DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hashimoto (US PG. Pub. 2011/0024167).
Regarding claim 1 – Hashimoto teaches a composite structure (fig. 1A, 2B & 3) of a ceramic substrate ([paragraph 0022] Hashimoto states, “The first multilayer circuit board 101 comprises a first ceramic substrate 1, a second ceramic substrate 2, and a thin-film conductor section 3”), comprising: a first ceramic substrate (1) formed by crystal ([paragraph 0031] Hashimoto states, “first ceramic substrate 1 may comprise…a microcrystalline sintered body of either crystallized glass in which crystal components have been deposited in a glass matrix”), having a first surface (bottom surface) and a second surface (top surface) opposite to each other, wherein the first ceramic substrate (1) has only vertical via holes (11c [paragraph 0033] Hashimoto states, “through-conductors 11c”; figures 1A & 2B show only vertical via holes 11c are present within the first ceramic substrate 1) extending from the first surface (bottom surface) to the second surface (top surface), each of the vertical via holes (11c) being filled with conductive material ([paragraph 0034] Hashimoto states, “the first through-conductors 11c may comprise metal materials”) such that the first surface and the second surface of the first ceramic substrate (1) are electrically connected (top and bottom pads 11a and 11b are connected through vertical via holes 11c); and a thin film substrate (3 [paragraph 0022] Hashimoto states, “thin-film multilayer conductor section 3”) disposed on the second surface (top surface) of the first ceramic substrate (1), having one surface electrically connected (see pads 11b connected to vias 4c and pads 4b of the thin film substrate 3) to the second surface (top surface) of the first ceramic substrate (1) and a plurality of electrical connection points (top pads 4b on upper surface of thin film substrate 3 [paragraph 0025] Hashimoto states, “pads 4b”) disposed on the other surface of the thin film substrate (3) to electrically connect an external element (connected to pads of external element 2 as shown in figure 1A) or a circuit board.
The examiner notes that applicant is claiming the product (composite structure of a ceramic substrate) including the process of making the product (“formed by crystal growth”), and therefore claim 1 is of "product-by-process" nature. The courts have been holding for quite some time that: the determination of the patentability of a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself rather than on the process by which the product is made. In re Thorpe, 777 F. 2d 695, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); and that patentability of claim to a product does not rest merely on a difference in the method by which that product is made. Rather, it is the product itself which must be new and unobvious. Applicant has chosen to claim the invention in the product form. When the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by- process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either on 35 U.S.C. section 102 or alternatively on 35 U.S.C. section 103 of the statute is eminently fair and acceptable. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685 and 688 (CCPA 1972). See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 2 – Hashimoto teaches the composite structure of the ceramic substrate of claim 1, wherein the first ceramic substrate (fig. 1A, 1) comprises aluminum oxide ([paragraph 0032] Hashimoto states, “the first ceramic substrate 1 comprises an aluminum oxide”) or aluminum nitride.
Regarding claim 4 – Hashimoto teaches the composite structure of the ceramic substrate of claim 1, further comprising: a second ceramic substrate (fig. 1A & 3, 2 [paragraph 0023] Hashimoto states, “ceramic substrate 2”) disposed on a surface of the thin film substrate (3) away from the first ceramic substrate (1), wherein the second ceramic substrate (2) comprises a third surface (lower surface) and a fourth surface (upper surface) opposite to each other, and the second ceramic substrate (2) has only vertical via holes (12c [paragraph 0025] Hashimoto states, “through-conductors 12c”; figures 1A & 2B show only vertical via holes 11c are present within the first ceramic substrate 1) extending from the third surface (lower surface) to the fourth surface (upper surface), each of the vertical via hole (11c) being filled with conductive material (see conductive material of 12c) such that the third surface (bottom surface) and the fourth surface (top surface) of the second ceramic substrate (2) are electrically connected, and the third surface (bottom surface) of the second ceramic substrate (2) is electrically connected to the other surface (top surface) of the thin film substrate (3); and a plurality of electrical connection points (12a [paragraph 0037] Hashimoto states, “connection pads 12a of the second ceramic substate 2”) disposed on the fourth surface (top surface of second ceramic substrate 2) of the second ceramic substrate (2) to electrically connect an external element or a circuit board (102 [paragraph 0050] Hashimoto states, “multilayer circuit board 102”).
Regarding claim 5 – Hashimoto teaches the composite structure of the ceramic substrate of claim 4, wherein the second ceramic substrate (figs. 1A & 3, 2 [paragraph 0042] Hashimoto states, “The second ceramic substrate 2 can be produced with a similar method using similar materials as the first ceramic substrate 1”) comprises aluminum oxide ([paragraph 0032] Hashimoto states, “the first ceramic substrate 1 comprises an aluminum oxide”) or aluminum nitride.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto in view of Tanizaki et al. (US PG. Pub. 2010/0143748).
Regarding claim 1 – Hashimoto teaches a composite structure (fig. 1A & 3) of a ceramic substrate ([paragraph 0022] Hashimoto states, “The first multilayer circuit board 101 comprises a first ceramic substrate 1, a second ceramic substrate 2, and a thin-film conductor section 3”), comprising: a first ceramic substrate (1) formed by crystal ([paragraph 0031] Hashimoto states, “first ceramic substrate 1 may comprise…a microcrystalline sintered body of either crystallized glass in which crystal components have been deposited in a glass matrix”), having a first surface (bottom surface) and a second surface (top surface) opposite to each other, wherein the first ceramic substrate (1) has only vertical via holes (11c [paragraph 0033] Hashimoto states, “through-conductors 11c”; figures 1A & 2B show only vertical via holes 11c are present within the first ceramic substrate 1) extending from the first surface (bottom surface) to the second surface (top surface), each of the vertical via holes (11c) being filled with conductive material ([paragraph 0034] Hashimoto states, “the first through-conductors 11c may comprise metal materials”) such that the first surface and the second surface of the first ceramic substrate (1) are electrically connected (top and bottom pads 11a and 11b are connected through vertical via holes 11c); and a thin film substrate (3 [paragraph 0022] Hashimoto states, “thin-film multilayer conductor section 3”) disposed on the second surface (top surface) of the first ceramic substrate (1), having one surface electrically connected (see pads 11b connected to vias 4c and pads 4b of the thin film substrate 3) to the second surface (top surface) of the first ceramic substrate (1) and a plurality of electrical connection points (top pads 4b on upper surface of thin film substrate 3 [paragraph 0025] Hashimoto states, “pads 4b”) disposed on the other surface of the thin film substrate (3) to electrically connect an external element (connected to pads of external element 2 as shown in figure 1A) or a circuit board.
Hashimoto fails to explicitly teach a ceramic formed by crystal growth.
Tanizaki teaches a ceramic (fig. 5, 20 [paragraph 0065] Tanizaki sates, “aluminum nitride crystal 20 is grown”) formed by crystal growth ([Abstract & paragraph 0044] Tanizaki states, “The aluminum nitride crystal growth method…aluminum nitride crystal can be grown with an improved growth rate, allowing the aluminum nitride crystal to be efficiently manufactured”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the first ceramic substrate as taught by Hashimoto with the ceramic being formed by crystal growth as taught by Tanizaki because Tanizaki states, “Aluminum nitride (AlN) crystal has received attention as a substrate material for optoelectronic and other semiconductor devices because it has a broad energy bandgap of 6.2 eV, a high thermal conductivity of about 3.3 WK.sup.-1 cm.sup.-1, and high electrical resistance” [paragraph 0002]. Additionally sapphire crystal growth is known to allow for superior hardness and extreme temperature stability.
The examiner notes that applicant is claiming the product (composite structure of a ceramic substrate) including the process of making the product (“formed by crystal growth”), and therefore claim 1 is of "product-by-process" nature. The courts have been holding for quite some time that: the determination of the patentability of a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself rather than on the process by which the product is made. In re Thorpe, 777 F. 2d 695, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); and that patentability of claim to a product does not rest merely on a difference in the method by which that product is made. Rather, it is the product itself which must be new and unobvious. Applicant has chosen to claim the invention in the product form. When the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by- process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either on 35 U.S.C. section 102 or alternatively on 35 U.S.C. section 103 of the statute is eminently fair and acceptable. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685 and 688 (CCPA 1972). See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 2 – Hashimoto in view of Tanizaki teach the composite structure of the ceramic substrate of claim 1, wherein the first ceramic substrate (Hashimoto; fig. 1A, 1) comprises aluminum oxide ([paragraph 0032] Hashimoto states, “the first ceramic substrate 1 comprises an aluminum oxide”) or aluminum nitride.
Regarding claim 4 – Hashimoto in view of Tanizaki teach the composite structure of the ceramic substrate of claim 1, further comprising: a second ceramic substrate (Hashimoto; fig. 1A & 3, 2 [paragraph 0023] Hashimoto states, “ceramic substrate 2”) disposed on a surface of the thin film substrate (3) away from the first ceramic substrate (1), wherein the second ceramic substrate (2) comprises a third surface (lower surface) and a fourth surface (upper surface) opposite to each other, and the second ceramic substrate (2) has only vertical via holes (12c [paragraph 0025] Hashimoto states, “through-conductors 12c”; figures 1A & 2B show only vertical via holes 11c are present within the first ceramic substrate 1) extending from the third surface (lower surface) to the fourth surface (upper surface), each of the vertical via hole (11c) being filled with conductive material (see conductive material of 12c) such that the third surface (bottom surface) and the fourth surface (top surface) of the second ceramic substrate (2) are electrically connected, and the third surface (bottom surface) of the second ceramic substrate (2) is electrically connected to the other surface (top surface) of the thin film substrate (3); and a plurality of electrical connection points (12a [paragraph 0037] Hashimoto states, “connection pads 12a of the second ceramic substate 2”) disposed on the fourth surface (top surface of second ceramic substrate 2) of the second ceramic substrate (2) to electrically connect an external element or a circuit board (102 [paragraph 0050] Hashimoto states, “multilayer circuit board 102”).
Regarding claim 5 – Hashimoto in view of Tanizaki teach the composite structure of the ceramic substrate of claim 4, wherein the second ceramic substrate (Hashimoto; figs. 1A & 3, 2 [paragraph 0042] Hashimoto states, “The second ceramic substrate 2 can be produced with a similar method using similar materials as the first ceramic substrate 1”) comprises aluminum oxide ([paragraph 0032] Hashimoto states, “the first ceramic substrate 1 comprises an aluminum oxide”) or aluminum nitride.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto in view of Tanizaki et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tomura et al. (US PG. Pub. 2011/0279996).
Regarding claim 3 – Hashimoto in view of Tanizaki teach the composite structure of the ceramic substrate of claim 1, but fails to teach further comprising a heat insulating layer disposed between the second surface of the first ceramic substrate and the thin film substrate to isolate heat from the external element or the circuit board connected to the first surface of the first ceramic substrate, wherein the heat insulating layer does not affect the electrical connection between the second surface of the first ceramic substrate and the thin film substrate.
Tomura teaches a heat insulating layer (fig. 1, 10 [paragraph 0051] Tomura states, “heat-insulating layer 10”) disposed between the second surface (bottom surface) of a first substrate (3) and the thin film substrate (7) to isolate heat from the external element (20) or the circuit board connected to the first surface (top surface) of the first substrate (3), wherein the heat insulating layer (10) does not affect the electrical connection between the second surface (bottom surface) of the first substrate (3) and the thin film substrate (7; claimed structure shown in figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the composite structure of a ceramic substrate having a first ceramic substrate connected to a thin film substrate as taught by Hashimoto in view of Tanizaki with the inclusion of a heat insulating layer between two substrates as taught by Tomura because Tomura states, “The heat-insulating layer 10 has a lower thermal conductivity than the core board 1, the second insulating layer 3, and the third insulating layer 4. Therefore, heat conducted from the semiconductor device SD to the multilayer wiring board MB1 is prevented by the heat-insulating layer 10 from further being conducted to the core board 1 and the insulating layer 4, so that the multilayer wiring board MS1 can be inhibited from being warped when flip-chip bonding the semiconductor device SD to the multilayer wiring board MB1” [paragraph 0056].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues regarding the rejection to claim 1, “Hashimoto describes its structure as “multilayer circuit board”…Hashimoto therefore describes a circuit board architecture in which the ceramic portion may perform conductive routing through metallized wiring layers, internal conductors, surface pads, and inner pads. Hashimoto’s structure is not merely a ceramic body that provides vertical electrical transmission from one opposite surface to the other through conductive-filled vertical via holes, It is a ceramic wiring substrate having circuit-board routing structures” [REMARKS page 6].
Examiner disagrees. The Applicant appears to argue the entire “composite structure” as required to have only vertical via holes. However the claim language states, “the first ceramic substrate has only vertical vias extending from the first surface to the second surface”. The claim does not require the entire composite structure to only have vertical via holes as that would also be counter to the instant application structure. The rejection of claim 1 above described the first ceramic substrate being only layer 1 as shown in figure 1A. This first ceramic substrate 1 shown in figures 1A and 2B show only vertical via holes being present and would appear to meet the claimed limitation.
Additionally, Examiner acknowledges that the instant application has support in the Abstract that states, “has only vertical via holes”. However there is no specific criticality to this negative limitation. Without criticality to the invention it would appear an obvious choice. Examiner points to In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 wherein it was held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
/STEVEN T SAWYER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847