DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to amendment filed on June 25, 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the detail of “the hollow pillar,” as recited in claims 15 and 23 (including dependent claims), must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Kamperman (US 5,734,560).
Regarding claim 15, Kamperman, figure 1-2, a semiconductor device comprising: a pillar having a perimeter plated with a conductive material (plated via in the bottom portion of the structure 3, see figure, column 5, line 6-23), wherein the pillar is hollow (see figure, column 4, line 60-67); dielectric material encapsulating the pillar (bottom portion of structure 3); an additional pillar that is hollow (plated via in the upper portion of the structure 3, see figure (column 4, line 60-67), wherein a perimeter of the additional pillar comprises the conductive material (plated as explained above), wherein an end of the additional pillar contacts a first conductive pad (connection pad between the two plated vias, see figure, not labeled in the figure), wherein the first conductive pad couples the end of the additional pillar to a first end of the pillar (see figure); and wherein a width of the first conductive pad is greater than a width of the end of the additional pillar, and a width of the first end pillar (see figure); and additional dielectric material encapsulating the additional pillar (upper portion of the structure 3), a surface of the additional dielectric material proximate to a first surface of the dielectric material that is proximate to the first end of the pillar (see figure).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Kresge (US 6,066,808).
Regarding claim 15, Kresge, figure 14, a semiconductor device comprising: a pillar having a perimeter plated with a conductive material (plated via in the bottom portion of the structure, 302, see figure), wherein the pillar is hollow (see figure); dielectric material (390) encapsulating the pillar; an additional pillar that is hollow (plated via in the upper portion of the structure, 301, see figure), wherein a perimeter of the additional pillar comprises the conductive material (plated as explained above), wherein an end of the additional pillar contacts a first conductive pad (connection pad between the two plated vias, see figure, not labeled in the figure), wherein the first conductive pad couples the end of the additional pillar to a first end of the pillar (see figure); and wherein a width of the first conductive pad is greater than a width of the end of the additional pillar, and a width of the first end pillar (see figure); and additional dielectric material encapsulating the additional pillar (upper portion of the structure, dielectric 380), a surface of the additional dielectric material proximate to a first surface of the dielectric material that is proximate to the first end of the pillar (see figure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-18 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamperman / kresge, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Farquhar (US 5,792, 375), and Kurosawa (US 4,528,072).
Regarding claim 16, Kamperman / kresge or does not disclose wherein the dielectric material comprises an organic material.
Kamperman is silent about the detail about material used for the dielectric.
However, organic material used for a semiconductor package substrate is old and known in the art. Kresge further discloses use of organic material in the structure of a printed circuit board (Column 5, line 24-36).
Farquhar (figure 1), discloses a structure with pillar formed of hollow through hole with plating and a pad in the center (between the upper dielectric layer and the lower dielectric layer, not labeled) connecting the upper pillar and the lower pillar. Farquhar, further discloses dielectric formed of organic material (column 3, line 13-25, and column 4, line 20-34).
Kurosawa, figure 1C-1D, discloses a structure with pillar formed of hollow through hole with plating (though hole 10 with plating), and a pad in the center (the pad / land between the upper dielectric layer and the lower dielectric layer of the respective pillars, connecting the upper pillar and the lower pillar (see figure), Kurosawa, further discloses dielectric formed of organic material (column 3, line 45 to column 4, line 5, and column 4, line 22-26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the application to provide the device of Kamperman / Kresge with dielectric formed of organic material, as taught by Farquhar, and Kurosawa, and (Kresge itself) in order to have desired insulating properties.
Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material of the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 17, the modified device of Kamperman / kresge further discloses wherein the additional dielectric material encapsulates at least two sides of the first conductive pad and a portion of a top surface of the first conductive pad, wherein the additional dielectric material comprises an organic material (obvious as explained and applied to claim 16 above).
Regarding claim 18, the modified device of Kamperman / kresge further discloses a second conductive pad coupled to a second end of the pillar, the second end of the pillar opposite the first end of the pillar and the second conductive pad proximate to a second surface of the dielectric material that is opposite the first surface of the dielectric material (see figure of Kamperman, kresge, Farquhar, and Kurosawa).
Claim(s) 19-21, and 23-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified device of Kamperman / kresge, as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of May 2019/0363063), Nie (US 2021/0391264), and Shimizu (US 9,875,957).
Regarding claim 19, the modified device of Kamperman / kresge does not discloses wherein the pillar is included in a set of hollow pillars where adjacent pillars of the set are separated by a distance between centers of adjacent pillars that does not exceed 400 microns.
However, Kamperman discloses that with increased number, reduce size of electrical connection on a chip, the respective number of connection point on the substrate as to be increase, along with controlling the spacing of the connection point (column 3, line 30-40), and Kresge discloses the spacing between the pillar (through holes, as 8 to 10 mils (about 200 to 300 microns)
May, figure 10, discloses a package substrate, and states that the pitch of the connection pad (bump) of the package substrate about 200 microns to about 1000 microns (paragraph 0045).
Nie, figure 1, discloses a package substrate, and states that the pitch of the connection pad (114) of the package substrate greater than about 70 microns to about 150 microns. (paragraph 0031).
Shimizu, figure 1-3, discloses a structure with pad (P1) including the related pillar with a pitch of 40 to 60 microns (column 10, line 15-21), and further disclose the pillars (21) in the core with a pitch of about 100 to 500 microns (column 3, line 57 to column 4, line 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the application to provide the modified device of Kamperman / Kresge with the pillar is included in a set of hollow pillars where adjacent pillars of the set are separated by a distance between centers of adjacent pillars that does not exceed 400 microns, as taught by Kresge, May, Nie, and Shimizu, in order to have increased contact density on the available space on the package substrate.
Additionally, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 20, the modified device of Kamperman / Kresge further discloses wherein the pillar is included in a set of hollow pillars where adjacent pillars of the set are separated by a distance between centers of adjacent pillars that does not exceed 200 microns (obvious as explained and applied to claim 19 above).
Regarding claim 21, the modified device of Kamperman / Kresge discloses the structure of the pillar including plating. The recitation “wherein the pillar is formed by lithographically removing portions of a resist layer and plating a perimeter of a remaining portion of the resist layer with the conductive material with the conductive material and the additional pillar is formed by lithographically removing portions of an additional resist layer and plating an additional perimeter of a remaining portion of the additional resist layer with the conductive material,” is process limitations in the product claim.
Regarding claim 23, the modified device of Kamperman / Kresge further discloses an integrated circuit device comprising: a semiconductor die (obvious as disclosed by Kamperman, electronic device 11, and Shimizu, figure 4, semiconductor chip 81, and Kresge discloses connection between chip, column 1, line 16-36); and a substrate coupled to the semiconductor die, wherein the substrate comprises: a pillar having a perimeter plated with a conductive material, wherein the pillar is hollow; dielectric material encapsulating the pillar; an additional pillar that is hollow, wherein a perimeter of the additional pillar comprises the conductive material, wherein an end of the additional pillar contacting a first conductive pad, wherein the first conductive pad couples the end of the additional pillar to a first end of the pillar; and wherein a width of the first conductive pad is greater than a width of the end of the additional pillar and a width of the first end of the pillar; and additional dielectric material encapsulating the additional pillar, a surface of the additional dielectric material proximate to a first surface of the dielectric material that is proximate to the first end of the pillar (obvious as applied to claim 15 above).
Regarding claim 24, the modified device of Kamperman / Kresge further discloses wherein the dielectric material comprises an organic material (obvious as applied to claim 16 above).
Regarding claim 25, the modified device of Kamperman / Kresge further discloses wherein the additional dielectric material comprises an organic material (obvious as applied to claim 16 above).
Regarding claim 26, the modified device of Kamperman / Kresge further discloses a second conductive pad coupled to a second end of the pillar, the second end of the pillar opposite the first end of the pillar and the second conductive pad proximate to a second surface of the dielectric material that is opposite the first surface of the dielectric material (obvious as applied to claim 18 above).
Regarding claim 27, the modified device of Kamperman / Kresge further discloses wherein the pillar is included in a set of hollow pillars where adjacent pillars of the set are separated by a distance between centers of adjacent pillars that does not exceed 400 microns (obvious as explained and applied to claim 19 above).
Regarding claim 28, the modified device of Kamperman / Kresge further discloses wherein the pillar is included in a set of hollow pillars where adjacent pillars of the set are separated by a distance between centers of adjacent pillars that does not exceed 200 microns (obvious as explained and applied to claim 19 above).
Regarding claim 29, the modified device of Kamperman / Kresge further discloses wherein the pillar is formed by lithographically removing portions of a resist layer and plating a perimeter of a remaining portion of the resist layer with the conductive material with the conductive material and the additional pillar is formed by lithographically removing portions of an additional resist layer and plating an additional perimeter of a remaining portion of the additional resist layer with the conductive material (obvious as applied to claim 21 above).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified device of Kamperman / Kresge, as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Qiang (US 2011/0048776), Paul (US 2010/0307803), and Jian (US 2010/0258339).
Regarding claim 22, the modified device of Kamperman does not disclose wherein the dielectric material includes low loss resin or glass filler.
Jian discloses a substrate and further discloses low loss resin to improve de-lamination (paragraph 0022).
Qiang discloses low loss resin composition in order to have better electrical performance (paragraph 0007).
Paul, discloses a circuit assembly and further discloses a low loss resin, including glass fiber (paragraph 0079).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the application to provide the modified device of Kamperman / Kresge with the dielectric material includes low loss resin or glass filler, as taught by Jian, Paul, and Qiang, in order to improve electrical and mechanical properties.
Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material of the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 30, the modified device of Kamperman / Kresge further discloses wherein the dielectric material includes low loss resin or glass filler (obvious as applied to claim 22 above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument / new explanation of the rejection.
Additionally, regarding the figure objection, the objection is maintained. The applicant argues that the originally filed figures provide clear understanding for an embodiment that includes pillars 115. Paragraph [0040] (as well as multiple other paragraphs) of the original specification describes additional embodiments in which the pillars 115 are hollow (versus being solid). Regarding these additional embodiments, Applicant respectfully submits that additional drawings are not necessary for understanding that a pillar may be hollow. Said another way, Applicant respectfully submits that an express illustration that pillars 115 are hollow is not necessary for understanding by one of ordinary skill in the art of the subject matter to be patented.
This is not found to be persuasive, as the detail of the connection of the hollow pillar with the pad is not clear.
Regarding the pad of Kamperman, the argument that the Kamperman discloses the via flared out to match that to the pad, is not found to be persuasive. This is a structural claim. How the structure is formed would not add any structural limitation. Additionally, such a process limitation defines the claimed invention over the prior art to the degree that it defines the product itself. A process limitation cannot serve to patentably distinguish the product over the prior art, in the case that the product is same as, or obvious over the prior art. See Product-by-Process in MPEP § 2113 and 2173.05(p) and In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Davis (US 5,280,414), figure 11, discloses a structure of a device with a fist pillar (pillar in layer 50), and a second pillar (pillar in layer 20), and a pad in the middle, connecting the first pillar to the second pillar. Davis further discloses organic material for the dielectric layers (column 1, line 19-39).
Chen (US 5,442,144), figure 1, partial figure, discloses a structure of a device with a fist pillar (pillar in bottom layer 40), and a second pillar (pillar in the upper layer 40), and a pad in the middle, connecting the first pillar to the second pillar. Davis further discloses organic material for the dielectric layers (PTFE, column 5, line 25-40).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISHWARBHAI B PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847
IBP / September 11, 2025