DETAILED ACTION
This is the Office action based on the 17889136 application filed August 16, 2022, and in response to applicant’s argument/remark filed on June 18, 2026. Claims 1-19, 23-24 and 28 are currently pending and have been considered below. Applicant’s cancellation of claims 20-22 and 25-27 acknowledged. Claims 1-16 withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Interpretations
Applicant has elected Group II, which is drawn to a chemical composition, in response to the Election/Restriction requirement. Note that the claims are directed towards a chemical composition and as such will be examined under such conditions. The process of using the composition or the material that the composition acts upon are viewed as recitation of intended use and are given little patentable weight (Please see MPEP 2114 R1-2115 R2 for further details).
It has been held that claim language that simply specifies an intended use or field of use for the invention generally will not limit the scope of a claim (See MPEP 2106; Walter, 618 F.2d at 769, 205 USPQ at 409). When apparatus is capable of performing such functions, it is considered to meet the claim limitations. Additionally, in apparatus claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (See MPEP 2111.02, 2115; In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458,459 (CCPA 1963). When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (See MPEP 2112.01; In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430,433 (CCPA 1977). It has further been held that expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969); and the inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). While features of an apparatus may be described either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus MUST be distinguished from prior art in terms of structure rather than function (See MPEP §2114).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-19, 23-24 and 28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Takahashi et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20160056054), hereinafter “Takahashi”:--Claims 17, 19, 23, 24: Takahashi teaches an etching composition (Claim 15) for etching a cobalt layer (abstract), comprising one or more organic solvent ([0278, 0304]), wherein the organic solvent may include an alcohol compound, such as 2-butanol ([0279-0284]), presented at a concentration 50-98 wt.% ([0303]);oxalic acid, presented at a concentration 0.1-20 wt.% ([0314-0316]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to select oxalic acid and beta-diketone, among the list of possible compounds, for the polishing composition in the invention of Takahashi. It is noted that 2-butanol is an alcohol having 4 carbon atoms, and oxalic is an. It is noted that the 2-butanol reads on the alcohol-based solvent having 3-10 carbon atoms, and the oxalic acid reads on the aliphatic dicarboxylic acid having 2 carbon atoms recited in claim 17. Takahashi further teaches that “(t)he concentration of water, which is not particularly limited, is preferably 0.1% by mass or greater” ([0322], emphasis added), and further teaches that “In the present embodiment, it is preferable that the concentration of water of the etching liquid is regulated to be in a predetermined range. In a state in which water is not present, the etching action of the metal layer is not sufficiently shown in some cases. From this viewpoint, preferably, water is used, but damage of the silicide layer or another metal layer which needs to be protected is suppressed by setting the amount of water to be small. Moreover, in the present embodiment, the etching properties of the metal layer are improved by supplying protons into the system using an acid assistant. At this time, etching with higher selectivity becomes possible by selecting an acid assistant with less damage to the silicide layer. The reason why excellent etching of the metal layer is achieved after an unconventional germanium silicide layer is protected is assumed as follows. First, in dissolution of a second metal layer such as titanium, it is considered that water plays a role of oxidizing the second metal and also plays a role of dissolving a complex formed by HF. In the present embodiment, the above-described actions are more effectively realized by (1) selecting a proton supply source for oxidizing Ti or the like and (2) selecting an organic solvent that promotes formation of solvation of a complex such as Ti, as means for not dropping the dissolution rate of Ti or the like even when the water content is reduced. Particularly, in regard to (1), the time dependence of the Ti dissolution rate may vary due to solubility of salts formed by an anion portion of a strong acid and a metal. For this reason, it is considered that damage of the silicide layer can be suppressed by selecting a H+ source with less time dependence even when the time for treatment is prolonged.” ([0323-0324], emphases added). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use a small amount of water, such as 0.01 % by mass, in the etching composition of Takahashi because Takahashi teaches that “(t)he concentration of water, which is not particularly limited, is preferably 0.1% by mass or greater” and further teaches that since water would damage the silicide layer and other metal layers, the amount of water need to be kept small or reduced, and the reduction in the amount of water may be compensated by adding a proton source, such as an acid assistant. It is noted that the oxalic acid may function as the acid assistant. According to MPEP 2144.05, " Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”. In the present case, since Takahashi teaches that the amount of water is a result-effective variable, the “discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable . . . is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980)).--Claim 18: Applicant has elected Group II, which is drawn to a chemical composition, in response to the Election/Restriction requirement. Note that the claims are directed towards a chemical composition and as such will be examined under such conditions. The process of using the composition or the material that the composition acts upon are viewed as recitation of intended use and are given little patentable weight (Please see MPEP 2114 R1-2115 R2 for further details). It is noted that since the etching composition taught by Takahashi is the same as Applicant’s , it must be capable of etching a cobalt oxide layer, as taught by Applicant.--Claim 28: Takahashi does not teach adding any Ni or Cu to the etching composition. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to form an etching composition containing less than 10 ppb of Ni or Cu.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 18, 2026 have been fully considered as follows:--Regarding Applicant’s argument that the previously cited prior arts do not teach the amended features, this arguments is not persuasive. While Takahashi does not explicitly disclose that the concentration of water can be 0.01 mass%, Takahashi provides enough guidance that would motivate one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to attempt to use such concentration during routine experimentations. Particularly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use a small amount of water, such as 0.01 % by mass, in the etching composition of Takahashi because Takahashi teaches that “(t)he concentration of water, which is not particularly limited, is preferably 0.1% by mass or greater” and further teaches that since water would damage the silicide layer and other metal layers, the amount of water need to be kept small or reduced, and the reduction in the amount of water may be compensated by adding a proton source, such as an acid assistant. Please see more details above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP §706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS T PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713