DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 17, 21 and 28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-26, 28 and 30-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (2019/0143474) in view of Lin et al. (TW I668540B).
With respect to claim 17 Wang et al. teaches a semiconductor manufacturing method (Wang et al. discloses monitoring and controlling a CMP operation; [0015]) comprising: starting a CMP operation on a wafer (123; [0015]); detecting vibration signals it at least four sub-frequency ranges by one or more sensors (250) to transmit electric signals (seen in Fig. 2B) corresponding to vibration data, wherein a first two sub-frequency ranges corresponding to a first material and a second two sub-frequency ranges corresponding to a second material (as the detected sound represents vibrations occurring during the CMP operation; [0021] [0030], which are capable of being in at least four sub-frequency ranges, a first and second two sub-frequencies of first and second materials, as Wang et al. discloses microphones capable of detecting all frequencies inside the chamber, where these frequencies are dependent on materials like a wafer surface, water surface, material immediately underneath a film at the water surface, compositions of a slurry, and a material of a polishing pad, which has been disclosed as falling between the range of 0.01 Hz to 200MHz; [0021] [0047], thereby reading on the claimed invention insofar as what is structurally recited defining sensors themselves); obtaining digital signals by a signal processor (310/) from the electric signals (from the sensors 250); converting the digital signals from a time domain into a frequency domain by performing Fast Fourier Transformation [0038]; obtaining (as 320) noise reduced digital signals in the frequency domain by filtering out noise signals from the digital signals using one or more filters (as Wang et al. teaches filtering out noise to improve the SNR; [0034]); obtaining by the signal processor (310) at least one vibration frequency spectrum from the noise reduced digital electric signals (after filtering); and searching by the signal processor (310) for an existing micro-scratch vibration spectrum in a statistical process chart (i.e. an event model having specific events used to match the vibration spectrum against know events; [0058]; note the taught model employs statistical techniques to analyze and represent sound data, allowing the model to make predictions and draw inferences about the sounds themselves or their sources) using the obtained at least one vibration frequency spectrum [0058-0059]; determining by the signal processor (310) a micro-scratch occurrence [0015] on the wafer (123 at s440); and stopping the CMP operation based on the micro-scratch occurrence (as Wang et al. teaches in [0044], stopping the CMP operation if an abnormality is detected).
Wang et al. remains silent regarding detecting a first spike amplitude and a second spike amplitude in the at least one vibration frequency spectrum, forming a ratio of the first spike amplitude to the second spike amplitude, and determining that the ratio exceeds a threshold value.
Lin et al. teaches a similar method that includes forming a ratio from maximum detected amplitudes in the at least one vibration frequency spectrum (as Lin et al. teaches using the maximum amplitude in the vibration waveform; [000135-000136]), and determining that the ratio exceeds a threshold value (as Lin et al. teaches comparing the ratio against previously set threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify the method such that the maximum amplitudes of the detected vibration frequency spectrum form a ratio to be compared against a preset threshold, as taught in Lin et al. because Lin et al. teaches such a modification allows a user to identify problems quickly and make improvements during polishing; [000143].
With respect to claims 18, 25, 30, 31, and 32 Wang et al. teaches the method wherein the one or more sensors are indirectly in rigid contact with a head holding a carrier (122) of the wafer (123) and/or a platen (110) holding a polishing pad (111, as the sensors are attached to a wall of the chamber, which is considered by the examiner as being indirectly in rigid contact with carrier of the wafter, as the carrier is within the chamber, and therefore in in rigid contact indirectly, insofar as how that is structurally defined within the claims).
With respect to claim 19 Wang et al. as modified teaches the method further comprising sending by the signal processor (310) a stop signal [0044] to a processor controller (320) upon determining the ratio (taught in Lin et al.) exceeds a threshold value (as Lin et al. teaches comparing the ratio to a threshold; Lin et al. [000136]).
With respect to claim 20 Wang et al. teaches the method wherein stopping the CMP operation [0044] further comprises stopping [0043] the CMP operation by a process controller (320) upon receiving the stop signal (via a feedback signal) from the signal processor (310).
With respect to claim 21, Wang et al. teaches a semiconductor manufacturing method (Wang et al. discloses monitoring and controlling a CMP operation; [0015]) comprising: starting a CMP operation on a wafer (123; [0015]); detecting vibration signals it at least four sub-frequency ranges signals (as Wang et al. teaches the ranges will be dependent on materials used in the CMP process; [0021] and [0047]) using a piezo electric sensor (250, as a microphone converts sound waves into electrical signals using piezo electric materials), wherein a CMP apparatus (Fig. 2A) performing the CMP operation (Abstract) includes the piezo electric sensor (250); and wherein a first two sub-frequency ranges correspond to a first material and a second two sub-frequency ranges correspond to a second material (Wang et al. discloses microphones capable of detecting all frequencies inside the chamber, where these frequencies are dependent on materials like a wafer surface, water surface, material immediately underneath a film at the water surface, compositions of a slurry, and a material of a polishing pad, which has been disclosed as falling between the range of 0.01 Hz to 200MHz; [0021] [0047], thereby reading on the claimed invention insofar as what is structurally recited defining sensors themselves); determining a vibration frequency spectrum (s430; Fig. 4) from the vibrational signals (Fig. 2B); determining an abnormality occurrence (for example, a micro-scratch; [0025] [0039]) on the wafer (123 at s440) and stopping the CMP operation based on the micro-scratch occurrence (as Wang et al. teaches in [0044], stopping the CMP operation based on the detected frequency spectrums indicating an abnormality).
Wang et al. remains silent regarding determining a ratio of a first spike amplitude to a second spike amplitude of the vibration frequency spectrum and determining an abnormality based on the ratio of the first spike amplitude to the second spike amplitude.
Lin et al. teaches a similar method that includes forming a ratio from maximum detected amplitudes in the at least one vibration frequency spectrum (as Lin et al. teaches forming a ratio from maximum amplitudes in the vibration waveform; [000135-000136]), and determining that the ratio exceeds a threshold value, indicating an abnormality (Lin et al. teaches comparing the ratio against previously set threshold to determine an abnormality if the ratio is outside the defined thresholds).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify the method such that the maximum amplitudes of the detected vibration frequency spectrum form a ratio to be compared against a preset threshold, as taught in Lin et al. because Lin et al. teaches such a modification allows a user to identify problems quickly and make improvements during polishing; [000143].
With respect to claim 22, Wang et al. teaches the method further comprises searching for an existing event frequency spectrum [0058] in a statistical process chart (i.e. an event model having specific events used to match the vibration spectrum against know events; [0058]; note the taught model employs statistical techniques to analyze and represent sound data, allowing the model to make predictions and draw inferences about the sounds themselves or their sources) using the vibration frequency spectrum (as collected and processed), wherein the determining the abnormality occurrence (s440) on the wafer (123) based on the vibration frequency spectrum (as collected and processed) includes finding the existing event frequency spectrum in the statistical process chart (i.e. an event model that matches the abnormality; [0025] [0039]).
With respect to claim 23, Wang et al. teaches the method further comprising: converting electrical signals from the piezo electric sensor (250) into digital signals [0048]; filtering the digital signals to obtain noise-reduced digital signals [0031]; and generating the vibration frequency spectrum from the noise-reduced digital signals.
With respect to claim 24, Wang et al. teaches the method wherein the converting the electrical signals from the piezo electric sensor (250) into the digital signals includes converting the electrical signals into the digital signals in a time domain [0035], and the method further comprises performing a Fast Fourier Transform algorithm [0038] to convert the noise-reduced digital signals from the time domain into a frequency domain [0038].
With respect to claim 26, Wang et al. teaches the method further comprising: depositing a first material layer (135) over the wafer (123); depositing a second material layer (i.e. a lubricant from a polishing [0017]) at least partially over the first material layer (as seen in Fig. 2A); and controlling the piezo electric sensor (250) to detect the vibrational signals in a first frequency range including a first sub-frequency range corresponding to the first material layer and a second sub-frequency range corresponding to the second material layer (as Wang et al. teaches configuring the microphones to sense frequencies in a 0.01 Hz to about 20 Hz range, 20 Hz to about 20 kHz and 20 kHz to about 200 MHz).
With respect to claim 28, Wang et al. teaches a semiconductor manufacturing method (Wang et al. discloses monitoring and controlling a CMP operation; [0015]) comprising: starting a CMP operation [0015] on a wafer (123); detecting vibrational signals in at least four sub-frequency ranges (as Wang et al. teaches the ranges will be dependent on materials used in the CMP process; [0021] and [0047]) comprising a first vibration signal and a second vibration signal corresponding to the CMP operation by a first vibration sensor and a second vibration sensor (a Fig. 2A depicts using two sensors 250 for sensing first and second vibration signals), wherein a first two sub-frequency ranges correspond to a first material and a second two sub-frequency ranges correspond to a second material (Wang et al. discloses microphones capable of detecting all frequencies inside the chamber, where these frequencies are dependent on materials like a wafer surface, water surface, material immediately underneath a film at the water surface, compositions of a slurry, and a material of a polishing pad, which has been disclosed as falling between the range of 0.01 Hz to 200MHz; [0021] [0047], thereby reading on the claimed invention insofar as what is structurally recited defining sensors themselves); converting the first vibration signal and the second vibration signal respectively to a first digital signal and a second digital signal, with both signals represented in a time domain [0048]; converting the first digital signal and the second digital signal from the time domain into a frequency domain [0035]; filtering the first digital signal and the second digital signal to respectively generate a first noise-reduced digital signal and a second noise-reduced digital signal [0031]; determining a first frequency spectrum and a second frequency spectrum respectively from the first noise-reduced digital signal and the second noise-reduced digital signal (a frequency domain analysis of the sound spectrum during the CMP process, to maximize the strength of the sound signals received or detected at the three or more microphones in some embodiments; [0036]); and stopping the CMP operation based on at least one of the first frequency spectrum or second frequency spectrum (as Wang et al. teaches in [0044], stopping the CMP operation based on the detected frequency spectrums indicating an abnormality).
Wang et al. remains silent regarding stopping the operation based on a ratio of a first spike amplitude A1 to a second spike amplitude A2 that are detected.
Lin et al. teaches a similar method that includes forming a ratio from maximum detected amplitudes in the at least one vibration frequency spectrum (as Lin et al. teaches forming a ratio from maximum amplitudes in the vibration waveform; [000135-000136]), and determining that the ratio exceeds a threshold value, indicating an abnormality (Lin et al. teaches comparing the ratio against previously set threshold to determine an abnormality if the ratio is outside the defined thresholds).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify the method such that stopping the operation is when a ratio of maximum amplitudes is outside a preset threshold, as taught in Lin et al. because Lin et al. teaches such a modification allows a user to identify problems quickly and make improvements during polishing; [000143].
With respect to claim 33, Wang et al. teaches the method further comprising: depositing a first material layer (135) over the wafer (123); depositing a second material layer (i.e. a lubricant from a polishing [0017]) at least partially over the first material layer (as seen in Fig. 2A); controlling the first vibration sensor (250) to sense vibrations in a first frequency range including a first sub-frequency range corresponding to the first material layer and a second sub-frequency range corresponding to the second material layer (as Wang et al. teaches configuring the microphones to sense frequencies in a 0.01 Hz to about 20 Hz range,) and controlling the second vibration sensor (250) to sense vibrations in a second frequency range different from the first frequency range (for example, 20 Hz to about 20 kHz) the second frequency range including a third sub-frequency range corresponding to the first material layer (as Wang et al. teaches a third range being 20 kHz to about 200 MHz, which is capable of corresponding to the first material), and a fourth sub-frequency range corresponding to the second material layer (as Wang et al. teaches using frequency ranges that correspond to predetermined events; [0058-0060]).
Claim(s) 27 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (2019/0143474) in view of in view of Lin et al. (TW I668540B), as applied to claims in view of Gitis et al. (2002/0173223A1).
With respect to claim 27, Wang et al. as modified teaches all that is claimed in the above rejection of claim 26 and 28 including determining the ratio of the first spike amplitude to the second spike amplitude (see Lin et al. [000135-000136]); and comparing the ratio to a threshold (i.e. the set threshold taught in Lin et al. [000136]) and determining an abnormality when the ratio is greater than the threshold (as taught in Lin et al.) but remains silent regarding detecting the first spike amplitude at a first central frequency in the first sub-frequency range; detecting the second spike amplitude at a second central frequency in the second sub-frequency range.
Gitis et al. teaches detecting a first spike amplitude at a first central frequency in a first sub-frequency range (i.e. a maximum peak value in S1; [0031]); and detecting a second spike amplitude at a second central frequency in the second sub- frequency range (i.e. a maximum peak value in S2; [0032];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify the method of Wang et al. to include the algorithmic process of Gitis et al. because such a modification allows the method to separate extraordinary signals from regular signals [0012], thereby improving the micro-scratch detecting process of Wang et al.
With respect to claim 29, Wang et al. teaches all that is claimed in the above rejection of claim 28 including the method wherein: the detecting the first vibration signal comprises controlling a piezo sensor (250) to detect the first vibration signal (as it is known microphones contain piezoelectric materials to sense acoustic vibrations); but remains silent regarding the detecting the second vibration signal comprises controlling an acoustic emission sensor to detect the second vibration signal.
Gitis et al. teaches a similar method that includes controlling an acoustic emission sensor to detect vibration signals [0010]. Because both Wang et al. and Gitis et al. teach sensors for sensing vibration signals, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to substitute one of the microphones in Wang et al. to the acoustic emission sensor taught in Gitis et al. to achieve the predictable results of sensing vibration, as such a modification provides accurate and reliable results; [0010].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 34-36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (6,488,569) which teaches detecting micro-scratches from acoustic emission.
/MATTHEW G MARINI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853