DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims #1-8 in the reply filed on May 26, 2026 have been carefully considered, but are not persuasive and the previous rejection maintained. The Examiner has provided additional explanation but the basis of the rejection has not changed. The manner in which claim 1 is currently written does not define how the first and second widths are measured.
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1)
Claims 1, 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lai et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0098303 A1), hereafter “Lai”.
Lai, Annotated FIG. 17B
As to claim 1, Lai teaches:
A semiconductor fin 52. See Lai, FIG. 1, FIG. 17A, FIG. 17B.
A first source/drain region 82 and a second source/drain region 82 separated by a channel 58 within the fin. Id.
A gate dielectric 92 over the channel, wherein the gate dielectric includes a first layer 92A having a first width, and a second layer 92B in contact with the first layer, wherein the second layer has a second width smaller than the first width, wherein the first layer includes a first vertical thickness (thickness of 92A) at edges of the first width, wherein the first vertical thickness is thinner than a combined vertical thickness of the first layer and the second layer, wherein a layer thickness is measured normal to a major surface of a layer. The Examiner notes the claim does not define how the first and second widths are measured. As depicted in Annotated FIG. 17B above, the second width (distance between innermost vertical sidewalls of 92) is smaller than a first width (distance between outermost vertical sidewalls of 92). Lai teaches a first layer and a second layer. Id. at FIG. 17C. A first vertical thickness (thickness of 92A) is necessarily thinner than a combined vertical thickness of the first layer and the second layer (thickness of 92B) because a sum is greater than each of its individual parts. Id.
A gate 94 located over the gate dielectric. Id. at FIG. 1.
As to claim 3, Lai teaches the first layer and the second layer are both oxides and therefore both contain oxygen. Id. at ¶ [0047]. The manner in which the claim is written does not define “same chemistry”. The second layer may comprise silicates such as hafnium silicate. Id. at ¶ [0043]. Thus the first layer comprising silicon oxide and the second layer comprising hafnium silicate may both include the same chemistries, e.g. silicon and oxygen.
As to claim 4, Lai teaches the first layer 92A comprises silicon oxide and the second layer 92B may comprise hafnium silicate. Id. at ¶¶ [0043], [0047]. Both silicon oxide and hafnium oxide have tetragonal microstructures.
As to claim 5, Lai teaches the first layer 92A comprises silicon oxide and the second layer 92B may comprise hafnium oxide (“combinations thereof”). Id. at ¶¶ [0043]. Silicon oxide has a tetragonal microstructure and hafnium oxide has monoclinic or cubic microstructures.
As to claim 6, Lai teaches nitride spacers 86 on either side of the gate. Id. at FIG. 9B.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 2, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lai as applied to claim 1.
As to claim 2, Lai teaches the gate material includes metal, but does not teach tungsten. See Lai, ¶ [0041].
On the other hand, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use tungsten for a metal gate material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
As to claim 7, Lai teaches nitride spacers 86 and additional spacers 80 on either side of the gate. See Lai, FIG. 9B.
However, Lai does not teach the additional spacers comprising oxide layers.
On the other hand, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use oxide layers for the insulating gate spacer material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
As to claim 8, Lai does not teach the gate has a width smaller than the second width.
On the other hand, shape, size, and dimension differences are considered obvious design choices and are not patentable unless unobvious or unexpected results are obtained from these changes. It appears that these changes produce no functional differences and therefore would have been obvious. Note In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUBERR L CHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893