DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to applicant’s amendment of 12/10/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-5, 7-14, and 16-20 are rejected. Claims 6 and 15 are objected to.
Priority
Applicant’s claim of priority to provisional applications 63/359098 and 63/388404 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 10, 12-14, 16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jammer (US20120271758) in view of Lu ‘691 (US 20210291691) wherein Jammer teaches:
(re: cl 1) A computer-implemented method for charging an electric vehicle (EV) via a charging vehicle (¶114-“control system is constructed and configured to send instructions to the master charger vehicle to go to a position selected from the group consisting of; ¶115- a. a current position of the electric vehicle;”),
the method comprising: obtaining, by one or more processors, vehicle data for an EV requiring additional battery power to reach a charging station (¶74-computer network controlling vehicles and chargers, ¶146-computer network chargers and vehicles, data-¶45-vehicle charge expected to be depleted; ¶294-vehicle out of power or unable to reach station);
the vehicle data including: (i) a charge status for the EV (¶45- vehicle charge expected to be depleted),
(ii) location data of the EV (¶337-“The request also preferably includes a location of the electric vehicle (which may optionally be determined by GPS for example, and/or triangulation within a communication network such as a cellular network for example”, ¶270-:typically superimposed on a map, of at least one of:” ¶271-“a) the at least one electric vehicle 120”; ¶41 goes to a position; ¶42-based on current location of the stranding EV, ¶114-“control system is constructed and configured to send instructions to the master charger vehicle to go to a position selected from the group consisting of; ¶115- a. a current position of the electric vehicle;”),
and (iii) one or more of: (a) battery performance data of the EV (¶45-vehicle charge expected to be depleted; ¶294-vehicle out of power or unable to reach station); or (b) weight data of the EV (alternate Boolean satisfied);
obtaining, by one or more processors, a location of the charging station (¶435-“In a master vehicle location checking step 906, the control center (CC) checks the position of MV”
and causing, by the one or more processors, a charging vehicle to be dispatched to a meeting point to deliver electrical power to the EV until the EV has at least the minimum amount of charge to reach the charging station (¶390-“an MV sending step 560, the CC sends the MV closest to V1 to P2.”; ¶411checks to see if an MV is available to reach the position of the electric vehicle V1 with the very low level alarm of step 702, within a predetermined period of time, such as ten minutes ¶0412 If yes, the control center instructs V1 to go to a near position, P3 and wait there in a V1 instruction step 712 and updates the nearest MV to go to P3”; ¶414-“the master vehicle 150 charges the battery pack 128 of vehicle 120 at position 3 in a charging step 716. User 102 can thus continue along his route to his destination.”).
Lu ‘691 teaches what Jammer lacks of:
Vehicle data including:
battery performance data of the EV indicating a rate at which a battery of the EV loses charge based on one or more of: a speed in which the EV is traveling, a road surface on which the EV is traveling (¶49-“ an initiation point, an endpoint, an instantaneous speed of travel, an average speed of travel, a top speed, an acceleration rate, a current energy usage rate per distance (such as mile or kilometer), an amount of charge to provide, an amount of time to spend at the charging station, current and/or future road conditions, current and/or future weather conditions, an estimated distance to the charging station, an estimated distance to a subsequent endpoints, etc. This information can be utilized to make decisions by the charging station (via one or more processors, sensors and/or memories, which can store the status matrix and/or information on the charging station or accessible by the charging station) for one or more of the transports in wireless communication with the charging station. The status matrix may also include historical travel patterns and may be based on previously stored transport status reports from previous interactions, the probability of the transport traveling directly to an endpoint on a particular day and/or stops along the . . . “Instantaneous speed times current energy usage which gives rate of discharge as a function of present vehicle speed; road and weather conditions factoring in the amount of charge needed),
, or a weight of the EV (Alternate Boolean)
determining, by the one or more processors, a minimum amount of charge required for the EV to travel to the charging station based upon the location of the charging station and the vehicle data (¶49-“ an initiation point, an endpoint, an instantaneous speed of travel, an average speed of travel, a top speed, an acceleration rate, a current energy usage rate per distance (such as mile or kilometer), an amount of charge to provide, an amount of time to spend at the charging station, current and/or future road conditions, current and/or future weather conditions, an estimated distance to the charging station, an estimated distance to a subsequent endpoints, etc. This information can be utilized to make decisions by the charging station (via one or more processors, sensors and/or memories, which can store the status matrix and/or information on the charging station or accessible by the charging station) for one or more of the transports in wireless communication with the charging station. The status matrix may also include historical travel patterns and may be based on previously stored transport status reports from previous interactions, the probability of the transport traveling directly to an endpoint on a particular day and/or stops along the“-determines the amount of charging for the mobile rescue charging vehicle to give to the stranding vehicle to get to a charging station doing so factoring: Instantaneous speed and current energy usage which gives rate of discharge as a function of vehicle speed; road and weather conditions factoring in the amount of charge needed).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to modify Jammer with the teachings of Lu ‘691 to determine the instantaneous rate of discharge at the present speed so as to determine how much charge is needed for the stranding vehicle to reach a charging station as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to modify Jammer with the teachings of Lu ‘691 to provide just the necessary amount of recharge to safely reach a recharge station as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefit of a less expensive and larger charge recharge option may be available at the stationary charging location.
Jammer further teaches:
(re: cl 3) further comprising: selecting, by the one or more processors, the charging station, from a plurality of charging stations, based upon the location data, a station type of each of the plurality of charging stations, and a location of each of the plurality of charging stations, wherein the location data includes both a current location of the EV and a route of the EV (¶347 makes charger vehicle selection ; ¶41 goes to a position, ¶43-along the vehicle route ; ¶338-selects which master charger to respond including factoring in location).
(re: cl 4) further comprising: obtaining, by the one or more processors, a current location for each of a plurality of charging vehicles; and selecting, by the one or more processors, the charging vehicle, from the plurality of charging vehicles, based upon the location data of the EV and the current locations of each of the plurality of charging vehicles (¶41 goes to a position, ¶42-based on current location of the stranding EV, ¶114-“control system is constructed and configured to send instructions to the master charger vehicle to go to a position selected from the group consisting of; ¶115- a. a current position of the electric vehicle;” ).
(re: cl 5) further comprising: determining, by the one or more processors, the meeting point based upon the location data of the EV and the current location of the charging vehicle (¶338-“prioritizes the request of the electric vehicle according to the urgency of the request and also optionally the location of the electric vehicle relative to the master charger vehicle”).
(re: cl 7) wherein the one or more processors are included in the charging vehicle and the location of the charging station and the vehicle data are obtained by the one or more processors using vehicle-to-vehicle communication between the EV and the charging vehicle (¶38-“a communication display for displaying communications from at least one of the electric vehicle and the control center”).
(re: cl 9) wherein: the charging vehicle is a tow truck (¶255; #130 fig. 1, tow boom #139 fig. 1) ;
and the charging vehicle delivers electric power to the EV while towing the EV (¶256-“ tow at least one electric vehicle 120 using a tow line and connection module 139 “; ¶421-“ The BDV can then either tow or transport V1 to a suitable location and/or can charge battery pack 128 in transit.”).
Jammer teaches:
(re: cl 10) A computer system for charging an electric vehicle (EV) via a charging vehicle (¶114-“control system is constructed and configured to send instructions to the master charger vehicle to go to a position selected from the group consisting of; ¶115- a. a current position of the electric vehicle;”), comprising: one or more processors (¶499-computing device, processing platform);
a non-transitory computer-readable memory coupled to the one or more processors and storing executable instructions that (¶499-media), when executed by the one or more processors (¶74-computer network controlling vehicles and chargers, ¶146-computer network chargers and vehicles, data-¶45-vehicle charge expected to be depleted; ¶294-vehicle out of power or unable to reach station);
cause the one or more processors to: obtain vehicle data for an EV requiring additional battery power to reach a charging station, the vehicle data including (i) a charge status for the EV, (ii) location data of the EV, and (iii) one or more of: (a) battery performance data of the EV, (¶74-computer network controlling vehicles and chargers, ¶146-computer network chargers and vehicles, data-¶45-vehicle charge expected to be depleted; ¶294-vehicle out of power or unable to reach station); or (b) weight data of the EV (alternate Boolean satisfied);
obtain a location of the charging station (338 selects which master charger to respond including factoring in location (¶435-“In a master vehicle location checking step 906, the control center (CC) checks the position of MV”;
and cause a charging vehicle to be dispatched to a meeting point to deliver electrical power to the EV until the EV has at least the minimum amount of charge to reach the charging station (¶390-“an MV sending step 560, the CC sends the MV closest to V1 to P2.”; ¶411checks to see if an MV is available to reach the position of the electric vehicle V1 with the very low level alarm of step 702, within a predetermined period of time, such as ten minutes” ¶412- “If yes, the control center instructs V1 to go to a near position, P3 and wait there in a V1 instruction step 712 and updates the nearest MV to go to P3”; ¶414-“the master vehicle 150 charges the battery pack 128 of vehicle 120 at position 3 in a charging step 716. User 102 can thus continue along his route to his destination.”).
Lu ‘691 teaches what Jammer lacks of:
Vehicle data including:
battery performance data of the EV indicating a rate at which a battery of the EV loses charge based on one or more of: a speed in which the EV is traveling, a road surface on which the EV is traveling (¶49-“ an initiation point, an endpoint, an instantaneous speed of travel, an average speed of travel, a top speed, an acceleration rate, a current energy usage rate per distance (such as mile or kilometer), an amount of charge to provide, an amount of time to spend at the charging station, current and/or future road conditions, current and/or future weather conditions, an estimated distance to the charging station, an estimated distance to a subsequent endpoints, etc. This information can be utilized to make decisions by the charging station (via one or more processors, sensors and/or memories, which can store the status matrix and/or information on the charging station or accessible by the charging station) for one or more of the transports in wireless communication with the charging station. The status matrix may also include historical travel patterns and may be based on previously stored transport status reports from previous interactions, the probability of the transport traveling directly to an endpoint on a particular day and/or stops along the“-Instantaneous speed and current energy usage gives rate of discharge as a function of vehicle speed; road and weather conditions factoring in the amount of charge needed);
, or a weight of the EV (Alternate Boolean);
determine a minimum amount of charge required for the EV to travel to the charging station based upon the location of the charging station and the vehicle data (¶49-“ an initiation point, an endpoint, an instantaneous speed of travel, an average speed of travel, a top speed, an acceleration rate, a current energy usage rate per distance (such as mile or kilometer), an amount of charge to provide, an amount of time to spend at the charging station, current and/or future road conditions, current and/or future weather conditions, an estimated distance to the charging station, an estimated distance to a subsequent endpoints, etc. This information can be utilized to make decisions by the charging station (via one or more processors, sensors and/or memories, which can store the status matrix and/or information on the charging station or accessible by the charging station) for one or more of the transports in wireless communication with the charging station. The status matrix may also include historical travel patterns and may be based on previously stored transport status reports from previous interactions, the probability of the transport traveling directly to an endpoint on a particular day and/or stops along the“-determines the amount of charging for the mobile rescue charging vehicle to give to the stranding vehicle to get to a charging station doing so factoring: Instantaneous speed times current energy usage which gives rate of discharge as a function of present vehicle speed; road and weather conditions factoring in the amount of charge needed).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to modify Jammer with the teachings of Lu ‘691 to determine the instantaneous rate of discharge at the present speed so as to determine how much charge is needed for the stranding vehicle to reach a charging station as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to modify Jammer with the teachings of Lu ‘691 to provide just the necessary amount of recharge to safely reach a recharge station as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefit of a less expensive and larger charge recharge option may be available at the stationary charging location.
Jammer further teaches:
(re: cl 12) wherein the executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to: select the charging station, from a plurality of charging stations, based upon the location data, a station type of each of the plurality of charging stations, and a location of each of the plurality of charging stations, wherein the location data includes both a current location of the EV and a route of the EV (¶347-makes charger vehicle selection -a mobile charging station; ¶41 goes to a position, ¶43-along the vehicle route; ¶338-selects which master charger to respond including factoring in location).
(re: cl 13) wherein the executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to: obtain a current location for each of a plurality of charging vehicles; and select the charging vehicle, from the plurality of charging vehicles, based upon the location data of the EV and the current locations of each of the plurality of charging vehicles (¶338-selects which master charger to respond including factoring in location; ¶41 goes to a position; ¶42-based on current location of the stranding EV, ¶114-“control system is constructed and configured to send instructions to the master charger vehicle to go to a position selected from the group consisting of; ¶115- a. a current position of the electric vehicle;”).
(re: cl 14) wherein the executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to: determine the meeting point based upon the location data of the EV and the current location of the selected charging vehicle (¶41 goes to a position; ¶42-based on current location of the stranding EV, ¶114-“control system is constructed and configured to send instructions to the master charger vehicle to go to a position selected from the group consisting of; ¶115- a. a current position of the electric vehicle;” ¶338-selects which master charger to respond including factoring in location).
Jammer teaches:
(re: cl 16) A tangible, non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions that (¶499-media), for charging an electric vehicle (EV) via a charging vehicle (¶114-“control system is constructed and configured to send instructions to the master charger vehicle to go to a position selected from the group consisting of; ¶115- a. a current position of the electric vehicle;”),
when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to : obtain vehicle data for an EV requiring additional battery power to reach a charging station, the vehicle data including (i) a charge status for the EV, (ii) location data of the EV, and (iii) one or more of: battery performance data of the EV, weight data of the EV (¶74-computer network controlling vehicles and chargers, ¶146-computer network chargers and vehicles, data-¶45-vehicle charge expected to be depleted; ¶294-vehicle out of power or unable to reach station); or (b) weight data of the EV (alternate Boolean satisfied);
obtain a location of the charging station (¶347 makes charger vehicle selection (a mobile charging station; ¶41 goes to a position, ¶43-along the vehicle route; ¶338-selects which master charger to respond including factoring in location);
and cause a charging vehicle to be dispatched to a meeting point to deliver electrical power to the EV until the EV has at least the minimum amount of charge to reach the charging station (¶390-“an MV sending step 560, the CC sends the MV closest to V1 to P2.”; ¶411checks to see if an MV is available to reach the position of the electric vehicle V1 with the very low level alarm of step 702, within a predetermined period of time, such as ten minutes ¶412 If yes, the control center instructs V1 to go to a near position, P3 and wait there in a V1 instruction step 712 and updates the nearest MV to go to P3”; ¶414-“the master vehicle 150 charges the battery pack 128 of vehicle 120 at position 3 in a charging step 716. User 102 can thus continue along his route to his destination.”).
Lu ‘691 teaches what Jammer lacks of:
Vehicle data including:
battery performance data of the EV indicating a rate at which a battery of the EV loses charge based on one or more of: a speed in which the EV is traveling, a road surface on which the EV is traveling (¶49-“ an initiation point, an endpoint, an instantaneous speed of travel, an average speed of travel, a top speed, an acceleration rate, a current energy usage rate per distance (such as mile or kilometer), an amount of charge to provide, an amount of time to spend at the charging station, current and/or future road conditions, current and/or future weather conditions, an estimated distance to the charging station, an estimated distance to a subsequent endpoints, etc. This information can be utilized to make decisions by the charging station (via one or more processors, sensors and/or memories, which can store the status matrix and/or information on the charging station or accessible by the charging station) for one or more of the transports in wireless communication with the charging station. The status matrix may also include historical travel patterns and may be based on previously stored transport status reports from previous interactions, the probability of the transport traveling directly to an endpoint on a particular day and/or stops along the“- Instantaneous speed and current energy usage gives rate of discharge as a function of vehicle speed; road and weather conditions factoring in the amount of charge needed)
, or a weight of the EV (Alternate Boolean),
determine a minimum amount of charge required for the EV to travel to the charging station based upon the location of the charging station and the vehicle data (¶49-“ an initiation point, an endpoint, an instantaneous speed of travel, an average speed of travel, a top speed, an acceleration rate, a current energy usage rate per distance (such as mile or kilometer), an amount of charge to provide, an amount of time to spend at the charging station, current and/or future road conditions, current and/or future weather conditions, an estimated distance to the charging station, an estimated distance to a subsequent endpoints, etc. This information can be utilized to make decisions by the charging station (via one or more processors, sensors and/or memories, which can store the status matrix and/or information on the charging station or accessible by the charging station) for one or more of the transports in wireless communication with the charging station. The status matrix may also include historical travel patterns and may be based on previously stored transport status reports from previous interactions, the probability of the transport traveling directly to an endpoint on a particular day and/or stops along the“-determines the amount of charging for the mobile rescue charging vehicle to give to the stranding vehicle to get to a charging station doing so factoring: Instantaneous speed times current energy usage which gives rate of discharge as a function of present vehicle speed; road and weather conditions factoring in the amount of charge needed).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to modify Jammer with the teachings of Lu ‘691 to determine the instantaneous rate of discharge at the present speed so as to determine how much charge is needed for the stranding vehicle to reach a charging station as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to modify Jammer with the teachings of Lu ‘691 to provide just the necessary amount of recharge to safely reach a recharge station as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefit of a less expensive and larger charge recharge option may be available at the stationary charging location.
Jammer further teaches:
(re: cl 18) wherein the executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to: select the charging station, from a plurality of charging stations, based upon the location data, a station type of each of the plurality of charging stations, and a location of each of the plurality of charging stations, wherein the location data includes both a current location of the EV and a route of the EV (¶338-“prioritizes the request of the electric vehicle according to the urgency of the request and also optionally the location of the electric vehicle relative to the master charger vehicle”; ¶347 makes charger vehicle selection (a mobile charging station); ¶41 goes to a position, ¶42-based on current location of the stranding EV, ¶43-along the vehicle route).
(re: cl 19) wherein the executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to: obtain a current location for each of a plurality of charging vehicles (¶338-“prioritizes the request of the electric vehicle according to the urgency of the request and also optionally the location of the electric vehicle relative to the master charger vehicle”);
and select the charging vehicle, from the plurality of charging vehicles, based upon the location data of the EV and the current locations of each of the plurality of charging vehicles (¶338-“prioritizes the request of the electric vehicle according to the urgency of the request and also optionally the location of the electric vehicle relative to the master charger vehicle”; ¶347 makes charger vehicle selection (a mobile charging station); ¶41 master charging vehicle goes to a position, ¶42-based on current location of the stranding EV, or ¶43-along the vehicle route).
(re: cl 20) wherein the executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to: determine the meeting point based upon the location data of the EV and the current location of the selected charging vehicle (¶390-“an MV sending step 560, the CC sends the MV closest to V1 to P2.”; ¶411checks to see if an MV is available to reach the position of the electric vehicle V1 with the very low level alarm of step 702, within a predetermined period of time, such as ten minutes ¶412 If yes, the control center instructs V1 to go to a near position, P3 and wait there in a V1 instruction step 712 and updates the nearest MV to go to P3”; ¶338-“prioritizes the request of the electric vehicle according to the urgency of the request and also optionally the location of the electric vehicle relative to the master charger vehicle”; ¶347 makes charger vehicle selection (a mobile charging station) ; ¶41 goes to a position, ¶42-based on current location of the stranding EV, ¶43-along the vehicle route).
Claim(s) 2, 8, 11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jammer (US20120271758) in view of Lu ‘691 (US 20210291691) in further view of Proietty et al. (US20140278104) wherein Jammer in view of Lu ‘691 teaches the elements previously discussed and
Jammer further teaches: an indication to a vehicle occupant of the EV of a low battery warning (¶427-“the very low level (VLL) alarm is activated in a second alarm activating step 810.”)
Proietty et al. teaches what Jammer lacks of: the alarm is in the form of a display (¶37-” Moreover, the data may be processed into one or more representations relating to the operation of the vehicle 10 that may be displayed on the information display 80. Such display representations may include information on battery state of charge (SOC), vehicle range, charge point locations, or the like. A battery SOC indicator (not shown) may convey the relative amount of electrical energy remaining in the main battery 2“);
and causing, by the one or more processors, a prompt to be displayed to the vehicle occupant requesting input from the vehicle occupant of whether the charging vehicle should be dispatched (¶4-request of traveler ; ¶12-generates list of rescuers ; ¶48- The user interface 76 may also provide the traveler with options for requesting portable charging assistance, including a request for assistance from a peer BEV owner within the social network or community of peer BEV owners).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Jammer to display a low battery warning as taught by Proietty et al. as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a visual indicator can give a driver an indication of the magnitude of the energy deficiency enabling adjustment of drive pace and style vs. destination time vs. need for requesting assistance.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Jammer to have a driver respond on whether to dispatch a rescue charging vehicle as taught by Proietty et al. as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a dispatching a rescue vehicle would let a driver proceed to his destination at a rendezvous of his choice.
Proietty et al. teaches what Jammer lacks of:
(re: cl 8) wherein the vehicle data further includes weather data corresponding to the location data (¶31 -weather based on vehicle location).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Jammer to factor weather into the recharge rescue as taught by Proietty et al. as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that weather can factor in the route accessibility or the stranding and rescue vehicle as well as the range of the stranding vehicle.
Jammer further teaches:
(re: cl 11) an indication to a vehicle occupant of the EV of a low battery warning (¶427-“the very low level (VLL) alarm is activated in a second alarm activating step 810.”), wherein the executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to: cause an indication to a vehicle occupant of the EV of a low battery warning (¶427-“the very low level (VLL) alarm is activated in a second alarm activating step 810.”);
and cause a prompt to be displayed to the vehicle occupant requesting input from the vehicle occupant of whether the charging vehicle should be dispatched (¶4-request of traveler ; ¶12-geenerates list of rescuers ; ¶48-sends to traveler; ¶48- The user interface 76 may also provide the traveler with options for requesting portable charging assistance, including a request for assistance from a peer BEV owner within the social network or community of peer BEV owners).
Proietty et al. teaches what Jammer lacks of: the alarm is in the form of a display (¶37 “Moreover, the data may be processed into one or more representations relating to the operation of the vehicle 10 that may be displayed on the information display 80. Such display representations may include information on battery state of charge (SOC), vehicle range, charge point locations, or the like. A battery SOC indicator (not shown) may convey the relative amount of electrical energy remaining in the main battery 2“).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Jammer to display a low battery warning as taught by Proietty et al. as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a visual indicator can give a driver an indication of the magnitude of the energy deficiency enabling adjustment of drive pace and style vs. destination time vs. need for requesting assistance.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Jammer to have a driver respond on whether to dispatch a rescue charging vehicle as taught by Proietty et al. as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a dispatching a rescue vehicle would let a driver proceed to his destination at a rendezvous of his choice.
Jammer further teaches:
(re: cl 17) wherein the executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to: cause an indication to a vehicle occupant of the EV of a low battery warning (¶427-“the very low level (VLL) alarm is activated in a second alarm activating step 810.”), wherein the executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to: cause an indication to a vehicle occupant of the EV of a low battery warning (¶427-“the very low level (VLL) alarm is activated in a second alarm activating step 810.”);
and cause a prompt to be displayed to the vehicle occupant requesting input from the vehicle occupant of whether the charging vehicle should be dispatched (¶4-request of traveler; ¶12-generates list of rescuers ; ¶48-sends to traveler; ¶48- The user interface 76 may also provide the traveler with options for requesting portable charging assistance, including a request for assistance from a peer BEV owner within the social network or community of peer BEV owners).
Proietty et al. teaches what Jammer lacks of: the alarm is in the form of a display (¶37 “Moreover, the data may be processed into one or more representations relating to the operation of the vehicle 10 that may be displayed on the information display 80. Such display representations may include information on battery state of charge (SOC), vehicle range, charge point locations, or the like. A battery SOC indicator (not shown) may convey the relative amount of electrical energy remaining in the main battery 2“).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Jammer to display a low battery warning as taught by Proietty et al. as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a visual indicator can give a driver an indication of the magnitude of the energy deficiency enabling adjustment of drive pace and style vs. destination time vs. need for requesting assistance.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Jammer to have a driver respond on whether to dispatch a rescue charging vehicle as taught by Proietty et al. as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a dispatching a rescue vehicle would let a driver proceed to his destination at a rendezvous of his choice.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 15 are objected to as being dependent claims premised upon a rejected base claim but would be allowed if the re-written in independent form or if the limitations of an allowable claim were incorporated within the independent base claim from which this claims depend or if re-written premised upon dependence from an otherwise allowable base claim.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art neither discloses nor suggest in combination with the respective base claims 1 and 10 of:
further comprising: determining, by the one or more processors, an estimated time of arrival (ETA) for the EV at a destination included in the location data, based upon an expected amount of time for (i) the charging vehicle to deliver, to the EV, the electrical power until the EV has at least the minimum amount of charge and for (ii) the charging station to deliver, to the EV, an additional amount of charge; and causing, by the one or more processors, an indication of the ETA to be displayed to a vehicle occupant of the EV.
Of particular interest is Ito (JP2012230523) which teaches determining an estimated time of arrival premised upon time for the rescue vehicle to recharge the rescued vehicle (52-“ calculates the estimated arrival time to each point of the rendezvous point candidate group X in each rescue vehicle 2 of the rescue candidate group β or γ. In addition, in the case of the rescue vehicle 2 of the rescue candidate group γ, the rescue service center 1 calculates the estimated arrival time in consideration of the free time obtained in S31. When the estimated arrival time to each point of the rendezvous point candidate group X in each rescue vehicle 2 is complete, the relief service center 1 (rescue device determination unit / confluence point determination unit) determines each point of the rendezvous point candidate group X in S40”; (¶161-“When the rescue vehicle 830 is charging or moving, the rescue arrival schedule calculation unit 234 uses the processing device 201 to store the energy stored in the power storage device 304 of the rescue vehicle 830 from the data stored in the state storage unit 223. Is obtained, the time when charging is predicted to end is calculated, and the estimated arrival time is calculated using the calculated time as the departure time.”);
and causing, by the one or more processors, an indication of the ETA to be displayed to a vehicle occupant of the EV (¶100-“the service end and settlement information are displayed on the monitor 47“), but does not calculate an estimated time of arrival premised upon additional charge nor displaying to the driver the estimated time of arrival factoring in those chargings.
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Applicant’s amendment was sufficient in overcoming the previous rejections.
As previously demonstrated, Jammer teaches: charging an electric vehicle (EV) for charging an electric vehicle (EV) via a charging vehicle (¶114-“control system is constructed and configured to send instructions to the master charger vehicle to go to a position selected from the group consisting of; ¶115- a. a current position of the electric vehicle;”).
However Lu ‘691 (US 20210291691) teaches the new elements as well as the elements that McClintock et al. taught of: and (iii) one or more of: (a) battery performance data of the EV indicating a rate at which a battery of the EV loses charge based on one or more of: a speed in which the EV is traveling, a road surface on which the EV is traveling, or a weight of the EV ,
determine a minimum amount of charge required for the EV to travel to the charging station based upon the location of the charging station and the vehicle data (¶49-“ an initiation point, an endpoint, an instantaneous speed of travel, an average speed of travel, a top speed, an acceleration rate, a current energy usage rate per distance (such as mile or kilometer), an amount of charge to provide, an amount of time to spend at the charging station, current and/or future road conditions, current and/or future weather conditions, an estimated distance to the charging station, an estimated distance to a subsequent endpoints, etc. This information can be utilized to make decisions by the charging station (via one or more processors, sensors and/or memories, which can store the status matrix and/or information on the charging station or accessible by the charging station) for one or more of the transports in wireless communication with the charging station. The status matrix may also include historical travel patterns and may be based on previously stored transport status reports from previous interactions, the probability of the transport traveling directly to an endpoint on a particular day and/or stops along the“-determines the amount of charging for the mobile rescue charging vehicle to give to the stranding vehicle to get to a charging station doing so factoring: Instantaneous speed and current energy usage gives rate of discharge as a function of vehicle speed; road and weather conditions factoring in the amount of charge needed).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The examiner can normally be reached on Tuesday, Wednesday, or Thursday.
/M.E.B/ Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655