DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-24 remain pending in this application. Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received 04/14/2026. Claims 15-24 remain withdrawn, and claims 1 and 10 are amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 20070059931 A1, hereafter Park) in view of Laser (US 20080023776 A1), and further in view of Bohr et al (US 20040262683 A1, hereafter Bohr).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches: A semiconductor device (Park fig 2C), comprising:
a first transistor (Park 218a) having first source/drain regions (Park 217a, ¶0040, 0064, 0065, n-type or p-type) separated by a first channel (Park ¶0026, “a first channel region interposed between the first source/drain regions 217a”, ¶0040, fig 2C);
a second transistor (Park 218b) having second source/drain regions (Park 217b, ¶0040, 0064, 0065, n-type or p-type) separated by a second channel (Park ¶0026, “a second channel region interposed between the second source/drain regions 217b”, ¶0041, fig 2C), wherein the n-type source/drain regions and the p-type source/drain regions are coplanar (Park fig 2A, ¶0038, 0065, 217a and 217b are at least coplanar with respect to a top surface of 200);
a first silicide interface contact (Park 221a, under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of “interface contact”, there is at least an interface in contact between 221a and 217a/225a, fig 2C, wherein 225a is a contact, ¶0038) on the first source/drain regions (Park fig 2C, ¶0038); and
a second silicide interface contact (Park 221b, under BRI of “interface contact”, there is at least an interface in contact between 221b and 217b/225b, fig 2C, wherein 225b is a contact, ¶0038) on the second source/drain regions (Park fig 2C, ¶0038) different from the first silicide interface contact (Park ¶0038, 0045, first and second silicide layers are different at least by their different thicknesses t1 and t2, fig 2C); and
wherein the first silicide interface contact and the second silicide interface contact includes an embedded portion (Park fig 2C, ¶0038).
Park does not explicitly teach: the first source/drain regions are n-type; the second source/drain regions are p-type; and
wherein only one of the first silicide interface contact and the second silicide interface contact includes an embedded portion.
Laser, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: A semiconductor device (Laser ¶0002), comprising: an n-type transistor (Laser ¶0002 “NMOS”) and a p-type transistor (Laser ¶0002 “PMOS”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Park such that the first source/drain regions and the second source/drain regions are n-type and p-type, respectively, forming both an NMOS and PMOS on the same device, as taught by Laser, in order to reduce the overall power consumption of the device (Laser ¶0002), and/or to provide a combination of driving signals (i.e. high or low) with good performance.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have an n-type and p-type source/drain regions to form n-type and p-type transistors in CMOS device to reduce power consumption, which are known and commonly used in semiconductor devices, and that the use of conventional materials to perform their known function is prima-facie obvious (See MPEP 2144.07).
Park in view of Laser does not explicitly teach: wherein only one of the first silicide interface contact and the second silicide interface contact includes an embedded portion.
Bohr, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: a first transistor (Bohr 503, ¶0037, NMOS) having n-type source/drain regions (Bohr 203, ¶0018, n-type);
a second transistor (Bohr 504, ¶0037, PMOS) having p-type source/drain regions (Bohr 204, 470, 480 ¶0018, p-type, ¶0024);
a first silicide interface contact (Bohr 523) on the n-type source/drain regions (Bohr fig 4); and
a second silicide interface contact (Bohr 524) on the p-type source/drain regions (Bohr fig 4), wherein only one of the first silicide interface contact and the second silicide interface contact includes an embedded portion (Bohr fig 4, ¶0025, 523 is at least embedded in 203 and below the top surface of a substrate 136, where 524 is raised above 136, and therefore, at least not embedded in the substrate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the p-type source/drain regions of Park in view of Laser to form the second silicide such that it is not embedded within the substrate, and such that “only one of the first silicide interface contact and the second silicide interface contact includes an embedded portion”, in order to provide compressive strain to the second channel (Bohr ¶0024-0026), thereby improving hole mobility.
Regarding claim 3, Park in view of Laser and Bohr teaches: The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first silicide interface contact (Park 221a) penetrates into a portion of the n-type source/drain regions (Park 217a, as modified by Laser to be n-type)(Park fig 2C).
Regarding claim 4, Park in view of Laser and Bohr teaches: The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first silicide interface contact (Park 221a) includes a self-aligned silicide interface contact (Park discloses silicide layer 221a is formed via the common self-alignment process, ¶0069-0072).
Further, the claim recites “a self-aligned silicide interface contact”, which is a process claim that does not appear to impart a distinctive structural characteristic to the device, the process of forming a device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself (MPEP 2113). Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight.
In this instant case, “self-aligned” is a process of formation of the silicide interface contact, and does not appear to impart a distinctive structural characteristic.
Regarding claim 6, Park in view of Laser and Bohr teaches: The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the p-type source/drain regions (Park 217b, as modified by Laser to be p-type) include embedded silicon germanium (Bohr ¶0024, “silicon germanium (SiGe)”).
Regarding claim 7, Park in view of Laser and Bohr teaches: The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the second silicide interface contact (Park 221b, similar to Bohr 524) penetrates into a portion of the p-type source/drain regions (Park 217b, as modified by Laser to be p-type)(Park fig 2C).
Regarding claim 8, Park in view of Laser and Bohr teaches: The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the second silicide interface contact (Park 221b) includes a self-aligned silicide interface contact (Park discloses silicide layer 221b is formed via the common self-alignment process, ¶0069-0072).
Further, the claim recites “a self-aligned silicide interface contact”, which is a process claim that does not appear to impart a distinctive structural characteristic to the device, the process of forming a device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself (MPEP 2113). Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight.
In this instant case, “self-aligned” is a process of formation of the silicide interface contact, and does not appear to impart a distinctive structural characteristic.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 20070059931 A1, hereafter Park) in view of Laser (US 20080023776 A1) and Bohr et al (US 20040262683 A1, hereafter Bohr), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Weng (CN 110854200 A, English translation provided in previous office action).
Regarding claim 2, Park in view of Laser and Bohr teaches: The semiconductor device of claim 1.
Park in view of Laser and Bohr does not explicitly teach: wherein the n-type source/drain regions include embedded silicon phosphorous.
Weng, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: an n-type source/drain regions (Weng 9, ¶0014-0015) include embedded silicon phosphorous (Weng ¶0014-0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the n-type source/drain regions of Park in view of Laser and Bohr to include embedded silicon phosphorous, as taught by Weng, in order to reduce source/drain contact resistance (Weng ¶0023) to improve device performance (Weng Abstract).
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 20070059931 A1, hereafter Park) in view of Laser (US 20080023776 A1) and Bohr et al (US 20040262683 A1, hereafter Bohr), as applied to claims 4 or 8 above, and further in view of Chang et al (US 20040262649 A1, hereafter Chang).
Regarding claim 5, Park in view of Laser and Bohr teaches: The semiconductor device of claim 4, including the self-aligned silicide interface contact (Park 221a) and a contact via (Park 225a).
Park in view of Laser and Bohr does not teach: an intermediate layer between the self-aligned silicide interface contact and a contact via.
Chang, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: an intermediate layer (Chang 61, ¶0025, from 40) between a self-aligned silicide interface contact (Chang 62, ¶0002, “Self-aligned silicide (salicide)”, ¶0021, 0024, from 30) and a contact via (Chang 82, ¶0029)(Chang fig 1H, it appears that fig 1H mislabels 61 and 62, reversing them, see ¶0030, “top CoSi.sub.x portion 61 that is operative as a protection layer and a relatively thicker, low resistance NiSi portion 62”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Park in view of Laser and Bohr to include the intermediate layer of Chang between the self-aligned silicide interface contact and contact via, in order to provide a protection layer for better chemical and/or plasma resistance (¶0001, 0021), and/or reduce junction leakage by reducing silicon consumption during formation (¶0037).
Regarding claim 9, Park in view of Laser and Bohr teaches: The semiconductor device of claim 8, including the self-aligned silicide interface contact (Park 221a) and a contact via (Park 225a).
Park in view of Laser and Bohr does not teach: an intermediate layer between the self-aligned silicide interface contact and a contact via.
Chang, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: an intermediate layer (Chang 61, ¶0025, from 40) between a self-aligned silicide interface contact (Chang 62, ¶0002, “Self-aligned silicide (salicide)”, ¶0021, 0024, from 30) and a contact via (Chang 82, ¶0029)(Chang fig 1H, it appears that fig 1H mislabels 61 and 62, reversing them, see ¶0030, “top CoSi.sub.x portion 61 that is operative as a protection layer and a relatively thicker, low resistance NiSi portion 62”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Park in view of Laser and Bohr to include the intermediate layer of Chang between the self-aligned silicide interface contact and contact via, in order to provide a protection layer for better chemical and/or plasma resistance (¶0001, 0021), and/or reduce junction leakage by reducing silicon consumption during formation (¶0037).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuruta et al (US 20140191327 A1, hereafter Tsuruta) in view of Park et al (US 20070059931 A1, hereafter Park) and Bohr et al (US 20040262683 A1, hereafter Bohr).
Regarding claim 10, Tsuruta teaches: A memory device (Tsuruta fig 4) comprising:
an array of memory cells (Tsuruta “memory cell array”, ¶0044, 0046, fig 4, MCi,j-1, MCi,j, MCi,j+1);
peripheral circuitry (Tsuruta “column-side peripheral circuits”, ¶0044, CLj-1, CLj, CLj+1,) adjacent to the array of memory cells (Tsuruta fig 4), the peripheral circuitry including;
a first transistor (Tsuruta Nclj, ¶0033, 0035) having n-type source/drain regions (Tsuruta S/D, fig 2, ¶0033, 0035, “N-type source/drain regions S/D”, ¶0042) separated by a first channel (Tsuruta a region below Gate G, between two S/D, fig 2, 4, ¶0042, therefore a channel region must exist);
a second transistor (Tsuruta Pclj, ¶0033, 0035) having p-type source/drain regions (Tsuruta S/D, fig 2, ¶0033, 0035, “P-type source/drain regions S/D”, ¶0043) separated by a second channel (Tsuruta a region below Gate G, between two S/D in an n-well region, fig 2, 4, ¶0043, therefore a channel region must exist).
Tsuruta does not teach: a first silicide interface contact on the n-type source/drain regions; and
a second silicide interface contact on the p-type source/drain regions different from the first silicide interface contact, wherein only one of the first silicide interface contact and the second silicide interface contact includes an embedded portion.
Park, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches:
a first transistor (Park 218a) having first source/drain regions (Park 217a, ¶0040, 0064, 0065, n-type or p-type) separated by a first channel (Park ¶0026, “a first channel region interposed between the first source/drain regions 217a”, ¶0040, fig 2C);
a second transistor (Park 218b) having second source/drain regions (Park 217b, ¶0040, 0064, 0065, n-type or p-type) separated by a second channel (Park ¶0026, “a second channel region interposed between the second source/drain regions 217b”, ¶0041, fig 2C);
a first silicide interface contact (Park 221a, under BRI of “interface contact”, there is at least an interface in contact between 221a and 217a/225a, fig 2C, wherein 225a is a contact, ¶0038) on the first source/drain regions (Park fig 2C, ¶0038); and
a second silicide interface contact (Park 221b, under BRI of “interface contact”, there is at least an interface in contact between 221b and 217b/225b, fig 2C, wherein 225b is a contact, ¶0038) on the second source/drain regions (Park fig 2C, ¶0038) different from the first silicide interface contact (Park ¶0038, 0045, first and second silicide layers are different at least by their different thicknesses t1 and t2, fig 2C); and
wherein the first silicide interface contact and the second silicide interface contact includes an embedded portion (Park fig 2C, ¶0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first and second transistors of Tsuruta to include the first and second interface contacts of Park on the n-type and p-type source/drain regions, respectively, in order to improve the contact resistance of the source/drain regions (Park ¶0046, 0047), and/or to optimize the performance of the n-type and/or p-type transistors (Park ¶0060).
Tsuruta in view of Park does not teach: wherein only one of the first silicide interface contact and the second silicide interface contact includes an embedded portion.
Bohr, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: a first transistor (Bohr 503, ¶0037, NMOS) having n-type source/drain regions (Bohr 203, ¶0018, n-type);
a second transistor (Bohr 504, ¶0037, PMOS) having p-type source/drain regions (Bohr 204, 470, 480 ¶0018, p-type, ¶0024);
a first silicide interface contact (Bohr 523) on the n-type source/drain regions (Bohr fig 4); and
a second silicide interface contact (Bohr 524) on the p-type source/drain regions (Bohr fig 4), wherein only one of the first silicide interface contact and the second silicide interface contact includes an embedded portion (Bohr fig 4, ¶0025, 523 is at least embedded in 203 and below the top surface of a substrate 136, where 524 is raised above 136, and therefore, at least not embedded in the substrate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the p-type source/drain regions of Tsuruta in view of Park to form the second silicide such that it is not embedded within the substrate, and such that “only one of the first silicide interface contact and the second silicide interface contact includes an embedded portion”, in order to provide compressive strain to the second channel (Bohr ¶0024-0026), thereby improving hole mobility.
Claims 11, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuruta et al (US 20140191327 A1, hereafter Tsuruta) in view of Park et al (US 20070059931 A1, hereafter Park) and Bohr et al (US 20040262683 A1, hereafter Bohr), as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Doris et al (US 20070284617 A1, hereafter Doris).
Regarding claim 11, Tsuruta in view of Park and Bohr teaches: The memory device of claim 10.
Tsuruta in view of Park and Bohr does not teach: a silicon nitride liner over one or more of the first and second transistors.
Doris, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: a silicon nitride layer (Doris 28, 48, 52, ¶0019, 0053, 0054) over one or more of an n-type transistor (n-FET, 4, ¶0012, ¶0065) and a p-type transistor (p-FET, 2, ¶0012, ¶0065)(Doris fig 4B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the silicon nitride layer of Doris to the peripheral circuitry of Tsuruta in view of Park and Bohr, such that “a silicon nitride liner over one or more of the first and second transistors”, in order to provide tensile stress to the first transistor and compressive stress to the second transistor, thereby improving the performance of each transistor without negative affects to the other (Doris ¶0002-0004).
Regarding claim 12, Tsuruta in view of Park and Bohr teaches: The memory device of claim 10.
Tsuruta in view of Park and Bohr does not teach: a tensile silicon nitride liner over at least a portion of the first transistor.
Doris, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: a tensile silicon nitride layer (Doris 48, ¶0019, 0053, 0054) over at least a portion of an n-type transistor (n-FET, 4, ¶0012, ¶0065)(Doris fig 4B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the tensile silicon nitride layer of Doris to the first transistor of Tsuruta in view of Park and Bohr, such that “a tensile silicon nitride liner over at least a portion of the first transistor”, in order to provide tensile stress to the first transistor, thereby improving the performance of the first transistor without negative affects to the second transistor (Doris ¶0002-0004).
Regarding claim 14, Tsuruta in view of Park, Bohr, and Doris teaches: The memory device of claim 12.
Tsuruta in view of Park, Bohr, and Doris does not teach: a compressive silicon nitride liner over at least a portion of the second transistor.
Doris further teaches: a compressive silicon nitride layer (Doris 28, ¶0019, 0053, 0054) over at least a portion of a p-type transistor (p-FET, 2, ¶0012, ¶0065)(Doris fig 4B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the compressive silicon nitride layer of Doris to the second transistor of Tsuruta in view of Park, Bohr, and Doris, such that “a compressive silicon nitride liner over at least a portion of the second transistor”, in order to provide compressive stress to the second transistor, thereby improving the performance of the second transistor without negative affects to the first transistor (Doris ¶0002-0004).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuruta et al (US 20140191327 A1, hereafter Tsuruta) in view of Park et al (US 20070059931 A1, hereafter Park), Bohr et al (US 20040262683 A1, hereafter Bohr), and Doris et al (US 20070284617 A1, hereafter Doris), as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Yu et al (US 20150295085 A1, hereafter Yu).
Regarding claim 13, Tsuruta in view of Park, Bohr, and Doris teaches: The memory device of claim 12
Tsuruta in view of Park, Bohr, and Doris does not teach: dislocations in the n-type source/drain regions of the first transistor.
Yu, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: dislocations (Yu 110a, 110b, ¶0013, 0016) in an n-type source/drain regions (Yu 108a, 108b, ¶0015, “n-type doping for an NMOS transistor”) of a transistor (Yu 100, ¶0013)(Yu fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the source/drain regions of the first transistor of Tsuruta in view of Park, Bohr, and Doris to include the dislocations of Yu, in order to provide stress to a channel region (Yu ¶0013, 0017), thereby improving short channel effects of the transistor (Yu ¶0017).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding claims 1-14, filed 04/14/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant argues at page 7:
Bohr appears to show a silicide layer 524 however, the silicide layer 524 of Bohr is non- planar with silicide layer 523. Bohr explicitly teaches away from a planar relationship between elements 524 and 523, at least in paragraph [0026]. The Laser and Tsuruta references do not appear to cure this deficiency of Park and Bohr.
Examiner’s response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this instant case, Bohr is not relied upon to teach a coplanar relationship between n-type and p-type source/drain region, but instead only for its teaching that only one of the first or second silicide interface contacts include an embedded portion.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS B. MICHAUD/
EXAMINER
Art Unit 2818
/Mounir S Amer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818