Response to Amendment
Applicant’s “Response to Amendment and Reconsideration” filed on 8/15/2025 has been considered.
Claim 21 is added. Claims 1-11, 13-21 are pending in this application and an action on the merits follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10, 13-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myren et. al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0013189), in view of Zhao et. al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,847,572).
Regarding claims, 1, 13 and 20, Myren teaches a server computer system comprising:
a communications module; (Receipt policy administration server 120 may include a computer system configured to facilitate the administration of one or more receipt policies for a user (e.g., of user device 102), receipt policy administration server 120 may then transmit data associated with the receipt flag through local network 116 [33-34], a processor coupled to the communications module; and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory storing processor-executable instructions which, when executed, configure the processor to: (receipt policy administration server 120 may analyze requested purchases to determine how they comport with a receipt policy… receipt policy administration server 120 may receive purchase data (e.g., requested payment information) from transaction server 114, [34]);
store, in a database, a single-bit binary flag that serves as an indication that digital receipts are to be provided for all purchases made on a payment card, (receipt policy administration server 120 may set a receipt flag associated with a transaction authorization or cancellation message to indicate that the merchant device (e.g., merchant POS terminal 127) should provide the user with a receipt, [34], the receipt flag may be a single bit to be included in a data stream…a receipt flag value of 1 may indicate that the merchant device should provide the user with a receipt, while a receipt flag value of zero (0) may indicate that the merchant device should not provide the user with a receipt, [58] see also Fig. 1 [120, 118]);
receive, via the communications module and from a point-of-sale system, a signal requesting an indication that a digital receipt is to be provided for a purchase made on the payment card; (when the user attempts to conduct the transaction, the system may receive (e.g., from a merchant device providing the goods or services for purchase) a purchase authorization request including a transaction amount, a financial account number associated with an account of the user, [6], merchant POS terminal 207 may receive over network 106 and from user device 102 the receipt status, [80]);
consult the database to determine that the digital receipt is to be provided for the purchase made on the payment card based on a value of the single-bit binary flag, (Receipt policy administration server 120 may retrieve a user profile corresponding to the purchaser (e.g., from database 118), and compare the receipt policy to the purchase data and user profile to determine whether or not a receipt should be generated for the transaction, [34, see also Fig. 3]; and
send, via the communications module and to the point-of-sale system, a signal that includes the single-bit binary flag that serves as the indication that the digital receipt is to be provided for the purchase made on the payment card, (Receipt policy administration server 120 may then transmit data associated with the receipt flag through local network 116 to the transaction server 112 to be included with a transaction authorization or cancellation message to be send over network 106 to the merchant device (e.g., merchant POS terminal 127, [34], Responsive to determining that the receipt status indicates that the user wishes to receive an electronic receipt, the method 500 may further include transmitting 590, to the user device associated with the customer, an electronic receipt associated with the transaction. For example, in some embodiments, merchant POS terminal 127 may generate an electronic receipt and may transmit the electronic receipt over network 106 to user device 102, [83]).
Myren does not explicitly disclose a single-bit binary flag that serves as an indication associated with a payment card, the single-bit binary flag persistently indicating digital receipts and a signal including single bit binary flag. Myran teaches server 120, database 118, transaction server 114, see Fig. 1, receiving from merchant POS terminal 127 purchase authorization requests and information, retrieves user profile and receipt policy from database 118 when determining receipt status, [33-34], “sets a receipt flag” attached to authorization or cancellation messages sent to the merchant POS, [34].
However, Zhao teaches stored values indicating “whether” an interaction meets criteria i.e. binary flags, shows features and labels stored in a server’s database (Fig. 1-5), Boolean (a first bit or Boolean value may be 1 or “True,” respectively, if the associated interaction is fraudulent (and 0 or “False” otherwise), Col.25 ln 30-57.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to encode Myren’s receipt flag as a Boolean/single bit field as taught in Zhao because binary flags are a well-known predictable way to store and transmit a simple two-state preference. Replacing Myren’s rule with a single stored Boolean isa predictable optimization reducing computation and latency. Thus, one of ordinary skill would combine Myren and Zhao to store a persistent Boolean receipt flag and return it to the POS.
Regarding claims, 2, 14, Myren teaches the signal requesting the indication that the digital receipt is to be provided for the purchase made on the payment card is sent together with a transaction processing request., (When the user attempts to conduct the transaction, the system may receive (e.g., from a merchant device providing the goods or services for purchase) a purchase authorization request including a transaction amount, a financial account number associated with an account of the user, and a merchant category code (MCC), [6]). See also [33-34].
Regarding claims, 3, 15, Myren teaches complete a transaction based on the transaction processing request; and send, via the communications module and to the point-of-sale system, a signal that indicates completion of the transaction processing request, (server 120 analyzes requested purchases and transmits data associated with the receipt flag through the network 114 to the transaction server 112, [33-34]).
Regarding claims, 4, 16, Myren teaches the signal that indicates completion of the transaction processing request is sent together with the signal that includes the indication that the digital receipt is to be provided for the purchase made on the payment card, (provide the user with a receipt (completion signal and the receipt flag, [33-34]).
Regarding claims 5, 17, Myren teaches store, in the database, an electronic address for receiving the digital receipts, wherein the electronic address is sent together with the signal that includes the single-bit binary flag indication that the digital receipt is to be provided for the purchase made on the payment card, (a user of system 100 may be able to indicate through the receipt preferences that the receipts for certain transactions should be digitally stored in a digital receipt archive (e.g., database 118), [32], wherein the receipt status includes an electronic address to deliver the electronic receipt, see claim 19).
Regarding claims 7, Myren teaches the user interface includes an input field for entering an electronic address for receiving the digital receipt and the processor-executable instructions, when executed, further configure the processor to: receive, via the communications module and from the computing device, a signal that includes the electronic address for receiving the digital receipt; and store, in the database, the electronic address for receiving the digital receipts, (a user of system 100 may be able to indicate through the receipt preferences that the receipts for certain transactions should be digitally stored, [32]).
Regarding claim 8, 18, Myren teaches receive, via the communications module and from the point-of-sale system, a signal that includes the digital receipt for the purchase made on the payment card; obtain an electronic address for receiving the digital receipt; and send, via the communications module and to the electronic address, the digital receipt, (include transmitting 590, to the user device associated with the customer, an electronic receipt associated with the transaction. For example, in some embodiments, merchant POS terminal 127 may generate an electronic receipt and may transmit the electronic receipt over network 106 to user device 102, [83]).
Regarding claim 10, Myren teaches send, via the communications module and to a computing device, a signal that causes the computing device to display a user interface that includes a selectable option to receive the digital receipts; and receive, via the communications module and from the computing device, a signal indicating selection of the selectable option to receive the digital receipts; send, via the communications module and to a computing device, a signal that causes the computing device to display a user interface that includes the digital receipt, (include transmitting 590, to the user device associated with the customer, an electronic receipt associated with the transaction, [83]).
Claims 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myren and Zhao combination, in view of Moring et. al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0301075).
Regarding claims 6, Myren does not explicitly teach send, via the communications module and to a computing device, a signal that causes the computing device to display a user interface that includes a selectable option to receive the digital receipts; and receive, via the communications module and from the computing device, a signal indicating selection of the selectable option to receive the digital receipts; Moring teaches user receipt-preference configuration, [52].
However, Moring teaches the POS device, working in coordination with the digital receipt system, may also display several electronic addresses identified in step 704 and ask the user whether the user wants to receive the digital receipt at a particular electronic address (from the displayed addresses). In some embodiments, the POS device, working in coordination with the digital receipt system, may also display the one or more electronic addresses identified in step 704, and prompts the user whether the user wants the digital receipt to enter a different electronic address (from the one(s) displayed) for receiving the digital receipt, [78]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Myren, to include the above limitations, as taught by Moring, in order to effectively deliver receipts to the customer, (Moring, [2]).
Claims 9, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myren and Zhao combination and further in view of Calman et al. (US 2014/0074675 A1).
Regarding claims 9, 11 and 19, Myren discloses all of the claimed subject matter as already addressed above, and incorporated herein by reference. Myren teaches analyze the digital receipt to determine a transaction amount, however, does not expressly call for determining an amount of loyalty points earned based on the transaction amount; and modify the digital receipt to include the amount of loyalty points earned based on the transaction amount, the user interface displays a plurality of digital receipts and includes one or more interface elements for categorizing each digital receipt in one or more data buckets.
However, Calman (See for example, paragraphs [34-35, 23, 19) teach these features. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching as taught by Calman into the system of Myren and to do so would at least allow the option of sorting transaction record in a more efficient manner (See for example, Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the combination with Calman to obtain the invention as specified in claims 9, 11 and 19.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myren and Zhao combination and further in view of Lorenzini et al. (US 2014/0074675 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Myren teaches receive, via the communications module and from the point-of-sale system, a signal that includes the digital receipt for the purchase made on the payment card; (digital receipt, 32-34). The combination does not explicitly teach engage an optical character recognition engine to analyze the digital receipt to extract data therefrom; and engage an artificial intelligence engine to associate the extracted data with one or more data buckets.
However, Lorenzini teaches receiving an image of a receipt and executing an optical character recognition (OCR) of the receipt content embodied in the image, [5], he Token Generator 628 also optionally classifies the generated tokens according to one of a plurality of token classifications, [54].
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the OCR and AI based receipt analysis of Lorenzini into he receipt handling server of Myren in order to analyze and store categorized receipt data and because it is a predictable use of a known technique.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Zhao reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The rejection above shows how Myren teaches a server that receives purchase related signal, consults receipt-preferences data and returns “receipt flag” in a message to the merchant or POS (33-34). Myren teaches where receipt logic is stored, how POS messages trigger receipt determination and how result is returned. Zhao teaches a stored binary Boolean indicator used to control system behavior.
Applicant’s “POS-initiated request” argument that Myren does not teach “receive..a signal requesting an indication that a digital receipt is to be provided” is not persuasive. Myren teaches that the POS terminal submits purchase authorization information to the receipt policy server [33-34]. This is a request for receipt-policy determination, since Myren sets a “receipt flag” in direct response.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MILENA RACIC/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627
/FLORIAN M ZEENDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627