DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated 08/10/2026, in which claims 1, 3, 4, 11, 13, 17 were amended, claims 2 and 16 were cancelled, has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (US Pub. 20240237508) in view of Xu et al. (US Pub. 20140369024), O’Brien et al. (US Pub. 20070202333) and Latz et al. (US Pub. 20120053081).
Regarding claim 1, Feng et al. discloses in Fig. 2, paragraph [0047]-[0058], [0087] a quantum dot composite comprising:
a quantum dot [72] having a surface comprising a plurality of binding portions; and
a ligand [74 and 76] bonded to the surface of the quantum dot [72], wherein the plurality of binding portions comprises:
a first binding portion;
a second binding portion; and
a third binding portion, and
the ligand comprises:
a first ligand [one of ligands 74] bonded to the first binding portion;
a second ligand [another one of ligands 74 or one of ligands 76] bonded to the second binding portion; and
a third ligand [another one of ligands 76] bonded to the third binding portion, and
wherein the first binding portion, the second binding portion, and the third binding portion are different from each other, and
the first ligand [one of ligands 74], the second ligand [another one of ligands 74 or one of ligands 76], and the third ligand [another one of ligands 76] are different from each other [paragraph [0058], “The first alkyl chain ligands 76 connected with the surface of the first quantum dot 72 may be the same, or alternatively be of different types. The first photosensitive ligands 74 connected with the surface of the first quantum dot 72 may be the same, or alternatively be of different types”];
wherein: the first ligand [one of ligands 74] comprises an electron-donating head portion [coordinating units include a carboxyl group or amino group] bonded to the first binding portion [paragraph [0048]-[0050], “the first photosensitive ligands 74 include non-photosensitive coordinating groups and photosensitive groups, the coordinating group includes any one of …an amino group… a carboxyl group];
the second ligand [another one of ligands 74 or one of ligands 76] comprises an electron-withdrawing head portion [coordinating units include a sulfydryl group] bonded to the second binding portion [paragraph [0048]-[0050], “first photosensitive ligands 74 include non-photosensitive coordinating groups…the coordinating group includes any one of a sulfy dryl group”; paragraph [0056] “In the first alkyl chain ligands 76, the coordinating units include any one of a sulfydryl group”]; and
the third ligand [another one of ligands 76] comprises a coordination-binding head portion [coordinating units include an amine group] bonded to the third binding portion [paragraph [0056], “In the first alkyl chain ligands 76, the coordinating units include any one of … an amine group”].
Feng et al. fails to disclose
the first binding portion in which cations are exposed;
the second binding portion in which anions are exposed; and
the third binding portion in which the cations and the anions are bonded to each other and exposed.
Xu et al. discloses in Fig. 1B, paragraph [0063]
the first binding portion in which cations [Cd] are exposed;
the second binding portion in which anions [S] are exposed; and
Xu et al. further discloses the first [2] and second [1] ligands are of different types.
O’Brien et al. discloses in Fig. 1a, Fig. 1b
the third binding portion in which the cations and the anions are bonded to each other [CdSe or ZnS] and exposed.
O’Brien et al. further discloses the third ligand is different from the first [2] and second [1] ligands disclosed by Xu et al. Further, the ligand disclosed by O’Brien et al. is same as the third ligand disclosed in Fig. 9C of the pending Application. Thus, it would bind to binding portion in which the cations and the anions are bonded to each other.
For further support for different binding portions of a quantum dot, Latz et al. is cited
Latz et al. discloses in Fig. 9
the first binding portion in which cations [Zn] are exposed;
the second binding portion in which anions [S] are exposed; and
the third binding portion in which the cations and the anions are bonded to each other [ZnS] and exposed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Latz et al., Xu et al. and O’Brien et al. into the method of Feng et al. to include the first binding portion in which cations are exposed; the second binding portion in which anions are exposed; and the third binding portion in which the cations and the anions are bonded to each other and exposed. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Feng et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable binding portions to form quantum dots with two or more types of ligands [paragraph [0063] of Xu et al., paragraph [0087] of Feng et al.].
Regarding claim 3, Feng et al. discloses in paragraph [0048]-[0049], [0056]
wherein: the electron-donating head portion comprises at least one group selected from halide ions, carboxylate, phosphinate, phosphonate, phosphonic acid anhydride, alkoxylate, dithiolate, and thiolate [coordinating units include a carboxyl group, phosphoester group];
the coordination-binding head portion comprises at least one group selected from phosphine, phosphine oxide, amine, imidazole, and pyridine [coordinating units include an amine group].
Xu et al. discloses in Fig. 1B
the electron-withdrawing head portion comprises at least one metal atom selected from Mg, Ca, Sc, Sn, Ti, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Zn, Ga, Sr, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo, Cd, In, Ba, Au, Hg, and TI [Zn];
O’Brien et al. discloses in Fig. 1B
the coordination-binding head portion comprises at least one group selected from phosphine, phosphine oxide, amine, imidazole, and pyridine [an amine group NH2].
Consequently, Feng et al., Xu et al. and O’Brien et al. discloses limitation of claim 3.
Regarding claims 4-5, Feng et al. discloses in paragraph [0049]-[0052], [0056]-[0057], [0082], Xu et al. discloses in Fig. 1B, O’Brien et al. discloses in Fig. 1B
wherein at least one of the first ligand, the second ligand, or the third ligand further comprises a tail portion, and the tail portion comprises a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group having 1 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group having 2 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted thiol group, a substituted or unsubstituted oxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group having 6 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms, or a substituted or unsubstituted heteroaryl group having 2 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms;
wherein: the first ligand comprises the electron-donating head portion, and a first tail portion connected to the electron-donating head portion;
the second ligand comprises the electron-withdrawing head portion, a connection portion connected to the electron-withdrawing head portion, and a second tail portion connected to the connection portion; and
the third ligand comprises the coordination-binding head portion and a third tail portion connected to the coordination-binding head portion.
Regarding claims 6-9, Feng et al. discloses in Fig. 2, paragraph [0081], Xu et al. discloses in Fig. 1B, O’Brien et al. discloses in Fig. 1B,
wherein the quantum dot comprises a core and a shell around the core;
wherein the first binding portion, the second binding portion, and the third binding portion are each provided on a surface of the shell;
the core comprises a first semiconductor nanocrystal [CdSe or CdS];
the shell comprises a second semiconductor nanocrystal [ZnS] different from the first semiconductor nanocrystal [ZnS]; and
the first semiconductor nanocrystal and the second semiconductor nanocrystal are each selected from a Group II-VI compound, a Group III-V compound, a Group IV- VI compound, a Group IV element, a Group IV compound, and a combination thereof;
wherein the second semiconductor nanocrystal [ZnS] is in a state of having the cations and the anions bonded to each other.
Regarding claim 10, Feng et al. discloses in paragraph [0049]-[0052], [0056]-[0057], [0082]
wherein the first ligand is represented by Formula 1-1,
Formula 1-1
wherein in Formula 1-1, A1 is a group selected from carboxylate, phosphinate, phosphonate, phosphonic acid anhydride, alkoxylate, dithiolate, and thiolate, and R1 is a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group having 1 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group having 2 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted thiol group, a substituted or unsubstituted oxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group having 6 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms, or a substituted or unsubstituted heteroaryl group having 2 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms.
Xu et al. discloses in Fig. 1B, Fig. 2d
the second ligand is represented by Formula 2,
Formula 2
wherein in Formula 2,
M is a metal atom selected from Mg, Ca, Sc, Sn, Ti, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Zn, Ga, Sr, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo, Cd, In, Ba, Au, Hg, and TI [Zn],
A3 is at least one group selected from carboxylate, phosphinate, phosphonate, phosphonic acid anhydride, alkoxylate, dithiolate, and thiolate [carboxylate or alkoxylate], and
R2 is a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group having 1 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group having 2 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted thiol group, a substituted or unsubstituted oxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group having 6 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms, or a substituted or unsubstituted heteroaryl group having 2 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms; and
O’Brien et al. discloses in Fig. 1B
the third ligand is represented by Formula 3: Formula 3
wherein in Formula 3,
A4 is at least one group selected from phosphine, phosphine oxide, amine, imidazole, and pyridine, and
R3 is a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group having 1 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group having 2 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted thiol group, a substituted or unsubstituted oxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group having 6 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms, or a substituted or unsubstituted heteroaryl group having 2 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms.
Regarding claim 11, Feng et al. discloses in Fig. 2, paragraph [0047]-[0058], [0087] a quantum dot composite comprising:
a quantum dot [72] having a surface comprising a plurality of binding portions; and
a ligand [74 and 76] bonded to the surface of the quantum dot [72], wherein the plurality of binding portions comprises:
a first binding portion;
a second binding portion; and
a third binding portion, and
wherein the ligand comprises:
a first ligand [one of ligands 74] comprises an electron-donating head portion [coordinating units include a carboxyl group or amino group] bonded to the first binding portion [paragraph [0048]-[0050], “the first photosensitive ligands 74 include non-photosensitive coordinating groups and photosensitive groups, the coordinating group includes any one of …an amino group… a carboxyl group];
a second ligand [another one of ligands 74 or one of ligands 76] comprises an electron-withdrawing head portion [coordinating units include a sulfydryl group] bonded to the second binding portion [paragraph [0048]-[0050], “first photosensitive ligands 74 include non-photosensitive coordinating groups…the coordinating group includes any one of a sulfy dryl group”; paragraph [0056] “In the first alkyl chain ligands 76, the coordinating units include any one of a sulfydryl group”]; and
a third ligand [another one of ligands 76] comprises a coordination-binding head portion [coordinating units include an amine group] bonded to the third binding portion [paragraph [0056], “In the first alkyl chain ligands 76, the coordinating units include any one of … an amine group”];
wherein the first binding portion, the second binding portion, and the third binding portion are different from each other, and
the first ligand [one of ligands 74], the second ligand [another one of ligands 74 or one of ligands 76], and the third ligand [another one of ligands 76] are different from each other [paragraph [0058], “The first alkyl chain ligands 76 connected with the surface of the first quantum dot 72 may be the same, or alternatively be of different types. The first photosensitive ligands 74 connected with the surface of the first quantum dot 72 may be the same, or alternatively be of different types”];
Feng et al. fails to disclose
the first binding portion in which cations are exposed;
the second binding portion in which anions are exposed; and
the third binding portion in which the cations and the anions are bonded to each other and exposed.
Xu et al. discloses in Fig. 1B, paragraph [0063]
the first binding portion in which cations [Cd] are exposed;
the second binding portion in which anions [S] are exposed; and
Xu et al. further discloses the first [2] and second [1] ligands are of different types.
O’Brien et al. discloses in Fig. 1a, Fig. 1b
the third binding portion in which the cations and the anions are bonded to each other [CdSe or ZnS] and exposed.
O’Brien et al. further discloses the third ligand is different from the first [2] and second [1] ligands disclosed by Xu et al. Further, the ligand disclosed by O’Brien et al. is same as the third ligand disclosed in Fig. 9C of the pending Application. Thus, it would bind to binding portion in which the cations and the anions are bonded to each other.
For further support for different binding portions of a quantum dot, Latz et al. is cited
Latz et al. discloses in Fig. 9
the first binding portion in which cations [Zn] are exposed;
the second binding portion in which anions [S] are exposed; and
the third binding portion in which the cations and the anions are bonded to each other [ZnS] and exposed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Latz et al., Xu et al. and O’Brien et al. into the method of Feng et al. to include the first binding portion in which cations are exposed; the second binding portion in which anions are exposed; and the third binding portion in which the cations and the anions are bonded to each other and exposed. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Feng et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable binding portions to form quantum dots with two or more types of ligands [paragraph [0063] of Xu et al., paragraph [0087] of Feng et al.].
Regarding claim 12, Feng et al. discloses in Fig. 2, paragraph [0047]-[0058], [0087]
the quantum dot [70] comprises a core and a shell around the core [paragraph [0047], “first quantum dot 72 may have a core-shell structure”]; and
the electron-donating head portion, the electron-withdrawing head portion, and the coordination-binding head portion are each bonded to a surface of the shell [paragraph [0056], “The coordinating units are located between the first quantum dot 72 and the branched chain alkyl groups for forming connections with the surface of the first quantum dot 72, so as to connect the branched chain alkyl groups and the first quantum dot 72”].
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US Pub. 20180151817) in view of Jung et al. (US Pub. 20140369024) and O’Brien et al. (US Pub. 20070202333) and Latz et al. (US Pub. 20120053081).
Regarding claim 13, Cho et al. discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 5, paragraph [0079], [0113]-[0137], [0142]-[0149], [0170]-[0187] a light emitting diode comprising:
a first electrode [160];
a hole transport region [172] on the first electrode [160];
an emission layer [173] on the hole transport region [172] and comprising a quantum dot composite comprising a ligand [paragraph [0180]];
an electron transport region [174] on the emission layer [173]; and
a second electrode [180] on the electron transport region [174], wherein the quantum dot composite [10] comprises:
a quantum dot [11] having a surface; and
the ligand [13, 15 and second organic ligand] bonded to the surface of the quantum dot [11], wherein the surface of the quantum dot [11] comprises a plurality of binding portions, the plurality of binding portions comprising:
a first binding portion in which cations are exposed;
a second binding portion in which anions are exposed; and
a third binding portion in which cations and anions are bonded to each other and exposed, and
the ligand comprises:
a first ligand [13] bonded to the first binding portion;
a second ligand [15] bonded to the second binding portion; and
a third ligand [second organic ligand] bonded to the third binding portion;
wherein the first binding portion, the second binding portion, and the third binding portion are different from each other, and
the first ligand [13], the second ligand [15], and the third ligand [second organic ligand] are different from each other;
Wherein:
the first ligand [13] comprising an electron-donating head portion [S] bonded to the first binding portion;
the second ligand [15] comprising an electron-withdrawing head portion [M] bonded to the second binding portion; and
the third ligand [a second organic ligand] comprising a coordination-binding head portion [amine group NH2] bonded to the third binding portion.
Cho fails to disclose
the first binding portion in which cations are exposed;
the second binding portion in which anions are exposed; and
the third binding portion in which cations and anions are bonded to each other and exposed.
However, Cho discloses in Fig. 1, paragraph [0142], [0145] the first binding portion binding to the first ligand [13] includes anion S, the second binding portion binding to the second ligand [15] includes metal cation (i.e. Zn); and the third binding portion binding to third ligand includes an amine group. Thus, similar to the claimed invention, the first binding portion would have cations are exposed; the second binding portion would have anions are exposed; and the third binding portion would have cations and anions are bonded to each other and exposed. WHEN THE STRUCTURE RECITED IN THE REFERENCE IS SUBSTANTIALLY IDENTICAL TO THAT OF THE CLAIMS, CLAIMED PROPERTIES OR FUNCTIONS ARE PRESUMED TO BE INHERENT. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01.
For further providing support for configuration of different binding portions, Jung et al., O’Brien et al. and Latz et al. are cited.
Jung et al. discloses in Fig. 5, Fig. 9
a first ligand [LD] bonded to the first binding portion [CP];
a second ligand [ML] bonded to the second binding portion [AP].
O’Brien et al. discloses in Fig. 1a, Fig. 1b
the third binding portion in which the cations and the anions are bonded to each other [CdSe or ZnS] and exposed.
The third binding portion of O’Brien et al. bind to the same ligand as the third ligand disclosed in Fig. 9C of the pending Application. Thus, the third binding portion would have cations and anions are bonded to each other and exposed.
Latz et al. discloses in Fig. 9
the first binding portion in which cations [Zn] are exposed;
the second binding portion in which anions [S] are exposed; and
the third binding portion in which the cations and the anions are bonded to each other [ZnS] and exposed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Latz et al., Jung et al. and O’Brien et al. into the method of Cho et al. to include the first binding portion in which cations are exposed; the second binding portion in which anions are exposed; and the third binding portion in which the cations and the anions are bonded to each other and exposed. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Cho et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable binding portions to form quantum dots with two or more types of ligands [paragraph [0121] of Jung et al., paragraph [0142] of Cho et al.].
Regarding claim 14, Cho et al. discloses in paragraph [0181] the electron transport region [ETR] comprises: an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer.
Cho fails to disclose
wherein the electron transport layer on the emission layer; and
the electron injection layer between the electron transport layer and the second electrode, and
wherein the electron transport layer comprises a metal oxide.
Jung et al. discloses in Fig. 15, paragraph [0104], [0107], [0109]
wherein the electron transport region [ETR] comprises:
an electron transport layer on the emission layer [“the electron transport region ETR may have a structure of electron transport layer ETL/electron injection layer EIL, or hole blocking layer/electron transport layer ETL/electron injection layer EIL, which are laminated in order from the light emission layer EL”]; and
an electron injection layer between the electron transport layer and the second electrode [EL2][“the electron transport region ETR may have a structure of electron transport layer ETL/electron injection layer EIL, or hole blocking layer/electron transport layer ETL/electron injection layer EIL, which are laminated in order from the light emission layer EL”], and
wherein the electron transport layer [ETR] comprises a metal oxide [Li2O, BaO].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Jung et al. into the method of Cho et al. to include wherein the electron transport layer on the emission layer; and the electron injection layer between the electron transport layer and the second electrode, and wherein the electron transport layer comprises a metal oxide. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jung et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable configuration of electron transport layer. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 15, Cho et al. discloses in paragraph [0103] wherein the emission layer has a central emission wavelength of about 500 nm to about 540 nm.
Regarding claim 17, Cho et al. discloses in Fig. 1, paragraph [0079], [0113]-[0137], [0142]-[0149]
wherein:
the electron-donating head portion [-S-] comprises at least one group selected from halide ions, carboxylate, phosphinate, phosphonate, phosphonic acid anhydride, alkoxylate, dithiolate, and thiolate [thiolate];
the electron-withdrawing head portion [M] is at least one metal atom selected from Mg, Ca, Sc, Sn, Ti, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Zn, Ga, Sr, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo, Cd, In, Ba, Au, Hg, and TI; and
the coordination-binding head portion is at least one group selected from phosphine, phosphine oxide, amine, imidazole, and pyridine [amine, phosphine oxide, phosphine].
Jung et al. discloses in Fig. 5, Fig. 9, paragraph [0116]
the first ligand [LD] comprising an electron-donating head portion [(OH)CO-] bonded to the first binding portion [CP];
the second ligand [ML] comprising an electron-withdrawing head portion [M] bonded to the second binding portion [AP];
the electron-donating head portion [(OH)CO-] comprises at least one group selected from halide ions, carboxylate, phosphinate, phosphonate, phosphonic acid anhydride, alkoxylate, dithiolate, and thiolate [carboxylate];
the electron-withdrawing head portion [M] is at least one metal atom selected from Mg, Ca, Sc, Sn, Ti, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Zn, Ga, Sr, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo, Cd, In, Ba, Au, Hg, and TI [Cd, Zn, Ga];
O’Brien et al. discloses in Fig. 1a, Fig. 1b
the third ligand comprising a coordination-binding head portion [NH2] bonded to the third binding portion;
the coordination-binding head portion is at least one group selected from phosphine, phosphine oxide, amine, imidazole, and pyridine [amine].
Consequently, the combination of Cho et al., O’Brien et al. and Jung et al. discloses limitations of claim 17.
Regarding claims 18-19, Cho et al. discloses in paragraph [0008], [0079], Jung et al. discloses in Fig. 5, Fig. 9, O’Brien et al. discloses in Fig. 1b
wherein the quantum dot comprises a core and a shell around the core;
wherein: the core comprises a first semiconductor nanocrystal;
the shell comprises a second semiconductor nanocrystal different from the first semiconductor nanocrystal; the first semiconductor nanocrystal and the second semiconductor nanocrystal are each selected from a Group II-VI compound, a Group III-V compound, a Group IV- VI compound, a Group IV element, a Group IV compound, and a combination thereof; and
the first binding portion, the second binding portion, and the third binding portion are each provided on a surface of the shell.
Regarding claim 20, Cho et al. discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 5, paragraph [0079], [0113]-[0137], [0142]-[0149], [0170]-[0187]
wherein the first ligand [13] is represented by Formula 1-1, the second ligand [15] is represented by Formula 2, the third ligand [second organic ligand] is represented by Formula 3:
Formula 1-1
wherein in Formula 1-1,
A1 is a group selected from carboxylate, phosphinate, phosphonate, phosphonic acid anhydride, alkoxylate, dithiolate, and thiolate [thiolate], and
R1 is a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group having 1 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group having 2 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted thiol group, a substituted or unsubstituted oxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group having 6 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms, or a substituted or unsubstituted heteroaryl group having 2 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms.
Formula 2
wherein in Formula 2,
M is a metal atom selected from Mg, Ca, Sc, Sn, Ti, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Zn, Ga, Sr, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo, Cd, In, Ba, Au, Hg, and TI [Zn],
A3 is at least one group selected from carboxylate, phosphinate, phosphonate, phosphonic acid anhydride, alkoxylate, dithiolate, and thiolate [carboxylate], and
R2 is a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group having 1 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group having 2 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted thiol group, a substituted or unsubstituted oxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group having 6 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms, or a substituted or unsubstituted heteroaryl group having 2 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms; and
Formula 3
wherein in Formula 3,
A4 is at least one group selected from phosphine, phosphine oxide, amine, imidazole, and pyridine [amine, phosphine, phosphine oxide], and
R3 is a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group having 1 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group having 2 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted thiol group, a substituted or unsubstituted oxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group having 6 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms, or a substituted or unsubstituted heteroaryl group having 2 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms.
Jung et al. discloses in Fig. 9
wherein the first ligand [LD] is represented by Formula 1-1, the second ligand [ML] is represented by Formula 2,
Formula 1-1
wherein in Formula 1-1,
A1 is a group selected from carboxylate, phosphinate, phosphonate, phosphonic acid anhydride, alkoxylate, dithiolate, and thiolate [carboxylate], and
R1 is a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group having 1 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group having 2 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted thiol group, a substituted or unsubstituted oxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group having 6 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms, or a substituted or unsubstituted heteroaryl group having 2 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms.
Formula 2
wherein in Formula 2,
M is a metal atom selected from Mg, Ca, Sc, Sn, Ti, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Zn, Ga, Sr, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo, Cd, In, Ba, Au, Hg, and TI [Zn, Cd, Ga],
A3 is at least one group selected from carboxylate, phosphinate, phosphonate, phosphonic acid anhydride, alkoxylate, dithiolate, and thiolate [carboxylate], and
R2 is a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group having 1 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group having 2 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted thiol group, a substituted or unsubstituted oxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group having 6 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms, or a substituted or unsubstituted heteroaryl group having 2 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms; and
O’Brien et al. discloses in Fig. 1B
the third ligand is represented by Formula 3:
Formula 3
wherein in Formula 3,
A4 is at least one group selected from phosphine, phosphine oxide, amine, imidazole, and pyridine, and
R3 is a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group having 1 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group having 2 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted thiol group, a substituted or unsubstituted oxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group having 6 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms, or a substituted or unsubstituted heteroaryl group having 2 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms.
the second ligand is represented by Formula 2, and the third ligand is represented by Formula 3: Formula 1-1
wherein in Formula 1-1, A1 is at least one group selected from carboxylate, phosphinate, phosphonate, phosphonic acid anhydride, alkoxylate, dithiolate, and thiolate, and R1 is a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group having 1 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group having 2 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted thiol group, a substituted or unsubstituted oxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group having 6 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms, or a substituted or unsubstituted heteroaryl group having 2 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms; Formula 1-2
wherein in Formula 1-2, A2 is a halide ion;Formula 2
wherein in Formula 2, M is at least one metal atom selected from Mg, Ca, Sc, Sn, Ti, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Zn, Ga, Sr, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo, Cd, In, Ba, Au, Hg, and TI, A3 is at least one group selected from carboxylate, phosphinate, phosphonate, phosphonic acid anhydride, alkoxylate, dithiolate, and thiolate, and R2 is a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group having 1 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group having 2 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted thiol group, a substituted or unsubstituted oxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group having 6 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms, or a substituted or unsubstituted heteroaryl group having 2 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms; and Formula 3
wherein in Formula 3, A4 is at least one group selected from phosphine, phosphine oxide, amine, imidazole, and pyridine, and R3 is a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group having 1 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group having 2 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted thiol group, a substituted or unsubstituted oxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group having 6 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms, or a substituted or unsubstituted heteroaryl group having 2 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that neither Cho or Feng discloses three different ligands, Examiner respectfully disagrees because of the following reasons:
As illustrated in the rejection, Feng discloses paragraph [0058], “The first alkyl chain ligands 76 connected with the surface of the first quantum dot 72 may be the same, or alternatively be of different types. The first photosensitive ligands 74 connected with the surface of the first quantum dot 72 may be the same, or alternatively be of different types”. In other words, Feng discloses ligands 76 at different binding portions may be of different types and ligands 74 at different binding portions may be of different types. In addition, Feng discloses ligands 76 is different from ligands 74. Therefore, Feng discloses the first ligand [one of ligands 74], the second ligand [another one of ligands 74 or one of ligands 76], and the third ligand [another one of ligands 76] are different from each other.
Feng further discloses
a first ligand [one of ligands 74] comprises an electron-donating head portion [coordinating units include a carboxyl group or amino group] bonded to the first binding portion [paragraph [0048]-[0050], “the first photosensitive ligands 74 include non-photosensitive coordinating groups and photosensitive groups, the coordinating group includes any one of …an amino group… a carboxyl group];
a second ligand [another one of ligands 74 or one of ligands 76] comprises an electron-withdrawing head portion [coordinating units include a sulfydryl group] bonded to the second binding portion [paragraph [0048]-[0050], “first photosensitive ligands 74 include non-photosensitive coordinating groups…the coordinating group includes any one of a sulfy dryl group”; paragraph [0056] “In the first alkyl chain ligands 76, the coordinating units include any one of a sulfydryl group”]; and
a third ligand [another one of ligands 76] comprises a coordination-binding head portion [coordinating units include an amine group] bonded to the third binding portion [paragraph [0056], “In the first alkyl chain ligands 76, the coordinating units include any one of … an amine group”].
As stated in the rejection, Cho discloses in Fig. 1, paragraph [0142], [0145] the first ligand [13] comprising an electron-donating head portion [S] bonded to the first binding portion; the second ligand [15] comprising an electron-withdrawing head portion [M] bonded to the second binding portion; and the third ligand [a second organic ligand] comprising a coordination-binding head portion [amine group NH2] bonded to the third binding portion. Thus, Cho suggests three different ligands connected with the surface of the first quantum dot at three different binding portions.
Xu et al., Jung et al., O’Brien et al. and Latz et al. suggests different ligands formed of different chemical compounds would bind/coordinate to different binding portions.
Finally, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In addition, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Consequently, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The claims stand rejected and the Action is made FINAL.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SOPHIA T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893