DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed by Applicant on 20 January 2026 has been acknowledged. It is understood that claims 1, 8, and 10 have been amended, and claim 3 has been cancelled by Applicant. Accordingly, claims 1-2 and 4-12 are under full consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The respective arguments are addressed below:
Applicant argues that neither Selstam nor Kim disclose or suggest a first compressor and a cooler. However, Kim does disclose a cooler (The gas discharged… is cooled… by the fourth heat exchanger; see [0037]). Additionally, neither Selstam nor Kim were relied upon for disclosing a compressor.
Applicant argues that Selstam and/or Kim fail to suggest preheating material supplied to the desulfurizer, and fail to provide the positions of the claimed plurality of heat exchangers. This argument is acknowledged, but Examiner respectfully disagrees. The obviousness for these limitations was thoroughly described in the claim 1 rejection in the Final Office Action, yet Applicant has not addressed this explanation in their remarks. As such, Examiner refers Applicant to the claim 1 rejection of the Final Office Action, and again to the claim 1 rejection in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 7-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selstam et al. (US-20140364517-A1), hereinafter “Selstam”, in view of Kim et al. (US-20100254893-A1), hereinafter “Kim” and Eurlings (US-20230303393-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Selstam discloses an apparatus for producing a hydrogen gas (convert a portion of the syngas to… H-2; see e.g. [0012]), the apparatus comprising a plasma reactor configured to generate a hydrogen containing gas from a hydrocarbon containing gas through plasma-based pyrolysis (pyrolyzing a carbon source by plasma to form syngas; reacting a portion of the formed syngas… to H-2; see e.g. [0012]), a first heat exchanger (heat exchanger 106; see e.g. [0042]) configured to exchange heat between the hydrocarbon containing gas of a low temperature (syngas feed 110, optionally preheated by optional heat exchanger 106; see [0043] and Fig. 1 Parts 106 and 110; the fact that the syngas, or hydrocarbon containing gas, is being heated by the heat exchanger indicates that it is the low temperature stream in the exchanger that is receiving heat) and a low purity hydrogen gas of a high temperature (see e.g. [0042] – [0043], and Fig. 1 Parts 106 and 116) and a second heat exchanger (see e.g. [0043] and Fig. 1, part 106) configured to exchange heat between the hydrocarbon containing gas of a low temperature before removal of impurities (a heat exchanger 106 may be placed… to be used as the heat exchanger upstream of separator 108; see [0043] and Fig. 1 Parts 106 and 107), and the low-purity hydrogen gas of a high temperature that exchanged heat in the first exchanger (heat exchanger 106 may be placed downstream of water gas shift reactor 115… be used to maintain products of the reactor 115 at a desired temperature; see e.g. [0043] and Fig. 1 Parts 106 and 116). Regarding the limitations of the hydrocarbon containing gas being of a low temperature, and the hydrogen gas being of a high temperature, Selstam discloses that the syngas feed leaving the gasifier (analogous to the hydrocarbon containing gas) may be in the range of 100oC – 2000oC (see [0042]) and the shift reaction may occur in a low temperature reactor or a high temperature reactor (see [0043]), where the stream resulting from the shift reactor is analogous to the low purity hydrogen stream. The heat exchanger 106, which exchanges heat between these two streams, as previously cited, is therefore capable of exchanging heat in either direction, and the process is capable of either stream being the high temperature stream or the low temperature stream. Further, the relative temperature of each stream is a functional limitation that does not further define the structure of the apparatus/system, but merely sets forth a manner of operating the apparatus. The Courts have held that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. See In re Danley, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); and Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)). The manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987).
Selstam discloses a syngas feed being mixed with steam to form a mixture of steam, H2, and CO, which then enters a water gas shift reactor where the steam and CO react to form CO2 and H2. This effectively alters the ratio of H2 to CO such that the ratio is raised. This operation may be controlled to produce a syngas having a desired H2:CO ratio up to, for example, 4:1 (see e.g. [0043]). The instant application specifies the separator as separating “side products including the low purity hydrogen gas and carbon from the hydrogen containing gas”. The exact components and component ratios of the low purity hydrogen gas are not disclosed in the instant application, and therefore the low purity hydrogen gas is interpreted as hydrogen gas that contains a significant amount of non-hydrogen components. The syngas that is leaving the water gas shift reactor taught by Selstam is a low purity hydrogen gas. Additionally, the side products leaving the separator of the instant application are not specified as having any further use. The stream is labeled as “g” and is not used anywhere else in the process. This indicates that the separator’s primary function is to further purify the hydrogen containing gas into a “low purity hydrogen gas”. So, while the water gas shift reactor is not physically identical to a separator, in this scenario, it is producing the same function as the separator claimed in the instant application, and is therefore interchangeable and analogous to the separator.
Selstam does not explicitly teach a desulfurizer, adsorber, and an off-gas recirculation. However, Kim discloses a desulfurizer configured to desulfurize a hydrocarbon containing gas (see e.g. [0024]); and a first adsorber configured to separate the low-purity hydrogen gas that exchanged heat in the second heat exchanger into a first high-purity hydrogen gas and a first off gas (see e.g. [0024], [0038] and Fig. 1), through adsorption, wherein at least a portion of the off gas is recirculated (see e.g. Fig. 1). Neither Selstam nor Kim teach the off-gas recirculation as being recirculated to the plasma reactor. However, Kim teaches the off gas being recirculated to the reformer/burner (see e.g. Fig. 1), which is performing a function analogous to that of the plasma reactor disclosed by Selstam. Therefore, when Selstam is modified by Kim, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the recirculation of off gas taught by Kim would be directed to the plasma reactor taught by Selstam. Kim further discloses a cooler configured to cool the low-purity hydrogen gas that exchanged heat in the second heat exchanger (see e.g. Fig. 1 and [0037]). This would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because doing so brings the low-purity hydrogen gas down to the temperature of the PSA unit (see e.g. [0037]).
The combination of Selstam and Kim does not explicitly disclose a first compressor configured to compress the low-purity hydrogen gas cooled in the cooler. However, using a compressor in conjunction with a cooler is a very commonly employed technique as taught by Eurlings (see e.g. [0081]). Selstam and Eurlings are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hydrogen production. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Selstam by incorporating the teachings of Eurlings and using a compressor in conjunction with a cooler. This would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because doing so can provide a multistage intercooled compression (see e.g. [0081]).
Eurlings further discloses an adsorber receiving gas discharged from the first compressor (see compressor 423 in Fig. 5, then stream 401 enters 510 in Fig. 6, then stream 501 enters adsorption units in Fig. 7).
The instant application claims 2 heat exchangers, both of which exchange heat using the low purity hydrogen gas. The first heat exchanger is disposed after the desulfurizer and exchanges heat between the low purity hydrogen gas and the desulfurized hydrocarbon containing gas. The second heat exchanger is disposed before the desulfurizer and exchanges heat between the low purity hydrogen containing gas exiting the first heat exchanger and the hydrocarbon containing gas, prior to its desulfurization. While the combination of Selstam and Kim does not explicitly teach this specific heat exchanger placement, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The instant application claims the use of the low purity hydrogen gas to heat the feed hydrogen containing gas before treatment of impurities (desulfurization) and after treatment of impurities. Selstam teaches the low purity hydrogen gas exchanging heat with the syngas feed prior to the feed entering a separator, where condensed water (an impurity) is removed (see e.g. [0042]). Then, immediately after the condensed water is removed, the syngas stream exchanges heat with the low purity hydrogen gas again, in the same heat exchanger (see e.g. [0043]). When Selstam is modified by the teachings of Kim, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to dispose the desulfurizer in the same relative position as the separator for condensed water removal taught by Selstam, as they are both operating to remove impurities. The desulfurizer being disposed in the position described above would result in the low-purity hydrogen gas exchanging heat with the hydrocarbon containing gas of a low temperature introduced into the desulfurizer. Modified Selstam still only uses one heat exchanger for these specific functions, however it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to separate the heat exchanger (106) taught by Selstam, (see In reDulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961)) into two separate heat exchangers if the heating requirements of each stream cannot be met with a single exchanger. This is a matter of routine experimentation/optimization.
Selstam and Kim are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hydrogen production. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Selstam by incorporating the teachings of Kim and providing a desulfurizer and an adsorber, and recirculating the off-gas. Doing so would remove sulfur impurities from the hydrocarbon feed (see e.g. Kim [0027]), produce high purity hydrogen (see e.g. Kim [0038]), and provide fuel for other components in the process (see e.g. Kim [0039]), respectively.
Regarding Claim 2, Selstam, Kim, and Eurlings together disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
The combination of Selstam and Kim does not explicitly teach an additional heat exchanger, between the first and second heat exchangers, configured to exchange heat between the low purity hydrogen gas that exchanged heat in the first exchanger and at least a portion of the first off gas discharged from the first adsorber. However, Eurlings discloses an additional heat exchanger configured to exchange heat between the cleaned syngas (analogous to the low purity hydrogen stream) and an off-gas (see [0082]). The placement of the heat exchanger between the first and second heat exchanger is not explicitly taught, but would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try. There are a finite number of physical places where the third heat exchanger could have been disposed relative to the first and second exchangers, and it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to dispose the third heat exchanger in a location optimal for efficient heat exchange.
Selstam and Eurlings are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hydrogen production. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Selstam by incorporating the teachings of Eurlings and exchanging heat between an off gas and the low purity hydrogen stream. Doing so can increase the hydrogen content (see e.g. Eurlings [0038]).
Regarding Claim 4, Selstam, Kim, and Eurlings together disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
Selstam and Kim do not explicitly teach a second compressor. However, Eurlings discloses a second compressor configured to compress recirculated syngas (see e.g. [0074]). Eurlings does not specifically teach using the second compressor to compress recirculated off gas. However, as explained in the claim 1 rejection, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to direct the recirculated off gas taught by Kim to the plasma reactor taught by Selstam, and because Eurlings is using the second compressor to compress recirculated gas, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, when modifying Selstam/Kim that this compressor would compress the recirculated off gas. This would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because the compressor acts as a conveying means to convey the recycled gas toward the unit intended to receive the recycle stream (see e.g. Eurlings [0080]).
Regarding Claim 6, Selstam, Kim, and Eurlings together disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Kim further discloses the first off gas that is circulated to the plasma reactor being more than 0 volume% and not more than 100 volume% of a total volume of the first off gas discharged from the first adsorber (see e.g. Fig. 1). The obviousness of the circulation of off gas was explained in the rejection of claim 1. When modifying Selstam by incorporating the teachings of Kim, it would be undeniable for the off gas entering the plasma reactor to be 100 volume % of the off-gas leaving the adsorber, as that is the nature of the recycle stream depicted in Fig. 1 of Kim.
Regarding Claim 7, Selstam, Kim, and Eurlings together disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Kim further discloses the first adsorber performing pressure swing adsorption (PSA) (see e.g. [0024]). This would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because PSA is generally employed by those skilled in the art in order to separate hydrogen, and is a method of producing high-purity hydrogen by absorbing and removing impurities from highly-concentrated hydrogen-containing gas (see e.g. Kim [0038]).
The limitations of Claim 8 are identical to the limitations of claim 1, with the addition of a second adsorber. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 for the associated rationale.
The combination of Selstam and Kim does not explicitly teach a second adsorber. However, Eurlings discloses a second adsorber configured to separate the first off gas to a second high-purity hydrogen gas and a second off gas through adsorption (first, via adsorption, carbon dioxide and hydrogen sulfide are removed, thereafter, second, via a pressure swing adsorption process, hydrogen is separated from the remaining as to form the product gas stream rich in hydrogen; see e.g. [0015] and [0026]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to employ such techniques in order to produce a stream rich in hydrogen (see e.g. Eurlings [0015]).
The limitations of Claim 9 do not exceed those of claim 1. Please refer to the rejection of claim 3 for the associated rationale.
Regarding Claim 10, Selstam, Kim, and Eurlings together disclose the apparatus of claim 8. Eurlings further discloses multiple compressors (several compressors; see [0081]). As explained in the rejection of claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose a compressor in conjunction with a cooler, which cools and compresses the gas prior to its entry to the PSA unit. Eurlings discloses two adsorbers in series, with the second adsorber being a PSA unit (see e.g. [0015]). Because it is obvious to modify Selstam with the teachings of Kim and Eurlings, and because Kim teaches the position of the cooler being directly upstream of the PSA unit (see e.g. Kim, Fig. 1), it logically follows that a cooler/compressor unit would be directly upstream of the PSA unit (the second adsorber), and therefore disposed between the first and second adsorbers taught by Eurlings.
Regarding Claim 12, Selstam, Kim, and Eurlings together disclose the apparatus of claim 8. Kim further discloses at least one of the first adsorber or second adsorber performing pressure swing adsorption (PSA) (see e.g. [0024]). This would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because PSA is generally employed by those skilled in the art in order to separate hydrogen, and is a method of producing high-purity hydrogen by absorbing and removing impurities from highly-concentrated hydrogen-containing gas (see e.g. Kim [0038]).
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selstam et al. (US-20140364517-A1), hereinafter “Selstam”, in view of Kim et al. (US-20100254893-A1), hereinafter “Kim” and Eurlings (US-20230303393-A1) and further in view of Baker Hughes (5 things you should know about flaring).
Regarding Claim 5, Selstam, Kim, and Eurlings together disclose the apparatus of claim 4. Eurlings further discloses a flare configured to burn and discharge the remaining portions of the syngas (analogous to the off-gas), which was not introduced into the second compressor (see e.g. [0076] and Fig. 5). Eurlings does not explicitly teach the flare being configured to “burn and discharge”, however it is very well known in the art that this is what a flare does. Sending gas to a flare is a direct and explicit indication that the gas is being burned and discharged in said flare. It is well known in the art that using a flare decreases the methane output of a facility, and reduces the impact that facility is having on the environment, from a carbon-emissions standpoint (see e.g. Baker Hughes, Points 3 and 4). This motivation would have made the addition of a flare obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 11, Selstam, Kim, and Eurlings together disclose the apparatus of claim 8. Eurlings further discloses a flare configured to burn and discharge the portion of the syngas that is not recycled, which is analogous to the off gas (see e.g. [0076]). As previously established, the off-gas stream leaving the PSA unit taught by Kim is analogous to the off gas claimed in the instant application. Further, it was established in the rejection of claim 12 that the second adsorber performs PSA. It logically follows that when modifying Selstam with Kim and Eurlings, the off gas exiting the PSA is the second off gas, as the off gas exiting the first adsorber would be considered the first off gas. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the recycled syngas taught by Eurlings would be analogous to the recycled off gas taught by Kim. Therefore, a portion of syngas not recycled would be analogous to a portion of a second off gas not recycled. It logically follows that when Selstam is modified by Kim and Eurlings, the gas sent to the flare would be a portion of the second off gas that was not recycled. Eurlings does not explicitly teach the flare being configured to “burn and discharge”, however it is very well known in the art that this is what a flare does. Sending gas to a flare is a direct and explicit indication that the gas is being burned and discharged in said flare. It is well known in the art that using a flare decreases the methane output of a facility, and reduces the impact that facility is having on the environment, from a carbon-emissions standpoint (see e.g. Baker Hughes, Points 3 and 4). This motivation would have made the addition of a flare obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/A.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1774
/CLAIRE X WANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1774