DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5 and 7-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: as per claim 1, line 3 shouldn’t “a times of receipt” be replaced by “a time of receipt”? The same comment applies to claim 8, line 3 and claim 16, line 2, respectively.
Claims 2-5, 7, 9-15, and 17-20 are objected for being dependent on an objected claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao et al US Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0373118 A1.
As per claim 1, Bao et al discloses a processor ( UE 105) (fig 11) comprising: circuitry to (fig. 11) generate timing information indicating a times of receipt (time stamp) of a reference signal and further it teaches time stamp (time of arrival) of the reference signal is measured) (note para. [0202] and [0203]) using the generated timing information to select one or more wireless signal transmission beams to test based, at least in part, on the generated timing information (measured time stamp) a signal is selected based on the (para. [0202] and [0203]);and cause the selected one or more wireless signal transmission beams to be tested to obtain channel state information of the selected one or more wireless signal transmission beams (at least in para. [0070] it teaches the UE estimate the channel used to perform link adaptation as part of mobility or beam management)(one skill in the art would know that testing of the channel has to be performed post the determination of the timing of arrival. However, for the sake of argument, note US2020/0195400A1 fig.6, where it shows that it is common practice to perform channel estimation based on a time of arrival of a pilot signal. Therefore, one skill in the art would have been motivated to perform channel estimation based on a time of arrival of a reference signal for the added benefit of improving efficiency (US2020/0195400A1, para. [0007])). It does not explicitly teach providing a single reference signal to a multiple different antennas of an antenna array. At least in para. 0070 it further teaches “one reference” signal may be transmitted to the (UE 115) further at para. [0051] Bao et al teaches that the UE 115 may include one array of antennas that includes a plurality of antennas. Given such a disclosure, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to have been motivated to provide a single reference signal to a multiple different antennas of an antenna array in order to satisfy the requirement of the system that would require such a structure by design to produce an effective device.
As per claim 2, the reference signals are received or transmitted from or to another user device of a wireless network (see at least fig. 11).
As per claim 3, Bao et al teaches the use of reference signals (see at least para. [0070]).
As per claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Bao et al disclose every feature of the invention specified in the claim but fail to explicitly teach at least one antenna of the plurality of antennas detects the one or more wireless signal transmission beams corresponding to a sensing signal having one or more pulses and sampled according to a pulse sampling frequency. As evidence by Wu et al CN 113281766 A, see translated abstract that partly recites “ collecting and processing module for sampling the reference electric pulse and measuring electric pulse according to the sampling frequency, and according to the measuring signal and the reference signal obtained by sampling” (in other words, the reference pulse is measured (sensed) and sampled at a sampling frequency (since what is being sampled is a pulse signal, it is fair to say that sampling frequency is “a pulse sampling frequency”)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to have modify Bao et al to detect the one or more wireless signal transmission beams corresponding to a sensing signal having one or more pulses and sampled according to a pulse sampling frequency so as to allow the receiver to efficiently configure its system resources.
As per claim 5, Bao et al does not explicitly teach the one or more reference signals are received from a user equipment of a wireless network. However, as evidence by Park (see at least para. [0083] and fig. 1) it is generally known to configure a system to transmit/receive reference signals to/from another user device of a wireless network that includes a plurality of electronic devices). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to have modify Bao et al to transmit/receive reference signals to/from another user device of a wireless network that includes a plurality of electronic devices in order to provide a more reliable wireless network as generally known in the art (see US20220352960 para. [0006].
As per claim 7, Bao et al do not explicitly teach applying a machine learning model. As evidence by US20230037704 A1, para. [0087], it is generally known in the art to apply a machine learning model to the one or more received reference signals. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to measure/process by applying a machine learning model to the one or more received reference signals in order to facilitate various aspects associated with processing the received signal as generally known in the art (see US20230037704 A1, para. [0087]).
As per claim 8, see rejection of claim 1.
As per claim 9, see rejection of claim 2.
As per claim 10, see rejection of claim 3.
As per claim 11, see rejection of claim 4.
As per claim 12, see rejection of claim 5.
As per claim 13, it is generally known in Park et al para. [0063] and [0004] to associate generally a plurality of different antennas with an array of antenna element of a wireless radio network base station. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to associate a plurality of different antennas with an array of antenna element of a wireless radio network base station And the motivation would have been the same as provided with respect to claim 5 above.
As per claim 14, see rejection of claim 7.
As per claim 15, Bao et al teaches every feature of the invention specified in the claim but do not explicitly teach calculating a ranking of the one or more wireless signal transmission beams. However, as evidence by WO 2021037331 A1, at least page 9, lines 1-4, it is known to calculate a ranking of the one or more wireless signal transmission beams. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to have modify Bao et al by calculating a ranking of the one or more wireless signal in order to facilitate the selection of the best streams for further processing or transmission in an efficient manner.
As per claim 16, see rejection of claim 1.
As per claim 17, see rejection of claim 15.
As per claim 18, see rejection of claim 13.
As per claim 19, see rejection of claim 7.
As per claim 20, see rejection of claim 2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. It is alleged that Bao does not disclose determining timing based on a single reference signal. Examiner disagrees. At para. [0051], Bao et al teaches the UE includes at least one antenna array that includes a plurality of antennas and further in [0070] Bao et al further teaches at least one reference signal is transmitted and received by the UE. Hence, one would have been motivated to determine timing based on a single reference signal for the same reason provided in the rejection above.
Conclusion
/JEAN B CORRIELUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633