DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 8/28/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 21-76 are canceled by Applicant.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a first interconnect configured to” and “a second interconnect configured to” perform various functions in claim 8 (see specification: “A first interconnect can be a storage interconnect and a second interconnect is a memory interconnect”; paragraphs [0006]-[0007]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haywood et al. (US 2023/0305891 A1) in view of Khatri et al. (US 2022/0138013 A1).
As to claim 1, Haywood teaches a method, comprising:
receiving a request to utilize at least one of a memory (during server boot-up or sometime after, memory allocation and access requests; paragraph [0016], [0014], wherein the request is received at a computing system comprising a local memory and local storage (memory pooling-server may include various hierarchically accessed storage devices … memory 115 is implemented by DRAM, storage technology; paragraph [0015]);
determining availability of a remote memory at one or more remote nodes accessible by the computing system (each memory virtualizer is informed, at any given time, of volume and location of allocable memory on specific remote servers; paragraph [0018]);
determining a distribution among the local memory, and one or more remote nodes to fulfill the request (The process-hosting operating system may apply policy-based rules or algorithms to determine … a blend of local and remote memory is to be allocated to a given process; paragraph [0013], [0019]-[0020], [0025] and [0028]); and
based on the determination, utilizing at least one of:
a memory associated with a first set of one or more remote nodes via a first interconnect (an MP server maps those extra (beyond the local physical memory) LPAs to the memory virtualizer components which, in turn, associates the LPAs with remote memory; paragraph [0019]-[0020] and allocation engine coordinates with one or more allocation engines within remote MP servers to fulfill the allocation request in whole or in part out of the collective memory pool; paragraph [0028] and interconnect fabric 103; see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0014], [0015], [0017] and Fabric interface 331L, then transmits the interconnect fabric 103; paragraph [0038]).
Haywood does not teach request to utilize at least a storage, determine availability of remote storage, and local storage is used to fulfill the request.
However, Khatri teaches request to utilize at least a memory and a storage (workload requirement for the workload; paragraph [0041] includes memory and storage devices; paragraphs [0042]-[0043]), network storage devices are used to fulfill the request (network-attached storage devices; paragraphs [0023] and [0041]), and local storage is used to fulfill the request (during runtime of the computing system (e.g., during the performance of the workload discussed above), the SCP system may confirm that … storage key management policies are being complied with; paragraph [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of Khatri to the system of Haywood because Khatri teaches a workload compliance governor system that ensures the components in a disaggregated system to perform a workload comply with any of variety of workload requirements prior to perform the workload (paragraphs [0003] and [0005]).
As to claim 2, Haywood as modified by Khatri teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising utilizing at least one of the local memory and the local storage to fulfill the request (see Haywood: The process-hosting operating system may apply policy-based rules or algorithms to determine … a blend of local and remote memory is to be allocated to a given process; paragraph [0013], [0019]-[0020], [0025]) and (see Khatri: workload requirement for the workload; paragraph [0041] includes memory and storage devices; paragraphs [0042]-[0043]).
As to claim 4, Haywood as modified by Khatri teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the request comprises access to at least one of a local memory and a local storage via a primary processing unit (see Haywood: CPU, requests for allocate/access memory; paragraph [0016]).
As to claim 8, Haywood teaches a system, comprising:
at least one processing unit (one or more CPUs 111; paragraph [0014] and Fig. 1);
a local memory (memory, DRAM, DIMMS; paragraph [0014] and Fig. 1);
a local storage (local storage; paragraph [0034]);
a first interconnect configured to access a remote memory at a first set of one of more remote nodes (interconnect fabric 103; paragraph [0015] and Fig. 1); and
instructions that when executed on the at least one processing unit, cause the system to at least (instruction received by CPU; paragraph [0014] and Fig. 1):
receive a request to utilize at least one of a memory (during server boot-up or sometime after, memory allocation and access requests; paragraph [0016], [0014]);
determine availability of at least one of the remote memory at the first and second set of remote nodes (each memory virtualizer is informed, at any given time, of volume and location of allocable memory on specific remote servers; paragraph [0018]);
determine a distribution among the local memory, and one or more remote nodes to fulfill the request (The process-hosting operating system may apply policy-based rules or algorithms to determine … a blend of local and remote memory is to be allocated to a given process; paragraph [0013], [0019]-[0020], [0025] and [0028]); and
utilize at least one of:
the remote memory associated with a first set of one or more remote nodes(beyond the local physical memory) LPAs to the memory virtualizer components which, in turn, associates the LPAs with remote memory; paragraph [0019]-[0020] and allocation engine coordinates with one or more allocation engines within remote MP servers to fulfill the allocation request in whole or in part out of the collective memory pool; paragraph [0028] and interconnect fabric 103; see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0014], [0015], [0017] and Fabric interface 331L, then transmits the interconnect fabric 103; paragraph [0038]).
Haywood does not teach request to utilize at least a storage, a second interconnect configured to access a remote storage at a second set of one or more remote nodes, determine availability of remote storage, and local storage is used to fulfill the request.
However, Khatri teaches request to utilize at least a memory and a storage (workload requirement for the workload; paragraph [0041] includes memory and storage devices; paragraphs [0042]-[0043]), a second interconnect configured to access a remote storage at a second set of one or more remote nodes (NIC subsystem; paragraph [0036] and [0031]), network storage devices are used to fulfill the request (network-attached storage devices; paragraphs [0023] and [0041]), and local storage is used to fulfill the request (during runtime of the computing system (e.g., during the performance of the workload discussed above), the SCP system may confirm that … storage key management policies are being complied with; paragraph [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of Khatri to the system of Haywood because Khatri teaches a workload compliance governor system that ensures the components in a disaggregated system to perform a workload comply with any of variety of workload requirements prior to perform the workload (paragraphs [0003] and [0005]).
As to claim 9, Haywood as modified by Khatri teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the at least one processing unit is one or more of an Intelligence Processing Unit (IPU) and Central Processing Unit (CPU) (see Haywood: CPU, requests for allocate/access memory; paragraph [0016]).
As to claim 10, Haywood as modified by Khatri teaches wherein the first interconnect is a memory (storage) interconnect (see Haywood: PCIe; paragraph [0015]) and the second interconnect is a storage (memory) interconnect (see Khatri: NIC subsystem; paragraph [0036] and [0031]).
As to claim 11, Haywood as modified by Khatri teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the first set of one or more remote nodes utilizes an RDMA network (see Haywood: direct memory access to remote memory; paragraph [0038]).
As to claim 12, Haywood as modified by Khatri teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the second set of one or more remote nodes utilizes a Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe) network (see Haywood: PCIe; paragraph [0015]).
As to claim 13, Haywood as modified by Khatri teaches the system of claim 8, wherein at least one of a soft PCIe switch and a hard PCIe switch enables access to the second set of the one or more remote nodes (see Haywood: switches; paragraph [0039]).
As to claim 14, see rejection of claim 2 above.
As to claim 15, see rejection of claim 4 above.
As to claim 16, Haywood as modified by Khatri does not teach the system of claim 8, wherein the system is a search engine.
However, Haywood does not limit the system to certain type of system. Therefore, the system taught by Haywood could be a search engine.
As to claim 19, Haywood as modified by Khatri teaches operating a system according to claim 8 (see Haywood: Fig. 3 illustrates an exemplary memory allocation flow within fabric-interconnected memory-pooling servers 101-1 and 101-2 (local and remote servers, respectively, as discussed in reference to Fig. 1); see Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0025]-[0028]).
As to claim 20, Haywood as modified by Khatri does not teach the method of claim 19, wherein the operating comprises executing a search.
However, Haywood does not limit the system to certain type of operation. Therefore, the system taught by Haywood could execute a search in response to a request, for example, a search engine performs a search.
Claims 3, 5-7 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haywood et al. (US 2023/0305891 A1) in view of Weerasinghe et al. (Disaggregated FPGAs: Network Performance Comparison against Bare-Metal Servers, Virtual Machine and Linux Containers).
As to claim 3, Haywood as modified by Khatri does not clearly teach reducing a latency period for the request using the first and/or second interconnect.
However, Weerasinghe teaches reducing a latency period for the request using the first and/or second interconnect (by bypassing the primary processing unit; abstract and section IV).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of Weerasinghe to the system of Haywood and Khatri because Weerasinghe teaches an architecture that decouples the FPGA from the CPU of the server by connecting the FPGA directly to the data center network, which results in improve the latency and throughput performance of the system (abstract).
As to claim 5, Haywood as modified by Khatri does not teach disaggregating the local memory from the primary processing unit of the computing system using the first interconnect; and disaggregating the local storage from the primary processing unit using the second interconnect.
However, Weerasinghe teaches disaggregating the memory of FPGAs from the primary processing unit (CPU, processor) using the interconnect (See Figs. 1 and 2 and sections III and IV). Weerasinghe further teaches the FPGAs is implemented in a data center (abstract).
Haywood also teaches the data center including multiple servers (paragraph [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of Weerasinghe to the system of Haywood and Khatri because Weerasinghe teaches an architecture that decouples the FPGA from the CPU of the server by connecting the FPGA directly to the data center network, which results in improve the latency and throughput performance of the system (abstract).
As to claim 6, Haywood as modified by Khatri and Weerasinghe teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the local memory and the local storage are disaggregated into a Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA)-independent storage and memory (see Weerasinghe: Figs. 1 and 2).
As to claim 7, Haywood as modified by Khatri and Weerasinghe teaches the method of claim 4, further comprising reducing data access overhead by bypassing the primary processing unit (see Weerasinghe: abstract and section IV).
As to claim 17, see rejection of claim 5 above.
As to claim 18, see rejection of claim 6 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Das et al. (US 2017/0277655 A1) teaches memory sharing for working data using RDMA.
Stabrawa et al. (US 9,836,217 B2) teaches a method for dynamically provisionable and allocatable memory external to a requesting apparatus.
Erickson et al. (US 2021/0389887 A1) teaches concurrent remote-local memory allocation operations.
Haywood et al. (US 2021/0390066 A1) teaches a local memory allocation device may select remote node to provide a memory allocation of memory.
/DIEM K CAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2196
DC
December 1, 2025