DETAILED ACTION
This is the Office action based on the 17889136 application filed August 16, 2022, and in response to applicant’s argument/remark filed on January 28, 2026. Claims 1-24 and 28 are currently pending and have been considered below. Applicant’s cancellation of claims 25-27 acknowledged. Claims 1-16 withdrawn from consideration.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretations
Applicant has elected Group II, which is drawn to a chemical composition, in response to the Election/Restriction requirement. Note that the claims are directed towards a chemical composition and as such will be examined under such conditions. The process of using the composition or the material that the composition acts upon are viewed as recitation of intended use and are given little patentable weight (Please see MPEP 2114 R1-2115 R2 for further details).
It has been held that claim language that simply specifies an intended use or field of use for the invention generally will not limit the scope of a claim (See MPEP 2106; Walter, 618 F.2d at 769, 205 USPQ at 409). When apparatus is capable of performing such functions, it is considered to meet the claim limitations. Additionally, in apparatus claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (See MPEP 2111.02, 2115; In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458,459 (CCPA 1963). When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (See MPEP 2112.01; In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430,433 (CCPA 1977). It has further been held that expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969); and the inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). While features of an apparatus may be described either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus MUST be distinguished from prior art in terms of structure rather than function (See MPEP §2114).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-24 and 28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Takahashi et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20160056054), hereinafter “Takahashi”:--Claims 17, 19, 23, 24: Takahashi teaches an etching composition (Claim 15) for etching a cobalt layer (abstract), comprising one or more organic solvent ([0278, 0304]), wherein the organic solvent may include an alcohol compound, such as 2-butanol ([0279-0284]), presented at a concentration 50-98 wt.% ([0303]);oxalic acid, presented at a concentration 0.1-20 wt.% ([0314-0316]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to select oxalic acid and beta-diketone, among the list of possible compounds, for the polishing composition in the invention of Takahashi. It is noted that 2-butanol is an alcohol having 4 carbon atoms, and oxalic is an aliphatic dicarboxylic acid having 2 carbon atoms.--Claim 18: Applicant has elected Group II, which is drawn to a chemical composition, in response to the Election/Restriction requirement. Note that the claims are directed towards a chemical composition and as such will be examined under such conditions. The process of using the composition or the material that the composition acts upon are viewed as recitation of intended use and are given little patentable weight (Please see MPEP 2114 R1-2115 R2 for further details). It is noted that since the etching composition taught by Takahashi is the same as Applicant’s , it must be capable of etching a cobalt oxide layer, as taught by Applicant.--Claims 20, 21: Takahashi further teaches that water may be presented as a concentration 0.1 wt.% to 50 wt.% ([0322]).--Claim 22: It is noted that an etching composition containing 0.1 wt.% may be considered substantially does not contain water.--Claim 28: Takahashi does not teach adding any Ni or Cu to the etching composition. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to form an etching composition containing less than 10 ppb of Ni or Cu.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 28, 2026 have been fully considered as follows:--Regarding Applicant’s argument that the previously cited prior arts do not teach the amended features, this arguments is not persuasive. While Zandi and Misra fail to teach all those features, Takahashi clearly teaches those features, as shown above.
Conclusion
/THOMAS T PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713