DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 3, 4 and 7-13 are pending, with claims 12 and 13 currently withdrawn from consideration.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims filed July 1, 2026 have been entered. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have failed to overcome each and every rejection set forth in the previous Office Action filed April 1, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 6-7 that:
The cited references including Yoo, Uhlemann, Park, and Kang do not disclose such an arrangement in which the insulator and the first cooler are directly coupled with an outer side of the first cooling channel, respectively, along the outer side of the first cooling channel, as clarified claim 1 and also fail to recognize the criticality of such an arrangement.
Respectfully, this argument is not persuasive because, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 below, these features are disclosed by Yoo in view of Uhlemann. Applicant’s argument on page 6 that “Uhlemann does not disclose at least ‘wherein the insulator and the first cooler are directly coupled with an outer side of the first cooling channel, respectively, along the outer side of the first cooling channel’ of claim 1” is addressed in the rejection of claim 1 below. Note that Uhlemann FIG. 5B shows this, therefore the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 7 that the structural arrangement recited in claim 1 is capable of achieving excellent technical effects disclosed in paragraph [0078] of originally filed specification. This argument is not persuasive because Applicant has not provided any evidence indicating that the claimed structural arrangement is critical or produces any unexpected results. See MPEP 716.02: The evidence relied upon by Applicant in rebutting a prima facie case of obviousness should establish "that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance." Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992).
In response to Applicant’s argument on page 7 that the dependent claims are patentably distinct over the prior art, and are also allowable based at least on their dependency from the independent claims, as amended, see the rejections of the claims below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al., US 2020/0388557 A1 (hereinafter Yoo) in view of Uhlemann et al., US 2013/0285234 A1 (hereinafter Uhlemann).
Regarding claim 1, as amended, Yoo, discloses: A power module for a vehicle, comprising: a first circuit board (Yoo, FIGs. 5A-5F, substrate 110, [0049]) including a first circuit pattern (Yoo, FIGs. 5A-5F, first (patterned) metal layer 114, [0049]); a first semiconductor chip connected to a first side of the first circuit board (Yoo, FIGs. 5A-5F, semiconductor die 200, [0051]); a lead frame disposed on the first circuit board (Yoo, FIGs. 5A-5F, terminals 375, [0052]) as being spaced apart from the first semiconductor chip (Yoo, FIG. 5D shows terminals 375 [the lead frame] as being spaced apart from semiconductor die 200 [the first semiconductor chip]), and electrically connected to the first semiconductor chip (Yoo, FIGs. 5A-5F, “terminals 375 [the lead frame], the metal layer 114 [the first circuit pattern] and/or the one or more wire bonds 520 can provide a plurality of electrical connections to the one or more semiconductor die 200 [the first semiconductor chip],” [0051]); and a first cooling channel (Yoo, FIG. 5E shows cooling channels between each of fins 130, [0053]), which is formed by integrating a metal layer directly coupled to a second side of the first circuit board (Yoo, FIG. 5E shows cooling channels between each of fins 130 coupled to metal layer 116 on lower surface [the second side] of substrate 110 [the first circuit board]; “the plurality of fins 130 can be monolithically formed (e.g., as a heatsink that is coupled with the metal layer 116),” [0019]) with a cooling fin extended toward a first coolant flow channel of a first cooler, the first cooling channel being inserted into the first coolant flow channel (Yoo, FIG. 5E shows fins 130 [the cooling fin] extended toward channel 350 [the first coolant flow channel] of cover 300 [the first cooler], [0053]; “water (or another coolant) flowing in the channel 350, in combination with the metal fins 130, can provide direct cooling for the module 370,” [0059]); and an insulator (Yoo, FIGs. 5D-5F, molding compound 510, [0052]) surrounding outer sides of the first circuit board and the first semiconductor chip (Yoo, see FIG. 5D) and a lateral side of the first cooling channel (Yoo, FIGs. 5D-5E show molding compound 510 [the insulator] extending beyond outer edge of fins 130 [the lateral side of the first cooling channel] when viewed from a top view, i.e., surrounding a lateral side of the first cooling channel, [0052]), wherein the metal layer and the cooling fin are integrally formed as a single piece (Yoo, “the plurality of metal fins 130 [the cooling fin] could be monolithically formed with the metal layer 116,” i.e., integrally formed as a single piece, [0045]),
Yoo is silent regarding: wherein the first cooler is directly coupled to the metal layer directly coupled to the second side of the first circuit board, wherein the insulator and the first cooler are directly coupled with each other, and wherein the insulator and the first cooler are directly coupled with an outer side of the first cooling channel, respectively, along the outer side of the first cooling channel.
However, Uhlemann, in the same field of endeavor, teaches: wherein the first cooler (Uhlemann, FIG. 5B, cooler 320, including solid portion 322, [0029]) is directly coupled to the metal layer directly coupled to the second side of the first circuit board (Uhlemann, FIG. 5B, solid portion 322 of cooler 320 “attached to the metallized cooling side 104 of the substrate 100,” i.e., directly coupled to the metal layer directly coupled to the second side of the first circuit board [0029]), wherein the insulator and the first cooler are directly coupled with each other (Uhlemann, FIG. 5B shows lower surface of mold compound 300 [the insulator] directly coupled to upper surface of cooler 320 [the first cooler], [0027-0029]), and wherein the insulator (Uhlemann, FIG. 5B, mold compound 300) and the first cooler (Uhlemann, FIG. 5B, cooler 320) are directly coupled with an outer side of the first cooling channel, respectively, along the outer side of the first cooling channel (Uhlemann, FIG. 5B shows lower surface of mold compound 300 [the insulator] and cooler 320 [the first cooler] in contact with, i.e., directly coupled with, upper right corner side of cavity 324, shown extending into the page, [the outer side of the first cooling channel]).
Uhlemann teaches that “directly attaching the cooling structures 130 [the cooling fin] to the cooling side 104 of the substrate 100 provides a high heat transfer coefficient and low thermal resistance,” (Uhlemann, [0017]); and that “mold compound 300 [the insulator] stabilizes the substrate 100 mechanically and ensures adequate electrical isolation,” (Uhlemann, [0027]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoo with the teachings of Uhlemann, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Uhlemann, to improve heat transfer characteristics of the power module while reducing process and material costs.
Regarding claim 3, Yoo in view of Uhlemann teaches: The power module of claim 1, wherein the cooling fin (Yoo, FIG. 5E, fins 130, [0053]; Uhlemann, FIGs. 5A and 5B, cooling structures 130) comprises an end portion (Yoo, FIG. 5E, lowermost portion of fins 130) to be spaced apart from a lower surface of the first coolant flow channel (Yoo, FIG. 5E shows lowermost portion of fins 130 [the end portion] spaced apart from a lower surface of channel 350 [the first coolant flow channel]).
Regarding claim 4, Yoo in view of Uhlemann teaches: The power module of claim 1, wherein the cooling fin comprises a plurality of cooling fins (Yoo, FIG. 5E shows plurality of fins 130, [0053]; Uhlemann, FIGs. 5A and 5B, cooling structures 130), and the plurality of cooling fins are disposed in a preset pattern (Yoo, see FIG. 5E) and extended toward the first coolant flow channel of the first cooler (Yoo, FIG. 5E shows fins 130 [the plurality of cooling fins] extended toward channel 350 [the first coolant flow channel] of cover 300 [the first cooler], [0053]).
Regarding claim 7, as amended, Yoo in view of Uhlemann teaches every element of claim 7 but is silent as to: wherein the insulator is welded to an outer side of the first cooler.
However, FIGs. 5D-5E of Yoo show molding compound 510 [the insulator] attached to the upper surface, i.e., the outer side of cover 300 [the first cooler]. Because Yoo shows these two elements attached to one another and Yoo teaches that common methods of attaching elements include brazing, welding, soldering, gluing, and so forth (see [0019]), it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at Applicant’s claimed structural arrangement wherein the insulator is welded to an outer side of the first cooler by applying the teachings of Yoo with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Yoo, to form a liquid-tight seal between the molding compound 510 [the insulator] and cover 300 [the first cooler], thereby forming a water jacket to cool the power module, resulting in improved device performance and reliability.
Regarding claim 9, Yoo in view of Uhlemann teaches: The power module of claim 1, wherein the first semiconductor chip (Yoo, FIGs. 5A-5F, semiconductor die 200, [0051]) or the lead frame (Yoo, FIGs. 5A-5F, terminals 375, [0052]) is coupled to the first circuit board by soldering or sintering (Yoo, “semiconductor die 200 [the first semiconductor chip] and the terminals 375 [the lead frame] can be coupled with the metal layer 114 (e.g., a patterned metal layer) of the substrate 110 [the first circuit board],” [0051]; “when a element is coupled to or in contact with another element, the elements can be thermally coupled or thermally contacted via, for example, a thermal interface material, a solder, a conductive glue, active metal brazing,”, i.e., coupled by soldering [0019]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo in view of Uhlemann in view of Park et al., US 2017/0338168 A1 (hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 8, Yoo in view of Uhlemann teaches every element of claim 8 but is silent as to: a copper clip to connect with the first semiconductor chip or the lead frame as coupled to the first side of the first circuit board.
However, Park, in the same field of endeavor, teaches: a copper clip (Park, FIG. 4, signal clip 100 “formed of a thin copper ribbon,” [0034]) to connect with the first semiconductor chip or the lead frame (Park, FIG. 4 shows signal clip 100 [the copper clip] connecting with the semiconductor chip 30 [the first semiconductor chip] and the lead frame 21 [the lead frame]) as coupled to the first side of the first circuit board (Park, see FIG. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoo with the teachings of Park, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Park, to reduce the possibility of arcing between components which can occur when using aluminum wires, thereby improving device reliability.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo in view of Uhlemann in view of Kang et al., U.S. Pat. No. 12,041,748 B2 (hereinafter Kang).
Regarding claim 10, Yoo in view of Uhlemann teaches nearly every element of claim 10 but is silent regarding: a spacer, a second circuit board, a second semiconductor chip, and a second cooling channel, wherein the first semiconductor chip, the first circuit board, and the first cooling channel are sequentially arranged on one side of the spacer in a direction away from the spacer, and the second semiconductor chip, the second circuit board, and the second cooling channel are sequentially arranged on another side of the spacer opposing the one side in a direction away from the spacer.
However, Kang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the first semiconductor chip, the first circuit board, and the first cooling channel are sequentially arranged on one side of the spacer in a direction away from the spacer (Kang, FIG. 2 shows multiple instances of double-sided chip module 200, analogous to the first semiconductor chip, the first circuit board, and the first cooling channel, sequentially arranged and spaced apart from each other by predetermined horizontal distances, see col. 6 lines 35-51), and the second semiconductor chip, the second circuit board, and the second cooling channel are sequentially arranged on another side of the spacer opposing the one side in a direction away from the spacer (Kang, FIG. shows multiple instances of double-sided chip module 200, analogous to the second semiconductor chip, the second circuit board, and the second cooling channel, sequentially arranged and spaced apart from each other by predetermined horizontal distances, see col. 6 lines 35-51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoo with the teachings of Kang, arriving at Applicant’s claimed invention with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Kang, to arrange the chip modules at a predetermined distance within the coolant flow path, thereby improving cooling performance and therefore improving device reliability.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at Applicant’s claimed structural arrangement wherein the first semiconductor chip, the first circuit board, and the first cooling channel are sequentially arranged on one side of the spacer in a direction away from the spacer, and the second semiconductor chip, the second circuit board, and the second cooling channel are sequentially arranged on another side of the spacer opposing the one side in a direction away from the spacer with predictable results and without undue experimentation, because, absent a showing of new or unexpected results, mere duplication of parts, as with Applicant’s claimed second semiconductor chip, the second circuit board, and the second cooling channel, is a common practice requiring only ordinary skill in the art and has no patentable significance absent a showing of new and unexpected results, see MPEP 2144.
Regarding claim 11, Yoo in view of Uhlemann in view of Kang teaches: The power module of claim 10, wherein the first (Kang, FIG. 2, first double-sided chip module 200-1) and second circuit boards (Kang, FIG. 2, second double-sided chip module 200-2) are symmetrically provided up and down forming a pair (Kang, FIG. 2, col. 4, lines 56-63).
Although Yoo in view of Uhlemann in view of Kang does not explicitly teach that the first and second cooling channels are symmetrically provided up and down forming a pair, and the first and second semiconductor chip are respectively connected to the first and second circuit boards forming a pair, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to arrive at Applicant’s claimed structural arrangement for the reasons discussed above regarding claim 10, because absent a showing of new or unexpected results, mere duplication of parts, as with Applicant’s claimed second cooling channel, second semiconductor chip, and second circuit board, is a common practice requiring only ordinary skill in the art and has no patentable significance absent a showing of new and unexpected results.
Conclusion
/D.L.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/Brent A. Fairbanks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899