DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8 and 21-29 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 1, prior art failed to disclose or fairly suggest an LDMOS device comprising, along with other recited claim limitations, wherein a spacing between adjacent ones of the gate segments is between about 2 nanometers (nm) to about 50 nm and is controlled as a function of a thickness of the second insulating layer, and wherein thicknesses of the first and second insulating layers are independently controlled as discussed during the interview of 1/6/2026, as amended on 1/14/2026 and as argued on pages 8-11 of the remarks filed on 1/14/2026. Claims 2-8 and 21-29 depend from claim 1 and hence are allowed for the same reason therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu CN111463263 in view of Velliainitis (20210376096) further in view of Min (20100301403)
Regarding Claim 30, in Fig. 17, as discussed above, Wu discloses a laterally-diffused metal-oxide semiconductor (LDMOS) device having enhanced high-frequency performance, comprising: a semiconductor substrate of a first conductivity type; a doped drift region of a second conductivity type formed on at least a portion of the substrate, the second conductivity type being opposite in polarity to the first conductivity type; a body region of the first conductivity type formed in the doped drift region proximate an upper surface of the doped drift region; source and drain regions of the second conductivity type formed proximate an upper surface of the body region and doped drift region, respectively, and spaced apart laterally from one another; a first insulating layer formed on at least a portion of an upper surface of the body region and an upper surface of the doped drift region; and a gate structure comprising a plurality of gate segments formed on an upper surface of the first insulating layer, each of the gate segments being spaced laterally from one another by a second insulating layer disposed between adjacent gate segments. Although in Fig 17 of Wu, elements 1703a, 1703b, 1703c, 1703d, 1703e, appear to be different material than elements 305, 306, and 1701, Wu fails to expressly disclose the claimed different material. However, Vellainitis discloses a semiconductor device where in paragraphs 0018, 0019, 0020 and 0023, the claimed different material is disclosed.
It would have been obvious to one of having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the claimed different material limitation in Wu as taught by Vellainitis in order to isolate the gate segments/multi-gate structures from each other.
Wu and Vellainitis combination fails to disclose the newly added limitation of wherein upper surfaces of a first one of the gate segments, a second one of the gate segments, and a third one of the gate segments are coplanar, and wherein the first one of the gate segments vertically overlaps at least a portion of the body region. However, Min discloses an LDMOS device where in Figs. 1, upper surfaces of a first one of the gate segments 30, a second one of the gate segments 32, and a third one of the gate segments 33 are coplanar, and wherein the first one of the gate segments 30 vertically overlaps at least a portion of the body region 16.
It would have been obvious to one of having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the required coplanar and overlapping limitations in Wu and Vellainitis combination as taught by Min et al. in order to have LDMOS device with low leakage characteristics.
Regarding Claim 31, in Vellainitis, the second insulating layer comprises a nitride material, hence the different material (the newly added limitation).
Conclusion
/FAZLI ERDEM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 1/18/2026