DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 are presented for examination. This office action is response to the submission on 8/17/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/17/2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/30/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 8/17/2022 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “wherein the at least one wired network device comprises at least one of a Wi-Fi access point, an optical radar, a radar, a network camera, a vehicle-to-everything roadside equipment, and a low power wide area network communication module.” It is unclear whether the at least one wired network device comprises at least one of a Wi-Fi access point, an optical radar, a radar, a network camera, a vehicle-to-everything roadside equipment, or a low power wide area network communication module, or at least one of the following elements: Wi-Fi access point, an optical radar, a radar, a network camera, a vehicle-to-everything roadside equipment, and a low power wide area network communication module.
If Applicant intends for the features to be in disjunctive, claim 3 would change to “wherein the at least one wired network device comprises at least one of a Wi-Fi access point, an optical radar, a radar, a network camera, a vehicle-to-everything roadside equipment, or a low power wide area network communication module.”. Otherwise, for the features to be in conjunctive, claim 3 would change to “wherein the at least one wired network device comprises at least one of each of a Wi-Fi access point, an optical radar, a radar, a network camera, a vehicle-to-everything roadside equipment, and a low power wide area network communication module”.
For the purposes of examination, examiner interprets this limitation as “wherein the at least one wired network device comprises at least one of a Wi-Fi access point, an optical radar, a radar, a network camera, a vehicle-to-everything roadside equipment, or a low power wide area network communication module.”
Claim 4 recites the limitation “wherein the AC devices further comprise at least one of a telecommunication network base station, a smart lighting module, a traffic signal module, an environment monitoring module, a road sign module, and a digital road sign module.” It is unclear whether the AC devices further comprise at least one of a telecommunication network base station, a smart lighting module, a traffic signal module, an environment monitoring module, a road sign module, or a digital road sign module, or at least one of the following elements: telecommunication network base station, a smart lighting module, a traffic signal module, an environment monitoring module, a road sign module, and a digital road sign module.
If Applicant intends for the features to be in disjunctive, claim 3 would change to “wherein the AC devices further comprise at least one of a telecommunication network base station, a smart lighting module, a traffic signal module, an environment monitoring module, a road sign module, or a digital road sign module.” Otherwise, for the features to be in conjunctive, claim 3 would change to “wherein the AC devices further comprise at least one of each of a telecommunication network base station, a smart lighting module, a traffic signal module, an environment monitoring module, a road sign module, and a digital road sign module.”
For the purposes of examination, examiner interprets this limitation as “wherein the AC devices further comprise at least one of a telecommunication network base station, a smart lighting module, a traffic signal module, an environment monitoring module, a road sign module, or a digital road sign module.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooperrider et al. (US20120143383A1), in view of Kurk et al. (US20190199536A1).
Claim 1:
Cooperrider teaches “A smart pole power system, comprising: a distribution board, coupled to an alternating current (AC) power source to provide a plurality of AC voltages;” (Cooperrider teaches an infrastructure pole which supplies AC voltage to each load peripheral device i.e. more than one device in Cooperrider [0579] "Certain embodiments comprise metering of energy-usage by various loads on an infrastructure pole. For example, see the metering system 1800 portrayed in FIG. 57, which comprises multiple power meters 1810. The primary objective is to capitalize on the unique streetscape advantages of on-grid outdoor lighting or other utility systems/services to provide solar-generated and metered power to offset the power consumed by a variety of peripheral devices (loads that, in addition or instead of lighting, provide a service). For example, the device may be an outdoor lighting pole, tied to the energy grid, wrapped with a flexible solar skin, and topped by a luminaire for lighting. In addition to these features, however, the pole provides connection points, at various heights or locations on the pole, with Alternating Current (AC) and Direct Current (DC) voltages and currents. Each load peripheral device, whether requiring AC or DC power, connects to one of these connection points and then physically mounts to the pole."; Cooperrider Fig. 57 teaches an AC power supply receiving power from the grid and distributing AC power to a luminaire and a video camera.
[AltContent: rect]
), and
“a plurality of AC devices, coupled to the distribution board and receiving the AC voltages,” (Cooperrider teaches supplying AC voltage to each load peripheral device i.e. more than one device in Cooperrider [0579] "For example, the device may be an outdoor lighting pole, tied to the energy grid, wrapped with a flexible solar skin, and topped by a luminaire for lighting. In addition to these features, however, the pole provides connection points, at various heights or locations on the pole, with Alternating Current (AC) and Direct Current (DC) voltages and currents. Each load peripheral device, whether requiring AC or DC power, connects to one of these connection points and then physically mounts to the pole." Cooperrider Fig. 57 [As shown above in claim 1] teaches the AC power supply receiving power from the grid and providing AC power to a luminaire and a video camera.).
Cooperrider does not appear to explicitly teach “the AC devices comprising a network switch, and the network switch receiving one of the AC voltages to provide at least one network power supply signal;” however, Kurk does teach this claim limitation (Kurk teaches a network switch receiving AC power in Kurk [0058] "Although illustrated as an external DC power source 114, some embodiments provide that the DC power source 114 may be integrally provided as an internal component to the network switch 110. For example, the network switch 110 may be configured to receive alternating current (AC) power from an external power source and convert the received AC power into one or more DC power signals."; Kurk teaches the switch providing DC power i.e. a network power supply signal in Kurk [0052] "Reference is now made to FIG. 3, which is a block diagram illustrating a system for providing distributed DC power in accordance with some embodiments of the present invention. The system includes a network switch 110 that is communicatively coupled to a passive splitter 200 and an active splitter 300. The passive splitter 200 may receive DC power from the network switch 110 and may distribute the DC power to one or more power only devices 210."
[AltContent: rect]
),
“a power splitter, coupled to the network switch, the power splitter receiving one of the at least one network power supply signal and separating a supply voltage signal from the received network power supply signal;” (Kurk teaches an active splitter 300 having a power/data input port 314 where it receives/transmits communication and DC power in Kurk [0078] "In some embodiments, an active splitter 300 may include an input port 314, which may also be referred to as a power/data input port 314. The power/data input port 314 may receive one or more DC power signals from a DC power distribution system component (not shown here) using a network communications cable 312. The power/data input port 314 may be further configured to receive/transmit communication and/or computer network data using the network communications cable 312 from/to other network devices and/or networks."; Kurk teaches the splitter providing power to a power only device i.e. it separates the voltage signal from the power supply signal in Kurk [0081] "The active splitter 300 may include a DC power controller 350 that may receive DC power configuration data via the power/data input port 314. The DC power controller 350 may use the DC power configuration data to configure the power characteristics corresponding to each of the power/data output ports 340A-D. For example, one or more power/data output ports 340A may be configured to provide a DC power signal to a power only device 210 at a given power rating and at a given DC voltage."; Kurk Fig. 3 [As shown above in claim 1] teaches the active splitter 300 being connected to the network switch i.e. the network switch provides the power and network signals.), and
“and at least one wired network device comprising a non-network power supply device, the non-network power supply device being coupled to the power splitter and powered by the supply voltage signal upon reception of the supply voltage signal.” (Kurk teaches the splitter providing power to a power only device i.e. a non-network power supply device, which would be powered upon receiving the power signal in Kurk [0081] "The active splitter 300 may include a DC power controller 350 that may receive DC power configuration data via the power/data input port 314. The DC power controller 350 may use the DC power configuration data to configure the power characteristics corresponding to each of the power/data output ports 340A-D. For example, one or more power/data output ports 340A may be configured to provide a DC power signal to a power only device 210 at a given power rating and at a given DC voltage.").
Cooperrider and Kurk are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of distributing power. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Cooperrider and Kurk before him/her, to modify the teachings of an energy-efficient utility system of Cooperrider to include the network switch and splitters that provide power of Kurk because adding the direct current (DC) power distribution system of Kurk would provide a variety of combinations of power and/or data network distribution, increasing the system’s functionality as described in Kurk [0097] “As provided above regarding FIGS. 10-12, DC power distribution system components 400 can be configured to provide a variety of different combinations of power and/or data network distribution and/or functionality. As such, embodiments of DC power distribution systems disclosed herein may include one or more DC power distribution system components 400 that are configured the same and/or different. In addition to being functionally variable, DC power distribution system components 400 may also be provided in different form factors. For example, form factors may include rack mounted components, floor mounted components, ceiling and/or wall surface mounted components, and/or in-ceiling and/or in-wall mounted components. In some embodiments, DC power distribution system components 400 may replace the conventional wall mounted data and/or power receptacles.”
Claim 2:
Cooperrider in view of Kurk teaches “The smart pole power system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one wired network device further comprises a network power supply device, the network power supply device receives another one of the at least one network power supply signal and is powered by the received network power supply signal.” (Kurk teaches a switch providing power and communication to a power/data device 310 i.e. network power supply device in Kurk [0053] "The system may also include one or more active splitters 300. According to some embodiments, an active splitter 300 may provide substantially all of the power distribution functionality of the passive splitter 200. Additionally, the active splitter 300 may further provide data communications between different network devices and/or between the network switch 110 and multiple different power/data devices 310 and/or data devices 312. Some embodiments provide that power/data devices 310 may include devices that may be powered and that may receive data from the active splitter 300.").
Claim 3:
Cooperrider in view of Kurk teaches “The smart pole power system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one wired network device comprises at least one of a Wi-Fi access point, (Kurk [0053] "Some embodiments provide that power/data devices 310 may include devices that may be powered and that may receive data from the active splitter 300. Examples of such devices include any wired network connected computing devices, wired cameras, WiFi access points, network switching and/or routing devices, and/or network based telephonic devices, among others.").
Claim 4:
Cooperrider in view of Kurk teaches “The smart pole power system according to claim 1, wherein the AC devices further comprise at least one of a (Cooperrider teaches a traffic light including a control board i.e. traffic signal module being powered by the pole in Cooperrider [0124] "FIG. 11 portrays an alternative embodiment 300 that includes a traffic light as well as a street light. The pole 12, panel 14, base 24, LED fixture 40, and decorative fixture 50 are the same or similar to those described above for the embodiment in FIGS. 1 and 2. An arm 302 extends from the middle section of the pole, to a position over a street intersection, for example. A traffic light 304 hangs from the arm 302, and is powered by the solar-powered system already described for the other embodiments. A control board and/or other apparatus and electronics will be provided to control the traffic light, in accordance with programs and instructions either programmed into the circuitry/memory of the embodiment 300 and/or received from a control network and/or central control station."
[AltContent: rect]
).
Claim 5:
Cooperrider in view of Kurk teaches “The smart pole power system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one network power supply signal is an Ethernet network power supply signal.” (Kurk teaches that the power outputs of the splitter may include an Ethernet connector/network interface in Kurk [0084] "The DC power outputs 332A-D may be provided to various different DC power system loads via respective ones of power/data output ports 340A-D. In some embodiments, ones of the power output ports 340A-D may include any of a variety of standardized computer connectors and/or telecommunication network interfaces such as USB 1.x, USE 2.0, USB 3.0, USB 3.1, USB-C, HDMI, Ethernet, RJ45, and/or T568A/T568B, among others.").
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooperrider et al. (US20120143383A1), in view of Kurk et al. (US20190199536A1), further in view of Vangeel et al. (US20190103981A1).
Claim 6:
Cooperrider in view of Kurk teaches “The smart pole power system according to claim 1, wherein the network switch monitors power consumption of each of the at least one network power supply signal,” (Kurk teaches that the power controller can monitor power usage at each of the output ports in Kurk [0014] "In some embodiments, the DC power controller is further configured to monitor power usage at each of the plurality of output ports.").
Cooperrider in view of Kurk does not appear to explicitly teach “the smart pole power system further comprises management platform software, and the management platform software is coupled to the network switch to estimate total direct current (DC) power consumption of all the at least one network power signal in a billing cycle.” However, Vangeel does teach this claim limitation (Vangeel teaches estimating the total power consumption of all of the devices over a period of time, which may be a billing cycle in Vangeel [0042] "In another variant, the switch 1 is adapted to measure a total energy consumption for all ports 12 of the switch 1 and to determine the measured energy consumption of the luminaire 2 based on the measured total energy consumption and the number of the ports 12 to which a powered device, here, a luminaire 2, is connected. This may be realized by providing the switch 1 with specific circuitry for measuring a voltage and a current at the input power side of the switch 1. From these measurements, the measured total energy consumption is then calculated by taking the product of voltage and current and by integrating this product over time, as it is known in the art. Knowing the number of ports 12 to which a powered device (luminaire 2) is connected, an estimate (guess) can then be made on the energy consumption of the luminaire 2. For instance, the measured energy consumption of the luminaire 2 can be estimated to equal the measured total energy consumption divided by the number of ports to which a powered device (luminaire 2) is connected."; Vangeel teaches the procedures being performed on a computer program i.e. software in Vangeel [0055] "These procedures and/or the control of the PoE system in accordance with the method can be implemented as program code means of a computer program and/or as specific hardware.").
Cooperrider, Kurk, and Vangeel are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of distributing power. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Cooperrider, Kurk, and Vangeel before him/her, to modify the teachings of an energy-efficient utility system of Cooperrider modified to include the direct current (DC) power distribution system of Kurk to include the measurement of energy usage over a time period of Vangeel because adding the Poe system providing measure of energy consumption of Vangeel would allow for the power management system to negotiate with the switch to determine if it has the ability to monitor power usage, which would increase accuracy of power measurement as described in Vangeel [0045] “While in the system overview of the PoE system 100 shown in FIG. 1, which is shown in FIG. 3, the luminaire 2 that has the ability to measure its energy consumption (upper right side of the figure) measures its energy consumption and immediately provides, in one or more messages S11, the measure of its energy consumption via the interface, this does not have to be the case. In particular, it is also possible that also if the luminaire 2 has the measuring ability, the luminaire 2 negotiates with the switch 1 whether the switch 1 has the ability to measure the energy consumption of the luminaire 2 and to provide the measured energy consumption to the luminaire 2 for provision via the interface. This can be advantageous, since the switch 1 may be able to measure the energy consumption of the luminaire 2 with a greater accuracy than the luminaire 2 itself. For instance, the measurement performed by the switch 1 can also take losses occurring in the electrical conductor 13 into account.”
Claim 7:
Cooperrider in view of Kurk, further in view of Vangeel teaches “The smart pole power system according to claim 6, wherein the distribution board comprises a plurality of current transfers for monitoring power consumption of each of the AC voltages,” (Cooperrider teaches that each peripheral device is individually metered (monitoring power would require monitoring current) in Cooperrider [0580] "Solar energy generated during the day is metered as it gets inverted back onto the energy grid. Similarly, energy consumed by the luminaire and energy consumed by each of the other connected peripheral devices are individually metered. Then, the overall net energy is calculated and tracked over time, as well as the net energy attributed to each peripheral device. "), and
“the smart pole power system further comprises an AC multi-circuit power meter, and the AC multi-circuit power meter is coupled to the current transfers to estimate the total AC power consumption of all the AC voltages in the billing cycle.” (Cooperrider teaches a metering system that stores data and billable events of each peripheral in Cooperrider [0581] "In addition to accurately tracking energy usage and cost, the metering system also tracks hours of operation. Hours of operation information is used to monitor lifetime characteristics against the peripheral devices' manufacturers' specifications. Combining hours of operation information with energy usage information can be used to predict when the peripheral device will fail or fall below some predetermined performance metric. Together, this accurate, granular usage tracking per peripheral, is used to generate billable events. The metering system stores 30 or more days-worth of data and billable events that can be retrieved locally using the Ethernet port, or remotely by plugging a connectivity device into the Ethernet port (e.g., in-ground fiber, cellular modem, RF radio.)"; Cooperrider Fig. 57 [As shown above in claim 1] teaches the power meters supplying information to the net meter processor i.e. the current transducers of the power meters supply information to the net meter processor.).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooperrider et al. (US20120143383A1), in view of Kurk et al. (US20190199536A1), further in view of Vangeel et al. (US20190103981A1), further in view of Poon (US20180342867A1).
Claim 8:
Cooperrider in view of Kurk, further in view of Vangeel teaches “The smart pole power system according to claim 7,” as described above. Cooperrider in view of Kurk, further in view of Vangeel does not appear to explicitly teach “wherein the billing cycle is thirty days.” However, Poon does teach this claim limitation (Poon teaches a billing cycle being 30 days in Poon [0035] "Operation of the consumption management system 112 within a billing period is explained in detail herein in connection with FIGS. 2-4. FIG. 2 is a timeline diagram illustrating the duration of an electrical utility billing period starting at a starting time TA and ending at a time TB. The total duration of the billing period therefore spans the length of time between time TA and time TB. In some embodiments, the duration of the billing period is one month or 30 days, but other durations of time may also be used such as a year, a quarter (3 months), a week, a biweek, or another period of time. The billing period may be the duration of time used to determine a utility customer's bill, such as a bill that includes power-level-based demand charges.").
Cooperrider, Kurk, Vangeel, and Poon are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of distributing power. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Cooperrider, Kurk, Vangeel, and Poon before him/her, to modify the teachings of an energy-efficient utility system of Cooperrider modified to include the direct current (DC) power distribution system of Kurk, further modified to include the Poe system providing measure of energy consumption of Vangeel to include the billing cycle of 30 days of Poon because adding the energy-based curtailment system of Poon would allow for more predictable tracking of power draw as described in Poon [0021] “The present disclosure generally relates to methods, apparatuses, and systems used to manage electrical utility consumption, including, for example, electrical utility consumption that results in grid power level-based demand charges from an electrical utility provider. Therefore, some systems and methods of the present disclosure are configured to track and control the average power level of the plurality of subdivisions of the billing period in order to manage the demand charge assessed by the provider. Because the average load needs to be managed rather than the instantaneous load, the load control system does not always need to immediately charge or discharge to react to peaks that occur in the power draw of the site from the grid. Also, the average load may be advantageous to track and control because it is generally more predictable than the instantaneous power draw of the consumer.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shen, Lester. (2019). Power Over Ethernet (PoE) Technical Overview. 10.13140/RG.2.2.11680.53769. (Hereinafter referred to as “Shen”) teaches POE splitters powering devices in Shen [Page 10, first paragraph] "Low Voltage DC Devices - With the use of PoE splitters or through a node-centric architecture, the low voltage DC current provided by PoE can be used to power any low voltage DC device that falls within the power available from the particular PoE network port it is connected to (up to 100 W with the new PoE standard). Many electrical appliances operate internally on DC power. These can be easily converted to DC power by replacing the AC-DC transformer (e.g. wall wart) with a direct DC connection."; Shen teaches PoE splitters which split the data and power from PoE cabling in Shen [Page 2, first paragraph] " PoE splitters are also available which split the data and power from PoE cabling and can be used to power non-PoE devices that don’t have access to AC outlets. PoE injectors and splitters are inexpensive alternatives to upgrade legacy equipment. However, when the PoE devices are connected by centrally distributed cabling from the data center, they will typically be backed by the UPS."
Xiong et al. (CN209084602U) (Citations to examiner provided translation) teaches a smart lamp that includes environmental sensors in Xiong [0032] "The sensor technology of the Internet of Things (noise sensor, air pollution detector, temperature and humidity sensor, brightness sensor, etc.) is used to detect wind direction, wind speed, temperature and humidity, rainfall, water level, PM2.5, PM10 and noise, etc., to realize intelligent monitoring of urban environment and weather, and pre-warning lights have multiple functions. Infrared sensors and radars are used to measure real-time traffic and pedestrian flow data."; Xiong teaches a video camera in Xiong [0033-0034] "Video surveillance module 3: 1.3 million color outdoor camera, PTZ controllable."; Xiong teaches the smart lamp includes LED displays in Xiong [0038] "The smart main lamp is not only a street lamp that realizes the lighting function, but also an intelligent node for information collection, information release and information transmission. Smart street lights integrate wireless base stations, video surveillance, smart trash cans, sensors, LED displays, charging piles and other modules, integrating all intelligent applications into a unified backend software cloud management platform for management. Each smart street light uses optical fiber to communicate with the monitoring center, and interconnection between optical fiber and network cable is achieved through optical fiber transceivers. After the optical fiber is connected to the monitoring center, the communication networks of different street lights are separately connected to the switch through the switch fiber optic fusion box, and then connected to the smart street light management platform, lighting control, screen control, smart trash cans, cameras, sensors, WiFi access points and other intelligent terminal modules."
Choi (KR20090025768A) teaches a traffic light and street light integrated control unit receiving AC power in Choi [Page 4 lines 4-7] "and a traffic light and street light integrated control unit for supplying electric energy obtained from a commercial AC power source to street lights and traffic signals in response to a given control signal.
Bruno (US20070069715A1) teaches bus bars providing AC power to multiple loads in Bruno [0014] "Each of the bus bars conducts a single phase of the three-phase power delivered to the power distribution panel from the supply 44, typically the distribution transformer supplying the facility."; Bruno teaches a plurality of current transformers 120 for monitoring the usage of each branch of a circuit in Bruno [0041] "Current sensing may be performed by individual current transformers that are connected to the current module. Referring to FIG. 3, to monitor the current in the branch circuits of a facility, a current transformer 120 is installed on each of the branch circuit conductors connected to a circuit breaker 16 in a power distribution panel 42. Each of the current transformers is connected to the current module 104 by wires 122 and the current module is connected to the data processing module 102 by the ribbon cable 124."; Bruno Fig. 2 teaches a supply 44 connected to bus bars 36, 38, and 40 that provide a plurality of AC voltages.
[AltContent: rect]
/Z.A.C./ Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/HIEN D KHUU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116