DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment to Claim 1 addressing the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) in the reply—filed 19 December 2025—is acknowledged. This rejection has been overcome by the amendment of said claim, and the associated rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s traversal regarding the prior art rejections of Claims 1 – 5 on pages 5 – 6 of the reply—filed 19 December 2025—is acknowledged; however, said arguments are moot because they do not apply to the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office Action, necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by PARK (US 20110049685 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
PARK discloses:
A quad flat no-leads (QFN) packaging structure (Fig. 3E – 4B: 500; Par. 74), comprising:
a package frame (Fig. 3E: 100’; Par. 59),
a chip (Fig. 4A/4B: 410; Par. 75) and
a plastic packaging layer (Fig. 4A: 430; Par. 6 – 7 & 75),
wherein the package frame comprises
at least one base island (Fig. 4A: 110’; Par. 66), and
leads (Fig. 4A/4B: 130’/120’; Par. 67) distributed on at least one side of the base island;
the chip is provided on the base island and electrically connected to the leads; and
(Fig. 4A/4B: 410 is provided on 110’ and electrically connected via 420s—Par. 67—to 130’ and 110’, which is electrically connected via 111’/121’ to 120’.)
the plastic packaging layer covers the package frame and the chip, and
(Fig. 4A/4B: 430 covers 110’ & 130’/120’—of which 100’ is comprised—and 410.)
side surfaces and a bottom surface of the lead are exposed to the plastic packaging layer (As seen in Fig. 4A/4B);
wherein the QFN packaging structure further comprises
an electromagnetic shielding layer (Fig. 4A/4B: 540; Par. 75) that covers side surfaces and a top surface of the plastic packaging layer;
the leads include a grounding lead (Fig. 3E/4B: 120’; Par. 72), and
the electromagnetic shielding layer and the leads are provided at intervals (Fig. 4A/4B: gaps between 540 and 130’/120’); and
the electromagnetic shielding layer is electrically connected to the grounding lead (Par. 71) via an electrical connector (Fig. 3E/4A: one of the plurality of 140’s; Par. 71); and
a lug boss (Fig. 3E/4A: another of the plurality of 140’s) that protrudes upwardly is provided on a side edge of the base island, and
an upper surface of the lug boss is above a lower surface of the electromagnetic shielding layer (As seen in Fig. 4A).
Regarding Claim 2,
PARK discloses:
The QFN packaging structure according to claim 1,
wherein a conductive coating layer (Fig. 4A: gold or silver plating of 112’; Par. 67) is provided between the grounding lead and the electromagnetic shielding layer, and
(112’—and thus its gold or silver plating—is provided on 110’ in Fig. 4A and, thus 110’ in Fig. 4B. As 110’ is between the 120’ on the right of Fig. 4B and the vertical sidewall of 540 on the left of Fig. 4B, the gold or silver plating of 112’ is provided between 120’ and 540.)
the electromagnetic shielding layer and the grounding lead are electrically connected by the conductive coating layer.
(Fig. 4A/4B: 540 and 120’ are electrically connected via 110’—Par. 71—which includes the silver or gold plating of 112’)
Regarding Claim 3,
PARK discloses:
The QFN packaging structure according to claim 2,
wherein the conductive coating layer is a conductive solder paste or a metal conductive layer (Par. 67).
Regarding Claim 4,
PARK discloses:
The QFN packaging structure according to claim 3,
wherein the electromagnetic shielding layer is a metal film material such as copper, stainless steel, or titanium sputtering sandwich metal, or a conductive composite material such as a conductive resin having high-density metal filler of silver/copper, or a combination of at least two of the materials (Par. 71).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK in view of WATANABE (US 20130105957 A1).
Regarding Claim 5,
PARK discloses:
The QFN packaging structure according to claim 1,
wherein an upper surface of the base island (Fig. 4A: the upper surface of yet another of the plurality of 140’s) is higher than an upper surface of the lead (As seen in Fig. 4A/4B), and
an interval between the lead and the electromagnetic shielding layer [is provided] (Fig. 4A/4B: gaps between 130’/120’ and 540).
PARK does not disclose:
an interval between the lead and the electromagnetic shielding layer ranges from 200 µm to 400 µm.
WATANABE discloses:
an interval (Fig. 5A: P2; Par. 37) between the leads (Fig. 5A: 12—signal—and 13—ground; Par. 37)…ranges from 200 µm to 400 µm (Par. 37).
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of PARK with those of WATANABE to enable an interval between the leads and the electromagnetic shielding layer to range from 200 µm to 400 µm in PARK according to the teachings of WATANABE, as the such an interval between components electrically connected to ground—such as grounded grounding leads and grounded electromagnetic shielding layers—and components electrically connected to signal—such as the remaining leads—is common for such QFN package structures, as evidenced by WATANABE, Par. 37.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898