DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed November 18, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 6-8 and 10-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a signal transmitted by the hydrodynamic filter” is unclear if the same as “a signal measuring a difference between the measurement port and the reference port” as previously recited. Further recitations of a signal is unclear. Such as, “an absolute reference for the signal and to calibrate the signal” it is unclear which signal is referred to. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Dependent claims are rejected as depending on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 7 depends from a cancelled claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, 10-11, 13-15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rometsch (US 5570694 A) (“Rometsch”) in view of Waterson et al. (US 5137026 A) (“Waterson”).
Regarding claim 1, Rometsch discloses A non-invasive pressure pulse waveform measurement system comprising (Abstract and entire document):
a blood pressure cuff (FIG. 1 “cuff 40”);
an air pump to inflate the blood pressure cuff to specific pressure levels (FIG. 2 “Diaphragm pump 41”);
a first pressure sensor configured to perform signal acquisition at a specified pressure level, the first pressure sensor including a measurement port and a reference port, and the first pressure sensor configured to output a signal measuring a difference between the measurement port and the reference port (FIG. 2 “differential pressure sensor 61” having “pressure inputs 65, 66” as a measurement port and a reference port);
a hydrodynamic filter configured as an input to the reference port and regulating air flow into the reference port to maintain a mean pressure signal at the reference port by attenuating a selected frequency range of a signal transmitted by the hydrodynamic filter, the hydrodynamic filter comprising a resistive component, the resistive component comprising resistive tubing configured to impose a resistance to air flow (FIG. 2, “reduced-diameter tubular member 60” as the resistive tubing imposing resistance to air flow and entering the reference port of the differential pressure sensor at the mean and reduced air flow signal,);
a second pressure sensor configured to measure an absolute reference for the signal and to calibrate the signal (FIG. 2, “pressure sensor 42” which is configured as an absolute reference pressure, measuring the real pressure in the cuff); and
pneumatic tubing connecting the air pump, the first pressure sensor, and the second pressure sensor with the blood pressure cuff (FIG. 2, “flexible tubes 45” shown connecting the cuff to the sensors and the diaphragm pump and the cuff.).
Rometsch fails to disclose a hydrodynamic filter configured as an input to the reference port and regulating air flow into the reference port to maintain a mean pressure signal at the reference port by attenuating a selected frequency range of a signal transmitted by the hydrodynamic filter, the hydrodynamic filter comprising a resistive component in series with a capacitive component, the resistive component comprising resistive tubing configured to impose a resistance to air flow, the capacitive component configured to reduce pressure changes by storing air volume, and the capacitive component comprising tubing that connects the resistive component to the reference port;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Waterson teaches a hydrodynamic filter configured as an input to the reference port and regulating air flow into the reference port to maintain a mean pressure signal at the reference port by attenuating a selected frequency range of a signal transmitted by the hydrodynamic filter, the hydrodynamic filter comprising a resistive component in series with a capacitive component, the resistive component comprising resistive tubing configured to impose a resistance to air flow, the capacitive component configured to reduce pressure changes by storing air volume, and the capacitive component comprising tubing that connects the resistive component to the reference port (FIG. 5 showing a differential pressure sensor 44, with a connection 36 and 36’ to tubing 16 having an orifice, not numbered, the orifice acts as a physical filter, or resistive tubing, and an input to the reference port 36, 36’ are controlled by the resistive tubing, the tubing then goes back to normal right after the orifice, interpreted as compliant tubing, see also col. 5 discussing the principle of measurement and theory of operation, describing the orifice and pressure difference);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system as taught by Rometsch to include a hydrodynamic filter configured as an input to the reference port and regulating air flow into the reference port to maintain a mean pressure signal at the reference port by attenuating a selected frequency range of a signal transmitted by the hydrodynamic filter, the hydrodynamic filter comprising a resistive component in series with a capacitive component, the resistive component comprising resistive tubing configured to impose a resistance to air flow, the capacitive component configured to reduce pressure changes by storing air volume, and the capacitive component comprising tubing that connects the resistive component to the reference port as taught by Waterson to have proper flow (Col. 5 principle of measurement and theory of operation,).
Regarding claim 6, Rometsch as modified discloses The system of claim 1, Rometsch fails to explicitly disclose wherein the resistive tubing comprises rigid tubing with an internal diameter in a range of 10-200 pm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, through routine optimization, to determine the diameter, including an internal diameter in the range of 10-200 um. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Since applicant has not disclosed that this limitation solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs. Absent a teaching as to criticality that the diameter in this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement.
Regarding claim 7, Rometsch as modified discloses The system of claim 4, Rometsch fails to explicitly disclose wherein an elasticity of the capacitive component is in the range of 0.2-2.0 MPa.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, through routine optimization, to determine the elasticity, including an elasticity of the capacitive element is in the range of 0.2-2.0 MPa. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Since applicant has not disclosed that this limitation solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs. Absent a teaching as to criticality that the diameter in this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement.
Regarding claim 8, Rometsch as modified discloses The system of claim 1, Rometsch further discloses wherein the blood pressure cuff is synchronized with an ECG device, smartphone, tablet, laptop computer, or desktop computer, thereby allowing the transmission of wired or wireless data (FIG. 2, “computer 44”).
Regarding claim 10, Rometsch as modified discloses The system of claim 2, Rometsch as modified further discloses wherein the resistive tubing and the capacitive component are combined (Waterson FIG. 5 showing a differential pressure sensor 44, with a connection 36 and 36’ to tubing 16 having an orifice, not numbered, the orifice acts as a physical filter, or resistive tubing, and an input to the reference port 36, 36’ are controlled by the resistive tubing, the tubing then goes back to normal right after the orifice, interpreted as compliant tubing, see also col. 5 discussing the principle of measurement and theory of operation, describing the orifice and pressure difference).
Regarding claim 11, Rometsch as modified discloses The system of claim 2, Rometsch further discloses wherein the resistive tubing comprises resistive elements including an orifice or a physical filter (FIG. 2, “reduced-diameter tubular member 60” and “pressure inputs 65, 66” as a physical filter and can be interpreted as an orifice at the narrowing of the tube).
Regarding claim 13, Rometsch as modified discloses The system of claim 2, Rometsch as modified further discloses wherein the capacitive component comprises a compliant elastic tube, a tube having a small damper, or a tube having a piston cylinder (Waterson FIG. 5 showing a differential pressure sensor 44, with a connection 36 and 36’ to tubing 16 having an orifice, not numbered, the orifice acts as a physical filter, or resistive tubing, and an input to the reference port 36, 36’ are controlled by the resistive tubing, the tubing then goes back to normal right after the orifice, interpreted as compliant tubing, as compliant elastic tube).
Regarding claim 14, Rometsch as modified discloses The system of claim 11 Rometsch further discloses wherein the resistive tubing comprises the physical filter (FIG. 2, “reduced-diameter tubular member 60” and “pressure inputs 65, 66” as a physical filter and can be interpreted as an orifice at the narrowing of the tube).
Regarding claim 15, Rometsch as modified discloses The system of claim 11 Rometsch as modified further discloses wherein the resistive tubing comprises the orifice (Waterson FIG. 5 orifice).
Regarding claim 18, Rometsch as modified discloses The system of claim 13, Rometsch as modified further discloses wherein the capacitive component comprises the compliant elastic tube (Waterson FIG. 5 showing a differential pressure sensor 44, with a connection 36 and 36’ to tubing 16 having an orifice, not numbered, the orifice acts as a physical filter, or resistive tubing, and an input to the reference port 36, 36’ are controlled by the resistive tubing, the tubing then goes back to normal right after the orifice, interpreted as compliant tubing, as compliant elastic tube).
Regarding claim 19, Rometsch as modified discloses The system of claim 1, Rometsch further discloses wherein the blood pressure cuff is synchronized with an ECG device, iPhone, tablet, computer, or other device, thereby allowing the transmission of wireless data (FIG. 2, “computer 44”).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rometsch in view of Waterson in further view of Poliac et al. (US 2006/0052714 A1) (“Poliac”).
Regarding claim 12, Rometsch as modified discloses The system of claim 2, Rometsch as modified fails to disclose wherein the resistive tubing comprises an adjustable orifice.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Poliac teaches wherein the resistive tubing comprises an adjustable orifice ([0047], “Pressure can be decreased in a number of ways, such as by decreasing the pressure supplied by the micro-diaphragm pump 88 or by adjusting the orifice size of the variable orifice valve 96. In one embodiment, the size of the variable orifice valve 96 is utilized to adjust the applied pressure.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system as taught by Rometsch as modified to include wherein the resistive component comprises an adjustable orifice as taught by Poliac to adjust the pressure variably and at a linear rate ([0047], “The orifice size of the variable orifice valve 96 changes in order to maintain a generally linear decrease in pressure applied to the operative pressure cuff. A fixed orifice valve would exhibit an exponential bleed rate, whereas a generally linear bleed rate is desired. Size of the orifice can be controlled with software operative through the CPU 70. Use of the variable orifice valve 96 to control applied pressure at an operative pressure applicator permits pressure readings to be obtained quickly.”).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rometsch in view of Waterson in further view of Wolfe et al. (US 2016/0345860 A1) (“Wolfe”).
Regarding claim 16, Rometsch as modified discloses The system of claim 13, Rometsch as modified fails to disclose wherein the capacitive component comprises the tube having the piston cylinder.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wolfe teaches wherein the capacitive component comprises the tube having the piston cylinder ([0022] discussing the piston cylinder and shown in the airflow design).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system as taught by Rometsch as modified to include wherein the capacitive component comprises the tube having the piston cylinder as taught by Wolfe to help air flow properly ([0022]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rometsch in view of Waterson in further view of Inoue (US 2010/0324430 A1) (“Inoue”).
Regarding claim 17, Rometsch as modified discloses The system of claim 13, Rometsch as modified fails to disclose wherein the capacitive component comprises the tube having the small damper.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Inoue teaches wherein the capacitive component comprises the tube having the small damper ([0034], “The third tube 213 is preferably further connected to a damper device 218 (indicated by broken lines) that increases the volume in proportion to the pressure and smoothes the pressure.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system as taught by Rometsch as modified to include wherein the capacitive component comprises the tube having the small damper as taught by Inoue to smooth the pressure ([0034]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 6-8 and 10-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not solely rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A TOMBERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3791