DETAILED ACTION
Status
The filing on 12/26/2025 amended claims 1 and 5. Claims 1 and 5 are pending and rejected on new grounds of rejections necessitated by the amendments of claims 1 and 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “a second projection image projected by the second projector” on line 6 of claim 1 and “the first display device” on line 16 of claim 1. Claim 5 recites “the first display device” on line 20 of claim 5. There are insufficient antecedent bases for “the second projector” in claim 1 and “the first display device” in the claim 1 and 5.
Furthermore, claims 1 and 5 also recite “second display device… projects a second projection image” and “a second projection image projected by the second projector.” The above claim language fails to clearly point out whether the “second projection image” displayed/projected by the second projector and/or the second display device is the same.
For the purpose of examination claim 1 (and, similarly, claim 5) is interpreted as following:
1. An adjustment method comprising:
displaying, by a display device, an auxiliary image used to help an input operation for performing a geometric distortion adjustment of a second display device, wherein the second display device projects a projection image including superimposing a first projection image projected by a first projector and a second projection image projected by a second projector;
displaying, by the second display device, the auxiliary image based on the input operation;
displaying, by the second display device, a second image in which a result of the adjustment is reflected;
outputting an adjustment parameter used to perform the adjustment to the second display device based on the input operation; and
wherein the auxiliary image and the second image projected by the second display device includes superimposing the auxiliary image on a position shifted from a selected adjustment point in the second image; and
further comprising displaying, by the display device and the second display device, a third image of giving notice of an error when an error occurs due to the input operation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manual (the Manual of Geometry Manager Pro Ver. 2.1, i.e., GMPv2.1) in view of Urano (US 20190191134 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, the Manual teaches an adjustment method and an adjustment device having at least one processor executing the method comprising: displaying, by a display device (computer screen), an auxiliary image (window of GMPv2.1) used to help an input operation (user input to GMPv2.1) for performing a geometric distortion adjustment (free-form, 4-corner, keystone, cylindrical screen, elliptical screen, spherical screen, S-shape screen corrections; p. 35) of a second display device, wherein the second display device is a projector (projector) which projects a projection image; displaying, by the second display device (projector), the auxiliary image (window of GMPv2.1) based on the input operation (user input to GMPv2.1); displaying, by the second display device (projector), a second image (desktop) in which a result of the adjustment is reflected (after the projector is connected to the computer and correction/s performed; p. 16-17); outputting an adjustment parameter (correction parameter) used to perform the adjustment to the second display device (projector) based on the input operation (user input to GMPv2.1); and wherein the auxiliary image (window of GMPv2.1) and the second image (desktop) projected by the second display device (projector) includes superimposing the auxiliary image (window of GMPv2.1) on a position shifted from a selected adjustment point in the second image (desktop) and further comprising displaying, by the display device and the second display device, a third image of giving notice of an error when an error occurs due to the input operation (p. 35).
The Manual teaches blending two or more images from two or more projectors but does not explicitly teach the projection image including superimposing a first projection image projected by a first projector and a second projection image projected by a second projector.
Urano teaches superimposing two or more images from two or more projectors (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine the Manual with Urano; because it improves image quality.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 and 5 have been considered but are found not persuasive; hence the rejections of all pending claims are maintained.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, applicant/s argue,
While Manual teaches various corrections, such as keystone, it does not have a geometric distortion adjustment. Also, there is no error notification via display of a third image, as called for by amended claim 1.
The Manual, page 35, does indicate that when a “setting exceeding the geometric distortion limit is sent to the projector… that in such cases the projected images may lose their shape.” Urano doesn't cure such deficiencies, and generally only refers to geometric correction as a correction process for correcting at least one of keystone distortion, barrel distortion, and pincushion distortion. See, for example, Urano, Paragraph [0191]. Therefore, independent claim 1 distinguishes over the art. (Remarks; p. 5).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Various free-form, 4-corner, keystone, cylindrical screen, elliptical screen, spherical screen, S-shape screen corrections are geometric distortion adjustment. Furthermore, error notification is explicitly taught in p. 35 of the Manual.
Conclusion
The prior art references cited in PTO-892 are made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882