DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office Action in response to the Amendment/Remarks received on 26 March 2026. Claims 1, 8, 16, 17, and 20 have been amended. Claims 3, 5, 7, 9-11, and 18 were previously withdrawn. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 12-17, 19, and 20 have been examined on their merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pgs. 10-16, filed 26 March 2026, with respect to rejected claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 12-17, 19, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in part in light of claim amendments filed on 26 March 2026. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as follows:
Claims 1, 2, 6, 8, 16, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Publication No. WO 03/042603 A1 (hereinafter Juuti) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0381709 A1 (hereinafter Liu) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0018210 A1 (hereinafter Nasis), U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0378020 A1 (hereinafter Camilus), U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0071894 A1 (hereinafter Nigg), U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0306609 A1 (hereinafter Agarwal), and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0286350 A1 (hereinafter Heintzelman).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, Heintzelman, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0398230 A1 (hereinafter Gupta).
Claims 12, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, Heintzelman, Gupta, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0154956 A1 (hereinafter Maruyama).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, Heintzelman, Gupta, Maruyama, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0058062 A1 (hereinafter Mejegard).
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 12-17, 19, and 20 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 8, 16, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Publication No. WO 03/042603 A1 (hereinafter Juuti) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0381709 A1 (hereinafter Liu) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0018210 A1 (hereinafter Nasis), U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0378020 A1 (hereinafter Camilus), U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0071894 A1 (hereinafter Nigg), U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0306609 A1 (hereinafter Agarwal), and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0286350 A1 (hereinafter Heintzelman).
As per claim 1, Juuti substantially teaches the Applicant’s claimed invention. Juuti teaches a building system (pg. 2, par. [0009], pg. 3, par. [0013], and Fig. 1, element 13; i.e. control unit) for a building (pg. 2, par. [0007] and Fig. 1, element 1; i.e. a detached house), the building system (Fig. 1, element 13; i.e. control unit) including:
a plurality of temporary air quality sensors (pg. 1, par. [0005], pg. 2, par. [0008], and pgs. 4-5, par. [0019]; i.e. [0005]: “There is no need to have a sensor in every room assembly unit, but it is enough that there is a sensor in the most important rooms depending on their use. When necessary, the sensor can easily be moved to a room assembly unit in another room.”, [0008]: “A sensor 10 to measure the air quality of the room 2 is located in the room 2. The sensor 10 can be a carbon dioxide sensor, for instance, in which case it measures the carbon dioxide content of the air in the room.”; and [0019]: “On the other hand, the room assembly unit 11 can be formed such that a plurality of different sensors 10 can be connected to it.”);
receive air quality measurements (i.e. carbon dioxide content) from the plurality of temporary air quality sensors (Fig. 1, element 10, i.e. portable air quality sensors) over a period of time (pg. 1, par. [0005], pg. 2, par. [0008], and pg. 13, par. [0013]; i.e. [0005]: “There is no need to have a sensor in every room assembly unit, but it is enough that there is a sensor in the most important rooms depending on their use. When necessary, the sensor can easily be moved to a room assembly unit in another room.”, [0008]: “A sensor 10 to measure the air quality of the room 2 is located in the room 2. The sensor 10 can be a carbon dioxide sensor, for instance, in which case it measures the carbon dioxide content of the air in the room.”, and [0013]: “When the sensor 10 is connected to the room assembly unit 11, a message can be arranged to be sent from the room unit 12 to the control unit 13, informing that there is a sensor 10 arranged in the room assembly unit and that the ventilation in the room 2 is to be adjusted on the basis of the measuring results of the sensor 10.”), the at least one of the plurality of temporary air quality sensors is configured to:
connect to a computing system (pg. 2, par. [0008], [0009], and [0011] and Fig. 1, element 13; i.e. the control unit, [0008]: “The sensor is installed in a room assembly unit 11. The sensor 10 and the room assembly unit 11 then together form a room unit 12.”, and [0009]: “The room unit 12 transmits measuring information measured by the sensor 10 to a control unit 13.”), wherein the plurality of temporary air quality sensors are installed throughout a plurality of spaces (Fig .1, element 2; i.e. rooms) of the building (Fig. 1, element 1) for the period of time (pg. 1, par. [0005] and pg. 2, par. [0008]; i.e. [0005]: “There is no need to have a sensor in every room assembly unit, but it is enough that there is a sensor in the most important rooms depending on their use. When necessary, the sensor can easily be moved to a room assembly unit in another room.” and [0008]: “The sensor is installed in a room assembly unit 11. The sensor 10 and the room assembly unit 11 then together form a room unit 12.”); and
disconnect from the computing system (Fig. 1, element 13) at an end of the period of time, wherein the plurality of temporary air quality sensors are uninstalled at the end of the period of time (pg. 1, par. [0005] and pg. 3, par. [0012]; i.e. [0012]: “It is not necessary to have a sensor 10 in every room 2, but the sensor 10 is moved as necessary to the room where people are. This way, if the purpose of use of the room 2 changes, the sensor 10 can easily be moved as necessary.”);
generate a control strategy based on the air quality measurements, the control strategy configured to control equipment of the building to improve air quality of the building (pg. 3, par. [0013] and [0014]; i.e. a determination of an adjustment to ventilation based on measurement results, [0013]: “When the sensor 10 is connected to the room assembly unit 11, a message can be arranged to be sent from the room unit 12 to the control unit 13, informing that there is a sensor 10 arranged in the room assembly unit and that the ventilation in the room 2 is to be adjusted on the basis of the measuring results of the sensor 10.” and [0014]: “Thus, when the sensor 10 detects that the carbon dioxide content, for instance, rises, the control unit 13 adjusts the amounts of supply and exhaust air of the ventilation system and at the same time maintains a balance in the ventilation of the entire building 1.”); and
control a ventilation system of the building to control an airflow of the plurality of spaces based on the control strategy (pg. 2, par. [0007] and pg. 3, par. [0013] and [0014]; i.e. a determination of an adjustment to ventilation based on measurement results; [0009]: “The ventilation system can be controlled separately for each room, i.e. each room 2 has a supply air duct 3 and an exhaust air duct 4. In the rooms 2, the supply air ducts 3 end in supply air valves 5 and the exhaust air ducts 4 start from exhaust air valves 6. Thus, the amount of supply and exhaust air in each room 2 can be controlled. The system comprises a supply air blower 7 for blowing supply air and an exhaust air blower 8 for removing air. The supply air ducts 3 and the exhaust air ducts 4 are linked to exit and enter a distribution box 9 of ventilation.”; [0013]: “When the sensor 10 is connected to the room assembly unit 11, a message can be arranged to be sent from the room unit 12 to the control unit 13, informing that there is a sensor 10 arranged in the room assembly unit and that the ventilation in the room 2 is to be adjusted on the basis of the measuring results of the sensor 10.”; and [0014]: “Thus, when the sensor 10 detects that the carbon dioxide content, for instance, rises, the control unit 13 adjusts the amounts of supply and exhaust air of the ventilation system and at the same time maintains a balance in the ventilation of the entire building 1.”).
Not expressly taught are a plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses, at least one of the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses comprising a set of sensors to measure a plurality of different air quality metrics;
a computing system disposed remote from the building comprising one or more memory devices storing instructions thereon executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
transmit, via a network, a message to the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses to trigger the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses to activate and collect air quality measurements;
receive, via the network, the air quality measurements of the plurality of different air quality metrics from the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses, the at least one of the plurality of temporary air quality sensors is configured to:
responsive to the message, connect to the computing device, wherein the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses are installed; and
the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses are uninstalled and removed from the plurality of spaces at the end of the period of time;
generate a control strategy based on the data air quality measurements of the plurality of different air quality metrics, the control strategy comprising at least one specified control algorithm and operating settings configured to control equipment of the building to improve air quality of the building; and
transmit, via the network, the control strategy including the at least one specified control algorithm and the operating settings to a building management system to control at least one actuator of a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system of the building to control an airflow of the plurality of spaces based on the at least one specified control algorithm and the operating settings of the control strategy after the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses are uninstalled and removed from the plurality of spaces.
However Liu, in an analogous art of controlling environmental air in a building (pg. 1, par. [0004] and pg. 2, par. [0014]), teaches the missing limitations of a temporary sensor is uninstalled and removed at an end of a period of time (pg. 4, par. [0028], [0029], and [0032]; i.e. [0028]: “… some embodiments provide the air flow sensor temporarily to minimize cost because it is primarily or solely used during commissioning. For some embodiments, the air flow sensor 436 may be temporarily installed by physically positioning a sensing portion of the sensor at a compartment of the environmental control system and connecting the air flow sensor to the controller 402 for delivery of an analog or digital signal.”; [0029]: “After commissioning, the mobile device 422 and the air flow sensor 436 may be disconnected or otherwise removed from the environmental control system ...”; and [0032]: “For commissioning, the air flow sensor 436 is placed in a compartment of the environmental control system, such as behind an outside air damper, and the air flow sensor detects an air measurement based on the condition of the compartment.”); and
control at least one actuator of a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system of a building to control an airflow based on a control strategy after the temporary air quality sensor is uninstalled and removed (pg. 3, par. [0025] and pg. 5, par. [0037]; i.e. [0025]: “The environmental control system includes a controller 402, such as an air intake controller or a CFM control module, to control the HVAC components of the system. … the controller 402 may control a damper actuator to modulate the damper position and provide an analog output to a fan speed driver, such as a variable frequency drive, to modulate the fan speed.” and [0037]: “After commissioning, the mobile device 422 may be detached from the air intake controller 402 and the air flow sensor 436 may be removed. The controller 402 may execute accurate air flow control independently based on the open-loop tables 408-414 stored during commissioning.”) to generate tables for air flow to control air flow (pg. 2, par. [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti to include the addition of the limitations of a temporary sensor is uninstalled and removed at an end of a period of time; and control at least one actuator of a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system of a building to control an airflow based on a control strategy after the temporary air quality sensor is uninstalled and removed to advantageously execute accurate air flow control independently (Liu: pg. 5, par. [0037]).
Juuti in view of Liu does not expressly a plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses, at least one of the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses comprising a set of sensors to measure a plurality of different air quality metrics;
a computing system disposed remote from the building comprising one or more memory devices storing instructions thereon executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
transmit, via a network, a message to the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses to trigger the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses to activate and collect air quality measurements;
receive, via the network, the air quality measurements of the plurality of different air quality metrics from the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses, the at least one of the plurality of temporary air quality sensors is configured to:
responsive to the message, connect to the computing device, wherein the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses are installed;
generate a control strategy based on the data air quality measurements of the plurality of different air quality metrics, the control strategy comprising at least one specified control algorithm and operating settings configured to control equipment of the building to improve air quality of the building; and
transmit, via the network, the control strategy to a building management system to control based on the control algorithm and the operating settings of the control strategy.
However Nasis, in analogous art of environmental monitoring and management (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitations of a plurality of air quality sensor apparatuses (Figs. 1A and 1B, element 100; i.e. environment quality monitoring devices), at least one of the plurality of air quality sensor apparatuses comprising a set of sensors to measure a plurality of different air quality metrics (pg. 3, par. [0048]-[0050] and pg. 14, par. [0129]; i.e. [0048]: “… an environment quality monitoring device 100 may include a plurality of sensors 110 configured to generate sensor data comprising a plurality of environment quality parameters characterizing ambient environment.”; [0049]: “… an environment quality monitoring device 100′ may include a development platform 170 coupled to one or more sensors (e.g., 110a-110g) configured to generate sensor data comprising a plurality of environment quality parameters characterizing ambient environment.”; and [0050]: “… the development platform 170 may be coupled to one or more sensors such as at least one particulate sensor 110a, at least one VOC sensor 110b, at least one carbon dioxide sensor 110c, at least one carbon monoxide sensor 110d, at least one temperature sensor 11e, at least one pressure sensor 110f, at least one humidity sensor 110g, at least one sound intensity sensor 110h, and/or at least one light intensity sensor 110i.” and [0129]: “… the sensor data is generated by one or more environment quality monitoring devices located in the environment …”);
a computing device (Fig. 1, element 120; i.e. a controller) comprising of one or more memory devices (pg. 10, par. [0088]-[0090] and Fig. 1, element 130; i.e. [0090]: “… the memory may include a database and may be, for example, a random access memory (RAM), a memory buffer, a hard drive, an erasable programmable read-only memory (EPROM), an electrically erasable read-only memory (EEPROM), a read-only memory (ROM), Flash memory, and the like.”) storing instructions thereon executed by one or more processors (pg. 10, par. [0089]-[0092]; i.e. [0090]: “The memory may store instructions to cause the processor to execute modules, processes, and/or functions such as measurement data processing, measurement device control, communication, and/or device settings.”); and
receive, via a network, air quality measurements of the plurality of different air quality metrics from the plurality of air quality sensor apparatuses (pg. 2, par. [0015], pg. 10, par. [0093], pg. 15, par. [0128] and [0129], pg. 19, par. [0175], and Figs. 1A and 1B, element 100; i.e. environment quality monitoring devices, [0015]: “The sensor data may be received in various suitable manners. For example, in some variations receiving sensor data may include receiving sensor data from the one or more environment quality monitoring devices over a wireless communication network (e.g., cellular network).”, [0093]: “… one or more network communication devices 140 may be configured to connect the environment quality monitoring device to another system (e.g., Internet, remote server, database) by wired or wireless connection.”, [0128]: “Based on such evaluation, one or more devices (e.g., devices in communication with a cloud network or other suitable network or server, such as with the environment quality monitoring device(s) as shown in FIG. 1C) may be operated to remedy or otherwise alter one or more characteristics of the ambient environment.”, [0129]: “… a method for managing environmental quality (e.g., air quality) may include receiving sensor data 540 comprising a plurality of air quality parameters for an environment, wherein the sensor data is generated by one or more environment quality monitoring devices located in the environment”, and [0175]: “… receiving sensor data comprises receiving sensor data from the one or more environment quality monitoring devices over a wireless communication network.”) for the purpose of detecting adverse environmental conditions (pg. 1, par. [0003] and pg. 4, par. [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu to include the addition of the limitations of a plurality of air quality sensor apparatuses, at least one of the plurality of air quality sensor apparatuses comprising a set of sensors to measure a plurality of different air quality metrics; a computing device comprising one or more memory devices storing instructions thereon executed by one or more processors; and receive, via a network, air quality measurements of the plurality of different air quality metrics from the plurality of air quality sensor apparatuses to advantageously mitigate an adverse air quality event (pg. 2, par. [0015]).
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis does not expressly teach
a computing system disposed remote from the building to:
transmit, via a network, a message to the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses to trigger the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses to activate and collect air quality measurements;
the at least one of the plurality of temporary air quality sensors is configured to:
responsive to the message, connect to the computing device, wherein the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses are installed;
generate a control strategy based on the data air quality measurements of the plurality of different air quality metrics, the control strategy comprising at least one specified control algorithm and operating settings configured to control equipment of the building to improve air quality of the building; and
transmit, via the network, the control strategy to a building management system to control based on the control algorithm and the operating settings of the control strategy.
However Camilus, in analogous art of building management system (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitations of generate a control strategy based on ambient data of a building, the control strategy comprising at least one specified control algorithm and operating settings configured to control equipment of the building (pg. 7, par. [0082] and [0083]; i.e. [0082]: “The building controller 426 can be configured to collect actual ambient data, e.g., the collected building data 424, and use the collected building data 424 to generate an operating setting for the building equipment 410 based on the predictive building model 422.” and [0083]: “… use a variety of control algorithms (e.g., state-based algorithms, extremum-seeking control algorithms, proportional, integral, derivative (PID) control algorithms, model predictive control algorithms, feedback control algorithms, etc.) to determine appropriate control actions for the building equipment 410 as a function of the temperature, humidity, air quality, and/or any other environmental condition.”); and
control based on the at least one specified control algorithm and the operating settings of the control strategy (pg. 7, par. [0082] and [0083]; i.e. [0082]: “… the building controller 426 can be configured to operate the building equipment 410 by dispatching the control setting to the building equipment 410.” and [0083]: “The building equipment 410 that the building controller 426 can be configured to control can be thermostats, building controllers, air conditioners, air handler units (AHUs), boilers, chillers, environmental lighting systems, acoustics systems, etc.”) for the purpose of controlling air conditioners (pg. 7, par. [0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis to include the addition of the limitations of generate a control strategy based on ambient data of a building, the control strategy comprising at least one specified control algorithm and operating settings configured to control equipment of the building; and control based on the at least one specified control algorithm and the operating settings of the control strategy to advantageous minimize energy usage and maintain a comfortable level for environmental condition in a building (Camilus: pg. 2, par. [0018]).
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis and Camilus does not expressly teach a computing system disposed remote from the building to:
transmit, via a network, a message to the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses to trigger the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses to activate and collect air quality measurements;
receive, via the network, the air quality measurements, the at least one of the plurality of temporary air quality sensors is configured to:
responsive to the message, connect to the computing device, wherein the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses are installed; and
transmit, via the network, the control strategy to a building management system.
However Nigg, in an analogous art of air quality control (pg. 1. par. [0002] and pg. 2, par. [0026]), teaches the missing limitation of a computing system (Fig. 1, element 110; i.e. a command and control server (CCS)) disposed remote from a building (pg. 2, par. [0026], pg. 3, par. [0031], and pg. 12, par. [0103] and [0104] and Fig. 8, element 810; i.e. processing circuitry, [0026]: “… the CCS 110 may include various processing, memory, and networking components, and the like, allowing the CCS 110 to execute instructions and provide data processing. The CCS 110 may be implemented as physical hardware, as software virtualizing physical hardware, or as a combination of physical and virtualized components.”, and [0031]: “The CCS 110 may be deployed outside of a building and connected to building systems through a network.”), cause the one or more processors to:
transmit, via a network (pg. 3, par. [0033]; i.e. “The cloud computing platform 120 provides interconnectivity between the various components of the network system 100 and the CCS 110. The cloud computing platform 120 may be an on-premises system, a remote system, or a hybrid system including both local and remote aspects. The cloud computing platform 120 may be configured to connect with the various components of the network system 100 via connections including, without limitation wireless, cellular, or wired connections, local area network (LAN) connections, wide area network (WAN) connections, metro area network (MAN) connections, the Internet, the worldwide web (WWW), and the like, as well as any combination thereof.”), a message to a plurality of air quality sensors to trigger the plurality of air quality sensors to activate and collect air quality measurements (pg. 2, par. [0024] and pg. 4, par. [0037] and [0039]; i.e. [0024]: “A network system 100 may include one or more components such as, as examples and without limitation, a command and control server (CCS) 110, included in a cloud computing platform 120, a building management system 112, one or more building control devices 115, one or more bridge devices 130-1 through 130-N (hereinafter, “bridge device” 130 or “bridge devices” 130), as well as one or more sensors 140-1 through 140-M (hereinafter, “sensor” 140).”, [0037]: “The bridge devices 130 may be configured to, as examples and without limitation, collect data from various sensors 140, to upload or push instructions to the various sensors 140, to upload or push collected data to the various components of the network system 100, to collect, from the various components of the network system 100, various instructions, to collect data, independent of the various sensors 140, to execute instructions, and the like, as well as any combination thereof. In some configurations, the bridge devices 130 are optional.”, and [0039]: “… the CCS 110, via the cloud computing platform 120, may be configured to connect directly with the various sensors 140, without communication through the bridge devices 130.”) for the purpose of controlling air quality, wellness, and comfort in a building (pg. 2, par.[0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis and Camilus to include the addition of the limitation of a computing system disposed remote from a building to: transmit, via a network, a message to a plurality of air quality sensors to trigger the plurality of air quality sensors to activate and collect air quality measurements to reduce an operator’s workload and maintenance (Nigg: pg. 1, par. [0004]) and assure air quality in a building (Nigg: pg. 2, par. [0012]).
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, and Nigg does not expressly teach responsive to the message, connect to the computing device, wherein the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses are installed; and
transmit, via the network, the control strategy to a building management system.
However Agarwal, in an analogous art of sensor systems for detecting events in an environment surrounding a sensor assembly (pg. 1, par. [0008]), teaches the missing limitation of responsive to a message, connect to a computing device, wherein a plurality of air quality sensor apparatuses (Fig. 1, element 102; i.e. sensor apparatuses) are installed (pg. 3, par. [0034] and [0038] and pg. 13, par. [0085]; i.e. [0034]: “The sensing system 100 comprises a sensor assembly 102 having one or more sensors 110 and a computer system 104 (e.g., one or a number of networked servers) to which the sensor assembly 102 can be communicably connected via a network 108 (FIG. 5). The sensors 110 include a variety of sensors for detecting various physical or natural phenomena in the vicinity of the sensor assembly 102, such as vibration, sound, ambient temperature, light color, light intensity, electromagnetic interference (EMI), motion, ambient pressure, humidity, composition of gases (e.g., allowing certain types of gases and pollutants to be detected), distance to an object or person, presence of a user device, infrared radiation (e.g., for thermal imaging), or the like.”, [0038]: “… infrastructure-mediated sensing systems may include one or more sensor assemblies 102 installed within a structure at strategic infrastructure probe points.”, and [0085]: “… the GUI can allow users to enable and disable particular sensor 110 streams from the sensor assembly 102 (i.e., cause the sensor assembly 102 to deactivate or stop sampling the particular sensor(s) 110), modify sampling frequencies of the sensor(s) 110, allow the user to permit other users to access the sensor data associated with his or her user account, and configure other features associated with the back end computer system 104.”) for the purpose of activating and deactivating sensors (pg. 13, par. [0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, and Nigg to include the addition of the limitation of responsive to a message, connect to a computing device, wherein a plurality of air quality sensor apparatuses are installed to advantageously provide a highly capable sensor that can directly or indirectly monitor a large environment (Agarwal: pg. 2, par. [0011]).
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, and Agarwal does not expressly teach transmit, via the network, the control strategy to a building management system.
However Heintzelman, in an analogous art of monitoring a building (pg. 1, par. [0002] and [0004]), teaches the missing limitation of transmitting data to a building management system (pg. 3, par. [0042] and pg. 5, par. [0056]; i.e. [0042]: “As will be described in more detail herein, the controller(s) 22 may be configured to control the security system and/or other home automation devices or to communicate with separate controllers dedicated to the security system and/or other home automation devices.” and [0056]: “The data, settings and/or services may be received automatically from the web service, downloaded periodically in accordance with a control algorithm, and/or downloaded in response to a user request. In some cases, for example, the HVAC controller 22 may be configured to receive and/or download an HVAC operating schedule and operating parameter settings such as, for example, temperature set points, humidity set points, start times, end times, schedules, window frost protection settings, and/or the like from the web server 66 over the second network 60. In some instances, the controllers 22, 38 may be configured to receive one or more user profiles having at least one operational parameter setting that is selected by and reflective of a user's preferences. In still other instances, the controllers 22, 38 may be configured to receive and/or download firmware and/or hardware updates such as, for example, device drivers from the web server 66 over the second network 60.”) for the purpose of uploading data for controlling home automation devices (pg. 3, par. [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, and Nigg to include the addition of the limitation of transmitting data to a building management system to advantageously provide improved methods and systems for monitoring hazardous environments for an inhabitant of a space of a building or a condition that results in damage to a physical component of the space of the building (Heintzelman: pg. 1, par [0002] and pg. 2, par. [0024]).
As per claim 2, Juuti teaches the air quality measurements are carbon dioxide (CO2) (pg. 2, par. [0008]; i.e. “The sensor 10 can be a carbon dioxide sensor, for instance, in which case it measures the carbon dioxide content of the air in the room. ”).
As per claim 6, Juuti teaches the control system configured to receive the air quality measurements via one or more wireless networks (i.e. a Bluetooth system) of the building (pg. 2, par. [0008] and [0009]; i.e. [0008]: “The sensor 10 can be a carbon dioxide sensor, for instance, in which case it measures the carbon dioxide content of the air in the room.” and [0009]: “The information from the room unit 12 to the control unit 13 can be transmitted wirelessly using a Bluetooth system, for instance.”), wherein the plurality of temporary air quality sensors are configured to wirelessly communicate via the one or more wireless networks (pg. 2, par. [0009] and Fig. 1, element 10; i.e. [0009]: “The information from the room unit 12 to the control unit 13 can be transmitted wirelessly using a Bluetooth system, for instance.”).
Juuti does not expressly teach the building system is a cloud system located remote from the building, wherein the cloud system is configured to receive the air quality measurements; and
the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses.
Juuti in view of Liu does not expressly teach the building system is a cloud system located remote from the building, wherein the cloud system is configured to receive the air quality measurements; and
the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses.
However Nasis, in analogous art of environmental monitoring and management (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitations of a building system located remote from the building (pg. 14, par. [0128]; i.e. [0128]: “The cloud network may function as a central intelligence system that may incorporate AI and/or ML to provide continuous environment monitoring (e.g., indoors and/or outdoors) and/or provide the ability to continuously assess the situation and adapt accordingly to control other remedial or environment-modulating devices such as air purifiers, humidifiers, HVAC, etc. In other words, the environment quality monitoring system may further function as an environment management system (e.g., cloud-based building or neighborhood management system).”), wherein the cloud system is configured to receive the air quality measurements (pg. 4, par. [0051], pg. 8, par. [0078], pg. 11, par. [0099], and pg. 14, par. [0128] and [0129]; i.e. [0051]: “The environment quality monitoring device may, in some variations, be integrated within a monitoring network 102 as shown in FIG. 1C. As shown in FIG. 1C, an environment quality monitoring device 100 may communicate sensor data to a cloud network 180. The cloud network 180, alone or in combination with analytics engine 182, may provide or perform suitable computing functionalities such as hosting, device management, alerts, security, etc. such as through the use of one or more application programming interfaces (as further described below).”; [0078]: “… the environment quality monitoring device 500 may sample data from some or all of its sensors multiple times per minute, and may periodically (e.g., once every minute, or more than once every minute) communicate updated sensor data to a cloud network, server, etc. as further described herein. For example, in some variations every parameter may be reported once per minute (or other suitable interval) as an average of several sample measurements performed within that minute.”; [0099]: “If processed locally, then the timestamped sensor data may then be communicated to a server (e.g., via cloud network 180 as shown in FIG. 1C and described above).”; and [0129]: “… a method for managing environmental quality (e.g., air quality) may include receiving sensor data 540 comprising a plurality of air quality parameters for an environment, wherein the sensor data is generated by one or more environment quality monitoring devices located in the environment …”); and
the plurality of air quality sensor apparatuses (pg. 3, par. [0048]-[0050], pg. 14, par. [0129], and Figs. 1A and 1B, element 100; i.e. the environment quality monitoring devices; i.e. [0048]: “… an environment quality monitoring device 100 may include a plurality of sensors 110 configured to generate sensor data comprising a plurality of environment quality parameters characterizing ambient environment.”; [0049]: “… an environment quality monitoring device 100′ may include a development platform 170 coupled to one or more sensors (e.g., 110a-110g) configured to generate sensor data comprising a plurality of environment quality parameters characterizing ambient environment.”; and [0050]: “… the development platform 170 may be coupled to one or more sensors such as at least one particulate sensor 110a, at least one VOC sensor 110b, at least one carbon dioxide sensor 110c, at least one carbon monoxide sensor 110d, at least one temperature sensor 11e, at least one pressure sensor 110f, at least one humidity sensor 110g, at least one sound intensity sensor 110h, and/or at least one light intensity sensor 110i.” and [0129]: “… the sensor data is generated by one or more environment quality monitoring devices located in the environment …”) for the purpose of detecting adverse environmental conditions (pg. 1, par. [0003] and pg. 4, par. [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu to include the addition of the limitations of a building system located remote from the building, wherein the cloud system is configured to receive the air quality measurements; and the plurality of air quality sensor apparatuses to advantageously mitigate an adverse air quality event (pg. 2, par. [0015]).
As per claim 8, Juuti teaches cause the building management system (Fig. 1, element 13) to implement the control strategy to control the equipment of the building, wherein controlling the equipment of the building with the control strategy improves the air quality of the building (pg. 3, par. [0013] and [0014]; i.e. [0013]: “When the sensor 10 is connected to the room assembly unit 11, a message can be arranged to be sent from the room unit 12 to the control unit 13, informing that there is a sensor 10 arranged in the room assembly unit and that the ventilation in the room 2 is to be adjusted on the basis of the measuring results of the sensor 10.” and [0014]: “Thus, when the sensor 10 detects that the carbon dioxide content, for instance, rises, the control unit 13 adjusts the amounts of supply and exhaust air of the ventilation system and at the same time maintains a balance in the ventilation of the entire building 1.”).
Juuti does not expressly teach control the at least one actuator.
However Liu, in an analogous art of controlling environmental air in a building (pg. 1, par. [0004] and pg. 2, par. [0014]), teaches the missing limitation of control the at least one actuator (pg. 3, par. [0025] and pg. 5, par. [0037]; i.e. [0025]: “The environmental control system includes a controller 402, such as an air intake controller or a CFM control module, to control the HVAC components of the system. … the controller 402 may control a damper actuator to modulate the damper position and provide an analog output to a fan speed driver, such as a variable frequency drive, to modulate the fan speed.” and [0037]: “After commissioning, the mobile device 422 may be detached from the air intake controller 402 and the air flow sensor 436 may be removed. The controller 402 may execute accurate air flow control independently based on the open-loop tables 408-414 stored during commissioning.”) to generate tables for air flow to control air flow (pg. 2, par. [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti to include the addition of the limitation of control the at least one actuator to advantageously execute accurate air flow control independently (Liu: pg. 5, par. [0037]).
As per claim 16, Juuti substantially teaches the applicant’s claimed invention. Juuti teaches a method comprising:
receiving air quality measurements (i.e. carbon dioxide content) from a plurality of temporary air quality sensors over a period of time (pg. 1, par. [0005], pg. 2, par. [0008], pg. 13, par. [0013], and Fig. 1, element 10, i.e. portable air quality sensors, [0005]: “There is no need to have a sensor in every room assembly unit, but it is enough that there is a sensor in the most important rooms depending on their use. When necessary, the sensor can easily be moved to a room assembly unit in another room.”, [0008]: “A sensor 10 to measure the air quality of the room 2 is located in the room 2. The sensor 10 can be a carbon dioxide sensor, for instance, in which case it measures the carbon dioxide content of the air in the room. ”, and [0013]: “When the sensor 10 is connected to the room assembly unit 11, a message can be arranged to be sent from the room unit 12 to the control unit 13, informing that there is a sensor 10 arranged in the room assembly unit and that the ventilation in the room 2 is to be adjusted on the basis of the measuring results of the sensor 10.”) and at least one of the plurality of temporary air quality sensors to measure the an air quality metric (pg. 2, par. [0008]; i.e. “A sensor 10 to measure the air quality of the room 2 is located in the room 2. The sensor 10 can be a carbon dioxide sensor, for instance, in which case it measures the carbon dioxide content of the air in the room. ”); and is configured to:
connect to a computing system (pg. 2, par. [0008], [0009], and [0011] and Fig. 1, element 13; i.e. the control unit, [0008]: “The sensor is installed in a room assembly unit 11. The sensor 10 and the room assembly unit 11 then together form a room unit 12.”, and [0009]: “The room unit 12 transmits measuring information measured by the sensor 10 to a control unit 13.”), wherein the plurality of temporary air quality sensors are installed throughout a plurality of spaces (Fig. 1, element 2; i.e. rooms) of a building for the period of time (pg. 1, par. [0005] and pg. 2, par. [0008]; i.e. [0005]: “There is no need to have a sensor in every room assembly unit, but it is enough that there is a sensor in the most important rooms depending on their use. When necessary, the sensor can easily be moved to a room assembly unit in another room.” and [0008]: “The sensor is installed in a room assembly unit 11. The sensor 10 and the room assembly unit 11 then together form a room unit 12.”); and
disconnect from the computing system (Fig. 1, element 13) at an end of the period of time, wherein the plurality of temporary air quality sensors are uninstalled at the end of the period of time (pg. 1, par. [0005] and pg. 3, par. [0012]; i.e. [0012]: “It is not necessary to have a sensor 10 in every room 2, but the sensor 10 is moved as necessary to the room where people are. This way, if the purpose of use of the room 2 changes, the sensor 10 can easily be moved as necessary.”);
generating a control strategy based on the air quality measurements, the control strategy configured to control equipment of the building to improve air quality of the building (pg. 3, par. [0013] and [0014]; i.e. a determination of an adjustment to ventilation based on measurement results, [0013]: “When the sensor 10 is connected to the room assembly unit 11, a message can be arranged to be sent from the room unit 12 to the control unit 13, informing that there is a sensor 10 arranged in the room assembly unit and that the ventilation in the room 2 is to be adjusted on the basis of the measuring results of the sensor 10.” and [0014]: “Thus, when the sensor 10 detects that the carbon dioxide content, for instance, rises, the control unit 13 adjusts the amounts of supply and exhaust air of the ventilation system and at the same time maintains a balance in the ventilation of the entire building 1.”); and
control a ventilation system of the building to control an airflow the plurality of spaces based on the control strategy (pg. 3, par. [0013] and [0014]; i.e. a determination of an adjustment to ventilation based on measurement results, [0013]: “When the sensor 10 is connected to the room assembly unit 11, a message can be arranged to be sent from the room unit 12 to the control unit 13, informing that there is a sensor 10 arranged in the room assembly unit and that the ventilation in the room 2 is to be adjusted on the basis of the measuring results of the sensor 10.” and [0014]: “Thus, when the sensor 10 detects that the carbon dioxide content, for instance, rises, the control unit 13 adjusts the amounts of supply and exhaust air of the ventilation system and at the same time maintains a balance in the ventilation of the entire building 1.”).
Not expressly taught are transmitting, by one or more processing circuits of a computing system disposed remote from a building via a network, a message to a plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses to trigger the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses to activate and collect air quality measurements;
receiving, by the one or more processing circuits via the network, the air quality measurements of a plurality of different air quality metrics from the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses, at least one of the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatus comprising a set of sensors to measure the plurality of different air quality metrics and configured for:
responsive to the message, connect to the computing device, wherein the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses are installed; and
the plurality of temporary air quality sensors are uninstalled and removed from the plurality of spaces at the end of the period of time;
generating, by the one or more processing circuits, a control strategy based on the data air quality measurements of the plurality of different air quality metrics, the control strategy comprising at least one specified control algorithm and operating settings configured to control equipment of the building to improve air quality of the building; and
transmitting, by the one or more processing circuits via the network, the control strategy including the at least one specified control algorithm and the operating settings to a building management system to control at least one actuator of a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system of the building to control an airflow of the plurality of spaces based on the at least one specified control algorithm and the operating settings of the control strategy after the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses are uninstalled and removed from the plurality of spaces.
However Liu, in an analogous art of controlling environmental air in a building (pg. 1, par. [0004] and pg. 2, par. [0014]), teaches the missing limitations of one or more processing circuits of a computing system (pg. 3, par. [0025] and Fig. 4, element 402; i.e. a controller and [0025]: “The environmental control system includes a controller 402, such as an air intake controller or a CFM control module, to control the HVAC components of the system. The controller 402 includes one or more communication components communicating other entities via a wired and/or wireless network, one or more processors, and one or more memory components. The controller 402 may communicate via the communication components, and thus control via the processor(s), the damper position components 404 of the dampers and the fan speed component 406 of the fan. For example, the controller 402 may control a damper actuator to modulate the damper position and provide an analog output to a fan speed driver, such as a variable frequency drive, to modulate the fan speed.”);
a temporary sensor is uninstalled and removed at an end of a period of time (pg. 4, par. [0028], [0029], and [0032]; i.e. [0028]: “… some embodiments provide the air flow sensor temporarily to minimize cost because it is primarily or solely used during commissioning. For some embodiments, the air flow sensor 436 may be temporarily installed by physically positioning a sensing portion of the sensor at a compartment of the environmental control system and connecting the air flow sensor to the controller 402 for delivery of an analog or digital signal.”; [0029]: “After commissioning, the mobile device 422 and the air flow sensor 436 may be disconnected or otherwise removed from the environmental control system ...”; and [0032]: “For commissioning, the air flow sensor 436 is placed in a compartment of the environmental control system, such as behind an outside air damper, and the air flow sensor detects an air measurement based on the condition of the compartment.”); and
control at least one actuator of a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system of the building to control an airflow based on the control strategy after the temporary air quality sensor is uninstalled and removed (pg. 3, par. [0025] and pg. 5, par. [0037]; i.e. [0025]: “The environmental control system includes a controller 402, such as an air intake controller or a CFM control module, to control the HVAC components of the system. … the controller 402 may control a damper actuator to modulate the damper position and provide an analog output to a fan speed driver, such as a variable frequency drive, to modulate the fan speed.” and [0037]: “After commissioning, the mobile device 422 may be detached from the air intake controller 402 and the air flow sensor 436 may be removed. The controller 402 may execute accurate air flow control independently based on the open-loop tables 408-414 stored during commissioning.”) to generate tables for air flow to control air flow (pg. 2, par. [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti to include the addition of the limitations of one or more processing circuits of a computing system; a temporary sensor is uninstalled and removed at an end of a period of time; and control at least one actuator of a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system of the building to control an airflow based on the control strategy after the temporary air quality sensor is uninstalled and removed to advantageously execute accurate air flow control independently (Liu: pg. 5, par. [0037]).
Juuti in view of Liu does not expressly teach transmitting, by one or more processing circuits of a computing system disposed remote from a building via a network, a message to a plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses to trigger the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses to activate and collect air quality measurements;
receiving, by the one or more processing circuits via the network, the air quality measurements of a plurality of different air quality metrics from the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses, at least one of the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatus comprising a set of sensors to measure the plurality of different air quality metrics and configured to:
responsive to the message, connect to the computing device, wherein the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses are installed; and
the plurality of temporary air quality sensors are uninstalled and removed from the plurality of spaces at the end of the period of time;
generating, by the one or more processing circuits, a control strategy based on the data air quality measurements of the plurality of different air quality metrics, the control strategy comprising at least one specified control algorithm and operating settings configured to control equipment of the building to improve air quality of the building; and
transmitting, by the one or more processing circuits via the network, the control strategy to control based on the at least one specified control algorithm and the operating settings of the control strategy.
However Nasis, in analogous art of environmental monitoring and management (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of receiving, by one or more processing circuits (i.e. a server) via a network, air quality measurements of a plurality of different air quality metrics from a plurality of air quality sensor apparatuses (pg. 2, par. [0015], pg. 10, par. [0093], pg. 15, par. [0128] and [0129], pg. 19, par. [0175], and Figs. 1A and 1B, element 100; i.e. environment quality monitoring devices, [0015]: “The sensor data may be received in various suitable manners. For example, in some variations receiving sensor data may include receiving sensor data from the one or more environment quality monitoring devices over a wireless communication network (e.g., cellular network).”, [0093]: “… one or more network communication devices 140 may be configured to connect the environment quality monitoring device to another system (e.g., Internet, remote server, database) by wired or wireless connection.”, [0128]: “Based on such evaluation, one or more devices (e.g., devices in communication with a cloud network or other suitable network or server, such as with the environment quality monitoring device(s) as shown in FIG. 1C) may be operated to remedy or otherwise alter one or more characteristics of the ambient environment.”, [0129]: “… a method for managing environmental quality (e.g., air quality) may include receiving sensor data 540 comprising a plurality of air quality parameters for an environment, wherein the sensor data is generated by one or more environment quality monitoring devices located in the environment”, and [0175]: “… receiving sensor data comprises receiving sensor data from the one or more environment quality monitoring devices over a wireless communication network.”), at least one of the plurality of air quality sensor apparatus comprising a set of sensors to measure the plurality of different air quality metrics (pg. 3, par. [0048]-[0050] and pg. 14, par. [0129]; i.e. [0048]: “… an environment quality monitoring device 100 may include a plurality of sensors 110 configured to generate sensor data comprising a plurality of environment quality parameters characterizing ambient environment.”; [0049]: “… an environment quality monitoring device 100′ may include a development platform 170 coupled to one or more sensors (e.g., 110a-110g) configured to generate sensor data comprising a plurality of environment quality parameters characterizing ambient environment.”; and [0050]: “… the development platform 170 may be coupled to one or more sensors such as at least one particulate sensor 110a, at least one VOC sensor 110b, at least one carbon dioxide sensor 110c, at least one carbon monoxide sensor 110d, at least one temperature sensor 11e, at least one pressure sensor 110f, at least one humidity sensor 110g, at least one sound intensity sensor 110h, and/or at least one light intensity sensor 110i.” and [0129]: “… the sensor data is generated by one or more environment quality monitoring devices located in the environment …”) for the purpose of detecting adverse environmental conditions (pg. 1, par. [0003] and pg. 4, par. [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu to include the addition of the limitation of receiving, by one or more processing circuits via a network, air quality measurements of a plurality of different air quality metrics from a plurality of air quality sensor apparatuses, at least one of the plurality of air quality sensor apparatus comprising a set of sensors to measure the plurality of different air quality metrics to advantageously mitigate an adverse air quality event (Nasis: pg. 2, par. [0015]).
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis does not expressly teach transmitting, by one or more processing circuits of a computing system disposed remote from a building via a network, a message to a plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses to trigger the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses to activate and collect air quality measurements;
the one or more processing circuits via the network configured to:
responsive to the message, connect to the computing device, wherein the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses are installed;
generating, by the one or more processing circuits, a control strategy based on the data air quality measurements of the plurality of different air quality metrics, the control strategy comprising at least one specified control algorithm and operating settings configured to control equipment of the building to improve air quality of the building; and
transmitting, by the one or more processing circuits via the network, the control strategy to a building management system to control based on the at least one specified control algorithm and the operating settings of the control strategy.
However Camilus, in analogous art of building management system (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitations of generating a control strategy based on ambient data of a building, the control strategy comprising at least one specified control algorithm and operating settings configured to control equipment of the building (pg. 7, par. [0082] and [0083]; i.e. [0082]: “The building controller 426 can be configured to collect actual ambient data, e.g., the collected building data 424, and use the collected building data 424 to generate an operating setting for the building equipment 410 based on the predictive building model 422.” and [0083]: “… use a variety of control algorithms (e.g., state-based algorithms, extremum-seeking control algorithms, proportional, integral, derivative (PID) control algorithms, model predictive control algorithms, feedback control algorithms, etc.) to determine appropriate control actions for the building equipment 410 as a function of the temperature, humidity, air quality, and/or any other environmental condition.”); and
control based on the at least one control algorithm and the operating settings of the control strategy (pg. 7, par. [0082] and [0083]; i.e. [0082]: “… the building controller 426 can be configured to operate the building equipment 410 by dispatching the control setting to the building equipment 410.” and [0083]: “The building equipment 410 that the building controller 426 can be configured to control can be thermostats, building controllers, air conditioners, air handler units (AHUs), boilers, chillers, environmental lighting systems, acoustics systems, etc.”) for the purpose of controlling air conditioners (pg. 7, par. [0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis to include the addition of the limitations of generating a control strategy based on ambient data of a building, the control strategy comprising at least one specified control algorithm and operating settings configured to control equipment of the building; and control based on the at least one control algorithm and the operating settings of the control strategy to advantageous minimize energy usage and maintain a comfortable level for environmental condition in a building (Camilus: pg. 2, par. [0018]).
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis and Camilus does not expressly teach transmitting, by one or more processing circuits of a computing system disposed remote from a building via a network, a message to a plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses to trigger the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses to activate and collect air quality measurements;
the one or more processing circuits via the network configured to:
responsive to the message, connect to the computing device, wherein the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses are installed; and
transmitting, by the one or more processing circuits via the network, the control strategy to a building management system.
However Nigg, in an analogous art of air quality control (pg. 1. par. [0002] and pg. 2, par. [0026]), teaches the missing limitation of transmitting, by one or more processing circuits of a computing system disposed remote from a building (pg. 2, par. [0026], pg. 3, par. [0031], and pg. 12, par. [0103] and [0104] and Fig. 8, element 810; i.e. processing circuitry, [0026]: “… the CCS 110 may include various processing, memory, and networking components, and the like, allowing the CCS 110 to execute instructions and provide data processing. The CCS 110 may be implemented as physical hardware, as software virtualizing physical hardware, or as a combination of physical and virtualized components.”, and [0031]: “The CCS 110 may be deployed outside of a building and connected to building systems through a network.”) via a network (pg. 3, par. [0033]; i.e. “The cloud computing platform 120 provides interconnectivity between the various components of the network system 100 and the CCS 110. The cloud computing platform 120 may be an on-premises system, a remote system, or a hybrid system including both local and remote aspects. The cloud computing platform 120 may be configured to connect with the various components of the network system 100 via connections including, without limitation wireless, cellular, or wired connections, local area network (LAN) connections, wide area network (WAN) connections, metro area network (MAN) connections, the Internet, the worldwide web (WWW), and the like, as well as any combination thereof.”), a message to a plurality of air quality sensors to trigger the plurality of air quality sensors to activate and collect air quality measurements (pg. 2, par. [0024] and pg. 4, par. [0037] and [0039]; i.e. [0024]: “A network system 100 may include one or more components such as, as examples and without limitation, a command and control server (CCS) 110, included in a cloud computing platform 120, a building management system 112, one or more building control devices 115, one or more bridge devices 130-1 through 130-N (hereinafter, “bridge device” 130 or “bridge devices” 130), as well as one or more sensors 140-1 through 140-M (hereinafter, “sensor” 140).”, [0037]: “The bridge devices 130 may be configured to, as examples and without limitation, collect data from various sensors 140, to upload or push instructions to the various sensors 140, to upload or push collected data to the various components of the network system 100, to collect, from the various components of the network system 100, various instructions, to collect data, independent of the various sensors 140, to execute instructions, and the like, as well as any combination thereof. In some configurations, the bridge devices 130 are optional.”, and [0039]: “… the CCS 110, via the cloud computing platform 120, may be configured to connect directly with the various sensors 140, without communication through the bridge devices 130.”) for the purpose of controlling air quality, wellness, and comfort in a building (pg. 2, par.[0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis and Camilus to include the addition of the limitation of transmitting, by one or more processing circuits of a computing system disposed remote from a building via a network, a message to a plurality of air quality sensors to trigger the plurality of air quality sensors to activate and collect air quality measurements to reduce an operator’s workload and maintenance (Nigg: pg. 1, par. [0004]) and assure air quality in a building (Nigg: pg. 2, par. [0012]).
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, and Nigg does not expressly teach the one or more processing circuits via the network configured to:
responsive to the message, connect to the computing device, wherein the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses are installed; and
transmitting, by the one or more processing circuits via the network, the control strategy to a building management system.
However Agarwal, in an analogous art of sensor systems for detecting events in an environment surrounding a sensor assembly (pg. 1, par. [0008]), teaches the missing limitation of responsive to a message, connect to a computing device, wherein a plurality of sensors are installed plurality of air quality sensor apparatuses (Fig. 1, element 102; i.e. sensor apparatuses) are installed (pg. 3, par. [0034] and [0038] and pg. 13, par. [0085]; i.e. [0034]: “The sensing system 100 comprises a sensor assembly 102 having one or more sensors 110 and a computer system 104 (e.g., one or a number of networked servers) to which the sensor assembly 102 can be communicably connected via a network 108 (FIG. 5). The sensors 110 include a variety of sensors for detecting various physical or natural phenomena in the vicinity of the sensor assembly 102, such as vibration, sound, ambient temperature, light color, light intensity, electromagnetic interference (EMI), motion, ambient pressure, humidity, composition of gases (e.g., allowing certain types of gases and pollutants to be detected), distance to an object or person, presence of a user device, infrared radiation (e.g., for thermal imaging), or the like.”, [0038]: “… infrastructure-mediated sensing systems may include one or more sensor assemblies 102 installed within a structure at strategic infrastructure probe points.”, and [0085]: “… the GUI can allow users to enable and disable particular sensor 110 streams from the sensor assembly 102 (i.e., cause the sensor assembly 102 to deactivate or stop sampling the particular sensor(s) 110), modify sampling frequencies of the sensor(s) 110, allow the user to permit other users to access the sensor data associated with his or her user account, and configure other features associated with the back end computer system 104.”) for the purpose of activating and deactivating sensors (pg. 13, par. [0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, and Nigg to include the addition of the limitation of responsive to a message, connect to a computing device, wherein a plurality of air quality sensor apparatuses are installed to advantageously provide a highly capable sensor that can directly or indirectly monitor a large environment (Agarwal: pg. 2, par. [0011]).
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, and Agarwal does not expressly teach transmitting, via the network, the control strategy to a building management system.
However Heintzelman, in an analogous art of monitoring a building (pg. 1, par. [0002] and [0004]), teaches the missing limitation of transmitting, via a network, data to a building management system (pg. 3, par. [0042] and pg. 5, par. [0056]; i.e. [0042]: “As will be described in more detail herein, the controller(s) 22 may be configured to control the security system and/or other home automation devices or to communicate with separate controllers dedicated to the security system and/or other home automation devices.” and [0056]: “The data, settings and/or services may be received automatically from the web service, downloaded periodically in accordance with a control algorithm, and/or downloaded in response to a user request. In some cases, for example, the HVAC controller 22 may be configured to receive and/or download an HVAC operating schedule and operating parameter settings such as, for example, temperature set points, humidity set points, start times, end times, schedules, window frost protection settings, and/or the like from the web server 66 over the second network 60. In some instances, the controllers 22, 38 may be configured to receive one or more user profiles having at least one operational parameter setting that is selected by and reflective of a user's preferences. In still other instances, the controllers 22, 38 may be configured to receive and/or download firmware and/or hardware updates such as, for example, device drivers from the web server 66 over the second network 60.”) for the purpose of uploading data for controlling home automation devices (pg. 3, par. [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, and Nigg to include the addition of the limitation of transmitting, via a network, data to a building management system to advantageously provide improved methods and systems for monitoring hazardous environments for an inhabitant of a space of a building or a condition that results in damage to a physical component of the space of the building (Heintzelman: pg. 1, par [0002] and pg. 2, par. [0024]).
As per claim 17, Juuti teaches causing a building management system (Fig. 1, element 13) to implement the control strategy to control the equipment of the building, wherein controlling the equipment of the building with the control strategy improves the air quality of the building (pg. 3, par. [0013] and [0014]; i.e. [0013]: “When the sensor 10 is connected to the room assembly unit 11, a message can be arranged to be sent from the room unit 12 to the control unit 13, informing that there is a sensor 10 arranged in the room assembly unit and that the ventilation in the room 2 is to be adjusted on the basis of the measuring results of the sensor 10.” and [0014]: “Thus, when the sensor 10 detects that the carbon dioxide content, for instance, rises, the control unit 13 adjusts the amounts of supply and exhaust air of the ventilation system and at the same time maintains a balance in the ventilation of the entire building 1.”).
Not expressly taught is the one or more processing circuits.
However Liu, in an analogous art of controlling environmental air in a building (pg. 1, par. [0004] and pg. 2, par. [0014]), teaches the missing limitation of the one or more processing circuits (pg. 3, par. [0025] and Fig. 4, element 402; i.e. a controller and [0025]: “The environmental control system includes a controller 402, such as an air intake controller or a CFM control module, to control the HVAC components of the system. … the controller 402 may control a damper actuator to modulate the damper position and provide an analog output to a fan speed driver, such as a variable frequency drive, to modulate the fan speed.”) to generate tables for air flow to control air flow (pg. 2, par. [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti to include the addition of the limitation of the one or more processing circuits to advantageously execute accurate air flow control independently (Liu: pg. 5, par. [0037]).
As per claim 20, Juuti substantially teaches the applicant’s claimed invention. Juuti teaches a component (pg. 2, [0009], pg. 3, par. [0013], and Fig. 1, element 13; i.e. control unit), cause the component to:
connect to a plurality of temporary air quality sensors (pg. 2, par. [0008], [0009], and [0011] and Fig. 1, element 11; i.e. portable air quality sensors, [0008]: “The sensor is installed in a room assembly unit 11. The sensor 10 and the room assembly unit 11 then together form a room unit 12.”, and [0009]: “The room unit 12 transmits measuring information measured by the sensor 10 to a control unit 13.”) installed throughout a plurality of spaces (Fig. 1, element 2; i.e. rooms) of a building (pg. 2, par. [0007] and Fig. 1, element 1; i.e. a detached house) for a period of time (pg. 1, par. [0005] and pg. 2, par. [0008]; i.e. [0005]: “There is no need to have a sensor in every room assembly unit, but it is enough that there is a sensor in the most important rooms depending on their use. When necessary, the sensor can easily be moved to a room assembly unit in another room.” and [0008]: “The sensor is installed in a room assembly unit 11. The sensor 10 and the room assembly unit 11 then together form a room unit 12.”);
receive air quality measurements (i.e. carbon dioxide content) of the plurality of temporary air quality sensors over the period of time (pg. 1, par. [0005], pg. 2, par. [0008], pg. 13, par. [0013], and Fig. 1, element 10, i.e. portable air quality sensors, [0005]: “There is no need to have a sensor in every room assembly unit, but it is enough that there is a sensor in the most important rooms depending on their use. When necessary, the sensor can easily be moved to a room assembly unit in another room.”, [0008]: “A sensor 10 to measure the air quality of the room 2 is located in the room 2. The sensor 10 can be a carbon dioxide sensor, for instance, in which case it measures the carbon dioxide content of the air in the room. ”, and [0013]: “When the sensor 10 is connected to the room assembly unit 11 , a message can be arranged to be sent from the room unit 12 to the control unit 13, informing that there is a sensor 10 arranged in the room assembly unit and that the ventilation in the room 2 is to be adjusted on the basis of the measuring results of the sensor 10.”);
disconnect from the plurality of temporary air quality sensors at an end of the period of time, wherein the plurality of temporary air quality sensors are uninstalled at the end of the period of time (pg. 1, par. [0005] and pg. 3, par. [0012]; i.e. [0012]: “It is not necessary to have a sensor 10 in every room 2, but the sensor 10 is moved as necessary to the room where people are. This way, if the purpose of use of the room 2 changes, the sensor 10 can easily be moved as necessary.”);
generate a control strategy based on the air quality measurements, the control strategy configured to control equipment of the building to improve air quality of the building (pg. 3, par. [0013] and [0014]; i.e. a determination of an adjustment to ventilation based on measurement results, [0013]: “When the sensor 10 is connected to the room assembly unit 11, a message can be arranged to be sent from the room unit 12 to the control unit 13, informing that there is a sensor 10 arranged in the room assembly unit and that the ventilation in the room 2 is to be adjusted on the basis of the measuring results of the sensor 10.” and [0014]: “Thus, when the sensor 10 detects that the carbon dioxide content, for instance, rises, the control unit 13 adjusts the amounts of supply and exhaust air of the ventilation system and at the same time maintains a balance in the ventilation of the entire building 1.”); and
control a ventilation system of the building to control an airflow of the plurality of spaces based on the control strategy (pg. 2, par. [0007] and pg. 3, par. [0013] and [0014]; i.e. a determination of an adjustment to ventilation based on measurement results; [0009]: “The ventilation system can be controlled separately for each room, i.e. each room 2 has a supply air duct 3 and an exhaust air duct 4. In the rooms 2, the supply air ducts 3 end in supply air valves 5 and the exhaust air ducts 4 start from exhaust air valves 6. Thus, the amount of supply and exhaust air in each room 2 can be controlled. The system comprises a supply air blower 7 for blowing supply air and an exhaust air blower 8 for removing air. The supply air ducts 3 and the exhaust air ducts 4 are linked to exit and enter a distribution box 9 of ventilation.”; [0013]: “When the sensor 10 is connected to the room assembly unit 11, a message can be arranged to be sent from the room unit 12 to the control unit 13, informing that there is a sensor 10 arranged in the room assembly unit and that the ventilation in the room 2 is to be adjusted on the basis of the measuring results of the sensor 10.”; and [0014]: “Thus, when the sensor 10 detects that the carbon dioxide content, for instance, rises, the control unit 13 adjusts the amounts of supply and exhaust air of the ventilation system and at the same time maintains a balance in the ventilation of the entire building 1.”).
Not expressly taught are one or more non-transitory computer readable media storing instructions thereon executed by one or more processors of a computing system disposed remote from a building, cause the one or more processors to:
transmit, via a network, a message to a plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses to trigger the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses to activate and collect air quality measurements;
connect, via the network, the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatus, at least one of the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses comprising a set of sensors to measure a plurality of different air quality metrics;
receive the air quality measurements of the plurality of different air quality metrics of the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses;
the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses are uninstalled and removed from the plurality of spaces at the end of the period of time;
generate a control strategy based on the data air quality measurements of the plurality of different air quality metrics, the control strategy comprising at least one specified control algorithm and operating settings configured to control equipment of the building to improve air quality of the building; and
transmit, via the network, the control strategy including the at least one specified control algorithm and the operating settings to a building management system to control at least one actuator of a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system of the building to control an airflow of the plurality of spaces based on the at least one specified control algorithm and the operating settings of the control strategy after the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses are uninstalled and removed from the plurality of spaces.
However Liu, in an analogous art of controlling environmental air in a building (pg. 1, par. [0004] and pg. 2, par. [0014]), teaches the missing limitations of one or more processors (pg. 3, par. [0025] and Fig. 4, element 402; i.e. a controller and [0025]: “The environmental control system includes a controller 402, such as an air intake controller or a CFM control module, to control the HVAC components of the system. … the controller 402 may control a damper actuator to modulate the damper position and provide an analog output to a fan speed driver, such as a variable frequency drive, to modulate the fan speed.”);
a temporary sensor is uninstalled and removed at an end of a period of time (pg. 4, par. [0028], [0029], and [0032]; i.e. [0028]: “… some embodiments provide the air flow sensor temporarily to minimize cost because it is primarily or solely used during commissioning. For some embodiments, the air flow sensor 436 may be temporarily installed by physically positioning a sensing portion of the sensor at a compartment of the environmental control system and connecting the air flow sensor to the controller 402 for delivery of an analog or digital signal.”; [0029]: “After commissioning, the mobile device 422 and the air flow sensor 436 may be disconnected or otherwise removed from the environmental control system ...”; and [0032]: “For commissioning, the air flow sensor 436 is placed in a compartment of the environmental control system, such as behind an outside air damper, and the air flow sensor detects an air measurement based on the condition of the compartment.”); and
control at least one actuator of a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system of the building to control an airflow based on the control strategy after the temporary air quality sensor is uninstalled and removed (pg. 3, par. [0025] and pg. 5, par. [0037]; i.e. [0025]: “The environmental control system includes a controller 402, such as an air intake controller or a CFM control module, to control the HVAC components of the system. … the controller 402 may control a damper actuator to modulate the damper position and provide an analog output to a fan speed driver, such as a variable frequency drive, to modulate the fan speed.” and [0037]: “After commissioning, the mobile device 422 may be detached from the air intake controller 402 and the air flow sensor 436 may be removed. The controller 402 may execute accurate air flow control independently based on the open-loop tables 408-414 stored during commissioning.”) to generate tables for air flow to control air flow (pg. 2, par. [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti to include the addition of the limitations of one or more processors; a temporary sensor is uninstalled and removed at an end of a period of time; and control at least one actuator of a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system of the building to control an airflow based on the control strategy after the temporary air quality sensor is uninstalled and removed to advantageously execute accurate air flow control independently (Liu: pg. 5, par. [0037]).
Juuti does not expressly teach one or more non-transitory computer readable media storing instructions thereon executed by one or more processors of a computing system disposed remote from a building, cause the one or more processors to:
transmit, via a network, a message to a plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses to trigger the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses to activate and collect air quality measurements;
connect, via the network, the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatus, at least one of the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses comprising a set of sensors to measure a plurality of different air quality metrics;
receive the air quality measurements of the plurality of different air quality metrics of the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses;
generate a control strategy based on the data air quality measurements of the plurality of different air quality metrics, the control strategy comprising at least one specified control algorithm and operating settings configured to control equipment of the building to improve air quality of the building; and
transmit, via the network, the control strategy to control based on the control algorithm and the operating settings of the control strategy.
However Nasis, in analogous art of environmental monitoring and management (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitations of one or more non-transitory computer readable media (pg. 10, par. [0090]; i.e. “… the memory may include a database and may be, for example, a random access memory (RAM), a memory buffer, a hard drive, an erasable programmable read-only memory (EPROM), an electrically erasable read-only memory (EEPROM), a read-only memory (ROM), Flash memory, and the like.”) storing instructions thereon executed by one or more processors of a computing system (pg. 10, par. [0088]-[0092] and Fig. 1, element 130; i.e. a controller and [0090]: “The memory may store instructions to cause the processor to execute modules, processes, and/or functions such as measurement data processing, measurement device control, communication, and/or device settings.”);
a plurality of air quality sensor apparatuses (Figs. 1A and 1B, element 100; i.e. environment quality monitoring devices), at least one of the plurality of air quality sensor apparatuses comprising a set of sensors to measure a plurality of different air quality metrics (pg. 3, par. [0048]-[0050] and pg. 14, par. [0129]; i.e. [0048]: “… an environment quality monitoring device 100 may include a plurality of sensors 110 configured to generate sensor data comprising a plurality of environment quality parameters characterizing ambient environment.”; [0049]: “… an environment quality monitoring device 100′ may include a development platform 170 coupled to one or more sensors (e.g., 110a-110g) configured to generate sensor data comprising a plurality of environment quality parameters characterizing ambient environment.”; and [0050]: “… the development platform 170 may be coupled to one or more sensors such as at least one particulate sensor 110a, at least one VOC sensor 110b, at least one carbon dioxide sensor 110c, at least one carbon monoxide sensor 110d, at least one temperature sensor 11e, at least one pressure sensor 110f, at least one humidity sensor 110g, at least one sound intensity sensor 110h, and/or at least one light intensity sensor 110i.” and [0129]: “… the sensor data is generated by one or more environment quality monitoring devices located in the environment …”); and
receive air quality measurements of the plurality of different air quality metrics of the plurality of air quality sensor apparatuses (pg. 2, par. [0015], pg. 15, par. [0128] and [0129], pg. 19, par. [0175], and Figs. 1A and 1B, element 100; i.e. environment quality monitoring devices, [0015]: “The sensor data may be received in various suitable manners. For example, in some variations receiving sensor data may include receiving sensor data from the one or more environment quality monitoring devices over a wireless communication network (e.g., cellular network).”, [0128]: “Based on such evaluation, one or more devices (e.g., devices in communication with a cloud network or other suitable network or server, such as with the environment quality monitoring device(s) as shown in FIG. 1C) may be operated to remedy or otherwise alter one or more characteristics of the ambient environment.”, [0129]: “… a method for managing environmental quality (e.g., air quality) may include receiving sensor data 540 comprising a plurality of air quality parameters for an environment, wherein the sensor data is generated by one or more environment quality monitoring devices located in the environment”, and [0175]: “… receiving sensor data comprises receiving sensor data from the one or more environment quality monitoring devices over a wireless communication network.”) for the purpose of detecting adverse environmental conditions (pg. 1, par. [0003] and pg. 4, par. [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu to include the addition of the limitations of one or more non-transitory computer readable media storing instructions thereon executed by one or more processors of a computing system; a plurality of air quality sensor apparatuses, at least one of the plurality of air quality sensor apparatuses comprising a set of sensors to measure a plurality of different air quality metrics; and receive air quality measurements of the plurality of different air quality metrics of the plurality of air quality sensor apparatuses to advantageously mitigate an adverse air quality event (Nasis: pg. 2, par. [0015]).
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis does not expressly teach a computing system disposed remote from a building, cause the one or more processors to:
transmit, via a network, a message to a plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses to trigger the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses to activate and collect air quality measurements;
connect, via the network, the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatus;
generate a control strategy based on the data air quality measurements of the plurality of different air quality metrics, the control strategy comprising at least one specified control algorithm and operating settings configured to control equipment of the building to improve air quality of the building; and
transmit, via the network, the control strategy to control based on the control algorithm and the operating settings of the control strategy.
However Camilus, in analogous art of building management system (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitations of generate a control strategy based on ambient data of a building, the control strategy comprising at least one specified control algorithm and operating settings configured to control equipment of the building (pg. 7, par. [0082] and [0083]; i.e. [0082]: “The building controller 426 can be configured to collect actual ambient data, e.g., the collected building data 424, and use the collected building data 424 to generate an operating setting for the building equipment 410 based on the predictive building model 422.” and [0083]: “… use a variety of control algorithms (e.g., state-based algorithms, extremum-seeking control algorithms, proportional, integral, derivative (PID) control algorithms, model predictive control algorithms, feedback control algorithms, etc.) to determine appropriate control actions for the building equipment 410 as a function of the temperature, humidity, air quality, and/or any other environmental condition.”); and
control based on the control algorithm and the operating settings of the control strategy (pg. 7, par. [0082] and [0083]; i.e. [0082]: “… the building controller 426 can be configured to operate the building equipment 410 by dispatching the control setting to the building equipment 410.” and [0083]: “The building equipment 410 that the building controller 426 can be configured to control can be thermostats, building controllers, air conditioners, air handler units (AHUs), boilers, chillers, environmental lighting systems, acoustics systems, etc.”) for the purpose of controlling air conditioners (pg. 7, par. [0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis to include the addition of the limitations of generate a control strategy based on ambient data of a building, the control strategy comprising at least one specified control algorithm and operating settings configured to control equipment of the building; and control based on the control algorithm and the operating settings of the control strategy to advantageous minimize energy usage and maintain a comfortable level for environmental condition in a building (Camilus: pg. 2, par. [0018]).
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis and Camilus does not expressly teach
a computing system disposed remote from a building, cause the one or more processors to:
transmit, via a network, a message to a plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses to trigger the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatuses to activate and collect air quality measurements;
connect, via the network, the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatus; and
transmit, via the network, the control strategy to control based on the control algorithm and the operating settings of the control strategy.
However Nigg, in an analogous art of air quality control (pg. 1. par. [0002] and pg. 2, par. [0026]), teaches the missing limitation of a computing system (Fig. 1, element 110; i.e. a command and control server ) disposed remote from a building (pg. 2, par. [0026], pg. 3, par. [0031], and pg. 12, par. [0103] and [0104] and Fig. 8, element 810; i.e. processing circuitry, [0026]: “… the CCS 110 may include various processing, memory, and networking components, and the like, allowing the CCS 110 to execute instructions and provide data processing. The CCS 110 may be implemented as physical hardware, as software virtualizing physical hardware, or as a combination of physical and virtualized components.”, and [0031]: “The CCS 110 may be deployed outside of a building and connected to building systems through a network.”) via a network (pg. 3, par. [0033]; i.e. “The cloud computing platform 120 provides interconnectivity between the various components of the network system 100 and the CCS 110. The cloud computing platform 120 may be an on-premises system, a remote system, or a hybrid system including both local and remote aspects. The cloud computing platform 120 may be configured to connect with the various components of the network system 100 via connections including, without limitation wireless, cellular, or wired connections, local area network (LAN) connections, wide area network (WAN) connections, metro area network (MAN) connections, the Internet, the worldwide web (WWW), and the like, as well as any combination thereof.”), cause one or more processors to:
transmit, via a network, a message to a plurality of air quality sensors to trigger the plurality of air quality sensors to activate and collect air quality measurements (pg. 2, par. [0024] and pg. 4, par. [0037] and [0039]; i.e. [0024]: “A network system 100 may include one or more components such as, as examples and without limitation, a command and control server (CCS) 110, included in a cloud computing platform 120, a building management system 112, one or more building control devices 115, one or more bridge devices 130-1 through 130-N (hereinafter, “bridge device” 130 or “bridge devices” 130), as well as one or more sensors 140-1 through 140-M (hereinafter, “sensor” 140).”, [0037]: “The bridge devices 130 may be configured to, as examples and without limitation, collect data from various sensors 140, to upload or push instructions to the various sensors 140, to upload or push collected data to the various components of the network system 100, to collect, from the various components of the network system 100, various instructions, to collect data, independent of the various sensors 140, to execute instructions, and the like, as well as any combination thereof. In some configurations, the bridge devices 130 are optional.”, and [0039]: “… the CCS 110, via the cloud computing platform 120, may be configured to connect directly with the various sensors 140, without communication through the bridge devices 130.”) for the purpose of controlling air quality, wellness, and comfort in a building (pg. 2, par.[0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis and Camilus to include the addition of the limitation of a computing system disposed remote from a building, cause one or more processors to: transmit, via a network, a message to a plurality of air quality sensors to trigger the plurality of air quality sensors to activate and collect air quality measurements to reduce an operator’s workload and maintenance (Nigg: pg. 1, par. [0004]) and assure air quality in a building (Nigg: pg. 2, par. [0012]).
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, and Nigg does not expressly teach cause the one or more processors to:
connect, via the network, the plurality of temporary air quality sensor apparatus; and
transmit, via the network, the control strategy to a building management system.
However Agarwal, in an analogous art of sensor systems for detecting events in an environment surrounding a sensor assembly (pg. 1, par. [0008]), teaches the missing limitation of connect, via a network (Fig. 5, element 108), a plurality of air quality sensors (pg. 10, par. [0071] and pg. 13, par. [0085]; i.e. [0071]: “The sensor assembly 102 is communicably connectable to the computer system 104 (e.g., one or number of networked servers) such that the computer system 104 can receive the signals or data generated by the sensors 110 for processing thereon, as described above. In the depicted example, each sensor assembly 102 is communicably connectable to the computer system 104 via a data communication network 108, such as the Internet, a LAN, a WAN, a MAN, or any other suitable data communication network.” and [0085]: “The computer system 104 can be accessible via a client 106, such as a personal computer, laptop or mobile device, through a console user interface or a graphical user interface (GUI), such as a web browser or mobile app. When the client 106 connects to the computer system 104, the computer system 104 can permit the client to access the data from the sensor assemblies 102. … the GUI can allow users to enable and disable particular sensor 110 streams from the sensor assembly 102 (i.e., cause the sensor assembly 102 to deactivate or stop sampling the particular sensor(s) 110), modify sampling frequencies of the sensor(s) 110, allow the user to permit other users to access the sensor data associated with his or her user account, and configure other features associated with the back end computer system 104.”) for the purpose of activating and deactivating sensors (pg. 13, par. [0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, and Nigg to include the addition of the limitation of connect, via a network, a plurality of air quality sensors to advantageously provide a highly capable sensor that can directly or indirectly monitor a large environment (Agarwal: pg. 2, par. [0011]).
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, and Agarwal does not expressly teach transmit, via the network, the control strategy to a building management system.
However Heintzelman, in an analogous art of monitoring a building (pg. 1, par. [0002] and [0004]), teaches the missing limitation of transmitting, via a network, data to a building management system (pg. 3, par. [0042] and pg. 5, par. [0056]; i.e. [0042]: “As will be described in more detail herein, the controller(s) 22 may be configured to control the security system and/or other home automation devices or to communicate with separate controllers dedicated to the security system and/or other home automation devices.” and [0056]: “The data, settings and/or services may be received automatically from the web service, downloaded periodically in accordance with a control algorithm, and/or downloaded in response to a user request. In some cases, for example, the HVAC controller 22 may be configured to receive and/or download an HVAC operating schedule and operating parameter settings such as, for example, temperature set points, humidity set points, start times, end times, schedules, window frost protection settings, and/or the like from the web server 66 over the second network 60. In some instances, the controllers 22, 38 may be configured to receive one or more user profiles having at least one operational parameter setting that is selected by and reflective of a user's preferences. In still other instances, the controllers 22, 38 may be configured to receive and/or download firmware and/or hardware updates such as, for example, device drivers from the web server 66 over the second network 60.”) for the purpose of uploading data for controlling home automation devices (pg. 3, par. [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, and Nigg to include the addition of the limitation of transmitting data, via a network, to a building management system to advantageously provide improved methods and systems for monitoring hazardous environments for an inhabitant of a space of a building or a condition that results in damage to a physical component of the space of the building (Heintzelman: pg. 1, par [0002] and pg. 2, par. [0024]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, Heintzelman, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0398230 A1 (hereinafter Gupta).
As per claim 4, Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis and Camilus does not expressly teach wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to:
generate a plurality of trends of the plurality of air quality metrics; and
cause a display device of a user device to display the plurality of trends.
However Nigg, in an analogous art of air quality control (pg. 1. par. [0002] and pg. 2, par. [0026]), teaches the missing limitation of wherein instructions cause one or more processors (pg. 2, par. [0026] and pg. 12, par. [0103] and [0104] and Fig. 8, element 810; i.e. [0026]: “… the CCS 110 may include various processing, memory, and networking components, and the like, allowing the CCS 110 to execute instructions and provide data processing. The CCS 110 may be implemented as physical hardware, as software virtualizing physical hardware, or as a combination of physical and virtualized components.”) to:
generate a plurality of trends of a plurality of air quality metrics (pgs. 5-6, par. [0053]; i.e. “Air quality data analysis at S320 may include the identification of patterns, trends, gradients, outlier values, and the like, as well as any combination thereof. Analysis of air quality data at S320 may include instantaneous analysis, providing for analysis of data at the instant of collection, short-term analysis, providing for analysis of data for a short period prior to collection, such as data from a previous hour or day, and the like, and long-term analysis, providing for analysis of data over longer periods, including through the first collected datapoint. … Further, air quality data analysis at S320 may include analysis of collected data to identify one or more air quality metrics concerning air-quality levels, wellness levels, energy consumption, and the like, as well as any combination thereof.”) for the purpose of controlling air quality, wellness, and comfort in a building (pg. 2, par.[0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis and Camilus to include the addition of the limitation of wherein instructions cause one or more processors to: generate a plurality of trends of a plurality of air quality metrics to reduce an operator’s workload and maintenance (Nigg: pg. 1, par. [0004]) and assure air quality in a building (Nigg: pg. 2, par. [0012]).
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, and Nigg does not expressly teach cause a display device of a user device to display the plurality of trends.
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg and Agarwal does not expressly teach cause a display device of a user device to display the plurality of trends.
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal and Heintzelman does not expressly teach cause a display device of a user device to display the plurality of trends.
However Gupta, in an analogous art of tracking air quality (pg. 1, par. [0006]), teaches the missing limitation of cause a display device (Fig. 3, element 74; i.e. a display) of a user device (Fig. 3, element 72; i.e. a controller) to display a plurality of trends (pgs. 5-6, par. [0040], [0048] and [0051]; i.e. [0048]: “… the controller may be configured to display on a display a dashboard …” and [0051]: “… dashboard 100 includes a section 122 that shows air quality trends. These may be displayed for any desired period of time, such as but not limited to daily, weekly and monthly.”) for the purpose of displaying information (pg. 5, par. [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal and Heintzelman to include the addition of the limitation of cause a display device of a user device to display a plurality of trends to reduce risk of pathogen exposure within a space located with a facility (Gupta: pg. 1, par. [0004]).
Claims 12, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, Heintzelman, Gupta, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0154956 A1 (hereinafter Maruyama).
As per claim 12, Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, and Heintzelman does not expressly teach generate a summary interface based on the air quality measurements, the summary interface including a single graphical interface comparing the air quality of the plurality of spaces of the building and temporal representations of levels of the air quality in the plurality of spaces of the building over a duration; and
cause a display device of a user device to display the summary interface.
However Gupta, in an analogous art of tracking air quality (pg. 1, par. [0006]), teaches the missing limitations of generate a summary interface (Fig. 5, element 100; i.e. a dashboard including a Space Health section (Fig. 5, element 124)) based on air quality measurements (pg. 2, par. [0019] and pg. 6, par. [0051]; i.e. [0019]: “Each space 14 includes one or more sensors 16, although only one sensor 16 is shown in each of the spaces 16. The sensors 16 are individually labeled as 16a, 16b, 16c. The sensors 16 may, for example, be environmental sensors such as temperature sensors, humidity sensors, visible light sensors, UV sensors, particulate matter sensors (e.g. PM2.5), VOC sensors, CO sensors, CO2 sensors, ozone sensors, and/or any other environmental suitable sensor.” and [0051]: “To illustrate, the Space Health section 124 includes a Name column 126, a Zone column 128, a Temperature column 130, a Humidity column 132, a PM2.5 column 134 that displays either Healthy, Unhealthy or Moderate, a Sterilization Status column 136, a Dose Runtime column 138 and a Last Sterilize column 140.”), the summary interface (Fig. 5, element 100) including a single graphical interface comparing air quality (i.e. current temperature and humidity) of a plurality of spaces of a building (Fig. 5, element 128; i.e. zones or rooms) and representations of the air quality (Fig. 5, element 130 and 132; i.e. current temperature and humidity) in the plurality of spaces of the building (pg. 6, par. [0051]; i.e. “To illustrate, the Space Health section 124 includes a Name column 126, a Zone column 128, a Temperature column 130, a Humidity column 132, a PM2.5 column 134 that displays either Healthy, Unhealthy or Moderate, a Sterilization Status column 136, a Dose Runtime column 138 and a Last Sterilize column 140.”); and
cause a display device (Fig. 3, element 74; i.e. a display) of a user device (Fig. 3, element 72; i.e. a controller) to display the summary interface (pgs. 5-6, par. [0040], [0048] and [0051]; i.e. [0048]: “… the controller may be configured to display on a display a dashboard …” and [0051]: “To illustrate, the Space Health section 124 includes a Name column 126, a Zone column 128, a Temperature column 130, a Humidity column 132, a PM2.5 column 134 that displays either Healthy, Unhealthy or Moderate, a Sterilization Status column 136, a Dose Runtime column 138 and a Last Sterilize column 140.”) for the purpose of displaying information (pg. 5, par. [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, and Heintzelman to include the addition of the limitations of generate a summary interface based on air quality measurements, the summary interface including a single graphical interface comparing air quality of a plurality of spaces of a building and temporal representations of levels of the air quality in the plurality of spaces of the building; and cause a display device of a user device to display the summary interface to reduce a risk of pathogen exposure within a space located with a facility (Gupta: pg. 1, par. [0004]).
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, Heintzelman, and Gupta does not expressly teach temporal representations of levels of the air quality in the plurality of spaces of the building over a duration.
However Maruyama, in an analogous art of monitoring systems (pg. 8, par. [0087]), teaches the missing limitation of temporal representations of levels of air quality in a plurality of spaces of a building over a duration (pg. 3, par. [0049] and pg. 8, par. [0089]; i.e. [0089]: “… a display may depict CO2 levels over time at a plurality of locations using stacked bar graphs.”) for the purpose of providing comparative information between different locations (pg. 8, par. [0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, and Heintzelman, and Gupta to include the addition of the limitation of a temporal representations of levels of data over a duration to advantageously provide stronger visual information relating to effects of ventilation in different locations (Maruyama: pg. 4, par. [0089]).
As per claim 13, Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, Heintzelman, and Gupta does not expressly teach the summary interface is generated for a first air quality metric; and
wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to generate a second summary interface based on the air quality measurements for a second air quality metric, the second summary interface including a second single chart comparing the second air quality metric of the plurality of spaces of the building and second temporal representations of levels of the second air quality metric in the plurality of spaces of the building over the duration.
However Maruyama, in an analogous art of monitoring systems (pg. 8, par. [0087]), teaches the missing limitations of a summary interface is generated for a first air quality metric (pg. 8, par. [0089]; i.e. “… a display may depict CO2 levels over time at a plurality of locations using stacked bar graphs.”); and
wherein instructions further cause one or more processors to generate a second summary interface based on air quality measurements for a second air quality metric (pg. 2, par. [0040] and [0042] and pgs. 4-5, par. [0059]; i.e. [0040]: “… the term “environmental metrics” may be used to refer to environmental metrics detected via a sensor within a target space and/or to ventilation information as described above.”; [0042]: “… the environmental metric is based on one or more of: a carbon dioxide (CO.sub.2) level, inside air temperature (TAT), outside air temperature (OAT), humidity, particulate levels, barometric pressure, indoor air pressure, ventilation device fan speed, ventilation opening percentage, air speed, date, day of the week, scheduled events, population levels time of day, or dew point …”, and [0059]: “The portal 126 represents a graphical user interface (e.g., displayed on a display device that is associated with server computer 120 or with client device 140) and associated operating programs. The server computer 120 may be configured to generate graphical user interface information for, and cause display of, a management interface comprising one or more informational dashboards, configuration pages, and other interfaces that facilitate user interaction with the ventilation system, such as analytics and reports, alerts and alarms, configuration options, database options (e.g., for customer, group, site, and/or device configuration), schedules, user access management, etc.”), the second summary interface including a second single chart comparing the second air quality metric of the plurality of spaces of the building and second temporal representations of levels of the second air quality metric in the plurality of spaces of the building over the duration (pg. 8, par. [0087], [0089], and [0090]; i.e. [0087]: “The displays may depict, for a particular location, CO.sub.2 levels before and after a ventilation action, rates of increase or decrease of CO.sub.2, effectiveness of ventilation on CO.sub.2 levels, relationships between CO.sub.2 decreases and other environmental metrics, and/or other displays which provide insight into CO.sub.2 levels at the particular location.”, [0089]: “… a display may depict CO2 levels over time at a plurality of locations using stacked bar graphs.”, and [0090]: “While display 300 depicts CO.sub.2 levels using a histogram, other embodiments may use different displays, such as line charts, tables, or information summaries, or may display one or more other environmental metrics.”) for the purpose of providing comparative information between different locations (pg. 8, par. [0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, Heintzelman, and Gupta to include the addition of the limitations of a summary interface is generated for a first air quality metric; and wherein instructions further cause one or more processors to generate a second summary interface based on air quality measurements for a second air quality metric, the second summary interface including a second single chart comparing the second air quality metric of the plurality of spaces of the building and second temporal representations of levels of the second air quality metric in the plurality of spaces of the building over the duration to advantageously provide stronger visual information relating to effects of ventilation in different locations (Maruyama: pg. 4, par. [0089]).
As per claim 19, Juuti does not expressly teach generating, by the one or more processing circuits, a summary interface based on the air quality measurements, the summary interface including a single graphical interface comparing the air quality of the plurality of spaces of the building and temporal representations of levels of the air quality in the plurality of spaces of the building over a duration; and
causing, by the one or more processing circuits, a display device of a user device to display the summary interface.
However Liu, in an analogous art of controlling environmental air in a building (pg. 1, par. [0004] and pg. 2, par. [0014]), teaches the missing limitation of the one or more processing circuits (pg. 3, par. [0025] and Fig. 4, element 402; i.e. a controller and [0025]: “The environmental control system includes a controller 402, such as an air intake controller or a CFM control module, to control the HVAC components of the system. … the controller 402 may control a damper actuator to modulate the damper position and provide an analog output to a fan speed driver, such as a variable frequency drive, to modulate the fan speed.”) to generate tables for air flow to control air flow (pg. 2, par. [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti to include the addition of the limitation of one or more processing circuits to advantageously execute accurate air flow control independently (Liu: pg. 5, par. [0037]).
Juuti in view of Liu does not expressly teach generating, by the one or more processing circuits, a summary interface based on the air quality measurements, the summary interface including a single graphical interface comparing the air quality of the plurality of spaces of the building and temporal representations of levels of the air quality in the plurality of spaces of the building over a duration; and
causing, by the one or more processing circuits, a display device of a user device to display the summary interface.
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis does not expressly teach generating, by the one or more processing circuits, a summary interface based on the air quality measurements, the summary interface including a single graphical interface comparing the air quality of the plurality of spaces of the building and temporal representations of levels of the air quality in the plurality of spaces of the building over a duration; and
causing, by the one or more processing circuits, a display device of a user device to display the summary interface.
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, and Camilus does not expressly teach generating, by the one or more processing circuits, a summary interface based on the air quality measurements, the summary interface including a single graphical interface comparing the air quality of the plurality of spaces of the building and temporal representations of levels of the air quality in the plurality of spaces of the building over a duration; and
causing, by the one or more processing circuits, a display device of a user device to display the summary interface.
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, and Nigg does not expressly teach generating, by the one or more processing circuits, a summary interface based on the air quality measurements, the summary interface including a single graphical interface comparing the air quality of the plurality of spaces of the building and temporal representations of levels of the air quality in the plurality of spaces of the building over a duration; and
causing, by the one or more processing circuits, a display device of a user device to display the summary interface.
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, and Agarwal does not expressly teach generating, by the one or more processing circuits, a summary interface based on the air quality measurements, the summary interface including a single graphical interface comparing the air quality of the plurality of spaces of the building and temporal representations of levels of the air quality in the plurality of spaces of the building over a duration; and
causing, by the one or more processing circuits, a display device of a user device to display the summary interface.
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, and Heintzelman does not expressly teach generating, by the one or more processing circuits, a summary interface based on the air quality measurements, the summary interface including a single graphical interface comparing the air quality of the plurality of spaces of the building and temporal representations of levels of the air quality in the plurality of spaces of the building over a duration; and
causing, by the one or more processing circuits, a display device of a user device to display the summary interface.
However Gupta, in an analogous art of tracking air quality (pg. 1, par. [0006]), teaches the missing limitations of generating a summary interface (Fig. 5, element 100; i.e. a dashboard including a Space Health section (Fig. 5, element 124)) based on air quality measurements (pg. 2, par. [0019] and pg. 6, par. [0051]; i.e. [0019]: “Each space 14 includes one or more sensors 16, although only one sensor 16 is shown in each of the spaces 16. The sensors 16 are individually labeled as 16a, 16b, 16c. The sensors 16 may, for example, be environmental sensors such as temperature sensors, humidity sensors, visible light sensors, UV sensors, particulate matter sensors (e.g. PM2.5), VOC sensors, CO sensors, CO2 sensors, ozone sensors, and/or any other environmental suitable sensor.” and [0051]: “To illustrate, the Space Health section 124 includes a Name column 126, a Zone column 128, a Temperature column 130, a Humidity column 132, a PM2.5 column 134 that displays either Healthy, Unhealthy or Moderate, a Sterilization Status column 136, a Dose Runtime column 138 and a Last Sterilize column 140.”), the summary interface (Fig. 5, element 100) including a single graphical interface comparing the air quality (i.e. current temperature and humidity) of a plurality of spaces of a building (Fig. 5, element 128; i.e. zones or rooms) and representations of the air quality (Fig. 5, element 130 and 132; i.e. current temperature and humidity) in the plurality of spaces of the building (pg. 6, par. [0051]; i.e. “To illustrate, the Space Health section 124 includes a Name column 126, a Zone column 128, a Temperature column 130, a Humidity column 132, a PM2.5 column 134 that displays either Healthy, Unhealthy or Moderate, a Sterilization Status column 136, a Dose Runtime column 138 and a Last Sterilize column 140.”); and
causing a display device (Fig. 3, element 74; i.e. a display) of a user device (Fig. 3, element 72; i.e. a controller) to display the summary interface (pgs. 5-6, par. [0040], [0048] and [0051]; i.e. [0048]: “… the controller may be configured to display on a display a dashboard …” and [0051]: “To illustrate, the Space Health section 124 includes a Name column 126, a Zone column 128, a Temperature column 130, a Humidity column 132, a PM2.5 column 134 that displays either Healthy, Unhealthy or Moderate, a Sterilization Status column 136, a Dose Runtime column 138 and a Last Sterilize column 140.”) for the purpose of displaying information (pg. 5, par. [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, and Heintzelman to include the addition of the limitations of generating a summary interface based on air quality measurements, the summary interface including a single graphical interface comparing the air quality of a plurality of spaces of a building and representations of the air quality in the plurality of spaces of the building; and causing a display device of a user device to display the summary interface to reduce a risk of pathogen exposure within a space located with a facility (Gupta: pg. 1, par. [0004]).
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, Heintzelman, and Gupta does not expressly teach temporal representations of levels of the air quality in the plurality of spaces of the building over a duration.
However Maruyama, in an analogous art of monitoring systems (pg. 8, par. [0087]), teaches the missing limitation of temporal representations of levels of air quality in a plurality of spaces of a building over a duration (pg. 3, par. [0049] and pg. 8, par. [0089]; i.e. [0089]: “… a display may depict CO2 levels over time at a plurality of locations using stacked bar graphs.”) for the purpose of providing comparative information between different locations (pg. 8, par. [0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, Heintzelman, and Gupta to include the addition of the limitation of a temporal representations of levels of data over a duration to advantageously provide stronger visual information relating to effects of ventilation in different locations (Maruyama: pg. 4, par. [0089]).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, Heintzelman, Gupta, Maruyama, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0058062 A1 (hereinafter Mejegard).
As per claim 14, Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, Heintzelman, and Gupta does not expressly teach the single graphical interface is a bar chart including a plurality of bars for the plurality of spaces, the plurality of bars including a plurality of components indicating a percentage of time of the duration that the air quality is in a particular range of values.
However Maruyama, in an analogous art of monitoring systems (pg. 8, par. [0087]), teaches of a single graphical interface is a bar chart including a plurality of bars for a plurality of spaces, the plurality of bars including a plurality of components indicating time of a duration that the air quality is of a particular value (pg. 8, par. [0087] and [0089]; i.e. [0089]: “… a display may depict CO2 levels over time at a plurality of locations using stacked bar graphs.”) for the purpose of providing comparative information between different locations (pg. 8, par. [0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, Heintzelman, and Gupta to include the addition of the limitation of a single graphical interface is a bar chart including a plurality of bars for a plurality of spaces, the plurality of bars including a plurality of components indicating time of a duration that the air quality is of a particular value to advantageously provide stronger visual information relating to effects of ventilation in different locations (Maruyama: pg. 4, par. [0089]).
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, Heintzelman, Gupta, and Maruyama does not expressly teach a bar chart including a plurality of bars, the plurality of bars indicating a percentage of time of the duration that the air quality is in a particular range of values.
However Mejegard, in an analogous art of monitoring systems (abstract and pg. 1, par. [0004]), teaches the missing limitation of a single graphical interface a bar chart (Fig. 25, element 2522 of Fig. 25, element 2500; i.e. a chart of the dashboard) including a plurality of bars (Fig. 25, element 2530, 2532, 2534, and 2536), the plurality of bars indicating a percentage of time of a duration that data is in a particular range of values (pg. 26, par. [0248]; i.e. “… the dashboard 2500 displays near the bottom of the page a chart 2522 showing the percentage time spent in different operational states (e.g., percentage time spent in different RPM ranges), such as idling 2530, clutch engagement 2532, working 2534, and racing 2536. This may be based, for example, on the RPM data and charts described herein above.”) for the purpose of displaying trends over a period of time (pg. 26, par. [0247]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, Heintzelman, Gupta, and Maruyama to include the addition of the limitation of a bar chart including a plurality of bars, the plurality of bars indicating a percentage of time of a duration that data is in a particular range of values to advantageously provide graphics that assist the user in quickly and intuitively viewing and comprehending the presented information (Mejegard: pg. 4, par. [0050]).
As per claim 15, Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, and Heintzelman does not expressly teach the single graphical interface is a table including a plurality of rows and a plurality of columns;
wherein the plurality of rows indicate the plurality of spaces of the building;
wherein the plurality of columns indicate a plurality of ranges of values of the air quality; and
wherein each intersection of the plurality of rows and the plurality of columns indicates a percentage of time that the air quality is in a particular range of values.
However Gupta, in an analogous art of tracking air quality (pg. 1, par. [0006]), teaches the missing limitations of a graphical interface (Fig. 5, element 100; i.e. the dashboard) is a table (Fig. 5, element 124; i.e. the Space Health section) including a plurality of rows (Fig. 5, element 124; i.e. detailed Zones, Current Temperatures, and Humidity listed vertical after each respective column headings of Fig. 5, element 128, 130, and 132) and a plurality of columns (pg. 6, par. [0051]; i.e. “To illustrate, the Space Health section 124 includes a Name column 126, a Zone column 128, a Temperature column 130, a Humidity column 132, a PM2.5 column 134 that displays either Healthy, Unhealthy or Moderate, a Sterilization Status column 136, a Dose Runtime column 138 and a Last Sterilize column 140.”);
wherein the plurality of rows (Fig. 5, element 124; the detailed Zones listed vertical after the column heading of Fig. 5, element 128) indicate a plurality of spaces of a building (pg. 2, par. [0019] and pg. 6, par. [0051]; i.e. “The facility 12 includes a number of spaces 14 that are individually labeled as 14a, 14b, 14c. It will be appreciated that this is merely illustrative, as the facility 12 will typically include a much greater number of spaces 14 or zones.”);
wherein the plurality of columns indicate a plurality values of the air quality (pg. 6, par. [0051] and Fig. 5, element 130 and 132; i.e. the detailed Current Temperature and Humidity listed vertical after the column heading of Fig. 5, element 130 and 132, respectively); and
wherein each intersection of the plurality of rows and the plurality of columns indicates a value (pg. 6, par. [0051] and Fig. 5, element 130 and 132) for the purpose of displaying information (pg. 5, par. [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, and Heintzelman to include the addition of the limitations of a graphical interface is a table including a plurality of rows and a plurality of columns; wherein the plurality of rows indicate a plurality of spaces of a building; wherein the plurality of columns indicate a plurality values of the air quality; and wherein each intersection of the plurality of rows and the plurality of columns indicates a value to reduce a risk of pathogen exposure within a space located with a facility (Gupta: pg. 1, par. [0004]).
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, Heintzelman, and Gupta does not expressly teach a single graphical interface;
wherein the plurality of columns indicate a plurality of ranges of values of the air quality; and
wherein each intersection of the plurality of rows and the plurality of columns indicates a percentage of time that the air quality is in a particular range of values
However Maruyama, in an analogous art of monitoring systems (pg. 8, par. [0087]), teaches of a single graphical interface (pg. 8, par. [0087], [0089], and [0090]; i.e. [0089]: “… a display may depict CO2 levels over time at a plurality of locations using stacked bar graphs.” and [0090]: “While display 300 depicts CO.sub.2 levels using a histogram, other embodiments may use different displays, such as line charts, tables, or information summaries, or may display one or more other environmental metrics.”) for the purpose of providing comparative information between different locations (pg. 8, par. [0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, Heintzelman, and Gupta to include the addition of the limitation of a single graphical interface to advantageously provide stronger visual information relating to effects of ventilation in different locations (Maruyama: pg. 4, par. [0089]).
Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, Heintzelman, Gupta, and Maruyama does not expressly teach indicate a plurality of ranges of values of the air quality; and
indicates a percentage of time that the air quality is in a particular range of values.
However Mejegard, in an analogous art of monitoring systems (abstract and pg. 1, par. [0004]), teaches the missing limitations of indicate a plurality of ranges of values (pg. 26, par. [0248]; i.e. “… the dashboard 2500 displays near the bottom of the page a chart 2522 showing the percentage time spent in different operational states (e.g., percentage time spent in different RPM ranges), such as idling 2530, clutch engagement 2532, working 2534, and racing 2536. This may be based, for example, on the RPM data and charts described herein above.”); and
indicates a percentage of time that data is in a particular range of values (pg. 26, par. [0248]; i.e. “… the dashboard 2500 displays near the bottom of the page a chart 2522 showing the percentage time spent in different operational states (e.g., percentage time spent in different RPM ranges), such as idling 2530, clutch engagement 2532, working 2534, and racing 2536. This may be based, for example, on the RPM data and charts described herein above.”) for the purpose of displaying trends over a period of time (pg. 26, par. [0247]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Juuti in view of Liu in further view of Nasis, Camilus, Nigg, Agarwal, Heintzelman, Gupta, and Maruyama to include the addition of the limitations of indicate a plurality of ranges of values; and indicates a percentage of time that data is in a particular range of values to advantageously provide graphics that assist the user in quickly and intuitively viewing and comprehending the presented information (Mejegard: pg. 4, par. [0050]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following references are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning (HVAC) systems.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2002/0144537 A1 discloses an air monitoring system having an air monitoring unit with at least one sensor for measuring data of an air quality parameter and a computer for storing the air quality parameter data received from the sensor.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2009/0246036 A1 discloses controlling a compressed air unit comprising one or several compressed air networks and a number of communicating controllers for controlling components that are part of the compressed air networks.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0130981 A1 discloses an air quality monitoring and management system adapted to be mounted between an existing thermostat and a wall in which the thermostat was previously mounted, or directly at the HVAC system.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0366414 A1 discloses a building management system includes connected equipment and a predictive diagnostics system.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0299159 A1 discloses a HVAC system within a building including an HVAC device having a blower fan, a number of sensors, and a control device.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0010702 A1 discloses an environmental building sensor including a sensing device configured to measure an environmental condition of a building, an output connection between one or more circuits of the environmental building sensor and an external device, the output connection connected to an input impedance of the external device, and one or more circuits.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER L NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117