim(s). For more information regarding refrigerant leak controllers, signals, valves, and control-based systems please see the conclusion below to include Kawashima (US-20210010704-A1)
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“countermeasure device” (Claim(s) 1, 5, 8-9, 14, described in P[0042, 0131]). The recitation of “countermeasure device” is being interpreted under 112(f) due to the presence of a generic placeholder and the use of functional language as disclosed. The limitation is disclosed as comprising a controller. The limitation is further defined within the present application as a ventilator. The limitation is also defined as a “cut-off unit” which includes a valve. Therefore, “countermeasure device” is being interpreted under 112(f) and further understood as a controller (interpreted as hardware or a combination of software and hardware), ventilator, blower, fan, valve, or equivalences thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US-10914482-B2), Yajima (US-20180045424-A1), and Huang (US-20190274316-A1), in view of Ogawa (JP-2013019621-A).
1. (Currently Amended) Yamamoto (US-10914482-B2) An air-conditioning system, comprising:
an air conditioner The fan drive circuit 1 according to this embodiment is configured such that an air conditioner can be normally operated; [0032] comprising an outdoor unit and an indoor unit [0012, 0026] Note that the “heat pump device” in this specification refers to a device for transferring heat using a refrigerant and a heat exchanger, and denotes a concept that includes not only the aforementioned indoor unit for an air conditioner but also outdoor unit for an air conditioner, a water heater for supplying hot water, etc connected in a refrigerant circuit [0026-28] in which a refrigerant circulates For example, it has been proposed that, a refrigerant sensor as a protection device to determine the presence or absence of a leakage from a refrigerant circuit is arranged in indoor unit, when the refrigerant sensor detects the leakage of the refrigerant, an indoor fan provided to the indoor unit is driven to diffuse the leaked refrigerant; [0003], and
a first controller a controller of a microcomputer, etc.; [0028, FIG.5] provided in the indoor unit and being configured to condition air in an indoor space indoor room;
a countermeasure device provided against leakage of the refrigerant to the indoor space The fan drive circuit according to this embodiment is configured to operate on the safe side as a fail-safe even in a non-operation state of the indoor unit. With this, even if the refrigerant leaks in a state in which the refrigerant sensor 2 and the indoor unit are disconnected, the indoor fan is forcibly operated to prevent the leaked refrigerant from accumulating on the floor, etc., of the air conditioned room to reach a combustible density. As a result, the safety of indoor residents, or machines and devices arranged indoors at the time of the refrigerant leakage can be secured.; [0027];
a detector configured to detect a concentration of the refrigerant in the indoor space refrigerant sensor 2; and
a first relay first relay 5 connected to the first controller and the countermeasure device [0028-0029; FIG.1, 6],
****,
the first controller closing the first relay when the concentration of the refrigerant detected by the detector exceeds a predetermined allowable concentration,
the countermeasure device **** configured to operate **** when the first relay is closed [0035] When the first relay 5 becomes in the non-energized state, the b-contact 5 a of the first relay 5 is closed. Therefore, even though the indoor unit is not in operation, the fan motor 3 is driven to forcibly operate the indoor fan.,
the first controller of the air conditioner **** enables the operation of closing the first relay when the concentration of the refrigerant detected by the detector exceeds the predetermined allowable concentration [0034] when the refrigerant sensor 2 detects a refrigerant, the contact 2 a of the refrigerant sensor 2 opens as described above and the first relay 5 becomes in a non-energized state. When the first relay 5 becomes in the non-energized state, the b-contact 5 a of the first relay 5 is closed., and
****
enables the operation of activating the countermeasure device when the first relay is closed [0035] When the first relay 5 becomes in the non-energized state, the b-contact 5 a of the first relay 5 is closed. Therefore, even though the indoor unit is not in operation, the fan motor 3 is driven to forcibly operate the indoor fan,
the refrigerant circuit having an indoor circuit including an indoor heat exchanger provided in the indoor space The indoor unit is equipped with a heat exchanger, etc.; [0018],
****,
the first controller transmitting a first control signal to the first relay when the concentration of the refrigerant exceeds the allowable concentration, the first relay being closed when receiving the first control signal transmitted from the first controller [0034] when the refrigerant sensor 2 detects a refrigerant, the contact 2 a of the refrigerant sensor 2 opens as described above and the first relay 5 becomes in a non-energized state. When the first relay 5 becomes in the non-energized state, the b-contact 5 a of the first relay 5 is closed,
the first relay transmitting a first output signal **** when closed [0035] When the first relay 5 becomes in the non-energized state, the b-contact 5 a of the first relay 5 is closed. Therefore, even though the indoor unit is not in operation, the fan motor 3 is driven to forcibly operate the indoor fan, and
****.
Yamamoto lacks distinctly disclosing the following underlined limitations:
… the countermeasure device being a separate device from the outdoor unit and the indoor unit of the air conditioner
…. the countermeasure device having a second controller configured to operate the countermeasure device
…. the first controller of the air conditioner having a program that
…. the second controller of the countermeasure device having a program that
a first refrigerant flow path connected to a gas end portion of the indoor circuit, and
a second refrigerant flow path connected to a liquid end portion of the indoor circuit,
the countermeasure device including a cut-off valve provided in at least one of the first refrigerant flow path or the second refrigerant flow path
…. to the second controller … the second controller closing the cut-off valve when receiving the first output signal
Regarding the limitation; “…the countermeasure device being a separate device from the outdoor unit and the indoor unit of the air conditioner… having a second controller configured to operate the countermeasure device… ”, Yajima (US-20180045424-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor [FIG.2], a consideration for a refrigerant leak-detection [60 leak sensors] system comprising countermeasure devices [40 ventilation unit] having a secondary controller [0083] The fan drive control component 45 is a control component separate from an air conditioner including multiple indoor and outdoor air conditioner [FIG.2 30a-d indoor units 20 outdoor unit] including indoor and outdoor controller [70 controller].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Yamamoto to include a countermeasure device being a separate device the outdoor and the indoor unit of the air conditioner having a second controller with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Yajima, for the benefit of providing a counter measure device and controller to actuate a ventilation unit in view of readings taken by a leak sensor which may be maintained separate from a refrigeration system, providing ease of access to individual components for routine maintenance or service.
Regarding the limitation; “…having a program”, Huang (US-20190274316-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a controller which includes a program ([0033] FIG. 2 is a block diagram showing the structure of an embodiment of a controller of the present disclosure. The controller 6 includes a data acquisition module, a relay and a relay driving module, a main control CPU, a program and data memory, an LCD touch display screen, a communication interface, and a power management module; …the relay and the relay driving module are configured to start or stop operation of the compressor 1, the axial flow fan 10, the heat dissipation fan 7 and the drain solenoid valve 11 according to an instruction of the main control CPU, the program and data memory is configured to store operating programs… obtains control quantity by the embedded algorithm and the control program and outputs a control signal to the relay and the relay driving module…)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Yamamoto to include a program with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Huang, for the benefit of providing a system which is configured to operate under predetermined conditions as stored in memory and instructed through the use of a program [0033].
Regarding the limitation; “…the countermeasure device having a second controller… first refrigerant flow path connected to a gas end portion of the indoor circuit, and… second refrigerant flow path connected to a liquid end portion of the indoor circuit… countermeasure device including a cut-off valve provided in at least one of the first refrigerant flow path or the second refrigerant flow path ”, Ogawa (JP2013019621A) discloses in a similar invention, regarding cutoff valve devices, a consideration for an air conditioning installation using the cutoff valve apparatus concerning [0015; FIG.1]. An air conditioner 1 connected to an outdoor unit 12 including a compressor 2, a condenser 3, and an outdoor fan 3a, and a pipe 15 in parallel with the outdoor unit 12, and includes expansion valves 4 (4A to 4C). A plurality of indoor units 13 (13A to 13C) including the evaporators 5 (5A to 5C) and the indoor fans 6 (6A to 6C). As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably understand that Ogawa teaches a first refrigerant flow path connected to a gas end portion of the indoor circuit, and a second refrigerant flow path connected to a liquid end portion of the indoor circuit as is commonly known in the art and depicted in the refrigerant system of FIG.1 and discussed in the operation of the system [0015]. Furthermore Ogawa teaches a system comprising a cut-off valve provided in at least one of the first refrigerant flow path or the second refrigerant flow path, and closes the cut- off valve once a leak is detected; “and the refrigerant flows between the indoor units 13 and the outdoor unit 12 Inlet-side solenoid valves (first shut-off valves) 9 (9A to 9C) and outlet-side solenoid valves (second shut-off valves) 10 (10A to 10C) installed in the inlet and outlet piping, and shut-off valve control unit 8 Refrigerant leak detectors 7 (7A to 7C) are installed in the respective rooms to which the indoor units 13 are attached, including the shutoff valve devices 14 (14A to 14C) and the like provided with (8A to 8C), The output is input to the shutoff valve control unit 8 of each shutoff valve device 14 [0016].”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Yamamoto to include a counter measure device controller and a first refrigerant flow path connected to a gas end portion of the indoor circuit, and a second refrigerant flow path connected to a liquid end portion of the indoor circuit and a cut-off valve provided in at least one of the first refrigerant flow path or the second refrigerant flow path, and closes the cut- off valve once a leak is detected with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Ogawa, for the benefit of providing a commonly known refrigerant circuit used for conditioning an enclosed space and further providing a safety feature, such as a cut-off valve and controller, used for increasing efficiency in addressing and controlling operational flows and interactions during abnormal conditions.
In re claim 3. (Previously Presented) Yamamoto (US-10914482-B2) discloses The air-conditioning system of claim 1, wherein the countermeasure device, includes a ventilation fan that ventilates the indoor space, and drives the ventilation fan when the first relay, is closed (In a state in which the indoor unit is not in operation, as shown in FIG. 3, when the refrigerant sensor 2 detects a refrigerant, the contact 2a of the refrigerant sensor 2 opens as described above and the first relay 5 becomes in a non-energized state. When the first relay 5 becomes in the non-energized state, the b-contact 5a of the first relay 5 is closed. In the indoor unit, although the normal operation by the microcomputer control is not in operation, the fan motor 3 is driven to forcibly operate the indoor fan 3. Therefore, even when the indoor unit is not in operation, since the indoor fan is forcibly operated when the refrigerant sensor 2 detects a leaked refrigerant, the leaked refrigerant can be diffuse, which prevents the leaked refrigerant from accumulating on the floor, etc., of the air conditioned room to reach a combustible density.; [0025-26, 0029; FIG.3, 5]).
In re claim 4. (Previously Presented) Yamamoto (US-10914482-B2) discloses The air-conditioning system of claim 1, wherein the first relay (FIG. 3, when the refrigerant sensor 2 detects a refrigerant, the contact 2a of the refrigerant sensor 2 opens as described above and the first relay 5 becomes in a non-energized state. When the first relay 5 becomes in the non-energized state, the b-contact 5a of the first relay 5 is closed. In the indoor unit, although the normal operation by the microcomputer control is not in operation, the fan motor 3 is driven to forcibly operate the indoor fan 3. Therefore, even when the indoor unit is not in operation, since the indoor fan is forcibly operated when the refrigerant sensor 2 detects a leaked refrigerant, the leaked refrigerant can be diffuse, which prevents the leaked refrigerant from accumulating on the floor, etc., of the air conditioned room to reach a combustible density.) [0025]), is provided ([0018] The fan drive circuit 1 according to this embodiment is a circuit for driving an indoor fan provided in an air conditioner or an air conditioning machine equipped with the indoor unit and outdoor unit. The indoor unit is equipped with a heat exchanger, etc., other than the indoor fan, and blows the conditioned air heat exchanged by the heat exchanger from a blowout port by the indoor fan. The heat exchanger performs heat exchange with the air sucked into the device by the indoor fan using a mildly-flammable or flammable refrigerant, such as, e.g., an R32 refrigerant, having a specific gravity greater than that of air. [FIG.3]).
Yamamoto lacks the following underlined limitations:
is provided in the air conditioner
Regarding the limitation; Yamamoto discloses the claimed invention except for distinctly disclosing wherein the first relay is provided in the air conditioner. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to dispose a first relay in an air conditioner, for the purpose of efficient access to internal components in a compact design, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art MPEP 2144.04.
In re claim 5. (Previously Presented) Yamamoto (US-10914482-B2) discloses The air-conditioning system of claim 1, wherein the first relay, is provided in the countermeasure device (operation switch, first relay (5), fan drive circuit (1); [FIG.3, 5]).
In re claim 14. (Previously Presented) The air-conditioning system of claim 3, wherein the first relay, is provided in the countermeasure device. The limitations of the system of claim 14 are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim 14, for more information regarding the limitations please see in re claim 5.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US-10914482-B2), Yajima (US-20180045424-A1), Huang (US-20190274316-A1), and Ogawa (JP-2013019621-A) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Yamada (US 20210293430 A1).
In re claim 6. (Previously Presented) Yamamoto (US-10914482-B2) discloses The air-conditioning system of claim 1, further comprising:an alarm device configured to raise an alarm ([0005, 0034] For example, in the aforementioned embodiment, the refrigerant sensor is adopted as a protection device, and the indoor fan is forcibly operated when the leaked refrigerant from the indoor unit is detected by the refrigerant sensor to diffuse the leaked refrigerant. However, as a protection device, other than the related refrigerant sensor, for example, an alarm configured to notify a user of the refrigerant leakage by sound, light, etc., when a leaked refrigerant is detected, or a ventilator configured to forcibly discharge air including the leaked refrigerant in a room to the outside of the room may be used. The refrigerant sensor, the alarm, and the ventilator may be used individually or two or more of them may be used in a combined manner. In any case, independently of the type of protection device which is chosen, the heat pump device according to the invention includes all the elements mentioned in claim 1, in particular a fan having a fan drive circuit comprising a forced operation circuit.;); and an operation of the leakage is connected to the first controller and operation of the alarm device (The refrigerant sensor, the alarm, and the ventilator may be used individually or two or more of them may be used in a combined manner.), wherein the first controller loses the first relay, when the concentration of the refrigerant detected by the detector exceeds the allowable concentration, and the alarm device raises the alarm when the relay is closed (FIG. 3, when the refrigerant sensor 2 detects a refrigerant, the contact 2a of the refrigerant sensor 2 opens as described above and the first relay 5 becomes in a non-energized state. When the first relay 5 becomes in the non-energized state, the b-contact 5a of the first relay 5 is closed. In the indoor unit, although the normal operation by the microcomputer control is not in operation, the fan motor 3 is driven to forcibly operate the indoor fan 3. Therefore, even when the indoor unit is not in operation, since the indoor fan is forcibly operated when the refrigerant sensor 2 detects a leaked refrigerant, the leaked refrigerant can be diffuse, which prevents the leaked refrigerant from accumulating on the floor, etc., of the air conditioned room to reach a combustible density.) [0025]).
Yamamoto lacks the following underlined limitations:
and a second relay connected to the first controller and the alarm device, wherein the first controller loses the first relay, and the second relay when the concentration of the refrigerant detected by the detector exceeds the allowable concentration, and the alarm device raises the alarm when the second relay is closed
Regarding the limitation; “…relay connected to the first controller and the alarm device, … when the concentration of the refrigerant detected by the detector exceeds the allowable concentration, and the alarm device raises the alarm when the … relay is…”, Yamada (US 20210293430 A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding air conditioning, a consideration for a refrigerant leakage system configured to utilize a relay communication line in order to conduct alarm commands once a refrigerant leakage is detected. ([0283] When refrigerant leakage is detected, regardless of a control signal of the thermostat 40, a message is displayed on the display unit of the thermostat 40 by the communication line conduction and cut-off relay 50 closing between the contact points of the fifth contact point 505 to conduct the alarm command communication line SG7. However, this is based on the premise of a mode in which an alarm command is not issued when the alarm command communication line SG7 is in a cut-off state.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Yamamoto to include relay connected to the first controller and the alarm device, … when the concentration of the refrigerant detected by the detector exceeds the allowable concentration, and the alarm device raises the alarm when the … relay is operated, as taught by Yamada.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would yield a dedicated communication line between an alarm component and a system controller, enabling communications between components in operationally addressing abnormal conditions.
Regarding the limitation; “…a second …and the second relay when the concentration of the refrigerant detected by the detector exceeds the allowable concentration, and the alarm device raises the alarm when the second relay is closed”.
As discussed in MPEP § 2144.04, in re Harza, the court upheld that even though the reference did not disclose a plurality of parts, the mere duplication of parts which achieve essentially the same function has been recognized as an obvious mechanical expedient and therefore has no patentable weight or significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. As such, while Yamamoto discloses the use of relays used in detecting and addressing a refrigerant leak [FIG.3, 5], it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the relays, as taught by Yamaoto, could be duplicated to further include secondary relays used between an alarm and a controller within the modified system of Yamaoto, for use during refrigerant leaks, to provide an alternative and dedicated communication line between individual response components, such as valves and alarms, within a conditioning system.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US-10914482-B2), Yajima (US-20180045424-A1), Huang (US-20190274316-A1), and Ogawa (JP-2013019621-A) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Yamada (US 20210293430 A1), and Takayama (US 20150034293 A1).
In re claim 8. (Previously Presented) Yamamoto (US-10914482-B2) discloses The air-conditioning system of claim 1, wherein the indoor unit of the air conditioner corresponds to an indoor unit configured to condition air in an indoor space (Note that the "heat pump device" in this specification refers to a device for transferring heat using a refrigerant and a heat exchanger, and denotes a concept that includes not only the aforementioned indoor unit for an air conditioner but also outdoor unit for an air conditioner, a water heater for supplying hot water, etc.; [0010]), and the countermeasure device (fan drive circuit; 1, [0018, 0020, FIG.1]), is provided in correspondence with at least the indoor space (By using such protection devices individually or in combination, it is possible to prevent a leaked refrigerant from indoor unit from accumulating on a floor, etc., of an air-conditioned room to reach a combustible density.; [0005]), the detector (refrigerant sensor 2) is provided in the indoor spaces (The refrigerant sensor 2 may be provided inside indoor unit, e.g., below a heat exchanger or below a connection portion of the heat exchanger and the refrigerant piping, but it may also be provided at an arbitral position in an air conditioned room in which the refrigerant is likely to accumulate when the refrigerant leaks. In the latter case, normally, the refrigerant sensor 1 and the indoor unit are wirelessly connected in a communicable manner with each other.; [0020]), the first controller transmits a first signal to the indoor controller when the concentration of the refrigerant detected by the detector provided in the indoor space where the indoor unit is located exceeds the allowable concentration, and the first controller transmits a signal to the connected to the countermeasure device , via the first relay, when receiving the first signal, and the first controller loses the first relay (when the refrigerant sensor 2 detects a refrigerant, the contact 2a of the refrigerant sensor 2 opens as described above and the first relay 5 becomes in a non-energized state. When the first relay 5 becomes in the non-energized state, the b-contact 5a of the first relay 5 is closed.; [0025]), when receiving the signal (In a state in which the indoor unit is not in operation, as shown in FIG. 3, when the refrigerant sensor 2 detects a refrigerant, the contact 2a of the refrigerant sensor 2 opens as described above and the first relay 5 becomes in a non-energized state. When the first relay 5 becomes in the non-energized state, the b-contact 5a of the first relay 5 is closed. In the indoor unit, although the normal operation by the microcomputer control is not in operation, the fan motor 3 is driven to forcibly operate the indoor fan 3. Therefore, even when the indoor unit is not in operation, since the indoor fan is forcibly operated when the refrigerant sensor 2 detects a leaked refrigerant, the leaked refrigerant can be diffuse, which prevents the leaked refrigerant from accumulating on the floor, etc., of the air conditioned room to reach a combustible density.; [0025-26, 0029; FIG.3, 6]).
Yamamoto lacks the following underlined limitations:
…a plurality of indoor units configured to condition air in a plurality of indoor spaces, the outdoor unit includes an outdoor controller, the first controller is provided in each of the plurality of indoor units, and the countermeasure device, is provided in correspondence with at least one of the plurality of indoor spaces, the detector is provided in each of the plurality of indoor spaces, the first controller transmits a first signal to the outdoor controller when the concentration of the refrigerant detected by the detector provided in the indoor space where the first controller is located exceeds the allowable concentration, and the outdoor controller transmits a second signal to the first controller connected to the countermeasure device , via the first relay, when receiving the first signal, and the first controller loses the first relay, when receiving the second signal
Regarding the limitation; “…plurality of indoor units configured to condition air in a plurality of indoor spaces, …and the countermeasure device, is provided in correspondence with at least one of the plurality of indoor spaces”, Ogawa (JP2013019621A) discloses in a similar invention, regarding cutoff valve devices, a consideration for a plurality of indoor units configured to condition air in a plurality of indoor spaces (indoor units 13A-13C; [FIG.1]). Ogawa further discloses wherein the countermeasure device, is provided in correspondence with at least one of the plurality of indoor spaces (The air conditioner 1 is connected to an outdoor unit 12 including a compressor 2, a condenser 3, and an outdoor fan 3a, and a pipe 15 in parallel with the outdoor unit 12, and includes expansion valves 4 (4A to 4C). A plurality of indoor units 13 (13A to 13C) including the evaporators 5 (5A to 5C) and the indoor fans 6 (6A to 6C), and the refrigerant flows between the indoor units 13 and the outdoor unit 12 Inlet-side solenoid valves (first shut-off valves) 9 (9A to 9C) and outlet-side solenoid valves (second shut-off valves) 10 (10A to 10C) installed in the inlet and outlet piping, and shut-off valve control unit 8 Refrigerant leak detectors 7 (7A to 7C) are installed in the respective rooms to which the indoor units 13 are attached, including the shutoff valve devices 14 (14A to 14C) and the like provided with (8A to 8C), The output is input to the shutoff valve control unit 8 of each shutoff valve device 14.; [0016; FIG.1]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Yamamoto to include a plurality of indoor units configured to condition air in a plurality of indoor spaces, …and the countermeasure device, is provided in correspondence with at least one of the plurality of indoor spaces, as taught by Ogawa.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would yield a system configured to condition more than one enclosed space, providing increased capacity and area conditioning treatment.
Regarding the limitation; “…the outdoor unit includes an outdoor controller, the first controller is provided in each of the plurality of indoor units”, Yamada (US 20210293430 A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding air conditioning systems, a consideration for a system comprising: an “indoor unit 2 is equipped with an indoor-side control board 21 that controls an operation of each part of the indoor unit 2. The outdoor unit 3 is equipped with an outdoor-side control board 31 that controls an operation of each part of the outdoor unit 3. Then, the indoor-side control board 21 and the outdoor-side control board 31 have a microcomputer or the like, and exchange control signals or the like with a thermostat 40. Further, the control signal is not exchanged between the indoor-side control board 21 and the outdoor-side control board 31. The control device including the indoor-side control board 21 and the outdoor-side control board 31 is called a controller 30”. [0052].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Yamamoto to include wherein the outdoor unit includes an outdoor controller, the first controller is provided in an indoor unit, as taught by Yamada.
Yamada lacks however wherein; “…the first controller is provided in each of the plurality of indoor units”.
Regarding the limitation; “…the first controller is provided in each of the plurality of indoor units”.
As discussed in MPEP § 2144.04, in re Harza, the court upheld that even though the reference did not disclose a plurality of parts, the mere duplication of parts which achieve essentially the same function has been recognized as an obvious mechanical expedient and therefore has no patentable weight or significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. As such, while Yamada discloses the use of controllers in an indoor and outdoor unit [0052], it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the first controller component, as taught by Yamada, could be duplicated to be provided within each of a plurality of indoor units of the modified system of Yamamoto, to provide an individual control over each unit during operational conditions, improving and isolating component communication within a conditioning system.
Regarding the limitation; “…the detector is provided in each of the plurality of indoor spaces”, Ogawa (JP2013019621A) discloses in a similar invention, regarding cutoff valve devices, a consideration for a system which comprises a detector is provided in each of the plurality of indoor spaces (The air conditioner 1 is connected to an outdoor unit 12 including a compressor 2, a condenser 3, and an outdoor fan 3a, and a pipe 15 in parallel with the outdoor unit 12, and includes expansion valves 4 (4A to 4C). A plurality of indoor units 13 (13A to 13C) including the evaporators 5 (5A to 5C) and the indoor fans 6 (6A to 6C), and the refrigerant flows between the indoor units 13 and the outdoor unit 12 Inlet-side solenoid valves (first shut-off valves) 9 (9A to 9C) and outlet-side solenoid valves (second shut-off valves) 10 (10A to 10C) installed in the inlet and outlet piping, and shut-off valve control unit 8 Refrigerant leak detectors 7 (7A to 7C) are installed in the respective rooms to which the indoor units 13 are attached, including the shutoff valve devices 14 (14A to 14C) and the like provided with (8A to 8C), The output is input to the shutoff valve control unit 8 of each shutoff valve device 14.; [0016; FIG.1])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Yamamoto to include wherein the detector is provided in each of the plurality of indoor spaces, as taught by Ogawa.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would yield a system capable of detecting abnormal operating conditions in one or more rooms, increasing efficiency of control over more than one indoor conditioning unit.
Regarding the limitation; “…the first controller transmits a first signal to the outdoor controller when the concentration of the refrigerant detected by the detector provided in the indoor space where the indoor controller is located exceeds the allowable concentration, and the outdoor controller transmits a second signal to the first controller connected to the countermeasure device , via the first relay, when receiving the first signal, and the first controller loses the first relay, when receiving the second signal”, Takayama (US 20150034293 A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding air conditioning, a consideration for a system comprising an indoor and outdoor unit and configured to respond to abnormal operational conditions. Takayama discloses a system wherein various control commands for each indoor unit 2 are supplied in form of serial signals from the outdoor controller 202 to the corresponding indoor controller 203 via the relay unit controller 206. Note that the relay unit controller 206 decides opening degrees of the expansion valves 54 and 55 in accordance with detected pressures detected by the pressure sensors 76 and 77 [0049]. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably understand that Takayama teaches a method for relay communication between an indoor and outdoor unit in actuating valve, or counter measure devices, in addressing abnormal operational conditions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Yamamoto to include signal relays between an indoor unit, outdoor unit, and controller, as taught by Takayama.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would yield a system capable of communicating between individual control and counter measure components in addressing abnormal operating conditions.
In re claim 9. (Previously Presented) Yamamoto (US-10914482-B2) discloses The air-conditioning system of claim 8, wherein the first controller closes the first relay, and transmits the first signal to the first controller when the concentration of the refrigerant detected by the detector provided in the indoor space (The refrigerant sensor 2 may be provided inside indoor unit, e.g., below a heat exchanger or below a connection portion of the heat exchanger and the refrigerant piping, but it may also be provided at an arbitral position in an air conditioned room in which the refrigerant is likely to accumulate when the refrigerant leaks. In the latter case, normally, the refrigerant sensor 1 and the indoor unit are wirelessly connected in a communicable manner with each other.; [0020]) where the first controller is located exceeds the allowable concentration and the countermeasure device (fan drive circuit; 1, [0018, 0020, FIG.1]), is connected to the first controller via the first relay, and transmits the first signal (The fan drive circuit 1 and the refrigerant sensor 2 are connected in a communicable manner with each other by wire or wirelessly. As wireless communication, for example, communication can be performed using infrared rays. The refrigerant sensor 2 may be provided inside indoor unit, e.g., below a heat exchanger or below a connection portion of the heat exchanger and the refrigerant piping, but it may also be provided at an arbitral position in an air conditioned room in which the refrigerant is likely to accumulate when the refrigerant leaks. In the latter case, normally, the refrigerant sensor 1 and the indoor unit are wirelessly connected in a communicable manner with each other.; [0020]) when the concentration of the refrigerant detected by the detector provided in the indoor space where the first controller is located exceeds the allowable concentration (In a state in which the indoor unit is not in operation, as shown in FIG. 3, when the refrigerant sensor 2 detects a refrigerant, the contact 2a of the refrigerant sensor 2 opens as described above and the first relay 5 becomes in a non-energized state. When the first relay 5 becomes in the non-energized state, the b-contact 5a of the first relay 5 is closed. In the indoor unit, although the normal operation by the microcomputer control is not in operation, the fan motor 3 is driven to forcibly operate the indoor fan 3. Therefore, even when the indoor unit is not in operation, since the indoor fan is forcibly operated when the refrigerant sensor 2 detects a leaked refrigerant, the leaked refrigerant can be diffuse, which prevents the leaked refrigerant from accumulating on the floor, etc., of the air conditioned room to reach a combustible density.; [0025-26, 0029; FIG.3, 6]) and the countermeasure device , is not connected to the first controller via the first relay (when the refrigerant sensor 2 detects a refrigerant, the contact 2a of the refrigerant sensor 2 opens as described above and the first relay 5 becomes in a non-energized state. When the first relay 5 becomes in the non-energized state, the b-contact 5a of the first relay 5 is closed.; [0025]).
Yamamoto lacks the following underlined limitations:
wherein the first controller closes the first relay, and transmits the first signal to the outdoor controller when the concentration of the refrigerant detected by the detector provided in the indoor space where the first controller is located exceeds the allowable concentration and the countermeasure device, is connected to the first controller via the first relay, and transmits the first signal to the outdoor controller when the concentration of the refrigerant detected by the detector provided in the indoor space where the first controller is located exceeds the allowable concentration and the countermeasure device, is not connected to the first controller via the first relay.
Regarding the limitations; The limitations are similar in scope to those disclosed in the rejection of claim 8, as taught by Yamada (US 20210293430 A1). For more information regarding the limitations please see the rejection in re claim 8.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US-10914482-B2), Yajima (US-20180045424-A1), Huang (US-20190274316-A1), and Ogawa (JP-2013019621-A) as applied to claim 3 above.
In re claim 12. (Previously Presented) The air-conditioning system of claim 3, wherein the first relay, is provided in the air conditioner.
The limitations of the system of claim 12 are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim 4, for more information regarding the limitations please see in re claim 4.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Yamamoto (US-10914482-B2), Yajima (US-20180045424-A1), Huang (US-20190274316-A1), and Ogawa (JP-2013019621-A) as applied to claim 3 above and further in view of Yamada (US 20210293430 A1).
In re claim 16. (Previously Presented) The air-conditioning system of claim 3, further comprising: an alarm device configured to raise an alarm; and a second relay connected to the first controller and the alarm device, wherein the first controller loses the first relay , and the second relay when the concentration of the refrigerant detected by the detector exceeds the allowable concentration, and the alarm device raises the alarm when the second relay is closed.
The limitations of the system of claim 16 are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim 6, for more information regarding the limitations please see in re claim 6.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US-10914482-B2), Yajima (US-20180045424-A1), Huang (US-20190274316-A1), and Ogawa (JP-2013019621-A) as applied to claim 4 above and further in view of Yamada (US 20210293430 A1).
In re claim 17. (Previously Presented) The air-conditioning system of claim 4, further comprising: an alarm device configured to raise an alarm; and a second relay connected to the first controller and the alarm device, wherein the first controller loses the first relay, and the second relay when the concentration of the refrigerant detected by the detector exceeds the allowable concentration, and the alarm device raises the alarm when the second relay is closed.
The limitations of the system of claim 17 are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim 6, for more information regarding the limitations please see in re claim 6.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US-10914482-B2), Yajima (US-20180045424-A1), Huang (US-20190274316-A1), and Ogawa (JP-2013019621-A) as applied to claim 5 above and further in view of Yamada (US 20210293430 A1).
In re claim 18. (Previously Presented) The air-conditioning system of claim 5, further comprising:an alarm device configured to raise an alarm; and a second relay connected to the first controller and the alarm device, wherein the first controller loses the first relay, and the second relay when the concentration of the refrigerant detected by the detector exceeds the allowable concentration, and the alarm device raises the alarm when the second relay is closed.
The limitations of the system of claim 18 are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim 6, for more information regarding the limitations please see in re claim 6.
Conclusion
It should be noted that there exists prior art which is pertinent to significant though unclaimed features of the defined invention or directed to the state of art. The following is a brief description of relevant prior art cited but not applied:
Kawashima (US-20210010704-A1) discloses in a similar invention, a consideration for [0108] When the above-described second refrigerant leak detection signal is input to the controller 54 and the above-described first refrigerant leak detection signal is not input to the controller 54, the controller 54 performs the pump-down operation while the first indoor LEV 14a, the first relay cutoff valve 45a, the second relay cutoff valve 45b, and the third relay cutoff valve 46a are closed as illustrated in FIG. 7.
See PTO-892: Notice of references cited.
Contact
/M.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663