DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims filed December 18, 2025 have been entered. Claims 1 and 7 have been amended. Claims 5 and 6 have been canceled.
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 7-13 are pending, with claims 12 and 13 currently withdrawn from consideration.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have failed to overcome each and every rejection set forth in the Office Action filed September 18, 2025. However, Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed December 18, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1, 3, 4 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, as Applicant argues on page 6, Yoo does not disclose wherein the insulator and the first cooler are directly coupled, as recited in amended claim 1. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Uhlemann et al., US 2013/0285234 A1 (hereinafter Uhlemann).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 19, 2025 has been placed in the application file and is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 18, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 6 that:
[T]he metal layer 116 of the substrate 110 and the metal fins 130 are separately manufactured and assembled with each other when assembled. In other words, the metal layer 116 and the cooling fin 130 are not integrally formed as a single piece or component. See FIGS. 4B and 4D of Yoo below. Therefore, Yoo does not disclose "wherein the metal layer and the cooling fin are integrally formed as a single piece" of claim 1.
Respectfully, this argument is not persuasive because, as discussed in the previous Office Action, and again in the rejection of claim 1 below, these features are disclosed by Yoo. Yoo explicitly discloses that “the plurality of metal fins 130 [the cooling fins] could be monolithically formed with the metal layer 116,” i.e., the metal layer and the cooling fin are integrally formed as a single piece, and not assembled from separately manufactured components, (Yoo, [0045; 0019]). Applicant’s claimed metal layer and cooling fin are not structurally different from the metal layer 116 and the metal fins 130 disclosed by Yoo. Therefore, this argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 6 that: Yoo requires additional elements including a metal ring 120, a sealing mechanism 340, and an attachment mechanism 360 to join the module 370 to the cover 300. This argument is not persuasive because the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., no additional elements to join the module to the cover) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Although Applicant has amended claim 1 to recite that various structural elements are directly coupled, the limitation directly coupled does not preclude the inclusion of other structural elements. Therefore, this argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 6 that: Yoo does not disclose the claimed combination including an insulator surrounding outer sides of the first circuit board and the first semiconductor chip and a lateral side of the first cooling channel. This argument is not persuasive because, as explained in the rejection of claims below, Yoo, FIGs. 5D-5E show molding compound 510 [the insulator] extending beyond outer edge of fins 130 [the first cooling channel] when viewed from a top view, i.e., surrounding a lateral side of the first cooling channel, [0052]). Although Yoo does not explicitly disclose that molding compound 510 [the insulator] is in contact with a lateral side of fins 130 [the first cooling channel], Applicant’s claim 1 does not include this limitation; Applicant’s claimed insulator surrounding outer sides of the first circuit board and the first semiconductor chip and a lateral side of the first cooling channel is sufficiently broad so as to encompass the structural arrangement disclosed by Yoo, wherein when viewed from a top view, the molding compound 510 [the insulator] surrounds the perimeter of fins 130, i.e., surrounds the lateral side of the first cooling channel. Therefore, this argument is not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument on page 7 that the dependent claims are patentably distinct over the prior art, and are also allowable based at least on their dependency from the independent claims, as amended, see the rejections of the claims below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al., US 2020/0388557 A1 (hereinafter Yoo) in view of Uhlemann et al., US 2013/0285234 A1 (hereinafter Uhlemann).
Regarding claim 1, as amended, Yoo, discloses: A power module for a vehicle, comprising: a first circuit board (Yoo, FIGs. 5A-5F, substrate 110, [0049]) including a first circuit pattern (Yoo, FIGs. 5A-5F, first (patterned) metal layer 114, [0049]); a first semiconductor chip connected to a first side of the first circuit board (Yoo, FIGs. 5A-5F, semiconductor die 200, [0051]); a lead frame disposed on the first circuit board (Yoo, FIGs. 5A-5F, terminals 375, [0052]) as being spaced apart from the first semiconductor chip (Yoo, FIG. 5D shows terminals 375 [the lead frame] as being spaced apart from semiconductor die 200 [the first semiconductor chip]), and electrically connected to the first semiconductor chip (Yoo, FIGs. 5A-5F, “terminals 375 [the lead frame], the metal layer 114 [the first circuit pattern] and/or the one or more wire bonds 520 can provide a plurality of electrical connections to the one or more semiconductor die 200 [the first semiconductor chip],” [0051]); and a first cooling channel (Yoo, FIG. 5E shows cooling channels between each of fins 130, [0053]), which is formed by integrating a metal layer directly coupled to a second side of the first circuit board (Yoo, FIG. 5E shows cooling channels between each of fins 130 coupled to metal layer 116 on lower surface [the second side] of substrate 110 [the first circuit board]; “the plurality of fins 130 can be monolithically formed (e.g., as a heatsink that is coupled with the metal layer 116),” [0019]) with a cooling fin extended toward a first coolant flow channel of a first cooler, the first cooling channel being inserted into the first coolant flow channel (Yoo, FIG. 5E shows fins 130 [the cooling fin] extended toward channel 350 [the first coolant flow channel] of cover 300 [the first cooler], [0053]; “water (or another coolant) flowing in the channel 350, in combination with the metal fins 130, can provide direct cooling for the module 370,” [0059]); and an insulator (Yoo, FIGs. 5D-5F, molding compound 510, [0052]) surrounding outer sides of the first circuit board and the first semiconductor chip (Yoo, see FIG. 5D) and a lateral side of the first cooling channel (Yoo, FIGs. 5D-5E show molding compound 510 [the insulator] extending beyond outer edge of fins 130 [the lateral side of the first cooling channel] when viewed from a top view, i.e., surrounding a lateral side of the first cooling channel, [0052]), wherein the metal layer and the cooling fin are integrally formed as a single piece (Yoo, “the plurality of metal fins 130 [the cooling fin] could be monolithically formed with the metal layer 116,” i.e., integrally formed as a single piece, [0045]),
Yoo is silent regarding: wherein the first cooler is directly coupled to the metal layer directly coupled to the second side of the first circuit board, and wherein the insulator and the first cooler are directly coupled.
However, Uhlemann, in the same field of endeavor, teaches: wherein the first cooler (Uhlemann, FIG. 5B, cooler 320, [0029]) is directly coupled to the metal layer directly coupled to the second side of the first circuit board (Uhlemann, FIG. 5B, solid portion 322 of cooler 320 “attached to the metallized cooling side 104 of the substrate 100,” i.e., directly directly coupled to the metal layer directly coupled to the second side of the first circuit board [0029]), and wherein the insulator and the first cooler are directly coupled (Uhlemann, FIG. 5B shows lower surface of mold compound 300 [the insulator] directly coupled to upper surface of cooler 320 [the first cooler], [0027-0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoo with the teachings of Uhlemann, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Uhlemann, to improve heat transfer characteristics of the power module while reducing process and material costs.
Regarding claim 3, Yoo in view of Uhlemann teaches: The power module of claim 1, wherein the cooling fin (Yoo, FIG. 5E, fins 130, [0053]) comprises an end portion (Yoo, FIG. 5E, lowermost portion of fins 130) to be spaced apart from a lower surface of the first coolant flow channel (Yoo, FIG. 5E shows lowermost portion of fins 130 [the end portion] spaced apart from a lower surface of channel 350 [the first coolant flow channel]).
Regarding claim 4, Yoo in view of Uhlemann teaches: The power module of claim 1, wherein the cooling fin comprises a plurality of cooling fins (Yoo, FIG. 5E shows plurality of fins 130, [0053]), and the plurality of cooling fins are disposed in a preset pattern (Yoo, see FIG. 5E) and extended toward the first coolant flow channel of the first cooler (Yoo, FIG. 5E shows fins 130 [the plurality of cooling fins] extended toward channel 350 [the first coolant flow channel] of cover 300 [the first cooler], [0053]).
Regarding claim 7, as amended, Yoo in view of Uhlemann teaches every element of claim 7 but is silent as to: wherein the insulator is welded to an outer side of the first cooler.
However, FIGs. 5D-5E of Yoo show molding compound 510 [the insulator] attached to the upper surface, i.e., the outer side of cover 300 [the first cooler]. Because Yoo shows these two elements attached to one another and Yoo teaches that common methods of attaching elements include brazing, welding, soldering, gluing, and so forth (see [0019]), it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at Applicant’s claimed structural arrangement wherein the insulator is welded to an outer side of the first cooler by applying the teachings of Yoo with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Yoo, to form a liquid-tight seal between the molding compound 510 [the insulator] and cover 300 [the first cooler], thereby forming a water jacket to cool the power module, resulting in improved device performance and reliability.
Regarding claim 9, Yoo in view of Uhlemann teaches: The power module of claim 1, wherein the first semiconductor chip (Yoo, FIGs. 5A-5F, semiconductor die 200, [0051]) or the lead frame (Yoo, FIGs. 5A-5F, terminals 375, [0052]) is coupled to the first circuit board by soldering or sintering (Yoo, “semiconductor die 200 [the first semiconductor chip] and the terminals 375 [the lead frame] can be coupled with the metal layer 114 (e.g., a patterned metal layer) of the substrate 110 [the first circuit board],” [0051]; “when a element is coupled to or in contact with another element, the elements can be thermally coupled or thermally contacted via, for example, a thermal interface material, a solder, a conductive glue, active metal brazing,”, i.e., coupled by soldering [0019]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo in view of Uhlemann in view of Park et al., US 2017/0338168 A1 (hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 8, Yoo in view of Uhlemann teaches every element of claim 8 but is silent as to: a copper clip to connect with the first semiconductor chip or the lead frame as coupled to the first side of the first circuit board.
However, Park, in the same field of endeavor, teaches: a copper clip (Park, FIG. 4, signal clip 100 “formed of a thin copper ribbon,” [0034]) to connect with the first semiconductor chip or the lead frame (Park, FIG. 4 shows signal clip 100 [the copper clip] connecting with the semiconductor chip 30 [the first semiconductor chip] and the lead frame 21 [the lead frame]) as coupled to the first side of the first circuit board (Park, see FIG. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoo with the teachings of Park, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Park, to reduce the possibility of arcing between components which can occur when using aluminum wires, thereby improving device reliability.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo in view of Uhlemann in view of Kang et al., U.S. Pat. No. 12,041,748 B2 (hereinafter Kang).
Regarding claim 10, Yoo in view of Uhlemann teaches nearly every element of claim 10 but is silent regarding: a spacer, a second circuit board, a second semiconductor chip, and a second cooling channel, wherein the first semiconductor chip, the first circuit board, and the first cooling channel are sequentially arranged on one side of the spacer in a direction away from the spacer, and the second semiconductor chip, the second circuit board, and the second cooling channel are sequentially arranged on another side of the spacer opposing the one side in a direction away from the spacer.
However, Kang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the first semiconductor chip, the first circuit board, and the first cooling channel are sequentially arranged on one side of the spacer in a direction away from the spacer (Kang, FIG. 2 shows multiple instances of double-sided chip module 200, analogous to the first semiconductor chip, the first circuit board, and the first cooling channel, sequentially arranged and spaced apart from each other by predetermined horizontal distances, see col. 6 lines 35-51), and the second semiconductor chip, the second circuit board, and the second cooling channel are sequentially arranged on another side of the spacer opposing the one side in a direction away from the spacer (Kang, FIG. shows multiple instances of double-sided chip module 200, analogous to the second semiconductor chip, the second circuit board, and the second cooling channel, sequentially arranged and spaced apart from each other by predetermined horizontal distances, see col. 6 lines 35-51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoo with the teachings of Kang, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Kang, to arrange the chip modules at a predetermined distance within the coolant flow path, thereby improving cooling performance and therefore improving device reliability.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at Applicant’s claimed structural arrangement wherein the first semiconductor chip, the first circuit board, and the first cooling channel are sequentially arranged on one side of the spacer in a direction away from the spacer, and the second semiconductor chip, the second circuit board, and the second cooling channel are sequentially arranged on another side of the spacer opposing the one side in a direction away from the spacer with predictable results and without undue experimentation, because, absent a showing of new or unexpected results, mere duplication of parts, as with Applicant’s claimed second semiconductor chip, the second circuit board, and the second cooling channel, is a common practice requiring only ordinary skill in the art and has no patentable significance absent a showing of new and unexpected results, see MPEP 2144.
Regarding claim 11, Yoo in view of Uhlemann in view of Kang teaches: The power module of claim 10, wherein the first (Kang, FIG. 2, first double-sided chip module 200-1) and second circuit boards (Kang, FIG. 2, second double-sided chip module 200-2) are symmetrically provided up and down forming a pair (Kang, FIG. 2, col. 4, lines 56-63).
Although Yoo in view of Uhlemann in view of Kang does not explicitly teach that the first and second cooling channels are symmetrically provided up and down forming a pair, and the first and second semiconductor chip are respectively connected to the first and second circuit boards forming a pair, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to arrive at Applicant’s claimed structural arrangement for the reasons discussed above regarding claim 10, because absent a showing of new or unexpected results, mere duplication of parts, as with Applicant’s claimed second cooling channel, second semiconductor chip, and second circuit board, is a common practice requiring only ordinary skill in the art and has no patentable significance absent a showing of new and unexpected results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.L.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899