DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This Office action is in response to the RCE filed April 16, 2026 and the amendment filed March 27, 2026, which amends claims 1, 11, and 18. Claims 1-23 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed March 27, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1, 3, 7-10, 18, 19, and 23 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Begley et al (US 2007/0092759) as set forth in the Office action mailed January 27, 2026.
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed March 27, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 2, 11, 13-16, 18, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Begley et al (US 2007/0092759) as set forth in the Office action mailed January 27, 2026.
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed March 27, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1-3, 9-12, 14, 16, 18, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2017/0148995) in view of Begley et al (US 2007/0092759) as set forth in the Office action mailed January 27, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-10, 17, 18, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Begley et al (US 2010/0019671) (hereafter “Begley”).
Regarding claims 1, 7-10, 17, 18, and 23, Begley teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, a hole blocking layer, an electron transporting layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode (paragraph [0052]). Begley teaches that the light emitting layer emits blue light (paragraph [0185]). Begley teaches that the electron transporting layer is 35 nm thick, has a refractive index of 1.8 or less, and is composed of
or
(paragraphs [0024] and [0186] [0287], and [0296]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 11, and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Begley et al (US 2010/0019671) (hereafter “Begley”) as applied to claims 1, 5, 7-10, 17, 18, and 23 above.
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 13-16, Begley teaches that
or
can be mixed with
in the electron transporting layer (paragraphs [0024]-[0033], [0186] [0287], and [0296]).
Begley does not specifically teach where
or
is mixed with a compound that meets applicant’s formula 2 or 3.
Begley teaches that
can be used as the compound mixed with
or
in the electron transporting layer (paragraphs [0024]-[0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to substituted
for
in the electron transporting layer in the device Begley. The substation would have been one preferred compound for another preferred compound and one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the device is act in a similar manner.
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-12, 14, 16, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2017/0148995) (hereafter “Kim”) in view of Begley et al (US 2010/0019671) (hereafter “Begley”).
Regarding clams 1-3, 9-12, 14, 16, 18, and 19, Kim teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraph [0107]). Kim teaches that the light emitting layer comprises blue light emitting dopant (paragraph [0107). Kim teaches that the electron transporting layer is composed of the following compound,
,
, or
are a few examples (paragraphs [0047], and [0107]-[0114]).
Kim does not teach where the electron transporting layer further comprises a lithium complex.
Begley teaches electron transporting layers for use in electroluminescent devices (paragraphs [paragraphs [0024] and [0186] [0287], and [0296]). Begley teaches that when
or
is mixed with an organic electron transporting material in the electron transporting layer, the device has a lower voltage and improved efficiency (paragraphs [0181]-[0188], Table 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the device of Kim to the lithium complex of Begley to the electron transporting layer of Kim. The motivation would have been to lower the voltage of the device and improve the efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 6, 17, 19, 20, and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art fails to teach or make obvious modify the compounds of Begley, such as
or
, with a methyl group to arrive at the applicant’s claimed invention. Begley teaches other compounds that meet the applicant’s claimed general formula 1, but does not teach or make obvious modifying the compounds to arrive at the applicant’s claimed compounds comprising an alkyl group at as specific position on the compound. Claims 3, 4, 6, 17, 19, 20, and 22 comprise allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759