DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments and amendments, filed on 3/27/26, have been fully considered but they do not confer patentability on all of the instantly filed claims. A new prior art rejection appears below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 11-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hung et al. (US 2006/0115674).
Claims 1 and 2: Hung et al. teaches the compounds
and
(paragrpah 0020). The first compound is referred to as compound 2 as shown in paragrpah 0027. Compound 2 is employed in an organic electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transport region, an emission layer comprising compound 2 as a host and a dopant, an electron transport region, and a cathode. The employment of compound 2 as a host material anticipates the device limitations of claim 1. Further, compouind 2 anticipates Formula 1 with each of Ar1 and Ar2 and each of Ar3 and Ar4 being bonded together to form a ring which anticipates condition (v) of claim 1. Compound 2 also anticiaptes Formula 1-1 of claim 2.
Claims 3 and 4: For claims 3 and 4, the second compound shown above is relied upon. The employment of any one of the explicitly taught compounds of Hung et al. as taught in paragraph 0020 in the manner exemplified in the device example is at once enviaged. Preparing a device comprising the second compound above satisfies the device limitations of claims 1, 3, and 4 and the structural limitaitons of Formula 2 of claim 3 and Formula 2-1 of claim 4 with Ar11 and Ar13 being equal to unsubstituted phenyl groups and R1-R5 and R11-R15 being equal to hydrogen atoms.
Claims 6 and 8: In the second compound shown in claim 1 above, each of Ar1-Ar4 are the same and are all equal to A-1, thereby anticipating claims 6 and 8.
Claim 11: The rejection of claims 1, 3, and 4 above are wholly incorporated into the rejection of claim 11. The second compound shown in claim 1 above is identical to compound 1 of claim 11, thereby anticipating claim 11.
Claims 12 and 13: The rejection of claim 1 above as it pertains to the two compounds described therein are wholly incorporated into the rejection of claims 12 and 13. The two compounds taught by Hung et al. as described in claim 1 anticipate all of the structural limitations of Formula 1 of claim 12 and Formula 1-1 of claim 13.
Claim 14: Compound 2, which is the first compound shown in claim 1 above, anticipates Formula 2 of claim 14 with Ar11 and Ar13 being bonded to an adjacent group to form a ring which satisfies condition (v) of claim 14.
Claim 15: Compound 2 as shown in claim 1 above, anticipates formula 2-1 of claim 15 with R1 and R11 being bonded to an adjacent group to form a ring, and all other R groups being equal to hydrogen atoms.
Claim 19: In the second compound recited in claim 1 above, Ar1 and Ar3 are the same and Ar2 and Ar4 are the same, thereby anticipating claim 19.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (US 2018/0047919).
Jung et al. teaches silyl group containing compounds represented by Formula 1 (abstract). Jung et al. further teaches specific compounds 1 to 432 as taught in paragraph 0292. Several of these explicitly taught compounds anticipate Formula 1 of claim 1. As one example, compound 27, which has the structure
(page 34) satisfies Formula 1 of claim 1 with each of Ar1 and Ar2 and each of Ar3 and Ar4 being joined together to form a ring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2018/0047919).
Jung et al. teaches silyl group containing compounds represented by Formula 1 (abstract). Jung et al. further teaches specific compounds 1 to 432 as taught in paragraph 0292. Several of these explicitly taught compounds satisfy all of the structural limitations of Formula 1 of claim 1. As one example, compound 27, which has the structure
(page 34) satisfies Formula 1 of claim 1 with each of Ar1 and Ar2 and each of Ar3 and Ar4 being joined together to form a ring. Additionally, Jung et al. teaches organic light-emitting devices, which in some embodiments comprises an anode, a hole transport region comprising a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, an emission layer comprising a host and a dopant, an electron transport region, and a cathode. Jung et al. teaches that the silyl group containing compound may be employed in the hole transport region such as in the hole transport layer or in the electron blocking layer (paragraphs 0314-0315). The overall teachings of Jung et al. render obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art the preparation of an organic light emitting device where the silyl group containing compounds of Jung et al., which includes those which satisfy Formula 1, are employed in the hole transport region, thereby satisfying the device limitations of claims 9 and 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 16, 17, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Compounds which satisfy Formulae 2-2A or 2-2B as recited in claims 5 and 12 are not taught or suggested by the prior art. Additionally, compounds where at least one of Ar1-Ar4 is selected from one of structures A-2 through A-6 as required by claim 17 is not taught or suggested by the prior art. Last, the specific compounds recited in claim 20 are not taught or suggested by the prior art.
/Robert S Loewe/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766