Claim Status
Claims 1-14 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 4, 8, and 12 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claim 1 and Claim 8 were amended to include the limitations “placing a metal heat transfer element in each of the holed of the metal heat transfer layer, wherein each metal heat transfer element includes a domed surface portion extending to protrude above the mounting face of the support substrate” and “depositing a layer of adhesive material on top of the mounting face of the support substrate, wherein the domed surface portion of each of the metal heat transfer elements is embedded within the layer of adhesive material”. Applicant alleges that there is no teaching or suggestion in Yang or Huang for the claimed invention.
However, a patterned heat transfer layer with dispersed domed projections is taught by Huang (Huang Fig. 6B-2). Furthermore, Figures 6C-1 - 6C-4 of Huang also disclose patterns that is similar to a ball grid array solder holder, where a solder ball deposited in said patterns is known in the art to produce a domed projection and where these projections are commonly secured by an underfill material that fully encloses that domed projections as in the art.
Thus, the examiner considers the amendments to claims 1 and 8 to be obvious in view of the disclosure of Huang and what is known in the art by a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20080224276 A1), hereinafter referred to as Yang, in further view of Huang et al. (US 10,950,520 B2), hereinafter referred to as Huang, and in further view of Choi et al. (KR 101734912 B1), hereinafter referred to as Choi.
RE: Independent Claim 1:
Yang teaches A method for fabricating an electronic device, comprising: producing a metal heat transfer layer at a mounting face of a support substrate (Yang [0025] “A substrate 1, preferably, made of FR4/FR5/BT or metal/alloy, is provided with … conductive layer, for instant metal layer 4, is attached on one Surface of the Substrate 1 and a conductive (metal) layer 5 is formed on another surface of substrate 1; wherein the metal 3 connects the metal layer 4 and metal layer 5 for achieving better heat dissipation" The examiner interprets the substrate 1 with thermally conductive material, such as the one describe by Yang, as a metal heat transfer layer as this layer is designed to manage thermal dissipation of the chip 6.);
forming holes in the metal heat transfer layer (Yang [0025] “A substrate 1, preferably, made of FR4/FR5/BT or metal/alloy, is provided with several open through holes 2 formed therein.”.);
placing a metal heat transfer element in each of the holes of the metal heat transfer layer (Yang [0025] “wherein the open through holes 2 filled with conducting material Such as metal 3 (preferably copper material)”),
depositing a layer of adhesive material on top of the mounting face of the support substrate and placing an electronic integrated circuit (IC) chip on top of the layer of adhesive material so as to fix the IC chip on top of the support substrate (Yang [0032] “an adhesive material (with high thermal conductivity) is dispensed on a Substrate and then a pick and place machine is used for attaching the chip on one side of the substrate with adhesive”;),
Yang fails to teach the method wherein each the metal heat transfer element includes a domed surface portion extending to protrude above the mounting face of the support substrate; performing a brazing heat treatment to secure the metal heat transfer elements in the holes of the metal heat transfer layer; wherein the domed surface portion of each of the metal heat transfer elements is embedded within the layer of adhesive material.
[AltContent: textbox (Exhibit 1: Huang FIg. 6C-2 exhibiting indentions similar to solder ball slots, and Fig. 6B-2 exhibiting projections with domes surfaces.)]
However, in a related field of endeavor Huang teaches a method of forming a heat dissipator with concave-convex structures (Huang Fig. 2A Col. 5 Line 22 “A concave-convex structure 200 is disposed on a surface of the heat dissipating body 20 and comprises a plurality of convex portions 201, 201', 201" and a plurality of concave portions 202, 202.”).Wherein the concave structures are filled with a metal heat transfer element (Huang Col. 5 line 63, “The thermal interface layer 22 is TIM, such as a heat conducting material melt at a low temperature, can be formed by solid or liquid metal (e.g., a solder tin material), and is filled in the concave portions 202 and 202”),
Huang further teaches wherein each the metal heat transfer element includes a domed surface portion extending to protrude above the mounting face of the support substrate (Huang Fig. 6B-2, Fig. 6C-2, where domed structures protrude and could protrude (i.e. solder balls) from the patterns disclosed by Huang);
performing a brazing heat treatment to secure the metal heat transfer elements in the holes of the metal heat transfer layer (Huang Col. 5 line 63, “The thermal interface layer 22 is TIM, such as a heat conducting material melt at a low temperature, can be formed by solid or liquid metal (e.g., a solder tin material), and is filled in the concave portions 202 and 202.” Where the examiner notes that the solder material is understood in the art to require brazing in order to cover the concave structures effectively.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the teachings of Huang to the disclosure of Yang, in order to integrate the disclosed patterning methods of Huang, which includes the deposition and brazing of a metal heat transfer element, to the metal heat transfer layer of Yang in order to produce heat elements with domed projections, with the expected result of being able to increase the surface area of the heat transfer layer and consequently increase its ability to dissipate heat. This is obvious to try because as electronic devices continue to increase in performance and device density, the problem of heat dissipation becomes more critical in improving device performance and reliability. (Huang Col. 3 Line 57, “…the design of the concave-convex structure increases a heat-dissipating area of the heat dissipating body. Therefore, … has a better heat-dissipating effect and can satisfy the high heat-dissipating requirement for the electronic package.”).
Huang fails to teach wherein the domed surface portion of each of the metal heat transfer elements is embedded within the layer of adhesive material;
However, in a related field of endeavor, Choi teaches a heat transfer elements that is embedded within a layer of adhesive material (Choi Fig. 1b, where the heat transfer layer 210 includes a heat transfer element HP embedded in adhesive layer AH2. Fig. 3b discloses that HP can have domed portions).
Furthermore, it also would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the teachings of Choi to the combined disclosure of Huang and Yang, in order to be able to embed the heat element structures that may include domed surfaces, within an adhesive layer according to design specifications of a device. This is obvious to try as this is a known process in the art of securing different elements or layers together as is taught by Choi (Fig. 1b).
RE: Claim 2:
The combined disclosure of Yang, Huang, and Choi teaches the method of Claim 1.
Yang further teaches the method further comprising placing electrical connection wires between the IC chip and the support substrate (Yang Fig. 1 [0026] “A wire 9 bonds the chip pad 8 and the solder metal pad 7 for keeping electrical connection between them.”)..
RE: Claim 3:
The method according to Claim 1, further comprising producing an encapsulation block on top of the support substrate, in which the IC chip is embedded (Yang Fig. 1 [0027] “A protection layer 12 is applied covering the chip 6 wire 9 and a portion of the solder metal pads 7, wherein the protection layer 12 is resin compound, liquid compound or silicon rubber”).
RE: Claim 4:
The combined disclosure of Yang, Huang, and Choi teaches the method of Claim 1.
Yang further teaches the method wherein surfaces of said protruding parts of the metal heat transfer elements are spaced by a distance from a rear face of the IC chip (Yang Fig. 1, [0026] “A chip 6 with a chip pad 8 formed thereon disposed on the metal layer 4 by an adhesive 10.” Where the examiner notes that the adhesive interposed between the chip 6 and the metal layer 10 is understood to space the chip and the metal layer by a distance equivalent to the thickness of the adhesive).
Yang fails to teach wherein surfaces include domed surface portions.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Huang and Choi both teach heat transfer elements that include domed surface portions (Huang Fig. 6B-2, 6C-2, Choi Fig. 3B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the teachings of Huang and Choi, to the disclosure of Yang, in order to add domed surface portions to the heat transfer element of Yang, with the expected result of increasing the surface area of the heat transfer layer and consequently increase its ability to dissipate heat. This is obvious to try because as electronic devices continue to increase in performance and device density, the problem of heat dissipation becomes more critical in improving device performance and reliability. (Huang Col. 3 Line 57, “…the design of the concave-convex structure increases a heat-dissipating area of the heat dissipating body. Therefore, … has a better heat-dissipating effect and can satisfy the high heat-dissipating requirement for the electronic package.”).
RE: claim 6:
The combined disclosure of Yang, Huang, and Choi teaches the method of Claim 1.
Yang further teaches a method wherein the holes extend completely through the metal heat transfer layer (Yang [0025] “A substrate 1, preferably, made of FR4/FR5/BT or metal/alloy, is provided with several open through holes 2 formed therein.”. Where the examiner interprets the substrate 1 with through holes as the metal heat transfer layer as it is disclosed to be conceivably made of metal and is designed to transfer heat away from the device.).
RE: Claim 7:
The combined disclosure of Yang, Huang, and Choi teaches the method of Claim 1.
Yang further teaches the method wherein the adhesive material is glue (Yang [0032] “an adhesive material (with high thermal conductivity) is dispensed on a Substrate and then a pick and place machine is used for attaching the chip on one side of the substrate with adhesive.” Where the examiner notes the glue is understood to mean the same thing as adhesive.).
RE: Independent Claim 8:
Yang teaches A method for fabricating an electronic device, comprising: obtaining a support substrate having a facing mounting face and including a metal heat transfer layer on the facing mounting face substrate (Yang [0025] “A substrate 1, preferably, made of FR4/FR5/BT or metal/alloy, is provided with … conductive layer, for instant metal layer 4, is attached on one Surface of the Substrate 1 and a conductive (metal) layer 5 is formed on another surface of substrate 1; wherein the metal 3 connects the metal layer 4 and metal layer 5 for achieving better heat dissipation" The examiner interprets the substrate 1 with thermally conductive material, such as the one describe by Yang, as a metal heat transfer layer as this layer is designed to manage thermal dissipation of the chip 6.);
producing holes in the metal heat transfer layer (Yang [0025] “A substrate 1, preferably, made of FR4/FR5/BT or metal/alloy, is provided with several open through holes 2 formed therein.”.);
placing metal heat transfer elements in the holes of the metal heat transfer layer (Yang [0025] “wherein the open through holes 2 filled with conducting material Such as metal 3 (preferably copper material)”);
; placing an electronic integrated circuit chip over the embedded parts of the heat transfer elements; wherein said electronic integrated circuit chip is in contact with said layer of glue so as to affix the electronic integrated circuit chip to the support substrate (Yang [0032] “an adhesive material (with high thermal conductivity) is dispensed on a Substrate and then a pick and place machine is used for attaching the chip on one side of the substrate with adhesive”;).
Yang fails to teach the method wherein each metal heat transfer element includes a domed surface portion extending to protrude above the facing mounting face of the support substrate;
heat treating the metal heat transfer elements in the holes of the metal heat transfer layer depositing a layer of glue over the facing mounting face of the support substrate;
wherein said layer of glue embeds each domed surface portion parts of the heat transfer elements which protrude above to the facing mounting face
Yang fails to teach the method wherein each metal heat transfer element includes a domed surface portion extending to protrude above the facing mounting face of the support substrate;
heat treating the metal heat transfer elements in the holes of the metal heat transfer layer depositing a layer of glue over the facing mounting face of the support substrate;
wherein said layer of glue embeds each domed surface portion parts of the heat transfer elements which protrude above to the facing mounting face
However, in a related field of endeavor, Huang teaches the method wherein each metal heat transfer element includes a domed surface portion extending to protrude above the facing mounting face of the support substrate (Huang Fig. 6B-2, Fig. 6C-2, where domed structures protrude and could protrude (i.e. solder balls) from the patterns disclosed by Huang);;
heat treating the metal heat transfer elements in the holes of the metal heat transfer layer depositing a layer of glue over the facing mounting face of the support substrate (Huang Col. 5 line 63, “The thermal interface layer 22 is TIM, such as a heat conducting material melt at a low temperature, can be formed by solid or liquid metal (e.g., a solder tin material), and is filled in the concave portions 202 and 202.” Where the examiner notes that the solder material is understood in the art to require brazing in order to cover the concave structures effectively.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the teachings of Huang to the disclosure of Yang, in order to integrate the disclosed patterning methods of Huang, which includes the deposition and brazing of a metal heat transfer element, to the metal heat transfer layer of Yang in order to produce heat elements with domed projections, with the expected result of being able to increase the surface area of the heat transfer layer and consequently increase its ability to dissipate heat. This is obvious to try because as electronic devices continue to increase in performance and device density, the problem of heat dissipation becomes more critical in improving device performance and reliability. (Huang Col. 3 Line 57, “…the design of the concave-convex structure increases a heat-dissipating area of the heat dissipating body. Therefore, … has a better heat-dissipating effect and can satisfy the high heat-dissipating requirement for the electronic package.”).
Huang fails to teach wherein said layer of glue embeds each domed surface portion parts of the heat transfer elements which protrude above to the facing mounting face
However, in a related field of endeavor, Choi teaches a heat transfer elements that is embedded within a layer of adhesive material (Choi Fig. 1b, where the heat transfer layer 210 includes a heat transfer element HP embedded in adhesive layer AH2. Fig. 3b discloses that HP can have domed portions).
Furthermore, it also would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the teachings of Choi to the combined disclosure of Huang and Yang, in order to be able to embed the heat element structures that may include domed surfaces, within an adhesive layer according to design specifications of a device. This is obvious to try as this is a known process in the art of securing different elements or layers together as is taught by Choi (Fig. 1b).
Re: Claim 9:
The combined disclosure of Yang, Huang, and Choi teaches the method of Claim 8.
Yang fails to teach the method wherein heat treating comprises performing a brazing heat treatment of the metal heat transfer elements in the holes of the metal heat transfer layer;
However, in a related field of endeavor, Huang teaches a method wherein heat treating comprises performing a brazing heat treatment of the metal heat transfer elements in the holes of the metal heat transfer layer (Huang Col. 5 line 63, “The thermal interface layer 22 is TIM, such as a heat conducting material melt at a low temperature, can be formed by solid or liquid metal (e.g., a solder tin material), and is filled in the concave portions 202 and 202.” Where the examiner notes that the solder material is understood in the art to require brazing in order to cover the concave structures effectively.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the teaching of Huang to the disclosure of Yang, in order to integrate the disclosed patterning methods of Huang to the metal heat transfer layer of Yang, with the expected result of being able to increase the surface area of the heat transfer layer and consequently increase its ability to dissipate heat. This is obvious to try because as electronic devices continue to get smaller and faster, there is a greater need to address the problem of heat dissipation which directly affects device performance and reliability. (Huang Col. 3 Line 57, “…the design of the concave-convex structure increases a heat-dissipating area of the heat dissipating body. Therefore, … has a better heat-dissipating effect and can satisfy the high heat-dissipating requirement for the electronic package.”).
RE: claim 10:
The combined disclosure of Yang, Huang, and Choi teaches the method of Claim 8.
Yang teaches the method further comprising, after placing the electronic integrated circuit chip, connecting electrical connection wires between the electronic integrated circuit chip and the support substrate (Yang [0032] “…attaching the chip on one side of the substrate with adhesive… The next step is to wire bond the bonding pads of the chip to the conducting metal pads disposed on the Substrate.”).
RE: claim 11:
The combined disclosure of Yang, Huang, and Choi teaches the method of Claim 8..
Yang teaches the method further comprising, after placing the electronic integrated circuit chip, producing an encapsulation block over the support substrate and which encapsulates the electronic integrated circuit chip (Yang [0032] “top protection layer is formed by molding or dispensing; wherein the protection layer is a resin compound, a liquid compound or a silicon rubber.” Where the examiner notes that the top protection layer acts as an encapsulation block, see Fig. 1, part 12.).
RE: claim 12:
The combined disclosure of Yang, Huang, and Choi teaches the method of Claim 8.
Yang further teaches the method wherein surfaces of said parts of the heat transfer elements which protrude above to the facing mounting face are spaced by a distance from a rear face of the electronic integrated circuit chip (Yang Fig. 1, [0026] “A chip 6 with a chip pad 8 formed thereon disposed on the metal layer 4 by an adhesive 10.” Where the examiner notes that the adhesive interposed between the chip 6 and the protruding metal layer 10 is understood to space the chip and the metal layer by a distance equivalent to the thickness of the adhesive.).
Yang fails to teach wherein surfaces include domed surface portions.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Huang and Choi both teach heat transfer elements that include domed surface portions (Huang Fig. 6B-2, 6C-2, Choi Fig. 3B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the teachings of Huang and Choi, to the disclosure of Yang, in order to add domed surface portions to the heat transfer element of Yang, with the expected result of increasing the surface area of the heat transfer layer and consequently increase its ability to dissipate heat. This is obvious to try because as electronic devices continue to increase in performance and device density, the problem of heat dissipation becomes more critical in improving device performance and reliability. (Huang Col. 3 Line 57, “…the design of the concave-convex structure increases a heat-dissipating area of the heat dissipating body. Therefore, … has a better heat-dissipating effect and can satisfy the high heat-dissipating requirement for the electronic package.”).
RE: claim 14:
The combined disclosure of Yang, Huang, and Choi teaches the method of Claim 8.
Yang further teaches a method wherein the holes extend completely through the metal heat transfer layer (Yang [0025] “A substrate 1, preferably, made of FR4/FR5/BT or metal/alloy, is provided with several open through holes 2 formed therein.”. Where the examiner interprets the substrate 1 with through holes as the metal heat transfer layer as it is disclosed to be conceivably made of metal and is designed to transfer heat away from the device.).
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, Huang, and Choi, and in further view Nakagawa et al. (JP 2008235321 A), hereinafter referred to as Nakagawa.
RE: claim 5:
The combined disclosure of Yang, Huang, and Choi teaches the method of Claim 1.
Yang, Huang, and Choi fail to disclose the method wherein an upper surface of the metal heat transfer layer is coplanar with the mounting face of the support substrate.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Nakagawa teaches a method wherein an upper surface of the metal heat transfer layer is coplanar with the mounting face of the support substrate. (Nakagawa Fig. 6B [0038] “The heat transfer layer 12 in which the lead frame 13 is embedded and integrated on the metal plate 11 is heated and cured in a heating device”). The examiner notes that the lead frame 13 is interpreted to be equivalent to the metal heat transfer layer of the instant application, where it is disclosed to be similarly embedded in a substrate 12 with its upper face being coplanar with the upper surface of the substrate 12.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that the heat transfer layer of Yang and Huang, could have been embedded in a substrate such that its upper surface is coplanar with the upper surface of the substrate in which it is embedded. This is obvious to try as Nakagawa teaches that this is a viable way to integrate heat transfer elements within a substrate.
RE: claim 13:
The combined disclosure of Yang, Huang, and Choi teaches the method of Claim 8.
Yang, Huang, and Choi fail to disclose the method wherein an upper surface of the metal heat transfer layer is coplanar with the mounting face of the support substrate.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Nakagawa teaches a method wherein an upper surface of the metal heat transfer layer is coplanar with the mounting face of the support substrate. (Nakagawa Fig. 6B [0038] “The heat transfer layer 12 in which the lead frame 13 is embedded and integrated on the metal plate 11 is heated and cured in a heating device”). The examiner notes that the lead frame 13 is interpreted to be equivalent to the metal heat transfer layer of the instant application, where it is disclosed to be similarly embedded in a substrate 12 with its upper face being coplanar with the upper surface of the substrate 12.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that the heat transfer layer of Yang and Huang, could have been embedded in a substrate such that its upper surface is coplanar with the upper surface of the substrate in which it is embedded. This is obvious to try as Nakagawa teaches that this is a viable way to integrate heat transfer elements within a substrate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Semiconductor Package. Jang et al. (US 11189541 B2). Discloses heat transfer elements in patterned holes having domed surfaces.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EMILIO ARDEO/Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/Brent A. Fairbanks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899