Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 02/12/2026 (“AMSB”), in which: claims 1, 10 – 12, and 21 are amended; no claims are cancelled; no new claims are added; and the rejection of the claims are traversed. Claims 1 – 15 and 21 – 25 are currently pending an Office action on the merits as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 15 and 21 – 25 currently pending, have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Rejections
Examiner Remarks
Regarding the reference Chen et al. (US 20200395254 A1), examiner notes that Chen discloses in at least [0042] that the arrangement, material and forming method of the second die 201 are similar to the arrangement, material and forming method of the first die 101; such that reference is made to methods discussed to a first embodiment of Chen’s invention, but it is established by Chen that those methods are applicable to the embodiment shown in Fig. 2A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20200395254 A1), and further in view of Lu et al. (US 20210366765 A1), and Kim et al. (US 20200066683 A1).
Regarding independent Claim 1, Chen teaches a device, comprising:
an interconnect structure (Fig. 2A; interconnect structure 204) that includes at least a first interconnect element (Fig. 2A; metal feature 208a) and a second interconnect element (Fig. 2A; metal feature 208b);
a conductive pad layer (Fig. 2A; pad 222) disposed over, and electrically coupled to, the first interconnect element (Fig. 2A shows coupling of pad 222 with metal feature 208a), … -and wherein the conductive pad layer defines a recess (Fig. 2A shows via plug 234 connected to pad 222 such that the via plug 234 extends into a recess of defined by the pad 222);
a capping layer (Fig. 2A; protective layer 225) disposed over the conductive pad layer (Fig. 2A), …
a dielectric layer (Fig. 2A; bonding dielectric material 230a) disposed over the capping layer (Fig. 2A) …
a conductive contact (Fig. 2A; via plug 234) that extends vertically through at least a first portion of the dielectric layer (Fig. 2A; portion of bonding dielectric material 230a wherein via plug 234 extends vertically through is considered by the examiner to be a first portion of the dielectric layer) and the capping layer (Fig. 2A), wherein at least a portion of the conductive contact is disposed within the recess defined by the conductive pad layer (Fig. 2A shows at least a portion of the conductive contact, i.e., a portion of via plug 234, disposed in the recess of the pad 222), and wherein the conductive contact is coupled to the first interconnect element through the conductive pad layer (Fig. 2A); and
a conductive via (Fig. 2A; via plug 244) that extends vertically through at least a second portion of the dielectric layer (Fig. 2A; portion of bonding dielectric material 230a wherein via plug 244 extends vertically through is considered by the examiner to be a second portion of the dielectric layer), wherein the conductive via is coupled to the second interconnect element (Fig. 2A).
However, Chen remains silent regarding the device wherein:
… wherein at least a portion of the conductive pad layer is doped with silicon or ruthenium, …
wherein the capping layer includes titanium nitride (TiN) or oxygen-doped TiN; …
the dielectric layer disposed over the capping layer… and partially filling the recess, wherein the dielectric layer includes silicon oxide or silicon oxycarbide;
However, regarding a capping layer, Chen discloses a barrier layer (not shown) in at least [0018] and [0035]; wherein Chen discloses that prevents the flow of material ([0018]), which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand to be a capping layer. Through Chen’s discussion of residues 223 (at least [0049]), one of ordinary skill in the art would find a capping layer (which was configured and materially designed to block the flow of material) to be beneficial for preserving the state of resistance for the pad 222. Such that substituting Chen’s protective layer 225 for Chen’s barrier layer would have been trivial and readily obvious. Further, Chen discloses a suitable material for their barrier layer to be titanium nitride.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Chen’s protective layer to include materials disclosed for Chen’s barrier layer in [0018], because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Chen’s protective layer and Chen’s barrier layer perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being to protect the pad 222. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself - that is in the substitution of Chen’s materials, at least partially as the protective layer may be multiple layers as disclosed in [0028], for the protective layer by replacing it with materials disclosed for Chen’s barrier layer, e.g., titanium nitride. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Lu (US 20210366765 A1) teaches a structure (Figs. 8 – 11) wherein a conductive via 100 meets a first copper fill layer 103 with a recess (Fig. 8; cavity 113) of a first copper fill layer 103. Due to the shape of the via 100 and the width of the cavity 113, Lu’s second interconnect-level dielectric layers 124b is partially filling the recess in the same way the examiner understands the instant dielectric layer to fill the instant recess (e.g., instant Figs. 15 – 21). Lu teaches that such a relative cavity width further reduces void formation when extending metal structures ([0043]). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this structure to help with the alignment/placement/formation of the via 100, which is applicable to Chen. Lu also teaches silicon oxide, i.e., silicon oxide, for the bulk material, i.e., second interconnect-level dielectric layer 124b; thus, Lu teaches wherein the dielectric layer includes silicon oxide or silicon oxycarbide.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Chen to include Lu’s cavity width feature such that the dielectric layer disposed over the capping layer is partially filling the recess, wherein the dielectric layer includes silicon oxide or silicon oxycarbide, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Lu’s second interconnect-level dielectric layer 124b is comparable to Chen’s dielectric layer because of similar materials; and Lu’s cavity is comparable to Chen’s extension of the pad via into the interconnect structure. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chen’s semiconductor device to include Lu’s cavity width feature such that the dielectric layer disposed over the capping layer is partially filling the recess, wherein the dielectric layer includes silicon oxide or silicon oxycarbide with the predictable result of helping with the alignment, placement, and/or formation of a via.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses landing pads, e.g., first lower landing pad 171 and second lower land pad 176, which may include a combination of materials, e.g., ruthenium (Ru) and/or doped polysilicon ([0112]). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize these materials, e.g., wherein at least a portion of the conductive pad layer is doped with silicon or ruthenium, to be suitable for the construction of Chen’s conductive pad layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Chen’s conductive pad layer to include doping with silicon or ruthenium, as disclosed by Kim, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Chen’s conductive pad layer as modified by Kim’s conductive pad layer material can yield a predictable result of optimizing the resistance of the conductive pad layer since doping the conductive pad layer will alter the resistance thereof. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent Claim 5, Chen, further in view of Lu and Kim, teach the device of claim 1, further comprising
a sidewall capping layer that is disposed on side surfaces of at least the conductive pad layer.
This feature is naturally yielded through the substitution of Chen’s protective layer 225 with Chen’s barrier layer, because the substitution is to modify the material for function, but not the shape of the layer to be substituted. Thus, the layer substituted into the device is not required to differ in shape and would cover a side surface of the conductive pad layer.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20200395254 A1), and further in view of Lu et al. (US 20210366765 A1), Kim et al. (US 20200066683 A1), and Newell et al. (US 9829710 B1).
Regarding dependent Claim 2, Chen, further in view of Lu and Kim, teach the device of claim 1; however, Chen remains silent on the device further comprising:
a pixel disposed over the dielectric layer and over the conductive via, wherein the pixel is electrically coupled to the second interconnect element through the conductive via.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Newell discloses in Fig. 4 an interconnect structure comprising at least input terminal 418, solder bumps 432, and matching pads 430 that connects pixels 406 to control logic layer substrate 42; wherein the pixels 406 are connected to the interconnect structure by through-silicon vias (TSVs) 416. Examiner asserts that Chen’s via plug 244 is analogous to Newell’s TSVs 416; such that Newell’s pixels may be readily combined to the device disclosed by Chen and Kim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Chen’s device to include a pixel disposed over the dielectric layer and over the conductive via, wherein the pixel is electrically coupled to the second interconnect element through the conductive via, as disclosed by Newell, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Chen’s device as modified by Newell’s disclosure of a pixel disposed over the dielectric layer and over the conductive via, wherein the pixel is electrically coupled to the second interconnect element through the conductive via can yield a predictable result of connecting the pixel to circuity in the lower substrate of the device since the interconnection element connects the pixel to the circuity in the lower substrate of the device. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20200395254 A1), and further in view of Lu et al. (US 20210366765 A1), Kim et al. (US 20200066683 A1), and Chiu et al. (US 20140225258 A1).
Regarding dependent Claim 3, Chen, further in view of Lu and Kim, teach the device of claim 1; however, Chen remains silent regarding the device of claim 1 further comprising:
an etch stop layer disposed over the interconnect structure; …
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chiu discloses an interconnecting structure 30 (Fig. 2F), including metal lines 36, i.e., first and second interconnect elements. Further, Chiu discloses an etch stop layer 32 over the interconnecting structure 30 (Fig. 2F).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Chen’s device to include an etch stop layer disposed over the interconnect structure, as disclosed by Chiu, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Chen’s device as modified by Chiu’s etch stop layer can yield a predictable result of protecting the interconnect structure during device manufacturing since without etch selectivity, device components may be damaged. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Chen, further in view of Lu, Kim, and Chiu, teach the device further comprising:
… a passivation layer (Chen: Fig. 2A; passivation layer 210) disposed over the etch stop layer (Yielded through the combination with Chiu. See Fig. 2E of Chiu wherein passivation layer 22 is formed over etch stop layer 32), wherein the passivation layer is disposed below the dielectric layer (Chen: Fig. 2A shows bonding dielectric material 230a over passivation layer 210);
a diffusion barrier layer (Chen: [0042] teaches that the arrangement, material and forming method of the second die 201 are similar to the arrangement, material and forming method of the first die 101. Thus, the barrier layer discussed in [0018] may be applied to the embodiment shown in Fig. 2A. Further, [0018] discusses that the barrier layer is configured to stop the flow of material from the metal features, i.e., first and second interconnect elements; therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the most effective and direct structure to achieve this configuration would be for the first and second interconnect elements being in direct contact with the barrier layer) …
However, Chen remains silent wherein:
the diffusion barrier layer … disposed between the passivation layer and the conductive pad layer; and …
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chiu teaches in [0045] that at least a barrier layer may be formed in an opening 60 (Fig. 2E) and along the passivation layer 22. Further, Chiu teaches a conductive material 66, i.e., a conductive pad layer, that connects to Chiu’s interconnect element 36, e.g., a first interconnect element as shown in Fig. 2F. Thus, Chiu discloses the diffusion barrier layer disposed between the passivation layer and the conductive pad layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Chen’s device to include the diffusion barrier layer disposed between the passivation layer and the conductive pad layer, as disclosed by Chiu, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Chen’s device as modified by Chiu’s inclusion of a diffusion barrier layer disposed between the passivation layer and the conductive pad layer can yield a predictable result of preventing the flow of material between the passivation layer and the conductive pad layer since Chiu’s diffusion barrier layer is configured and materially designed to halt the flow of material. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Chen, further in view of Lu, Kim, and Chiu, teach the device further comprising:
… the conductive via extends vertically through the passivation layer and the diffusion barrier layer without extending vertically through the etch stop layer (Yielded through the combination of Chen and Chiu as detailed above).
Claims 4, 7 – 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20200395254 A1), and further in view of Lu et al. (US 20210366765 A1), Kim et al. (US 20200066683 A1), and Banno et al. (US 20160359110 A1).
Regarding dependent Claim 4, Chen, further in view of Lu and Kim, teach the device of claim 1, wherein
the conductive pad layer includes aluminum that is doped with silicon or aluminum that is doped with ruthenium (Kim: discloses the material for their conductive pads in [0112] which allows for this combination of materials).
However, in the same field of endeavor, examiner believes that the disclosure of Banno demonstrates a conductive pad layer, disclosed as upper electrode 61, with materials that is more aligned with the applicant’s inventive intent. Banno discloses that upper electrode 61 includes first upper electrode layer 61a; wherein first upper electrode layer 61 may include the use of a ruthenium alloy with aluminum ([0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the material for conductive pad layer of Chen, further in view of Kim, to include the conductive pad layer materials disclosed by Banno, because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, the conductive pad layer of Chen, further in view of Kim, and Banno’s conductive pad layer perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being to connect elements above the pad to the interconnect structure. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself - that is in the substitution of the materials for Chen’s conductive pad layer, further in view of Kim, by replacing it with Banno’s conductive pad layer material. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent Claim 7, Chen, further in view of Lu and Kim, teach the device of claim 1; however, Chen does not necessarily disclose the applicant’s intent wherein:
the conductive pad layer is a first conductive pad layer;
the device further comprises a second conductive pad layer disposed between the first interconnect element and the first conductive pad layer; and
the first conductive pad layer and the second conductive pad layer have different material compositions.
While Chen may disclose the above features in a broad and reasonable interpretation, examiner believes that Kim’s device shown in Fig. 6 of their disclosure is more aligned with the applicant’s inventive intent.
Kim discloses in Fig. 6 a first wiring structure 180, which functions as conductive pads such that Kim discloses:
the conductive pad layer is a first conductive pad layer (Kim: Fig. 6; top metal structure in the first wiring structure 180 is interpreted by the examiner to be a first conductive pad layer);
the device further comprises a second conductive pad layer (Kim: Fig. 6; top metal structure in the first wiring structure 180 is interpreted by the examiner to be a first conductive pad layer) disposed between the first interconnect element and the first conductive pad layer (E.g., lower source/drain contact 170); and …
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Chen’s conductive pad layer’s structure to include Kim’s double conductive pad layer structure, because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify Chen’s conductive pad layer’s structure to include Kim’s double conductive pad layer structure is implicitly provided by Kim in [0117], stating that additional wirings or vias may be formed from the first wiring structure 180, conductive pad layer including a first conductive pad layer and a second conductive pad layer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Chen’s conductive pad layer’s structure to include Kim’s double conductive pad layer structure with the motivation of including additional wiring therefrom. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of being able to form a plurality of wiring from the double pad structure.
However, Kim does not teach that the first conductive pad layer and the second conductive pad layer have different material compositions.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Banno teaches a similar double conductive pad structure in Fig. 8C; wherein examiner is interpreting an upper electrode 61 to be a first conductive pad layer and a variable resistance layer 58 to be a second conductive pad layer. Variable resistance layer 58 is taught to be an insulating material (at least [0111] and [0113]) doped to be conductive (at least [0110]), wherein the dopant is copper (at least [0107] and [0109]); and the upper electrode 61 materials are discussed in at least [0118] – [0119], [0121], and [0125]. As discussed by Banno, the first conductive pad layer and the second conductive pad layer have different material compositions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the material for the double conductive pad layer of Chen, further in view of Kim, to include different materials, as disclosed by Banno, because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, the double conductive pad of Chen, further in view of Kim, and Banno’s double conductive pad perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being to connect elements above the pad to the interconnect structure. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself - that is in the substitution of the conductive pad of Chen, further in view of Kim, by replacing it with Banno’s double conductive pad. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent Claim 8, Chen, further in view of Lu, Kim, and Banno, teach device of claim 7, wherein:
the first conductive pad layer includes aluminum that is doped with silicon or aluminum that is doped with ruthenium (Banno: [0118] – [0119] and [0121]), and the second conductive pad layer includes aluminum that is doped with copper (Banno: [0113], [0110], [0107], and [0109]); or
the first conductive pad layer includes aluminum that is doped with copper, and the second conductive pad layer includes aluminum that is doped with silicon or aluminum that is doped with ruthenium.
Regarding dependent Claim 9, Chen, further in view of Lu, Kim, teach device of claim 1; however, Chen remains silent wherein:
the capping layer is a first capping layer;
the device further comprises a second capping layer disposed over the first capping layer; and
the second capping layer has a dielectric material composition.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Banno teaches a conductive pad layer comprising upper electrode 61 and variable resistance layer 58. Further in Fig. 8D, Banno teaches barrier metal film 70, i.e., a first capping layer, and a barrier insulation film 71, i.e., a second capping layer, disposed over the first capping layer; wherein the second capping layer has a dielectric material composition.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Chen’s device to include a first capping layer and a second capping layer disposed over the first capping layer, wherein the second capping layer has a dielectric material composition, as disclosed by Banno, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Chen’s device as modified by Banno’s first capping layer and second capping layer disposed over the first capping layer, wherein the second capping layer has a dielectric material composition can yield a predictable result of protecting the electrical properties of the conductive pad layer since the capping layers block the flow of materials that may alter the conductive pad layer’s resistance and the capping layers also function to insulate the conductive pad layer. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent Claim 15, Chen, further in view of Lu and Kim, teach the device of claim 1; however, Chen remains silent wherein:
the conductive pad layer is a first conductive pad layer; and
the device further comprises a second conductive pad layer that is disposed directly above or directly below the first conductive pad layer, the second conductive pad layer including aluminum that is doped with copper.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Banno teaches a similar double conductive pad structure in Fig. 8C; wherein examiner is interpreting an upper electrode 61 to be a first conductive pad layer and a variable resistance layer 58 to be a second conductive pad layer. Variable resistance layer 58 is taught to include second ion conductive layer 58b, wherein, in at least [0113], second ion conductive layer 58b may include aluminum. Further, in at least [0107], [0109], and [0110], second ion conductive layer 58b may include copper as a dopant. Thus, Banno discloses the feature wherein the device further comprises a second conductive pad layer that is disposed directly above or directly below the first conductive pad layer, the second conductive pad layer including aluminum that is doped with copper.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the material for conductive pad layer of Chen, further in view of Kim, to include a double conductive pad layer structure with the materials disclosed by Banno, because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, the conductive pad of Chen, further in view of Kim, and Banno’s double conductive pad perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being to connect elements above the pad to the interconnect structure. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself - that is in the substitution of the conductive pad of Chen, further in view of Kim, by replacing it with Banno’s double conductive pad. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20200395254 A1), and further in view Lu et al. (US 20210366765 A1), Kim et al. (US 20200066683 A1), and Call et al. (US 10607928 B1).
Regarding dependent Claim 6, Chen, further in view of Lu and Kim, teach the device of claim 1; however, Chen remains silent wherein:
a side surface of the conductive pad layer is tapered.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Call discloses tapered contact pads 200 wherein side surfaces are chamfered (at least Figs. 2A – 2B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the shape of Chen’s conductive pad layer to include tapered sides, as disclosed by Call, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Call’s tapered conducive pad layer is comparable to Chen’s conductive pad layer because they function to connect device elements to each other. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the shape of Chen’s conductive pad layer to include Call’s disclosed tapered shape with the predictable result of increasing/decreasing (depending on the angle of the cut) the conductive pad layer’s exposed area wherein connections can be made.
Claims 10 and 13 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (US 20210327951 A1), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20230170252 A1), Banno et al. (US 20160359110 A1), and Li et al. (US 20230354680 A1).
Regarding independent Claim 10, Liao teaches a device, comprising:
an interconnect structure (Fig. 14; metallization layers 410) that includes at least a first interconnect element (Fig. 14; lateral conductive structure 412 of pixel region 203A) and a second interconnect element (Fig. 14; lateral conductive structure 412 of pad region 203B);
an etch stop layer formed over the interconnect structure (Figs. 4 and 14; nitride layer 402), wherein a portion of a bottom surface of the etch stop layer is in direct contact with the first interconnection element or over the second interconnection element (Liao shows the alternative “a portion of a bottom surface of the etch stop layer is … or over the second interconnection element” in Fig. 14);
a passivation layer formed over the etch stop layer (Fig. 5; passivation layer 506);
a diffusion barrier layer (Liao teaches a diffusion barrier layer in at least [0029]), … is electrically coupled to the first interconnect element ([0029]), …
a conductive pad layer (Fig. 13; one or more pad structures 1200) formed over the diffusion barrier layer (Fig. 14), …
a dielectric layer (Fig. 14; the dielectric layer 1300) …
a conductive contact (Fig. 14; a portion of pad structure 1200 that extends to contact lateral conductive structure 412 of pad region 203B) that extends vertically through at least a first portion of the dielectric layer (Fig. 14) … wherein the conductive contact is electrically coupled to the conductive pad layer (Fig. 14);
a conductive via (Fig. 14; via shown wherein a conductive contact extends through) that extends vertically through at least a second portion of the dielectric layer (Fig. 14), the passivation layer (Fig. 14), and the etch stop layer (Fig. 14), wherein the conductive via is electrically coupled to the second interconnect element (Fig. 14); and
…
However, Liao remains silent regarding the device wherein (bold and underlined for emphasis):
a diffusion barrier layer (Liao teaches a diffusion barrier layer in at least [0029]), wherein a first segment of the diffusion barrier layer at least partially extends through the etch stop layer and is electrically coupled to the first interconnect element ([0029]), and wherein a second segment of the diffusion barrier layer is formed over the passivation layer;
…
wherein the conductive pad layer includes aluminum that is doped with silicon or aluminum that is doped with ruthenium;
a capping layer formed over the conductive pad layer;
a dielectric layer (Fig. 14; the dielectric layer 1300) formed over the capping layer;
a conductive contact (Fig. 14; a portion of pad structure 1200 that extends to contact lateral conductive structure 412 of pad region 203B) that extends vertically through at least a first portion of the dielectric layer and the capping layer,
…
a pixel formed over, and electrically coupled to, the conductive via.
Regarding the diffusion barrier layer, in the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches upper barrier layer 211 (Figs. 2) that extends into a via past an etch stop layer (Fig. 2; first etch stop layer 155). Similar to Liao, Lee includes lower barrier layer 111 that surrounds conductive fill material 113; wherein the conductive fill material 113 is considered analogous to Liao’s second interconnect element. Further, Lee teaches interlayer insulating layer 160 which the examiner understands to be a passivation layer because of the materials taught in at least [0062]. Examiner asserts that Lee teaches a diffusion barrier layer (Fig. 2; upper barrier layer 211), wherein a first segment of the diffusion barrier layer at least partially extends through the etch stop layer (Fig. 2; portion of upper barrier layer 211 that extends through etch stop layer 155) and … wherein a second segment of the diffusion barrier layer is formed over the passivation layer (Fig. 2). Examiner asserts that Lee’s disclosure is similar to Liao as discussed above. Thus, Lee’s teachings may be easily implemented to the device of Liao, wherein Lee offers the teaching of the instant device feature wherein a first segment of the diffusion barrier layer at least partially extends through the etch stop layer and … wherein a second segment of the diffusion barrier layer is formed over the passivation layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Liao’s diffusion barrier layer to at least include Lee’s teaching wherein a first segment of the diffusion barrier layer at least partially extends through the etch stop layer and … wherein a second segment of the diffusion barrier layer is formed over the passivation layer, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Lee’s diffusion barrier layer that fills the trench to contact the interconnect structure is comparable to Liao’s teaching of a barrier layer contacting the interconnect structure because both function as barriers in contact with the interconnect structure. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liao’s diffusion barrier layer to include Lee’s structure wherein a first segment of the diffusion barrier layer at least partially extends through the etch stop layer and … wherein a second segment of the diffusion barrier layer is formed over the passivation layer, with the predictable result of also having a barrier between the interconnect structure and the layers above the interconnect structure.
Further, the examiner understands Lee’s teaching of the lower filling layer’s 113 materials in [0052] to be applicable to upper filling layer 213, i.e., a conductive pad layer; wherein Lee teaches RuAl, an alloy/intermetallic compound that may result from aluminum doped with ruthenium.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Banno teaches an upper electrode 61, i.e., a conductive pad layer, wherein Banno’s upper electrode may include a mixture of aluminum that is doped with ruthenium (Banno: [0118] – [0119] and [0121]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the material for conductive pad layer of Liao to include the conductive pad layer materials disclosed by Banno, because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Liao’s conductive pad layer and Banno’s conductive pad layer perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being to connect elements above the conductive pad layer to the interconnect structure. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself - that is in the substitution of the materials for Liao’s conductive pad layer by replacing it with Banno’s conductive pad layer material. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Further, Banno teaches (Fig. 8D) protection insulation film 64, understood to be a capping layer from at least [0133]; wherein Banno’s capping layer is formed over the conductive pad layer (Figs. 8C-D; see protection insulation film 64 over upper electrode 61, i.e., a conductive pad layer). Examiner asserts it would be obvious to add Banno’s capping layer to the device of Liao and Lee for at least the prevention of material flowing as discussed in Banno’s [0133].
Additionally, combining Banno’s capping layer to the device of Liao and Lee yields the structure wherein a dielectric layer (Liao: Fig. 14; the dielectric layer 1300) formed over the capping layer (yielded through the combination of Liao and Lee, further in view of Banno. See 8D of Banno); a conductive contact (Liao: Fig. 14; a portion of pad structure 1200 that extends to contact lateral conductive structure 412 of pad region 203B) that extends vertically through at least a first portion of the dielectric layer and the capping layer (yielded through the combination of Liao and Lee, further in view of Banno. See 8D of Banno).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of Liao and Lee to include Banno’s capping layer, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the device of Liao and Lee as modified by Banno’s capping layer can yield a predictable result of preventing the flow of material past the capping layer since that is the known function of a capping layer. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Last, in a related field of endeavor, Li teaches a display/image sensor combination device (e.g., Figs. 2B); wherein a via VA and a connection electrode 1043 connect a light-emitting device EM, i.e., a pixel, through a multitude of layers to a circuit layer 102, analogous to Liao’s application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) and/or a silicon-on-chip (SoC) 420. Li teaches an image sensor portion of their device which makes it similar to Liao’s pixel region 203A (which the examiner understands to be photodiodes, see [0023]). Examiner understands the inventive concept of Liao to be forming an image sensing device with interconnection structures that allow additional connective features to be added; wherein Li’s inventive concept aligns with forming an image sensing with interconnection structures. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art may form an image device that includes light emitting pixels using the connective teachings of Liao with the connected structures, i.e., pixels, of Li; wherein the suggested combination yields a pixel formed over, and electrically coupled to, the conductive via.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Liao’s device to include light emitting devices including pixels to form a known display/image sensor device, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Li’s display/image sensor device is comparable to Liao’s image sensor device because both use interconnect elements to form the devices (e.g., image sensor and pixels) over circuit layers/interconnect structures. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liao’s device to include light emitting devices including pixels with the predictable result of forming a known display/image sensor device.
Regarding dependent Claim 13, Liao, further in view of Lee, Banno, and Li, teach the device of claim 10; however, Liao remains silent wherein
the conductive pad layer and the capping layer each have slanted sidewalls.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Banno teaches the conductive pad layer and the capping layer each have slanted sidewalls (at least Fig. 8D). Examiner asserts that applying these shapes would be obvious and make the combination of Banno to Liao easier implement by incorporating the slanted sidewall shapes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the shape of Liao’s conductive pad layer to include tapered sides, as disclosed by Banno, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Banno’s tapered conducive pad layer is comparable to Liao’s conductive pad layer because they function to connect device elements to each other. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the shape of Liao’s conductive pad layer to include tapered sides, as disclosed by Banno, with the predictable result of increasing/decreasing (depending on the angle of the cut) the conductive pad layer’s exposed area wherein connections can be made.
Regarding dependent Claim 14, Liao, further in view of Lee, Banno, and Li, teach the device of claim 10, further comprising:
a sidewall capping layer formed on side surfaces of the conductive pad layer and the capping layer (yielded through the addition of Banno capping layer 64; which includes a portion, i.e., a sidewall capping layer, that is on side surfaces of the conductive pad layer and the capping layer).
Claims 11 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (US 20210327951 A1), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20230170252 A1), Banno et al. (US 20160359110 A1), Li et al. (US 20230354680 A1), Kang et al. (US 20230178476 A1), and Lee2 et al. (US 20220013467 A1).
Regarding dependent Claim 11, Liao, further in view of Lee, Banno, and Li, teach the device of claim 10; however, Banno remains silent on the capping layer wherein:
the capping layer is a first capping layer and includes titanium nitride (TiN) or oxygen-doped TiN, and wherein the device further comprises a second capping layer that contains silicon oxynitride (SiON).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kang teaches a capping layer 154 over a conductive plug 156, wherein the capping layer includes titanium nitride (TiN) or oxygen-doped TiN. The metal containing capping layer is taught to be advantageous for forming and improving the adherences of the contact plug 156 in at least [0047].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Banno’s capping layer materials to include titanium nitride (TiN) or oxygen-doped TiN, as disclosed by Kang, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Kang’s caping layer is comparable to Banno’s capping layer because they both have the known function of capping layers. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Banno’s capping layer materials to include titanium nitride (TiN) or oxygen-doped TiN, as disclosed by Kang, with the predictable result of improving the adherences of the contact plugs of the device( at least [0047] of Kang).
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Lee2 teaches a capping layer 130 (Fig. 1), which may be considered a second capping layer, under the etch stop layer 295. This is similar to Lee’s (US 20230170252 A1) teaching of the capping layer 114 under etch stop layer 155 (e.g., Fig. 3). Further Lee teaches in [0064] that, “the first etch stop layer 155 may include a plurality of insulating layers sequentially stacked on the first interlayer insulating layer 150”. Examiner asserts that Lee2 and Lee teach analogous (etch stop + capping layer) structure with overlapping material of silicon oxynitride (SiON) ([0048] of Lee2 and [0063] of Lee). Examiner asserts that it would be obvious from Lee2 and Lee to include a capping layer under or over the first etch stop layer wherein the capping layer includes silicon oxynitride (SiON).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to further modify the device of Liao and Banno to include a second capping layer that contains silicon oxynitride (SiON), as disclosed in view of Lee and Lee2, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Lee and Lee2’s caping layer is comparable to Banno’s capping layer because they both have the known function of capping layers. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Liao and Banno to include a second capping layer that contains silicon oxynitride (SiON), as disclosed in view of Lee and Lee2, with the predictable result of improving insulation of the device while retaining etch selectivity for forming an exposed area for contact.
Regarding dependent Claim 12, Liao, further in view of Lee, Banno, Li, Kang, and Lee2, teach the device of claim 11, wherein
a portion, but not all, of a top surface of the first interconnection element (Liao: Fig. 4; vertical conductive structures 406 is considered as a portion, but not all, of a top surface of the first interconnection element) or the second interconnection element extends to the bottom surface of the etch stop layer (Liao: Fig. 4).
Claims 21 – 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20200395254 A1), and further in view of Banno et al. (US 20160359110 A1), Newell et al. (US 9829710 B1), and Lee (US 20150333296 A1).
Regarding independent Claim 21, Chen teaches a device, comprising:
a first interconnect element (Fig. 2A; metal feature 208a) and a second interconnect element (Fig. 2A; metal feature 208b) spaced apart from the first interconnect element (Fig. 2A); …
a nitride-containing capping layer (Fig. 2A; protective layer 225; wherein Chen discloses in [0027] that the protective layer may include a compound including nitride) …
a dielectric layer (Fig. 2A; bonding dielectric material 230a) disposed over the nitride-containing capping layer (Fig. 2A);
a conductive contact (Fig. 2A; via plug 234) that extends vertically through at least a first portion of the dielectric layer (Fig. 2A; portion of bonding dielectric material 230a wherein via plug 234 extends vertically through is considered by the examiner to be a first portion of the dielectric layer) and the nitride-containing capping layer (Fig. 2A), …
a conductive via (Fig. 2A; via plug 244) that extends vertically through at least a second portion of the dielectric layer (Fig. 2A; portion of bonding dielectric material 230a wherein via plug 244 extends vertically through is considered by the examiner to be a second portion of the dielectric layer), wherein a bottom surface of the conductive via extends to the second interconnect element (Fig. 2A); and …
a pixel disposed over the dielectric layer and over the conductive via, wherein a bottom surface of the pixel extends to the conductive via.
However, Chen remains silent regarding a device comprising:
… a doped conductive pad layer disposed on the first interconnect element; …
a nitride-containing capping layer disposed over the doped conductive pad layer; …
wherein a bottom surface of the conductive contact extends to the doped conductive pad layer; …
a pixel of a light emitting diode (LED) disposed over the dielectric layer and over the conductive via, wherein the pixel includes a plurality of different color components, wherein bottom surfaces of the different color components extend to the conductive via.
Examiner notes that Chen’s pad 222 is structurally similar to the applicant’s instant doped conductive pad layer. Chen’s pad 222 may be a placeholder for such a feature; and Chen’s pad 222 may be replaced by a similar/analogous conducting and/or semiconductor component from another disclosure within the field of endeavor, and so without compromising the pad’s 222 function.
In the same field of endeavor, Banno teaches an upper electrode 61 that includes a first upper electrode layer 61a and a second upper electrode layer 61b, wherein the materials disclosed thereof (at least [0118] and [0125]) make the upper electrode layer 61 a doped conductive pad layer.
Further, Chen’s pad 222 may be substituted with Banno’s upper electrode layer 61, yielding a device wherein:
… a doped conductive pad layer disposed on the first interconnect element (Chen: Fig. 2A); …
a nitride-containing capping layer disposed over the doped conductive pad layer (Chen: Fig. 2A); …
wherein a bottom surface of the conductive contact extends to the doped conductive pad layer (Chen: Fig. 2A);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the material for Chen’s conductive pad layer to include doped material, as disclosed by Banno doped conductive pad layer, because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Chen’s conductive pad layer and Banno’s doped conductive pad layer perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being to connect elements above the conductive pad layer to the interconnect structure. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself - that is in the substitution of the materials for Chen’s conductive pad layer by replacing it with Banno’s doped conductive pad layer material. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Newell teaches a device including a pixel of a light emitting diode (LED) (col. 2; lines 47 – 50 and Fig. 4). Newell also teaches their OLED pixels 406A-406C (col. 8; lines 48 – 51) over silicon substrate 408 and through-silicon vias (TSVs) 416A-416D (collectively TSVs 416). Further, Newell goes on to teach more specificity regarding the OLED pixels of their device; wherein Fig. 9 shows that there may be a plurality of emissive layers (at least col. 2; lines 5 – 8), which the examiner understands to definitively imply a plurality of emission layers (Fig. 9; plurality of emission layer EML). Plurality of emission layers are often used in OLED stacks (stacks with the same basic principles as disclosed by Newell’s Fig. 9) to provide displays with strong emissive features/qualities. OLED pixels often employ a plurality of different color components to achieve a higher color clarity/purity/output. This includes configurations wherein different color emissive layers, i.e., color components, are laterally separated (such as shown in applicant’s Fig. 9; wherein the examiner believes the shading to be representative of a plurality of different color components separated laterally). However, Newell remains silent regarding this already known structure (e.g., tandem OLED display devices) wherein the pixel includes a plurality of different color components wherein bottom surfaces of the different color components, extend to the conductive via. It is the examiner’s understanding that a tandem OLED pixel with a common anode between different color components separated laterally when combined with the single via connectivity of Newell would yield the amended claim structure wherein bottom surfaces of the different color components, extend to the conductive via (in view of Newell’s Figs. 4 and 9; further in view of Newell teaching “at least one via is associated with each pixel and connected to a voltage terminal of a first type (e.g., an anode terminal) for the pixel” in col. 4; lines 55 – 57).
Further, in the field of OLED displays, Lee teaches (Fig. 3) an example of a lateral organic light-emitting diode. This structure includes lateral separation of the color emitting layers (Fig. 3; a first red emission layer (first red EML) 340, a first green emission layer (first green EML) 341, and a first blue emission layer (first blue EML) 342). This known structure may be used to modify Newell to yield a pixel of a light emitting diode (LED) disposed over the dielectric layer and over the conductive via, wherein the pixel includes a plurality of different color components, wherein bottom surfaces of the different color components, extend to the conductive via. Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Chen and Banno’s device, further in view of Newell and Lee, to yield the device including a pixel of a light emitting diode (LED) disposed over the dielectric layer and over the conductive via, wherein the pixel includes a plurality of different color components, wherein bottom surfaces of the different color components extend to the conductive via.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Chen and Banno’s device to include Newell’s pixels with connectivity to the conductive via with Lee’s pixel structure, to yield the device including a pixel of a light emitting diode (LED) disposed over the dielectric layer and over the conductive via, wherein the pixel includes a plurality of different color components, wherein bottom surfaces of the different color components extend to the conductive via, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Chen and Banno’s device as modified by Newell’s pixels with connectivity to the conductive via and Lee’s pixel structure can yield a predictable result of forming a light emitting device or display device since Newell’s pixels may be connected to the circuit structure disclosed by Chen and Banno. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent Claim 22, Chen, further in view of Banno, Newell, and Lee, teach the device of claim 21, wherein
the doped conductive pad layer is doped with silicon or ruthenium (yield through the substitution of Chen’s pad 222 with Banno’s upper electrode layer 6. See [0118] of Banno).
Regarding dependent Claim 23, Chen, further in view of Banno, Newell, and Lee, teach the device of claim 21; however, Chen remains silent wherein
the nitride-containing capping layer contains titanium nitride (TiN).
However, regarding a nitride-containing capping layer, Chen discloses a barrier layer (not shown) in at least [0018] and [0035]; wherein Chen discloses that the barrier layer prevents the flow of material ([0018]), which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand to be a function of a capping layer. Through Chen’s discussion of residues 223 (at least [0049]), one of ordinary skill in the art would find that a capping layer which was configured and materially designed to block the flow of material to be beneficial for preventing residues 223 from contacting/reaching the pad 222. Such that substituting Chen’s protective layer 225 for Chen’s barrier layer would have been trivial and readily obvious. Further, Chen discloses a suitable material for their barrier layer to be titanium nitride, thus Chen’s barrier layer may be used as a nitride-containing capping layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Chen’s protective layer to include materials disclosed for Chen’s barrier layer in [0018], because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Chen’s protective layer and Chen’s barrier layer perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being to protect the pad 222. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself - that is in the substitution of Chen’s materials, at least partially as the protective layer may be multiple layers as disclosed in [0028], for the protective layer by replacing it with materials disclosed for Chen’s barrier layer, e.g., titanium nitride. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20200395254 A1), and further in view of Banno et al. (US 20160359110 A1), Newell et al. (US 9829710 B1), Lee (US 20150333296 A1), and Kang et al. (US 20230178476 A1).
Regarding dependent Claim 24, Chen, further in view of Banno, Newell, and Lee, teach the device of claim 23; however, Chen remains silent wherein
the TiN of the nitride-containing capping layer is doped by oxygen.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kang teaches a capping pattern 154 made of titanium oxynitride (TiON) ([0043]). titanium oxynitride is the product of TiN doped by oxygen. Thus, Kang discloses a capping material that is a suitable material for the capping layer of Chen, further in view of Banno and Newell. Chen’s capping layer may be further modified by substituting for Kang’s capping pattern 154 material; thereby yielding the feature wherein the TiN of the nitride-containing capping layer is doped by oxygen.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the materials for Chen’s nitride-containing capping layer to include TiN doped by oxygen, as disclosed by Kang, because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Chen’s nitride-containing capping layer and Kang’s nitride-containing capping layer are disclosed to include similar materials thereof, and they perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being to function as capping layers. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself - that is in the substitution of the materials for Chen’s nitride-containing capping layer by replacing them with TiN doped by oxygen, as disclosed by Kang. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20200395254 A1), and further in view of Banno et al. (US 20160359110 A1), Newell et al. (US 9829710 B1), Lee (US 20150333296 A1), and Chen et al. (US 10157867 B1).
Regarding dependent Claim 25, Chen, further in view of Banno, Newell, and Lee, teach the device of claim 21; however, Chen remains silent on the device further comprising:
an etch stop layer disposed over the first interconnect element and the second interconnect element; …
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen (US 10157867 B1) discloses in col. 5; lines 41 – 46 that an etch stop layer (not shown) may be between interconnect structure 108 and surface dielectric 114 (Fig. 3 for reference). In the structure described, the etch stop layer is above the first and second interconnect elements, as opposed to Chiu who shows the first and second interconnect elements imbedded in the etch stop layer. This modification would be trivial to implement into the device of Chen and Chiu. Such a modification leads to the device wherein:
an etch stop layer disposed over the first interconnect element and the second interconnect element; …
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of Chen, further in view of Banno, to include Chen’s (US 10157867 B1) etch stop layer that is formed over the interconnect structure and the interconnect elements, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Chen’s (US 10157867 B1) etch stop layer provides etch selectivity; which one of ordinary skill in the art would find to be an obvious and desirable damage prevention solution for errors that may occur during the manufacturing process for the device of Chen, further in view of Banno and Newell. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Chen, further in view of Banno and Newell, to include Chen’s (US 10157867 B1) etch stop layer formed over the interconnect structure and the interconnect elements, with the predictable result of protecting at least the first interconnect element and the second interconnect element during an etch process.
Further, Chen, further in view of Banno, Newell, and Chen, teach the device of claim 21, wherein:
a passivation layer (Chen: Fig. 2A; passivation layer 210) disposed over the etch stop layer (Yielded through the combination with Chen (US 10157867 B1)); and
a diffusion barrier layer (Chen: [0042] teaches that the arrangement, material and forming method of the second die 201 are similar to the arrangement, material and forming method of the first die 101. Thus, the barrier layer discussed in [0018] may be applied to the embodiment shown in Fig. 2A. Further, [0018] discusses that the barrier layer is configured to stop the flow of material from the metal features, i.e., first and second interconnect elements; therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the most effective and direct structure to achieve this configuration would be for the first and second interconnect elements being in direct contact with the barrier layer) disposed between the first interconnect element and the doped conductive pad layer (Similar to as stated above, with the diffusion barrier meant to prevent the flow of material from the first interconnect element, one of ordinary skill in the art would find the placement of the barrier diffusion layer between the first interconnect element and the doped conductive pad layer to be obvious, especially for the device wherein the pad layer is the doped conductive pad layer);
wherein:
a first portion of the doped conductive pad layer extends vertically through the passivation layer (Chen: 2A); and
a second portion of the doped conductive pad layer is disposed over the passivation layer (Chen: 2A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 10319629 B1 previously relied on.
US 20040229398 A1 previously relied on.
US 20030080428 A1 previously relied on.
US 10256277 B2 considered for Fig. 4A in relation to claim 21.
US 8034703 B2 considered for Fig. 19.
US 8021976 B2 considered for at least figs 2 and 4A.
US 20090243038 A1 considered for its teaching of forming a recess in a conductive pad.
US 20060065969 A1 considered for its teaching of forming a recess in a conductive pad.
US 20070228561 A1 considered for its teaching of forming a recess in a conductive pad.
MARIO A. AUTORE JR.
Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/MARIO ANDRES AUTORE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897