DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-14, 17-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN104788130 – machine translation).
Considering claim 12, Li teaches composite phase coated fibers (abstract) used in fiber matrix composite materials (Paragraph 7). Examples of SiC fibers (i.e. plural ceramic-based reinforcements) with a composite interphase coating of carbon and repeating layers of SiC and BN where Figure 1 depicts the SiC fiber coated with three bilayer groups of individual layers of BN and SiC where the innermost BN is considered the claimed interface coating, the 2nd SiC layer is considered the first layer of SiC matrix, the 2nd layer of BN is considered the secondary interface coating, and the 3rd layer SiC is considered the claimed second layer of SiC matrix where the SiC layers are separate and distinct from one another (Paragraphs 36 and 47; Figure 1 – reproduced below). As such, Li anticipates that which is claimed.
Considering claim 13, Li teaches where the coating thickness between from the fiber through the first BN layer is 70 nm (Paragraph 36). See MPEP 2131.03.
Considering claim 14, Li teaches in Example 2 a 3rd BN layer (e.g. corresponding to the claimed secondary interface coating) with a 50.0 nm thickness (Paragraph 49). See MPEP 2131.03.
Considering claim 17, Li teaches in Example 1 the second SiC layer (e.g. the 1st layer of SiC matrix) having a thickness of 8.0 nm (Paragraph 36). See MPEP 2131.03.
Considering claim 18, Li teaches in Example 2 a 3rd SiC layer (e.g. corresponding to the claimed second SiC layer matrix) with a 25.0 nm thickness (Paragraph 49). See MPEP 2131.03.
Considering claim 19, Li teaches where the total thickness of the 2nd and 3rd SiC layers is 28 nm (Paragraph 36). See MPEP 2131.03.
Considering claims 20 and 22, Li teaches where the fibers are SiC fibers (Paragraphs 36 and 47).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN104788130 – machine translation) as applied to claim 12 above.
Considering claim 21, in addition to the teachings of Li as outlined above, Li teaches an example with 1st – 5th BN layers alternating with 1st – 5th SiC layers (Paragraph 49). Li also teaches where the thickness of the SiC layers ranges from 8.0-25.0 nm and where the BN layers may be from 20.0-50.0 nm (Paragraph 11).
While not expressly teaching a singular example of the claimed component with thickness variation this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in view of the teachings of Li as this is considered a combination of layers coating a fiber with thicknesses overlapping that which is claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks p.6, filed 29 October 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 12-14 and 17-21 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 35 USC 103 in view of Kmetz have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended the claims to recite features not disclosed by Kmetz. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Li as outlined above.
Conclusion
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784