DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The 12/05/2025 withdrawal of the amendments filed on 10/07/2025 is noted and entered.
The 12/05/2025 amendment of claims 1 and 15 are noted and entered.
The 12/05/2025 cancelation of claim 14 is noted and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 7-12, filed 12/05/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the newly added amendments. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tsai et al, US 20220029062 A1 (Tsai).
New Grounds for Rejection
New grounds for rejection, prior art reference Tsai et al, US 20220029062 A1 (Tsai) appears below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al, US 20200251623 A1 (Chung) in view of Shin et al, US 20210118962 A1 (Shin) in further view of Tsai et al, US 20220029062 A1 (Tsai).
Regarding claim 1; Chung teaches a display device, comprising: a display module (20) having a substrate (210), a plurality of photoelectric units(220a) and a protective layer (220b), wherein the substrate (210) has a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other (see Fig (7) – Chung), the photoelectric units (220a) are arranged on the first surface of the substrate (210), each of the photoelectric units (220a) has at least one photoelectric element, the at least one photoelectric element has a photoelectric chip or a photoelectric package (see paragraph [0049] of the specification of Chung: “[0049… In an embodiment, the light-emitting element packages 220a may include semiconductor light emitting chips such as a light emitting diode (“LED”), for example.”), and the protective layer (220b) is arranged on the first surface of the substrate (210) and fills between the photoelectric elements (220a); and a light-shielding structure (110) arranged on and connected to the protective layer (220b), wherein the light-shielding structure (110) has a light-shielding layer (110), and a plurality of windows (windows between the light shielding structures (110) – see annotated Fig (7) – Chung) defined in the light-shielding layer (110); the windows respectively correspond to the photoelectric units (220a), and when the photoelectric units are viewed through the corresponding windows it will be in a direction (D3) perpendicular to the first surface of the substrate (210).
However, Chung does not teach wherein the light-shielding structure has a light-shielding layer includes light-absorption materials.
Shin teaches wherein the light-shielding structure has a light-shielding layer (150) includes light-absorption materials (152) (see paragraph [0067] of the specification of Shin: “[0067]… Therefore, the external light is absorbed by both the variable light shielding unit 151A and the light shielding unit 152A so that the external light reflectance may be effectively reduced without using a polarizing plate.”). Chung and Shin are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Chung by using light-absorption materials in the light-shielding layer such as disclosed in Shin to improve the light-blocking performance of the light-shielding layer leading to better performance of the device.
Chung in view of Shin teach all the above disclosed subject matter.
However, Chung in view of Shin does not teach wherein the light-shielding structure further includes a reflective layer arranged along the light-shielding layer, and the reflective layer is located between the protective layer and the light- shielding layer.
Tsai teaches wherein the light-shielding structure (5)+(8) further includes a reflective layer (8) arranged along the light-shielding layer (5), and the reflective layer (8) is located between the protective layer (2) and the light- shielding layer (5). Chung in view of Shin and Tsai are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Chung in view of Shin by using the reflective layer disclosed by Tsai to improve the light reflection properties of the light shielding structure leading to a better performance of the display device.
Regarding claim 2; Chung in view of Shin in further view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Chung teaches wherein the protective layer (220b) is a light-permeable layer.
Regarding claim 3; Chung in view of Shin in further view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Chung teaches wherein the windows (see annotated Fig (7) of Chung reproduced above) respectively correspond to the photoelectric elements (220a), and the photoelectric elements (220a) are viewed through the windows (see annotated Fig (7) of Chung reproduced above) in the direction (D3) perpendicular to the first surface of the substrate (210).
Regarding claim 4; Chung in view of Shin in further view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Chung teaches wherein a pitch between adjacent two of the windows (see annotated Fig (7) of Chung reproduced above) is equal to a pitch between adjacent two of the photoelectric units (220a) (Fig (7) – Chung).
Regarding claim 5; Chung in view of Shin in further view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Chung teaches wherein a pitch between adjacent two of the windows (see annotated Fig (7) of Chung reproduced above) is equal to a pitch between adjacent two of the photoelectric elements (220a) (Fig (7) – Chung).
Regarding claim 7; Chung in view of Shin in further view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Chung teaches wherein the protective layer (220b) covers top surfaces of the photoelectric elements (220a).
Regarding claim 8; Chung in view of Shin in further view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Chung teaches wherein the light-shielding layer (110) directly connects the protective layer (220b).
Regarding claim 9; Chung in view of Shin in further view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Chung and Tsai do not teach wherein the light-shielding structure further has a transparent substrate connecting the protective layer, and the light-shielding layer is arranged on a surface of the transparent substrate away from the protective layer. However, Shin teaches wherein the light-shielding structure (150) further has a transparent substrate (143) connecting the protective layer (140), and the light-shielding layer (150) +(143) is arranged on a surface of the transparent substrate (143) away from the protective layer (140). Chung and Tsai and Shin are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing this application to modify Chung and Tsai by using the transparent layer disclosed in Shin to enhance the protection and durability of the device.
Regarding claim 10; Chung in view of Shin in further view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Chung teaches wherein each of the windows (see annotated Fig (7) of Chung reproduced above) is an opening defined through the light-shielding layer (110).
Regarding claim 11; Chung in view of Shin in further view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of claim 10.
Further, Chung teaches wherein the light-shielding structure (layer that contains (110)) further has a light-permeable element (120R) filling a corresponding one of the openings (in the windows (see annotated Fig (7) of Chung reproduced above)).
Regarding claim 13; Chung in view of Shin in further view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Chung teaches wherein, in the direction (D3) perpendicular to the first surface of the substrate (210), a dimension of each of the windows (windows can be seen in annotated Fig (7) of Chung reproduced above) is greater than or equal to a dimension of corresponding one of the photoelectric units (220a).
Regarding claim 15; Chung in view of Shin in further view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Chung in view of Shin does not teach wherein a width of the reflective layer is not greater than a width of the light-shielding layer.
Tsai teaches wherein a width of the reflective layer (8) is not greater than a width of the light-shielding layer (5). Chung in view of Shin and Tsai are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary sill in the art, to modify Chung in view of Chin by making the reflective layer width not greater than a width of the light-shielding layer as disclosed in Tsai to make the footprint of the device smaller and thus make the device more efficient.
Regarding claim 16; Chung in view of Shin in further view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Chung and Tsai do not teach wherein the light-shielding layer comprises a light absorption material.
Shin teaches wherein the light-shielding layer (150) +(143) comprises a light absorption material (152) (see paragraph [0067] of the specification of Shin: “[0067] Therefore, the external light is absorbed by both the variable light shielding unit 151A and the light shielding unit 152A so that the external light reflectance may be effectively reduced without using a polarizing plate.”). Chung and Tsai and Shin are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Chung and Tsai by using light-absorption materials in the light-shielding layer such as disclosed in Shin to improve the light-blocking performance of the light-shielding layer leading to better performance of the device.
.
Regarding claim 17; Chung in view of Shin in further view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Chung and Tsai does not teach wherein the light-shielding structure further comprises a light absorption layer arranged along the light-shielding layer, and the light absorption layer is located at one side of the light-shielding layer away from the protective layer.
Shin teaches wherein the light-shielding structure (150)+(143) further comprises a light absorption layer (152) arranged along the light-shielding layer (150)+(143), and the light absorption layer (152) is located at one side of the light-shielding layer (150)+(143) away from the protective layer (140). Chung and Tsai and Shin are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Chung and Tsai by using light-absorption materials in the light-shielding layer such as disclosed in Shin to improve the light-blocking performance of the light-shielding layer leading to better performance of the device.
Regarding claim 18; Chung in view of Shin in further view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Chung teaches wherein the light-shielding structure (110) further defined plural of window areas (see annotated Fig (7) of Chung reproduced above) corresponding to the widows respectively, and a non-window area (areas blocked by the (110) structures) representing a remaining area other than the widow areas, an ambient-light reflectivity of the non-window area (areas blocked by the (110) structures) is less than that of at least one of the window areas (see annotated Fig (7) of Chung reproduced above).
Regarding claim 19; Chung in view of Shin in further view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Chung teaches wherein the protective layer (220b) defines a light-emitting surface away from the substrate (210).
Chung in view of Shin in further view of Tsai teach the above disclosed subject matter.
However, Chung and Tsai do not teach the light-emitting surface is a roughened surface.
Shin teaches the light-emitting surface is a roughened surface (see paragraph [0016] of the specification of Shin: “[0016] The display device according to the present disclosure further reduces the reflectance by adjusting a surface roughness of the variable light shielding unit that is changed to the transmission mode and the shielding mode.”). Chung and Tsai and Shin are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Chung and Tsai by using the roughened light-emitting surface disclosed in Shin to improve the performance of the device.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al, US 20200251623 A1 (Chung) in view of Shin et al, US 20210118962 A1 (Shin) in further view of Tsai et al, US 20220029062 A1 (Tsai) in further view of Zhong et al, JP 2017139464 A (Zhong)
Regarding claim 6; Chung in view of Shin in further view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Chung in view of Shin in further view of Tsai does not teach wherein a top surface of the protective layer and top surfaces of the photoelectric elements together define a coplanar surface.
Zhong teaches wherein a top surface of the protective layer (104) and top surfaces of the photoelectric elements ((2a)+(32) or (2b)+(64) or (2c)+(66)) together define a coplanar surface (see Fig (11D) of Zhong). Chung in view of Shin in further view of Tsai and Zhong are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Chung in view of Shin in further view of Tsai by introducing the coplanar feature of the photoelectric elements and the protective layer as disclosed in Zhong to improve the packageability of the device by planarizing the top surface of the light emitting portion of the device.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al, US 20200251623 A1 (Chung) in view of Shin et al, US 20210118962 A1 (Shin) in further view of Tsai et al, US 20220029062 A1 (Tsai) in further view of Han et al, CN 107195748 B (Han).
Regarding claim 12; Chung in view of Shin in further view of Tsai teaches all the limitations of claim 11.
However, Chung in view of Shin in further view of Tsai does not teach wherein the light-permeable element defines a refractive index decreasing away from the protective layer.
Han teaches wherein the light-permeable element (122) defines a refractive index decreasing away from the protective layer (18) (see the specification of Han: “the window layer 122 of refractive index between the second transparent structure 18 and the refractive index of the environment, can be reduced at the interface of the second transparent structure 18 to the environment has probability of total reflection. the window layer 122 of refractive index greater than about 1 and/or less than 2, preferably between 1.4 and 1.1.”). Chung in view of Shin in further view of Tsai and Han are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Chung in view of Shin in further view of Tsai by decreasing the refractive index of the light permeable element away from the protective layer as disclosed in Han leading to a better performance of the device.
Conclusion
/MOATAZ KHALIFA/Examiner, Art Unit 2815
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815