DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 are currently presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recited “the node” when it is the first recitation, and it should be “of the plurality of nodes”, this is for all recitations. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “on displacement” which is grammatically incorrect. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recited “the node” when it is the first recitation, and it should be “of the plurality of nodes”, this is for all recitations. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “on displacement” which is grammatically incorrect. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recited “the node” when it is the first recitation, and it should be “of the plurality of nodes”, this is for all recitations. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “on displacement” which is grammatically incorrect. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
an input unit in claim 5
a processing unit in claim 5
an output unit in claim 5
Examiner’s note: For the purposes of examination, the units will be interpreted as a computer in line with specification [0045]. Also as noted in [0045], the processing unit executes the simulation through the flow chart (algorithm) shown in Figure 2. Additionally the sending and receiving is accepted as part of the computer as laid out in MPEP 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Regarding claims 1-6, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. abstract idea) without anything significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-4 are directed to a method, which is a process, which is a statutory category of invention. Claim 5 is directed to a device, which is a machine, which is a statutory category of invention. Claim 6 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium, which is a manufacture, which is a statutory category of invention. Therefore, claims 1-6 are directed to patent eligible categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong 1: Claims 1, 5 and 5 recite the abstract idea of simulating the movement of a particle in a zoomed in mesh to determine a stress, constituting an abstract idea based on Mental Processes based on concepts performed in the human mind, or with the aid of pencil and paper. The limitation of "performing an analysis using a finite element method or a particle method on an analysis model in which an object to be analyzed is divided by a first mesh;” covers mental processes including evaluating a dataset using a specific evaluation method. Additionally, the limitation of “selecting a partial region of the analysis model as a zooming region, dividing the zooming region by a second mesh finer than the first mesh, and disposing a particle at each of a plurality of nodes of the second mesh;” covers mental processes including making a judgement on how to break up a mesh into a specific portion and increase the number of calculation points on the mesh. Additionally, the limitation of “displacing the particle disposed at the node of the second mesh based on displacement obtained by the analysis using the first mesh;” covers mental processes including evaluating a dataset after a particle is moved by an applied force calculation. Additionally, the limitation of “setting a boundary condition of the zooming region based on a position of the particle disposed at the node of the second mesh after the displacement;” covers mental processes including making a judgement about how to set conditions after evaluating the position of a particle. Additionally, the limitation of “displacing the particle using the particle method under the boundary condition in the zooming region; and” covers mental processes including making a judgment about what additional forces to apply to the particle and applying them during an evaluation. Additionally, the limitation of “obtaining stress acting on the zooming region based on a position of the particle after the particle in the zooming region is displaced by using the particle method.” covers mental processes including evaluating a stress on the particle. Thus, the claims recite the abstract idea of a mental process performed in the human mind, or with the aid of pencil and paper.
Dependent claims 2-4 further narrow the abstract ideas, identified in the independent claims.
Step 2A, Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In Claim 5, the additional elements of “an input unit”, “a processing unit”, “an output unit”, as well as “non-transitory computer-readable medium” in claim 6, are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea using a computer in its ordinary capacity, or merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea. See MPEP (2106.05(f)) Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a mental process) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)) Therefore, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Dependent claims 2-4 further narrow the abstract ideas, identified in the independent claims, and do not introduce further additional elements for consideration beyond those addressed above.
Step 2B: Claims 1, 5 and 6 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. In Claim 5, the additional elements of “an input unit”, “a processing unit”, “an output unit”, as well as “non-transitory computer-readable medium” in claim 6, are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea using a computer in its ordinary capacity, or merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea. See MPEP (2106.05(f)) Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a mental process) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)). Therefore, the claim as a whole does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, when considered alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As stated in Section I.B. of the December 16, 2014 101 Examination Guidelines, “[t]o be patent-eligible, a claim that is directed to a judicial exception must include additional features to ensure that the claim describes a process or product that applies the exception in a meaningful way, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.”
The dependent claims include the same abstract ideas recited as recited in the independent claims, and merely incorporate additional details that narrow the abstract ideas and fail to add significantly more to the claims.
Dependent claim 2 is directed to further defining the modeling of members, which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to “Mental Processes.”
Dependent claim 3 is directed to further defining the type of sand detection model, which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to “Mental Processes.”
Dependent claim 4 is directed to further defining the forces applied to the particle, which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to “Mental Processes.”
Accordingly, claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without anything significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding USPPN 2010/0185420 in view of Mitsubishi JP-2019-207476.
Regarding claim 1, Ding teaches performing an analysis using … a particle method on an analysis model in which an object to be analyzed is divided …; (Figures 1A to 2B, [0058]-[0067], the motion of a particle in a fluid is characterized)
selecting a partial region of the analysis model …, (Figure 1B-2B, [0073]-[0078], a reduce calculation area is used)
disposing a particle at each of a plurality of nodes …; (Figure 1B, the particle is at a plurality of nodes)
displacing the particle disposed at the node … based on displacement obtained by the analysis …; (Figures 2(a) and 2(b), [0067], [0077]-[0079], the velocity of the displaced particle is calculated)
setting a boundary condition of the zooming region based on a position of the particle disposed at the node … after the displacement; (Figure 1B-2B, [0075], given the flow of particles and after the particle is displaced, due to the iterative method, the boundary conditions of the reduced space is calculated)
displacing the particle using the particle method under the boundary condition in the zooming region; and (Figures 2(a) and 2(b), [0067], [0077]-[0079], the particle is displaced in the reduced region and subject to the boundary conditions)
obtaining … a position of the particle after the particle in the zooming region is displaced by using the particle method. (Figures 2(a) and 2(b), [0067]-[0068], the position of the particle is updated after the applied velocity)
Ding does not explicitly teach a finite element method, a first mesh, selecting … zooming region, dividing the zooming region by a second mesh finer than the first mesh, stress acting on the zooming region
Mitsubishi teaches a finite element method, (Abstract, Page 2, Paragraphs 5-8, a finite element method is used)
a first mesh, (Figure (below), Page 2 Second paragraph, a first mesh is used with all of the large squares that are not sub divided
selecting … zooming region, (Abstract, Figure (above), Page 2 Paragraphs 5-10, a zoomed portion of the mesh is selected)
dividing the zooming region by a second mesh finer than the first mesh, (Abstract, Figure (above), Page 2 Paragraphs 5-10, as seen in part C, the mesh in the zoomed region is finer)
stress acting on the zooming region (Abstract, Page 2 Paragraphs 5-12, the stress of the member in the zooming region is calculated)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Ding with Mitsubishi as the references deal with analyses performed on specific regions, in order to implement a system that uses finite element analysis on a zoomed in region of the mesh, to determine the stresses imparted by the members. Mitsubishi would modify Ding by using finite element analysis on a zoomed in region of the mesh, to determine the stresses imparted by the members. The benefit of doing so is the calculation of the hot spot stress with respect to the junction part of a structure can be implemented without omission, and the evaluation omission of the junction part in a structure can be reduced. That is, the joint portion of the structure, or any other portion in the zoomed region, can be evaluated with higher accuracy, and the reliability can be improved. (Mitsubishi Page 2 Paragraph 7)
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Ding and Mitsubishi, teach the limitations of claim 1. Ding does not explicitly teach wherein the analysis model is obtained by modeling a plurality of members that exert forces on each other, and the zooming region matches a region obtained by modeling one member of the plurality of members.
Mitsubishi teaches wherein the analysis model is obtained by modeling a plurality of members that exert forces on each other, and (Abstract, Page 2 Paragraphs 5-7, a stress at the joint, from the members exerting forces on each other, is calculated)
the zooming region matches a region obtained by modeling one member of the plurality of members. (Figure (above), portion C is one member of the plurality of regions)
See motivation of claim 1
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Ding and Mitsubishi, teach the limitations of claim 2. Ding teaches wherein the boundary condition includes a condition that a position of a … a surface of the zooming region is fixed in an analysis space. ([0042]-[0043], the position of the solid boundary walls is unmovable and fixed)
Ding does not explicitly teach a polygon element of the second mesh
Mitsubishi teaches a polygon element of the second mesh (Figure (above), a square computation mesh is shown and used)
See motivation of claim 1
In regards to claim 5, it is the system embodiment of claim 1 with similar limitations to claim 1, and is such rejected using the same reasoning found in claim 1. Ding teaches the additional computer components in [0069]-[0070].
In regards to claim 6, it is the computer readable medium embodiment of claim 1 with similar limitations to claim 1, and is such rejected using the same reasoning found in claim 1. Ding teaches the additional computer components in [0069]-[0070].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding in view of Mitsubishi, and in further view of Qiang et al. “An object-oriented parallel particle-in-cell code for beam dynamics simulation in linear accelerators.”
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Ding and Mitsubishi, teach the limitations of claim 3. Ding teaches wherein in the zooming region, in a case where the particle is displaced by using the particle method under the boundary condition, a force of pulling back to an inside of a region by the fixed… ([0044], [0054], the particle hits the boundary and is bounced back to the inside of the computation region)
Ding does not explicitly teach polygon element of the second mesh
Mitsubishi teaches polygon element of the second mesh(Figure (above), a square computation mesh is shown and used)
See motivation of claim 1
The combination of Ding and Mitsubishi does not explicitly teach a particle protruded outside the region
Qiang teaches a particle protruded outside the region (Section 3, a force is applied to a particle that protrudes outside the region)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Ding and Mitsubishi with Qiang as the references deal with analyses performed on specific regions, in order to implement a system that applies forces to particles that protrude outside the calculation region. Qiang would modify Ding and Mitsubishi by applying forces to particles that protrude outside the calculation region. The benefit of doing so is the system has better maintainability, reusability, and extensibility compared with systems using conventional structures. (Qiang Section 7)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wu USPPN 2015/0112653: Also teaches the use of a zoomed particle calculation method, to quantify particle movement.
/MICHAEL EDWARD COCCHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2188