DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments received 11-18-2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claims 1, 9-11, and 13-15 have been amended.
Claims 22-25 are new.
Claim 2, 8, 16, and 20-21 have been cancelled.
Claim 1, 3-7, 8-15, 17-20, and 22-25 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 9-15, 19, and 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fawaz (US 20190143996 A1) in view of Doane (US 20180173223 A1), in further view of Hsieh (US 20060187717 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1, Fawaz discloses, global position system (GPS) circuitry (Fawaz: [0045] Global navigation satellite system (GNSS) module 22 receives radio signals from a constellation of GNSS satellites); a geofencing data repository (Fawaz: [0009] the permitted vehicle function information is obtained from a geopolitical region information database; [0010] the resolving step further includes obtaining the geopolitical region boundary information from the geopolitical region information database; [0059] comparing the geographical coordinates to geopolitical region boundary information that is kept in a geopolitical region information database); and utility vehicle control circuitry coupled with the GPS circuitry and the geofencing data repository (Fawaz: [ABS] A method and system of controlling vehicle functionality based on a geopolitical region of the vehicle, the method including the steps of: monitoring a geographical location of the vehicle; resolving the geographical location of the vehicle to a geopolitical region in which the vehicle is located; obtaining permitted vehicle function information for the geopolitical region in which the vehicle is located; and disabling or enabling one or more vehicle functions based on the obtained permitted vehicle function information; [0059]), the utility vehicle control circuitry (Fawaz: [FIG. 1(20)]) being constructed and arranged to: receive, from the GPS circuitry, GPS output that indicates a geolocation (Fawaz: [0059] After using GNSS module 22 to calculate geographical coordinates of the vehicle (or otherwise determine vehicle location), the wireless communications device 30 can report the geographical coordinates to the remote facility 80. The remote facility 80 can use the geographical coordinates of the vehicle to determine a geopolitical region in which the vehicle is located by comparing the geographical coordinates to geopolitical region boundary information that is kept in a geopolitical region information database ... [0060] Vehicle 12 may then determine a present geopolitical region (i.e., a geopolitical region in which the vehicle is presently located in) using, for example, geographical coordinates that are determined using GNSS module 22. The vehicle can then query a memory device, such as memory 38, for geopolitical region information that can include which vehicle functions are permitted or disallowed in the present geopolitical region. This geopolitical region information can be kept in a lookup table that is stored in memory 38 and that associates geopolitical region boundary); update geofencing data within the geofencing data repository (Fawaz: [0040] remote facility 80 can be used to update geopolitical region information, including geopolitical region boundary information; [0045] new or updated map data can be downloaded to the GNSS module 22 from the remote facility 80; [0059-0062] … the vehicle 12 may continuously or periodically receive GNSS data from the constellation of GNSS satellites 60 at GNSS module 22. After using GNSS module 22 to calculate geographical coordinates of the vehicle (or otherwise determine vehicle location), the wireless communications device 30 can report the geographical coordinates to the remote facility 80. The remote facility 80 can use the geographical coordinates of the vehicle to determine a geopolitical region in which the vehicle is located by comparing the geographical coordinates to geopolitical region boundary information that is kept in a geopolitical region information database ... the vehicle 12 can query the geopolitical region information lookup table using the geographical coordinates from GNSS module 22 to retrieve a set of vehicle functions that include permitted vehicle functions or disallowed vehicle functions ... The wireless communications device 30 can then use the coordinates to query a geopolitical region lookup table that includes geopolitical boundary information) based on the GPS output that indicates the geolocation (Fawaz: [0010] the resolving step further includes obtaining the geopolitical region boundary information from the geopolitical region information database and using the geopolitical region boundary information along with the geographical location to determine the geopolitical region in which the vehicle is located; and/or [0011] the method is carried out by the vehicle and wherein the resolving step includes sending the geographical location to a remote server and, subsequently, receiving a geopolitical region resolve message that includes the geopolitical region in which the vehicle is located); and after updating the geofencing data (Fawaz: [0019] resolving a present geographical location of the vehicle to a geopolitical region in which the vehicle is located; [0059-0062]), provide control to a utility vehicle based on the geofencing data within the geofencing data repository (Fawaz: [ABS]; [0059]); wherein the GPS output that indicates the geolocation identifies a current location of the utility vehicle (Fawaz: [0019]; [0059-0062]); wherein updating the geofencing data within the geofencing data repository includes: based on the current location of the utility vehicle (Fawaz: [0040]; [0045]; [0059-0062]), detecting that the utility vehicle has been removed from a first geo-site that is defined by first geofencing data currently stored within the geofencing data repository (Fawaz: [0020] (i) obtaining geopolitical region boundary information that comprises a set of coordinates representing a geographical boundary of a first geopolitical region; (ii) using the obtained geopolitical region boundary information and the geographical coordinates of the vehicle in conjunction with a point-in-polygon algorithm or method to determine whether the vehicle is located within the first geopolitical region; and (iii) when it is determined that the vehicle is not located within the first geopolitical region, then carrying out (i)-(ii) until it is determined that the vehicle is located within the first geopolitical region; [ABS]; [0059-0062]), and in response to detecting that the utility vehicle has been removed from the first geo-site, (Fawaz: [0020] (i) obtaining geopolitical region boundary information that comprises a set of coordinates representing a geographical boundary of a first geopolitical region; (ii) using the obtained geopolitical region boundary information and the geographical coordinates of the vehicle in conjunction with a point-in-polygon algorithm or method to determine whether the vehicle is located within the first geopolitical region; and (iii) when it is determined that the vehicle is not located within the first geopolitical region, then carrying out (i)-(ii) until it is determined that the vehicle is located within the first geopolitical region) placing second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository (Fawaz: [0064] … a third party server that provides geopolitical region services … The remote facility 80 or computer 78 can use the location information to determine the geopolitical region in which the vehicle is located … facility 80 may determine whether the geopolitical region has changed through keeping track of previously determined geopolitical regions and comparing the present geopolitical region to these previously determined geopolitical regions (step 220) and, if so, the remote facility 80 can obtain a new set of vehicle functions and send the set of vehicle functions to vehicle 12 (step 230); [0045] the position information is sent to a remote location for purposes of providing the vehicle with navigation maps, map annotations (points of interest, restaurants, etc.), route calculations, and the like. The location information can be supplied to remote facility 80 or other remote computer system, such as computer 78, for other purposes, such as fleet management and/or for use in a car sharing service. Also, new or updated map data can be downloaded to the GNSS module 22 from the remote facility 80 via a vehicle telematics unit; [0040] geopolitical region boundary information includes information that conveys boundaries of one or more geopolitical regions, including information represented as a set of coordinate points that can be used as vertices in a polygon representing a geopolitical region), the second geofencing data including a data structure that maps geolocation coordinates defining a second geo-site to a set of vehicle control parameters (Fawaz: [0020] (i) obtaining geopolitical region boundary information that comprises a set of coordinates representing a geographical boundary of a first geopolitical region; (ii) using the obtained geopolitical region boundary information and the geographical coordinates of the vehicle in conjunction with a point-in-polygon algorithm or method to determine whether the vehicle is located within the first geopolitical region; and (iii) when it is determined that the vehicle is not located within the first geopolitical region, then carrying out (i)-(ii) until it is determined that the vehicle is located within the first geopolitical region; [0040] geopolitical region boundary information includes information that conveys boundaries of one or more geopolitical regions, including information represented as a set of coordinate points that can be used as vertices in a polygon representing a geopolitical region; [0063] i) obtaining geopolitical region boundary information that comprises a set of coordinates representing a geographical boundary of a first geopolitical region; (ii) using the obtained geopolitical region boundary information and the geographical coordinates of the vehicle; [0065] In step 220, it can be determined whether the present geopolitical region has changed. For example, each time the geopolitical region is determined, it may be stored in memory, such as in a database at vehicle 12 or at remote facility 80) the second geo-site being different from the first geo-site (Fawaz: [0065] In step 220, it can be determined whether the present geopolitical region has changed. For example, each time the geopolitical region is determined, it may be stored in memory, such as in a database at vehicle 12 or at remote facility 80 ([ABS]; [0059-0062])), the current location of the utility vehicle residing within the second geo-site (Fawaz: [0065] In step 220, it can be determined whether the present geopolitical region has changed. For example, each time the geopolitical region is determined, it may be stored in memory, such as in a database at vehicle 12 or at remote facility 80 ([ABS]; [0059-0062])); wherein the second geofencing data defines areas on a second golf course (Fawaz: [0030] a second geopolitical region).
Fawaz does not explicitly recite the terminology "provide control to a utility vehicle". However, Fawaz does disclose controlling vehicle (see [0043] for applicable vehicles) functionality based on a geopolitical region of the vehicle (see at least [ABS]). Which, the examiner respectfully submits, is parallel in service and result for operating a vehicle based upon vehicle location, for the benefit of obtaining permitted vehicle function information for the geopolitical region.
Fawaz doe not explicitly recite the terminology “golf course”. However, in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. In this case, it is well within the scope of customary practices for one of ordinary skill in the art to apply geo-fencing methods for restricting vehicle operations in a plurality of environments. Common environments include, inter alia, lawn/yard, construction or other heavy machine environments, mining, agriculture, heavy transport vehicles with restricted roads or regions, and in the case of Fawaz, other vehicle types. To the examiner's best understanding, routine customization (golf course) is typically not considered an inventive concept, but how a prior art method may be applied.
The examiner respectfully submits, Fawaz also discloses, wherein the utility vehicle is a golf car constructed and arranged to maneuver over golf course terrain (Fawaz: [0043] Vehicle 12 is depicted in the illustrated embodiment as a passenger car, but it should be appreciated that any other vehicle including motorcycles, trucks, sports utility vehicles (SUVs), recreational vehicles (RVs), marine vessels, aircraft, etc., can also be used); wherein the first geofencing data defines areas on a first golf course (Fawaz: [0030] a first country, state, or internationally-recognized geopolitical region).
However, should it be found Fawaz fails to disclose, the utility vehicle is a golf car constructed and arranged to maneuver over golf course terrain; wherein the first geofencing data defines areas on a first golf course, in the same field of endeavor, Doane discloses, the utility vehicle is a golf car constructed and arranged to maneuver over golf course terrain (Doane: [0027] the robotic golf caddy can); wherein the first geofencing data defines areas on a first golf course (Doane: [0027] The positioning system can optionally include a geofencing system to track key areas of interest and, if needed, alerts can be created and sent to a robotic golf caddy in that area … Such geofencing can be used to limit the regions that the robotic golf caddy can move, and/or control the movement of the robotic caddy during certain areas on a golf course. The positioning system can also or alternatively identify “hot spots” on the golf course), for the benefit of preventing undesirable damage to course features which are costly to maintain and repair.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Fawaz to extend to limiting vehicle operations based on location to golf courses taught by Doane. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent undesirable damage to course features which are costly to maintain and repair.
Fawaz, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, wherein placing the second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository includes: automatically performing a size comparison operation that compares a size of the second geofencing data to a remaining unused space metric that indicates an amount of remaining unused space within the geofencing data repository, and (i) automatically storing the second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository within remaining unused space within the geofencing data repository when a result of the size comparison operation indicates that the amount of remaining unused space is larger than the size of the second geofencing data and (ii) automatically removing the first geofencing data from the geofencing data repository and storing the second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository in place of the first geofencing data when the result of the size comparison operation indicates that the amount of remaining unused space is smaller than the size of the second geofencing data.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hsieh discloses, placing the second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository includes: automatically performing a size comparison operation that compares a size of the second geofencing data to a remaining unused space metric that indicates an amount of remaining unused space within the geofencing data repository, and (i) automatically storing the second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository within remaining unused space within the geofencing data repository when a result of the size comparison operation indicates that the amount of remaining unused space is larger than the size of the second geofencing data and (ii) automatically removing the first geofencing data from the geofencing data repository and storing the second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository in place of the first geofencing data when the result of the size comparison operation indicates that the amount of remaining unused space is smaller than the size of the second geofencing data (Hsieh: [0007] it is impossible to expand the capacity of the mobile drive when the user finds that the capacity is insufficient. As a result, one has to partially delete or completely erase the data on the original mobile drive, or transfer the data to a computer hard drive, so that new data can be stored on the mobile drive), for the benefit of determining what files should be stored or removed in order to appropriately manage system memory to allow the system to operate as efficiently as possible.
Hsieh does not explicitly recite the terminology placing the second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository includes: automatically performing a size comparison operation that compares a size of the second geofencing data to a remaining unused space metric that indicates an amount of remaining unused space within the geofencing data repository, and (i) automatically storing the second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository within remaining unused space within the geofencing data repository when a result of the size comparison operation indicates that the amount of remaining unused space is larger than the size of the second geofencing data and (ii) automatically removing the first geofencing data from the geofencing data repository and storing the second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository in place of the first geofencing data when the result of the size comparison operation indicates that the amount of remaining unused space is smaller than the size of the second geofencing data. However, Hsieh discloses determining a file size, remaining memory space, does new data fit, erasing old datas and replacing it with new datas. Which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, is parallel to that which is claimed.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Fawaz to erase and replace taught by Hsieh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to efficiently use storage space.
REGARDING CLAIM 3, Fawaz remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Fawaz also discloses, detecting that the utility vehicle has been removed from the first geo-site includes: performing a geo-site comparison operation that compares the current location of the utility vehicle to the first geo-site that is defined by the first geofencing data (Fawaz: [ABS]; [0059-0065]), the geo-site comparison operation being configured to provide (i) a first result indicating that the first geofencing data is valid when the current location of the utility vehicle resides within the first geo-site (Fawaz: [ABS]; [0059-0065]), and (ii) a second result indicating that the first geofencing data is invalid when the current location of the utility vehicle does not reside within the first geo-site (Fawaz: [ABS]; [0059-0065]).
REGARDING CLAIM 4, Fawaz remains as applied above to claim 3, and further, Fawaz also discloses, transmitting an update request that identifies the current location of the utility vehicle to a data center (Fawaz: [0063-0066]), and in response to transmitting the update request, receiving the second geofencing data from the data center (Fawaz: [0063-0066]) and storing the second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository, the second geofencing data defining the second geo-site (Fawaz: [0063-0066]).
REGARDING CLAIM 5, Fawaz remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Fawaz also discloses, detecting that the utility vehicle has been removed from the first geo-site includes: based on the current location of the utility vehicle, performing a geofencing data lookup operation that identifies target geofencing data from a geofencing data lookup table (Fawaz: [0030]; [0060]); and performing a geofencing data comparison operation that compares the target geofencing data to the first geofencing data currently stored within the geofencing data repository, a result of the geofencing data comparison operation indicating whether the target geofencing data matches the first geofencing data (Fawaz: [0060]).
REGARDING CLAIM 6, Fawaz remains as applied above to claim 5, and further, Fawaz also discloses, the target geofencing data does not match the first geofencing data to indicate that the utility vehicle has been removed from the first geo-site (Fawaz: [0065-0066]); and wherein placing the second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository includes: transmitting an update request that identifies the target geofencing data to a data center, and in response to transmitting the update request, receiving the second geofencing data from the data center (Fawaz: [0064]) and storing the second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository, the second geofencing data defining the second geo-site (Fawaz: [0064]).
REGARDING CLAIM 9, Fawaz, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Fawaz discloses, providing control to the utility vehicle includes: limiting driving capabilities of the golf car within the areas of the second golf course (Fawaz: [0030] a second geopolitical region).
However, should it be found Fawaz fails to disclose, providing control to the utility vehicle includes: limiting driving capabilities of the golf car within the areas of the second golf course, in the same field of endeavor, Doane discloses, providing control to the utility vehicle includes: limiting driving capabilities of the golf car within the areas of the second golf course (Doane: [0027]), for the benefit of preventing undesirable damage to course features which are costly to maintain and repair.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Fawaz to apply course maneuvering taught by Doane. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent undesirable damage to course features which are costly to maintain and repair.
REGARDING CLAIM 10, Fawaz, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 9, and further, Doane also discloses, limiting the driving capabilities of the golf car includes: based on the geofencing data within the geofencing data repository, disabling a propulsion system of the golf car in response to the golf car reaching boundaries of particular areas of the second golf course (Doane: [0027]; [0033]; [0143]).
REGARDING CLAIM 11, Fawaz, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 9, and further, Doane also discloses, limiting the driving capabilities of the golf car includes: based on the geofencing data within the geofencing data repository, slowing a propulsion system of the golf car in response to the golf car reaching boundaries of particular areas of the second golf course (Doane: [0027]; [0076]).
REGARDING CLAIM 12, Fawaz, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 9, and further, Doane also discloses, communicating the geolocation indicated by the GPS output to a remote golf car management server (Doane: [0011]; [0030]).
REGARDING CLAIM 13, Fawaz discloses, a utility vehicle body (Fawaz: [0043] Vehicle 12 is depicted in the illustrated embodiment as a passenger car, but it should be appreciated that any other vehicle including motorcycles, trucks, sports utility vehicles (SUVs), recreational vehicles (RVs), marine vessels, aircraft, etc.); a propulsion system supported by the utility vehicle body (Fawaz: [0043]); and a utility vehicle control device coupled with the propulsion system (Fawaz: [0047]), the utility vehicle control device including: global position system (GPS) circuitry (Fawaz: [0047]), a geofencing data repository (Fawaz: [0030]), and utility vehicle control circuitry coupled with the GPS circuitry and the geofencing data repository (Fawaz: [ABS]; [0059]), the utility vehicle control circuitry being constructed and arranged to: receive, from the GPS circuitry, GPS output that indicates a geolocation (Fawaz: [0059-0060]); update geofencing data within the geofencing data repository (Fawaz: [0040]; [0045]; [0059-0062]) based on the GPS output that indicates the geolocation (Fawaz: [0010]); and after updating the geofencing data (Fawaz: [0019]; [0059-0062]), provide control to the propulsion system of the utility vehicle based on the geofencing data within the geofencing data repository (Fawaz: [ABS]; [0059]); wherein the GPS output that indicates the geolocation identifies a current location of the utility vehicle (Fawaz: [0019]; [0059-0062]); wherein updating the geofencing data within the geofencing data repository includes: based on the current location of the utility vehicle (Fawaz: [0040]; [0045]; [0059-0062]), detecting that the utility vehicle has been removed from a first geo-site that is defined by first geofencing data currently stored within the geofencing data repository (Fawaz: [ABS]; [0059-0062]), and in response to detecting that the utility vehicle has been removed from the first geo-site, placing second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository (Fawaz: [0040]; [0060]); [0065]), the second geofencing data including a data structure that maps geolocation coordinates defining a second geo-site to a set of vehicle control parameters (Fawaz: [0040; [0060]; [0065] ([ABS]; [0059-0062])), the second geo-site being different from the first geo-site (Fawaz: [0065] ([ABS]; [0059-0062])), the current location of the utility vehicle residing within the second geo-site (Fawaz: [0065] ([ABS]; [0059-0062])); wherein the second geofencing data defines areas on a second golf course (Fawaz: [0030]).
The examiner respectfully submits, Fawaz also discloses, wherein the utility vehicle is a golf car constructed and arranged to maneuver over golf course terrain (Fawaz: [0043]); wherein the first geofencing data defines areas on a first golf course (Fawaz: [0030]).
However, should it be found Fawaz fails to disclose, the utility vehicle is a golf car constructed and arranged to maneuver over golf course terrain; wherein the first geofencing data defines areas on a first golf course, in the same field of endeavor, Doane discloses, the utility vehicle is a golf car constructed and arranged to maneuver over golf course terrain (Doane: [0027]); wherein the first geofencing data defines areas on a first golf course (Doane: [0027]), for the benefit of preventing undesirable damage to course features which are costly to maintain and repair.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Fawaz to extend to limiting vehicle operations based on location to golf courses taught by Doane. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent undesirable damage to course features which are costly to maintain and repair.
Fawaz, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, wherein placing the second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository includes: automatically removing the first geofencing data from the geofencing data repository and storing the second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository in place of the first geofencing data.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hsieh discloses, wherein placing the second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository includes: automatically removing the first geofencing data from the geofencing data repository and storing the second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository in place of the first geofencing data (Hsieh: [0007]), for the benefit of determining what files should be stored or removed in order to appropriately manage system memory to allow the system to operate as efficiently as possible.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Fawaz to erase and replace taught by Hsieh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to efficiently use storage space.
REGARDING CLAIM 14, Fawaz, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 13, and further, Fawaz discloses, providing control to the propulsion system of the utility vehicle includes: limiting driving capabilities of the golf car within the areas of the second golf course (Fawaz: a second geographic region may disallow the certain vehicle functions to be controlled or carried out).
However, should it be found Fawaz fails to disclose, providing control to the propulsion system of the utility vehicle includes: limiting driving capabilities of the golf car within the areas of the second golf course, Doane discloses, providing control to the propulsion system of the utility vehicle includes: limiting driving capabilities of the golf car within the areas of the second golf course (Doane: [0013]; [0027]), for the benefit of preventing undesirable damage to course features which are costly to maintain and repair.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Fawaz to apply course maneuvering taught by Doane. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent undesirable damage to course features which are costly to maintain and repair.
REGARDING CLAIM 15, Fawaz, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 14, and further, Fawaz also discloses, the GPS output that indicates the geolocation (Fawaz: [0019]; [0059-0062]) identifies, as the current location of the utility vehicle, a current location of the golf car (Fawaz: [ABS]; [0019]; [0059-0062]); wherein detecting that the utility vehicle has been removed from the first geo-site includes detecting that the golf car has been moved from the first golf course to the second golf course (Fawaz: [ABS]; [0019]; [0059-0062]), (Fawaz: [ABS]; [0019]; [0059-0062]).
Fawaz does not explicitly recite the terminology "golf course". However, Fawaz discloses different geographical regions. Which, the examiner respectfully submits, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, is a parallel teaching and is parallel in service and result as a method for controlling a vehicle based on geo-location.
REGARDING CLAIM 19, Fawaz discloses, receiving, from the GPS circuitry, GPS output that indicates a geolocation (Fawaz: [0045]); updating geofencing data within the geofencing data repository (Fawaz: [0040]; [0045]; [0059-0062]) based on the GPS output that indicates the geolocation (Fawaz: [0010]); and after updating the geofencing data (Fawaz: [0019]; [0059-0062]), providing control to the utility vehicle based on the geofencing data within the geofencing data repository (Fawaz: [ABS]; [0059]); wherein the GPS output that indicates the geolocation identifies a current location of the utility vehicle (Fawaz: [0019]; [0059-0062]); wherein updating the geofencing data within the geofencing data repository includes: based on the current location of the utility vehicle (Fawaz: [0040]; [0045]; [0059-0062]), detecting that the utility vehicle has been removed from a first geo-site that is defined by first geofencing data currently stored within the geofencing data repository (Fawaz: [ABS]; [0059-0062]), and in response to detecting that the utility vehicle has been removed from the first geo-site, placing second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository (Fawaz: [0040]; [0060] (examiner: see figure 1, wherein 38 is an onboard memory); [0065]), the second geofencing data including a data structure that maps geolocation coordinates defining a second geo-site to a set of vehicle control parameters (Fawaz: [0040]; [0060]; [0065] ([ABS]; [0059-0062])), the second geo-site being different from the first geo-site (Fawaz: [0065] ([ABS]; [0059-0062])), the current location of the utility vehicle residing within the second geo-site (Fawaz: [0065] ([ABS]; [0059-0062])); wherein the second geofencing data defines areas on a second golf course (Fawaz: [0030]).
The examiner respectfully submits, Fawaz also discloses, wherein the utility vehicle is a golf car constructed and arranged to maneuver over golf course terrain (Fawaz: [0043]); wherein the first geofencing data defines areas on a first golf course (Fawaz: [0030]).
However, should it be found Fawaz fails to disclose, the utility vehicle is a golf car constructed and arranged to maneuver over golf course terrain; wherein the first geofencing data defines areas on a first golf course, in the same field of endeavor, Doane discloses, the utility vehicle is a golf car constructed and arranged to maneuver over golf course terrain (Doane: [0027]); wherein the first geofencing data defines areas on a first golf course (Doane: [0027]), for the benefit of preventing undesirable damage to course features which are costly to maintain and repair.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Fawaz to extend to limiting vehicle operations based on location to golf courses taught by Doane. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent undesirable damage to course features which are costly to maintain and repair.
Fawaz, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, wherein placing the second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository includes: automatically removing the first geofencing data from the geofencing data repository and storing the second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository in place of the first geofencing data.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hsieh discloses, wherein placing the second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository includes: automatically removing the first geofencing data from the geofencing data repository and storing the second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository in place of the first geofencing data (Hsieh: [0007]), for the benefit of determining what files should be stored or removed in order to appropriately manage system memory to allow the system to operate as efficiently as possible.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Fawaz to erase and replace taught by Hsieh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to efficiently use storage space.
REGARDING CLAIM 22, Fawaz, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Fawaz also discloses, after the utility vehicle has been turned off while the first geofencing data that defines the areas on the first golf course is stored in the geofencing data repository, being turned on to sense that the utility vehicle has been moved to the second golf course and is no longer on the first golf course (Fawaz: [0020]; [0040]; [0045]; [0059-0065]).
To the examiner's best understanding, and under the broadest reasonable interpretation, "after the utility vehicle has been turned off while the first geofencing data that defines the areas on the first golf course is stored in the geofencing data repository, being turned on to sense that the utility vehicle has been moved to the second golf course and is no longer on the first golf course" discloses an awareness of location and a beginning of a process for updating geofencing data when a vehicle is powered, same as a vehicle that has changed regions without being powered down. Specifically, the vehicle disclosed by Fawaz (US 20190143996 A1), as cited above regarding claim 1 limitations "based on the current location of the utility vehicle, detecting that the utility vehicle has been removed from a first geo-site that is defined by first geofencing data ... in response to detecting that the utility vehicle has been removed from the first geo-site, placing second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository".
REGARDING CLAIM 23, Fawaz, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Fawaz also discloses, the first geofencing data (i) defines a first permitted area on the first golf course (Fawaz: [0002] a first geographic region may allow certain vehicle functions … a second geographic region may disallow the certain vehicle functions; [0013] wherein the vehicle function is a first one of the plurality of vehicle functions), (ii) permits the golf car to move in the forward direction within the first permitted area (Fawaz: [0002] a first geographic region may allow certain vehicle functions … a second geographic region may disallow the certain vehicle functions; [0013] wherein the vehicle function is a first one of the plurality of vehicle functions), (iii) further defines a first restricted area on the first golf course (Fawaz: [0002] a first geographic region may allow certain vehicle functions … a second geographic region may disallow the certain vehicle functions; [0013] wherein the vehicle function is a first one of the plurality of vehicle functions), and (iv) prevents the golf car from moving in the forward direction within the first restricted area (Fawaz: [0002] a first geographic region may allow certain vehicle functions … a second geographic region may disallow the certain vehicle functions; [0013] wherein the vehicle function is a first one of the plurality of vehicle functions).
The examiner respectfully submits that the prior art of Fawaz (US 20190143996 A1) discloses a plurality of regions with respective operating parameters. Further, while Fawaz does not explicitly recite the above terminology of golf places and golf equipment, the examiner respectfully submits that the method of Fawaz can be applied to a golfing things.
However, should it be found that Fawaz needs to disclose the golf stuffs, Doane discloses, “[0004] determine if the robotic caddy is in or moving toward an unacceptable or unauthorized location; [0026] golf course map information, golf course topography, restricted or unsafe areas for purposes of geofencing, golf path info”, for the benefit of preventing undesirable damage to course features which are costly to maintain and repair.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Fawaz to extend to limiting vehicle operations based on location to golf courses taught by Doane. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent undesirable damage to course features which are costly to maintain and repair.
REGARDING CLAIM 24, Fawaz, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Fawaz also discloses, the second geofencing data (i) defines a second permitted area on the second golf course (Fawaz: [0002] a first geographic region may allow certain vehicle functions … a second geographic region may disallow the certain vehicle functions; [0013] wherein the vehicle function is a first one of the plurality of vehicle functions), (ii) permits the golf car to move in the forward direction within the second permitted area (Fawaz: [0002] a first geographic region may allow certain vehicle functions … a second geographic region may disallow the certain vehicle functions; [0013] wherein the vehicle function is a first one of the plurality of vehicle functions), (iii) further defines a second restricted area on the second golf course (Fawaz: [0002] a first geographic region may allow certain vehicle functions … a second geographic region may disallow the certain vehicle functions; [0013] wherein the vehicle function is a first one of the plurality of vehicle functions), and (iv) prevents the golf car from moving in the forward direction within the second restricted area (Fawaz: [0002] a first geographic region may allow certain vehicle functions … a second geographic region may disallow the certain vehicle functions; [0013] wherein the vehicle function is a first one of the plurality of vehicle functions).
The examiner respectfully submits that the prior art of Fawaz (US 20190143996 A1) discloses a plurality of regions with respective operating parameters. Further, while Fawaz does not explicitly recite the above terminology of golf places and golf equipment, the examiner respectfully submits that the method of Fawaz can be applied to a golfing things.
However, should it be found that Fawaz needs to disclose the golf stuffs, Doane discloses, “[0004] determine if the robotic caddy is in or moving toward an unacceptable or unauthorized location; [0026] golf course map information, golf course topography, restricted or unsafe areas for purposes of geofencing, golf path info”, for the benefit of preventing undesirable damage to course features which are costly to maintain and repair.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Fawaz to extend to limiting vehicle operations based on location to golf courses taught by Doane. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent undesirable damage to course features which are costly to maintain and repair.
REGARDING CLAIM 25, Fawaz, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Fawaz also discloses, the first geofencing data further permits the golf car to move in reverse within the first restricted area; and wherein the second geofencing data further permits the golf car to move in reverse within the second restricted area (Fawaz: [0002] a first geographic region may allow certain vehicle functions … a second geographic region may disallow the certain vehicle functions; [0013] wherein the vehicle function is a first one of the plurality of vehicle functions).
The examiner respectfully submits that the prior art of Fawaz (US 20190143996 A1) discloses a plurality of regions with respective operating parameters. Further, while Fawaz does not explicitly recite the above terminology of golf places and golf equipment, the examiner respectfully submits that the method of Fawaz can be applied to a golfing things.
However, should it be found that Fawaz needs to disclose the golf stuffs, Doane discloses, “[0004] determine if the robotic caddy is in or moving toward an unacceptable or unauthorized location; [0026] golf course map information, golf course topography, restricted or unsafe areas for purposes of geofencing, golf path info”, for the benefit of preventing undesirable damage to course features which are costly to maintain and repair.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Fawaz to extend to limiting vehicle operations based on location to golf courses taught by Doane. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent undesirable damage to course features which are costly to maintain and repair.
Claim(s) 7 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fawaz (US 20190143996 A1) in view of Doane (US 20180173223 A1) and Hsieh (US 20060187717 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hodge (US 20220237996 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 7, Fawaz, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Fawaz, discloses rewriting of data. Fawaz, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, placing the second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository includes: automatically removing the first geofencing data from the geofencing data repository and storing the second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository in place of the first geofencing data.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hodge discloses, placing the second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository includes: automatically removing the first geofencing data from the geofencing data repository and storing the second geofencing data within the geofencing data repository in place of the first geofencing data (Hodge: [0059]), for the benefit of ensuring efficient utilization of system memory resources so as to allow a system to operate unburdened by obsolete information.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Fawaz to include removing excess data taught by Hodge. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure efficient utilization of system memory resources so as to allow a system to operate unburdened by obsolete information.
REGARDING CLAIM 17, Fawaz, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 16, and further, Fawaz also discloses, detecting that the golf car has been removed from the first golf course site includes: performing a golf course site comparison operation that compares the current location of the golf car to the first golf course site that is defined by the first geofencing data, the golf course site comparison operation being configured to provide (i) a first result indicating that the first geofencing data is valid when the current location of the golf car resides within the first golf course site, and (ii) a second result indicating that the first geofencing data is invalid when the current location of the golf car does not reside within the first golf course site (Fawaz: [ABS]; [0019]; [0059-0062]).
Fawaz does not explicitly recite the terminology "golf course". However, Fawaz discloses different geographical regions and resolving a current location. Which, the examiner respectfully submits, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, is a parallel teaching and is parallel in service and result as a method for controlling a vehicle based on geo-location.
REGARDING CLAIM 18, Fawaz, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 16, and further, Fawaz also discloses, detecting that the golf car has been removed from the first golf course site includes: based on the current location of the utility vehicle, performing a geofencing data lookup operation that identifies target geofencing data from a geofencing data lookup table; and performing a geofencing data comparison operation that compares the target geofencing data to the first geofencing data currently stored within the geofencing data repository, a result of the geofencing data comparison operation indicating whether the target geofencing data matches the first geofencing data (Fawaz: [0030]; [0060]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11-18-2025, beginning on page 14, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. To the examiner’s best understanding, the applicant is arguing the location the method of Fawaz (US 20190143996 A1) is applied, but not the method steps and what the applied method is. Fawaz discloses limiting vehicle functionality based upon geo-fencing from region to region, e.g., city to city. Wherein the instant application is related to vehicle functionality on different golf courses. The examiner respectfully submits, expanding or contracting geo-fencing geographically does not overcome the geo-fencing method steps. Geo-fencing applied to a vehicle that travels from city to city and modifying vehicle operations as regions change is parallel to modifying a golf cart’s operations as the golf cart is moved to different courses. To the examiner’s best understanding, the applicant’s amendments placed emphasis on the method application environment of a golf course and the rewriting/over writing of data. The examiner respectfully submits, as cited above, Fawaz (US 20190143996 A1) discloses an awareness of a vehicle region (see applied art in claim 1) based upon gps signal data (see applied art in claim 1); upon recognizing the vehicle is in a new/different region (geo-fence), the vehicle retrieves operation parameters for the detected region from a database (see claim 1); and operates accordingly. As cited above, Doane (US 20180173223 A1) and Hsieh (US 20060187717 A1) are relied upon for disclosing a golf vehicle and overwriting data. However, to the examiner’s best understanding, the crux of the invention is operating a vehicle with different parameters in a corresponding different region based upon location data and operating parameters stored in a database. Because the prior art of Fawaz (US 20190143996 A1) in view of Doane (US 20180173223 A1) and Hsieh (US 20060187717 A1) disclose that which is claimed, the examiner respectfully maintains the rejection of the independent claims under 35 USC §103, obviousness.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: the prior art below are autonomous lawnmowers that operate in a plurality of zones and have different operating parameters for the different regions.
Balutis (US 20160174459 A1)
Ouyang (US 20120290165 A1)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663