DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Office acknowledges receipt on 11 March 2026 of Applicant’s amendments in which claims 1, 10, and 16 are amended. The Office withdraws the claim objections and the section 112(b) rejections identified in the Office Communication dated 22 December 2025 in view of the amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US20200411619A1) in view of Luo (US20230098341A1 ).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches in Fig. 5 a display apparatus comprising:
a first light-blocking pattern (62) on a pixel area (PX) of a device substrate (50) {[0052, 0076]};
an upper buffer layer (63) on the device substrate (50), the upper buffer layer (63) covering the first light-blocking pattern (62) {[0078]};
a driving thin film transistor (DR) on the pixel area (PX) of the device substrate (50), the driving thin film transistor (DR) including a driving semiconductor pattern (52) overlapping with the first light-blocking pattern (62) {Figs. 2, 3; [0054, 0070]};
a first intermediate insulating layer (61) between the device substrate (50) and the upper buffer layer (63) {[0072]}; and
a second intermediate insulating layer (66) between the first intermediate insulating layer (61) and the upper buffer layer (63) {[0072]},
wherein the first intermediate insulating layer (61) includes a first opening (612) overlapping with the first light-blocking pattern (62) and the driving semiconductor pattern (52) {[0080]},
wherein the first opening (612) penetrates the first intermediate insulating layer (61), and the first light-blocking pattern (62) is disposed within the first opening (612) {[0080]}, and
wherein the second intermediate insulating layer (66) includes a second opening (662) overlapping with and wider than the first opening (612), and the second intermediate insulating layer (66) is non-overlapping with the upper surface of the first light-blocking pattern (62) {[0084]}, and
wherein the upper buffer layer (63) contacts a side surface of the first light-blocking pattern (62) disposed in the first opening (612) {[0078]}.
Huang does not teach the first intermediate insulating layer is non-overlapping with an upper surface of the first light-blocking pattern.
In an analogous art, Luo teaches in Fig. 4 and paragraph [0053] a first intermediate insulating layer (22) is non-overlapping with an upper surface of a first light-blocking pattern (211). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang’s display apparatus based on the teachings of Luo – such that the first intermediate insulating layer is non-overlapping with an upper surface of the first light-blocking pattern – to employ a light-blocking pattern disposed within a recess for protecting an oxide semiconductor layer of a driving TFT and thereby decreasing an area of an orthographic projection of the recess-shaped light-shielding patterns on the array substrate. Luo [0036]. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., intermediate insulating layer, light-blocking pattern) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Luo) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Furthermore, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 2, Huang as modified by Luo teaches the display apparatus according to claim 1, and Huang further teaches wherein the first opening (612) has a size larger than the first light-blocking pattern (62) and the driving semiconductor pattern (DR) {Fig. 5}.
Regarding claim 8, Huang as modified by Luo teaches the display apparatus according to claim 1, and Huang further teaches wherein a driving source electrode (50S) of the driving thin film transistor (DR) is electrically connected to the first light-blocking pattern (62).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Luo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oh et al. (US20230005998A1).
Regarding claim 3, Huang as modified by Luo teaches the display apparatus according to claim 1, but Huang does not teach further comprising
a switching thin film transistor on the upper buffer layer of the pixel area,
wherein the switching thin film transistor includes a switching semiconductor pattern being spaced away from the driving semiconductor pattern, and
wherein the first intermediate insulating layer includes a portion overlapping with the switching semiconductor pattern.
In an analogous art, Oh teaches in Fig. 10 and paragraphs [0230, 0232, 0244] a switching thin film transistor (O-TFT) on an upper buffer layer (BF2) of a pixel area (A2), wherein the switching thin film transistor (O-TFT) includes a switching semiconductor pattern (AC2) being spaced away from a driving semiconductor pattern (AC1), and wherein a first intermediate insulating layer (BR/BR2) includes a portion overlapping with the switching semiconductor pattern (AC2) {Fig. 10}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang’s display apparatus as modified by Luo based on the teachings of Oh, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, so [t]he driving thin film transistor … may receive the data signal … according to the switching operation of the switching thin film transistor … to supply the driving current … to the light emitting element. Oh [0161]. Moreover, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Luo and Oh as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US20220406860A1).
Regarding claim 4, Huang as modified by Luo and Oh teaches the display apparatus according to claim 3, but Huang does not teach wherein the switching semiconductor pattern includes a same material as the driving semiconductor pattern.
In an analogous art, Lee teaches in Fig. 4 and paragraph [0081] the switching semiconductor pattern includes a same material (e.g., oxide semiconductor) as the driving semiconductor pattern. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang’s display apparatus as modified by Luo and Oh based on the teachings of Lee – such that the switching semiconductor pattern includes a same material as the driving semiconductor pattern, as taught by Lee – because [t]he selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Luo and Oh as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US20200083309A1).
Regarding claim 5, Huang as modified by Luo and Oh teaches the display apparatus according to claim 3, but Huang does not teach further comprising a second light-blocking pattern between the device substrate and the first intermediate insulating layer, the second light-blocking pattern overlapping with the switching semiconductor pattern.
Wang teaches in Fig. 2A and paragraph [0071] a second light-blocking pattern (130a) between the device substrate (110) and the first intermediate insulating layer (11), the second light-blocking pattern (130a) overlapping with the switching semiconductor pattern (31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang’s display apparatus as modified by Luo and Oh based on the teachings of Wang – such that a second light-blocking pattern is disposed between the device substrate and the first intermediate insulating layer, the second light-blocking pattern overlapping with the switching semiconductor pattern – so the first and second light-blocking patterns, which reduce voltage variations of the respective TFTs by reducing the outside light that impinges on the TFTs {Wang [0067]}, may be formed at the same time of the same material and thereby reduce manufacturing operations. Wang [0071[.
Regarding claim 6, Huang as modified by Luo, Oh, and Wang teaches the display apparatus according to claim 5, but Huang does not teach further comprising
a separation insulating layer between the device substrate and the second light-blocking pattern,
wherein the separation insulating layer extends to be disposed between the device substrate and the first light-blocking pattern.
Oh teaches in Fig. 10 and paragraph [0210] further comprising a separation insulating layer (BR1) between the device substrate (110) and the second light-blocking pattern (BMLb), wherein the separation insulating layer (BR1) extends to be disposed between the device substrate (110) and the first light-blocking pattern (BMLa). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang’s display apparatus as modified by Luo, Oh, and Wang based on the further teachings of Oh, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, to provide electrical isolation between the substrate and the light-blocking pattern. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., separation insulating layer, device substrate, light-blocking pattern) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Oh) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Furthermore, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Luo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kwon et al. (US20140183476A1), Murashige et al. (US20190081081A1), and Jeon et al. (US20210320162A1).
Regarding claim 9, Huang as modified by Luo teaches the display apparatus according to claim 1, but Huang does not teach wherein a capacitance of a first parasitic capacitor between the first light-blocking pattern and the driving semiconductor pattern is larger than a capacitance of a second parasitic capacitor between the driving semiconductor pattern and a driving gate electrode of the driving thin film transistor.
In an analogous art, Kwon teaches in paragraph [0006] the existence of high parasitic capacitance between a semiconductor pattern and a gate electrode of a thin film transistor and teaches in paragraph [0009] the problems such high parasitic capacitance causes with a TFT. Murashige teaches in Fig. 9 and paragraph [0084] the existence of a parasitic capacitance between a light-shielding layer (201) and a semiconductor body of a thin film transistor (300) that are spaced apart as with the claimed arrangement of these components. Moreover, the use of the word “parasitic” to describe the recited capacitances indicates these capacitances are implicit to the arrangement both claimed in the instant application and taught by Huang’s modified device. Regardless of whether the parasitic capacitances are deemed implicit to Huang’s modified arrangement or taught by Kwon and Murashige, Jeon teaches in paragraph [0093] that capacitance is proportional to a dielectric constant of a material between conductors forming the conductance and inversely proportional to the distance between the conductors. Accordingly, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to discover the optimum or workable ranges of capacitance by routine experimentation such that a capacitance of a first parasitic capacitor between the first light-blocking pattern and the driving semiconductor pattern is larger than a capacitance of a second parasitic capacitor between the driving semiconductor pattern and a driving gate electrode of the driving thin film transistor. [W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP ¶2144.05(II).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang and Oh.
Regarding claim 10, Huang teaches in Fig. 5 a display apparatus comprising:
a first intermediate insulating layer (61) on a device substrate (50), the first intermediate insulating layer (61) including a first opening (612) penetrating the first intermediate insulating layer (61) {[0072, 0080]};
a first light-blocking pattern (62) disposed within the first opening (612) of the first intermediate insulating layer (61) such that the first intermediate insulating layer (61) is non-overlapping with an upper surface of the first light-blocking pattern (62) {[0076]};
a second intermediate insulating layer (66) on the first intermediate insulating layer (61), the second intermediate insulating layer (66) including a second opening (662) overlapping with and wider than the first opening (612), the second intermediate insulating layer (66) being non-overlapping with the upper surface of the first light-blocking pattern (62) {[0072, 0084]};
an upper buffer layer (63) on the first intermediate insulating layer (61) and the second intermediate insulating layer (66) and the first light-blocking pattern (62), wherein the upper buffer layer (63) contacts a side surface of the first light-blocking pattern (62) {[0078]};
a driving thin film transistor (DR) on the upper buffer layer (63), the driving thin film transistor (DR) including a driving semiconductor pattern (52) overlapping with the first light- blocking pattern (62) {Figs. 2, 3; [0054, 0070]};
an over-coat layer (72) on the driving thin film transistor (DR) {Figs. 2, 3, 5; [0075]}; and
a light-emitting device (OLED) on the over-coat layer (72), the light-emitting device (OLED) being electrically connected to the driving thin film transistor (DR) {Figs. 2, 5; [0074]}.
Huang does not teach:
a first switching thin film transistor on the upper buffer layer, the first switching thin film transistor including a first switching semiconductor pattern being spaced away from the opening;
an over-coat layer on the first switching thin film transistor.
Oh teaches in Fig. 10 and paragraph [0230, 0244, 0254] a first switching thin film transistor (O-TFT) on an upper buffer layer (BF2), the first switching thin film transistor (O-TFT) including a first switching semiconductor pattern (AC2) being spaced away from an opening (opening in BR which houses BMLa); and an over-coat layer (80) on the first switching thin film transistor (O-TFT). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang’s display apparatus based on the teachings of Oh, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, so [t]he driving thin film transistor … may receive the data signal … according to the switching operation of the switching thin film transistor … to supply the driving current … to the light emitting element. Oh [0161]. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., switching thin film transistor, buffer layer, switching semiconductor pattern, opening, over-coat layer) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Oh) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Furthermore, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Oh as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Lee.
Regarding claim 11, Huang as modified by Oh teaches the display apparatus according to claim 10, but Huang does not teach wherein the driving semiconductor pattern and the first switching semiconductor pattern include an oxide semiconductor.
Lee teaches in Fig. 4 and paragraph [0081] the driving semiconductor pattern and the first switching semiconductor pattern include an oxide semiconductor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang’s display apparatus as modified by Oh based on the teachings of Lee – such that the driving semiconductor pattern and the first switching semiconductor pattern include an oxide semiconductor – because [t]he selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view and Oh as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US20220140059A1).
Regarding claim 12, Huang as modified by Oh teaches the display apparatus according to claim 10, but Huang does not teach further comprising:
a second switching thin film transistor between the device substrate and the over-coat layer, the second switching thin film transistor including a second switching semiconductor pattern and a gate electrode overlapping with a portion of the second switching semiconductor pattern; and
a gate insulating layer extending between the second switching semiconductor pattern and the gate electrode.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches in Fig. 15 a second switching thin film transistor (STR2 in STRR2) between the device substrate (110) and the over-coat layer (165), the second switching thin film transistor (STR2 in STRR2) including a second switching semiconductor pattern (151) and a gate electrode (132) overlapping with a portion of the second switching semiconductor pattern (151) {[0131]}; and a gate insulating layer (162) extending between the second switching semiconductor pattern (151) and the gate electrode (132) {[0130]}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang’s display apparatus as modified by Oh based on the teachings of Kim – such that a second switching thin film transistor is disposed between the device substrate and the over-coat layer, the second switching thin film transistor including a second switching semiconductor pattern and a gate electrode overlapping with a portion of the second switching semiconductor pattern; and a gate insulating layer is extending between the second switching semiconductor pattern and the gate electrode – to electrically connect a reference voltage line … to the source electrode of the driving transistor. Kim [0105].
Regarding claim 13, Huang as modified by Oh and Kim teaches the display apparatus according to claim 12, but Huang does not teach wherein the second switching semiconductor pattern includes a material different from the driving semiconductor pattern and the first switching semiconductor pattern.
Kim teaches in paragraph [0108] the second switching semiconductor pattern (151) includes a material different from the driving semiconductor pattern (153) and the first switching semiconductor pattern (STR1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang’s display apparatus as modified by Oh and Kim based on the further teachings of Kim – such that the second switching semiconductor pattern includes a material different from the driving semiconductor pattern and the first switching semiconductor pattern – because all the claimed elements (e.g., first and second switching semiconductor patterns) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Kim), with no change in their respective functions (e.g., of operating as a transistor), to yield nothing more than predictable results. MPEP ¶2143(I)(A).
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view and Oh and Kim as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Wang.
Regarding claim 14, Huang as modified by Oh and Kim teaches the display apparatus according to claim 12, but Huang does not teach further comprising
a second light-blocking pattern being spaced away from the first light-blocking pattern, the second light-blocking pattern overlapping with the first switching semiconductor pattern,
wherein the second light-blocking pattern is disposed on a same layer as the gate electrode of the second switching thin film transistor.
Oh teaches in Fig. 10 and paragraph [0230] a second light-blocking pattern (BMLb) being spaced away from the first light-blocking pattern (BMLa), the second light-blocking pattern (BMLb) overlapping with the first switching semiconductor pattern (AC2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang’s display apparatus as modified by Oh and Kim based on the further teachings of Oh – such that a second light-blocking pattern being spaced away from the first light-blocking pattern, the second light-blocking pattern overlapping with the first switching semiconductor pattern – to protect the first switching semiconductor pattern from the deleterious effects of light. Oh [0230].
Huang as modified by Oh and Kim does not teach the second light-blocking pattern is disposed on a same layer as the gate electrode of the second switching thin film transistor.
Wang teaches in Fig. 2C and paragraph [0080] a second light-blocking pattern (130c) is disposed on a same layer (12) as a gate electrode (22) of a thin film transistor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang’s display apparatus as modified by Oh and Kim based on the teachings of Wang – such that the second light-blocking pattern is disposed on a same layer as the gate electrode of the second switching thin film transistor – so the second light-blocking pattern and the gate electrode of the second switching thin film transistor may be formed together of the same material on the same layer and thereby reduce manufacturing operations. Wang [0080, 0081].
Regarding claim 15, Huang as modified by Oh, Kim, and Wang teaches the display apparatus according to claim 14, but Huang does not teach wherein the second light- blocking pattern includes a same material as the gate electrode of the second switching thin film transistor.
Wang teaches in Fig. 2C and paragraph [0080] a second light-blocking pattern (130c) includes a same material as a gate electrode (22) of a thin film transistor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang’s display apparatus as modified by Oh, Kim, and Wang based on the further teachings of Wang – such that the second light-blocking pattern includes a same material as the gate electrode of the second switching thin film transistor – so the second light-blocking pattern and the gate electrode of the second switching thin film transistor may be formed together of the same material and thereby reduce manufacturing operations. Wang [0080, 0081].
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Lee et al. (US20170338252A1), Chung et al. (US20130175534A1), Luo, and Huang.
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches in Fig. 2A, 2B, or 2C a display apparatus comprising:
a first light-blocking pattern (120) and a second light-blocking pattern (130a/130b/130c) disposed on a device substrate (110) {[0066]};
a first thin-film transistor (M1), the first thin-film transistor (M1) including a first semiconductor pattern (21) overlapping with the first light-blocking pattern (120), the first semiconductor pattern (21) electrically connected to a light-emitting device (not shown) {[0065, 0077]};
a second thin-film transistor (M2), the second thin-film transistor (M2) including a second semiconductor pattern (31) overlapping with the second light-blocking pattern (130a/130b/130c) {[0065]}; and
wherein a distance between the first light-blocking pattern (120) and the first semiconductor pattern (21) is shorter than a distance between the second light-blocking pattern (130a/130b/130c) and the second semiconductor pattern (31) {Figs. 2A-2C}.
Wang does not teach an upper buffer layer disposed on the first light-blocking pattern and the second light-blocking pattern; the first thin-film transistor on the upper buffer layer; and the second thin-film transistor on the upper buffer layer.
Lee ‘252 teaches in Fig. 10 and paragraphs [0049] and [0066] an upper buffer layer (12) disposed on a first light-blocking pattern (113) and a second light-blocking pattern (111), and first and second thin-film transistors (transistors of 193-195; 13a} disposed on the upper buffer layer (12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s display apparatus based on the teachings of Lee ‘252 – such that a[n] upper buffer layer is disposed on the first light-blocking pattern and the second light-blocking pattern, the first thin-film transistor is disposed on the upper buffer layer, and the second thin-film transistor is disposed on the upper buffer layer – to prevent the introduction of impurity ions (such as alkali metal ions) … to the active layer [of a transistor]. Chung [0054].
Wang as modified by Lee ‘252 above does not teach the first semiconductor pattern of the first thin-film transistor includes oxide semiconductor.
Lee ‘252 further teaches in Fig. 10 and paragraph [0066] the first semiconductor pattern (193-195) of the first thin-film transistor (transistor of 193-195) includes oxide semiconductor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s display apparatus as modified by Lee ‘252 and Chung based on the further teachings of Lee ‘252 – such that Wang’s first semiconductor pattern of the first thin-film transistor includes oxide semiconductor, as taught by Lee ‘252 – because [t]he selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Wang as modified by Lee ‘252 does not teach:
two intermediate insulating layers between the second light-blocking pattern and the second thin-film transistor, the two intermediate insulating layers not between the first light-blocking pattern and the first thin-film transistor;
wherein each of the two intermediate insulating layers has an opening penetrating a corresponding intermediate insulating layer, and the first light-blocking pattern disposed within the opening of a lower intermediate insulating layer among the two intermediate insulating layers,
wherein the opening of an upper intermediate insulating layer among the two intermediate insulating layers is overlapping with and wider than the opening of the lower intermediate insulating layer, and
wherein the two intermediate insulating layers are not overlapping with an upper surface of the first light-blocking pattern.
Luo teaches in Fig. 5 and paragraphs [0053, 0065] two intermediate insulating layers (221, 222) between a second light-blocking pattern (212) and a second thin-film transistor (24), the two intermediate insulating layers (221, 222) not between a first light-blocking pattern (211) and a first thin-film transistor (23), wherein each of the two intermediate insulating layers (221, 222) has an opening (V1) penetrating a corresponding intermediate insulating layer (221, 222), and the first light-blocking pattern (211) is disposed within the opening (V1) of a lower intermediate insulating layer (221) among the two intermediate insulating layers (221, 222), wherein the opening (V1) of a[n] upper intermediate insulating layer (222) among the two intermediate insulating layers (221, 222) is overlapping with and wider than the opening (V1) of the lower intermediate insulating layer (221), and wherein the two intermediate insulating layers (221, 222) are not overlapping with an upper surface of the first light-blocking pattern (211). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh’s display apparatus as modified by Lee ‘252 and Chung based on the teachings of Luo, as identified above, so an overall thickness of the array substrate … may not be increased. Huang [0077].
Wang as modified by Lee ‘252 and Luo does not teach the upper buffer layer contacts a side surface of the first light-blocking pattern disposed in the opening of the lower intermediate insulating layer.
Huang teaches in Fig. 5 and paragraphs [0080, 0094] an upper buffer layer (63) contacts a side surface of a first light-blocking pattern (62) disposed in an opening (612) of a lower intermediate insulating layer (61). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s display apparatus as modified by Lee ‘252, Chung, and Luo based on the teachings of Huang – such that the upper buffer layer contacts a side surface of the first light-blocking pattern disposed in the opening of the lower intermediate insulating layer – to electrically insulate the first light-blocking pattern from any undesired electrical influences. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., upper buffer layer, light-blocking pattern, opening, insulating layer) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Furthermore, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 17, Wang as modified by Lee ‘252, Chung, Luo, and Huang teaches the display apparatus of claim 16, and Wang further teaches wherein the first thin-film transistor (M1) is a driving transistor for driving the light-emitting device and the second thin-film transistor (M2) is a switching transistor {[0023, 0024, 0063]}.
Regarding claim 18, Wang as modified by Lee ‘252, Chung, Luo, and Huang teaches the display apparatus of claim 16, and Wang further teaches the second semiconductor pattern (31) includes oxide semiconductor {[0074]}.
Wang does not teach the first semiconductor pattern and the second semiconductor pattern are disposed on the upper buffer layer.
As discussed above with respect to base claim 16, Lee ‘252 teaches in Fig. 10 and paragraphs [0049] and [0066] a first semiconductor pattern (193-195) and the second semiconductor pattern (131-133) are disposed on an upper buffer layer (12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s display apparatus as modified by Lee ‘252, Chung, Luo, and Huang based on the further teachings of Lee ‘252 – such that the first semiconductor pattern and the second semiconductor pattern are disposed on the upper buffer layer – to prevent the introduction of impurity ions (such as alkali metal ions) … to the active layer [of a transistor]. Chung [0054].
Regarding claim 19, Wang as modified by Lee ‘252, Chung, Luo, and Huang teaches the display apparatus of claim 16, and Wang further teaches wherein the first semiconductor pattern (21) is overlapped with the opening (opening below mesa portion of 12) {e.g., Fig. 2A}.
Regarding claim 20, Wang as modified by Lee ‘252, Chung, Luo, and Huang teaches the display apparatus of claim 16, and Wang further teaches in Figs. 2A-2C wherein a side surface (e.g., side surface that directly interfaces with 120/130 or upper surface) of the two intermediate insulating layers (modified 11) is located between the first light-blocking pattern (120) and the second light-blocking pattern (130c).
Claim(s) 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Lee ‘252, Chung, Luo, and Huang as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Kim and Kwon.
Regarding claim 22, Wang as modified by Lee ‘252, Chung, Luo, and Huang teaches the display apparatus of claim 16, but Wang does not teach further comprising a third thin-film transistor on the device substrate, the third thin-film transistor including a third semiconductor pattern including poly-Si.
Kim teaches in Fig. 15 a third thin-film transistor (STR2 in STRR2) on the device substrate (110), the third thin-film transistor (STR2 in STRR2) including a third semiconductor pattern (151). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s display apparatus as modified by Lee ‘252, Chung, Luo, and Huang based on the teachings of Kim – such that a third thin-film transistor is disposed on the device substrate, the third thin-film transistor including a third semiconductor pattern – to electrically connect a reference voltage line … to the source electrode of the driving transistor. Kim [0105].
Kim teaches in paragraph [0108] the third semiconductor pattern may be an oxide semiconductor. In an analogous art, Kwon teaches in paragraph [0007] that oxide semiconductor and polysilicon are alternative materials for a thin film transistor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s display apparatus as modified by Lee ‘252, Chung, Luo, Huang, and Kim based on the teachings of Kwon – such that the third semiconductor pattern of the third thin-film transistor includes poly-Si – because [t]he selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 23, Wang as modified by Lee ‘252, Chung, Luo, Huang, Kim, and Kwon teaches the display apparatus of claim 22, and Wang further teaches further comprising a separation insulating layer on the third thin-film transistor, and wherein the first light-blocking pattern (120) and the second light-blocking pattern (130a/130b/130c) are disposed on the separation insulating layer (10).
But Wang does not teach a separation insulating layer on the third thin-film transistor.
Kim teaches in Fig. 5 and paragraph [0156] a separation insulating layer (164) on a third thin-film transistor (STR2 in STRR2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s display apparatus as modified by Lee ‘252, Chung, Luo, Huang, Kim, and Kwon based on the further teachings of Kim – such that a separation insulating layer is disposed on the third thin-film transistor – to protect and insulate the underlying material. Kim [0156].
Regarding claim 24, Wang as modified by Lee ‘252, Chung, Luo, Huang, Kim, and Kwon teaches the display apparatus of claim 22, and Wang further teaches wherein the first light-blocking pattern (120) and the second light-blocking pattern (130a/130b/130c) are disposed on an insulating layer (10) {Figs. 2A-2C; [0069, 0138]}.
Wang does not teach the third thin-film transistor further includes a gate electrode and at least a portion of a lower gate insulating layer.
Kim teaches in Fig. 5 and paragraph [0131] a third thin-film transistor (STR2 in STRR2) further includes a gate electrode (131) and at least a portion of a lower gate insulating layer (162). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s display apparatus as modified by Lee ‘252, Chung, Luo, Huang, Kim, and Kwon based on the further teachings of Kim – such that the third thin-film transistor further includes a gate electrode and at least a portion of a lower gate insulating layer – to provide a capacitance-based control for enabling/disabling a conductive channel in the third thin film transistor using a conductive gate electrode and a dielectric gate insulating layer. Moreover, [t]he selection of a known material [e.g., gate and gate insulating layer] based on its suitability for its intended use [in a thin film transistor is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Lee ‘252, Chung, Luo, Huang, Kim, and Kwon as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Yeo (US20180182838A1).
Regarding claim 25, Wang as modified by Lee ‘252, Chung, Luo, Huang, Kim, and Kwon teaches the display apparatus of claim 22, and Wang further teaches wherein the first thin-film transistor (M1) and the second thin-film transistor (M2) are disposed in a pixel area (area of PX1) {[0063]}.
Wang does not teach the third thin-film transistor is disposed in a bezel area.
Yeo teaches paragraph [0091] a thin-film transistor is disposed in a non-display area and teaches in Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0028] and [0037] the non-display area is located in a bezel area of the display apparatus. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s display apparatus as modified by Lee ‘252, Chung, Luo, Huang, Kim, and Kwon based on the teachings of Yeo – such that the third thin-film transistor is disposed in a bezel area – so as to remove a component, producing a signal shared by multiple devices within a display area, to a non-display area and thereby create more space for the components better suited for disposal within the display area.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi et al. (US20220406867A1) teaches a display panel includes a substrate, a light blocking layer disposed on the substrate, the light blocking layer including a first opening that defines a transmission area, at least one lower insulating layer disposed between the light blocking layer and the substrate, the at least one lower insulating layer including a second opening that overlaps the first opening, pixel circuits disposed on the light blocking layer, light emitting elements electrically connected to the pixel circuits, and an encapsulation layer overlapping the light emitting elements.
Conclusion
/D.W.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891