DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Michael W. Stowell of US 2018/0226229 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Stowell).
Stowell pertains to the instant invention because Stowell relates to a composition of matter (carbon particulates; Stowell, paragraph [0002]).
Stowell teaches to a composition of matter, comprising a carbonaceous material (nanoparticulate carbon; Stowell, paragraph [0100]) having physical characteristics of being from dissociation of carbon dioxide (a microwave plasma can be generated in a supply gas and/or process material, and the energy in the plasma is sufficient to form separated components from process material molecules; Stowell, paragraph [0027]; the process material is carbon dioxide with water; Stowell, paragraph [0054]) and water using a plasma and an electric field (microwave plasma; Stowell, paragraph [0002]-[0003]). Stowell teaches using plasma for dissociation of process materials (Stowell, paragraph [0062]).
As to claim 2, Stowell teaches to the composition of matter of claim 1, wherein the physical characteristics of being formed from dissociation of carbon dioxide and water using at least one plasma comprise:
The carbonaceous material comprising carbonaceous aggregates (nanoparticulate carbon that is in agglomerate – which may also be described as aggregate-particles; Stowell, paragraph [0055]).
As to claim 3, Stowell teaches to the composition of matter of claim 2, wherein the carbonaceous aggregates are characterized by a principal dimension having a length in a range from about 1 micron to about 1000 microns (1 to 1000 microns; Stowell, paragraph [0055]).
As to claim 4, Stowell teaches to the composition of matter of claim 1, wherein the physical characteristics of being formed from dissociation of carbon dioxide and water using at least one plasma comprise:
the carbonaceous material comprising one or more materials selected from the group consisting of: carbon black (Stowell, paragraph [0055]).
As to claim 5, Stowell teaches to the composition of matter of claim 1, wherein the plasma is characterized by a frequency in a range from about one gigahertz to about five gigahertz (2.45 GHz for microwave reactor is one of the standard in the art; Stowell, paragraph [0036]).
As to claim 6, Stowell teaches to the composition of matter of claim 1, wherein the plasma comprises a microwave plasma (the microwave energy 309 creates a microwave plasma 306; Stowell, paragraph [0046]).
As to claim 7, Stowell does not explicitly teach ”wherein the electric field comprises an alternating current (AC) field and/or a pulsed direct current (DC) field.”
However, Stowell does teach using a high voltage electric field for creating a microwave plasma (Stowell, paragraph [0087]). Stowell teaches controlling the microwave energy pulse duration, frequency, duty cycle, shape, and time-averaged output power level (Stowell, paragraph [0057] – [0065]). Stowell teaches microwave circuit 207 controlling a pulsing frequency (Stowell, paragraph [0034]). Every active electrical circuit necessarily has electric fields within the wires and around its components, in which electricity necessarily flows in either alternating current and/or pulsed direct current.
As to claim 8, Stowell teaches to the composition of claim 1, wherein the dissociation is driven by electron(s) (injecting electrons; Stowell, paragraph [0087]) impacting the carbon dioxide and the water (the process material is carbon dioxide with water; Stowell, paragraph [0054]).
Conclusion
/JOHN LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/JAMES LIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1794