Detailed Action
Claim Rejections Withdrawal
Applicant’s amendment of Claim 1 is acknowledged. Thus, the rejection under 112(b) is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-9 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tudorica (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0161098) of record, in view of Chakroborty (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2009/0236619), in view of Anxu (CN 101325195, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 8 of Tudorica discloses a wavelength conversion device comprising: an LED chip; a PCB solder mask (36) defining an opening at least partially encompassing the LED chip [0091]; and a lens, filled with wavelength conversion material including phosphor particles [0037], optically coupled with the LED chip.
Tudorica is silent with respect to “a silicone-based lens” including phosphor particles, emulsifier particles, and lens shaping particles each immersed within the silicone-based lens, wherein the emulsifier particles comprise a first hydrophobic compound and the lens shaping particles comprise a second compound different from the first hydrophobic compound, wherein the second compound forming the lens shaping particles comprise one or more of hydrophobic fumed silica, wherein the first hydrophobic compound defines a first weight percent by mass of lens and the second compound defines a second weight percent by mass of the silicone-based lens, and wherein the second weight percent is greater than the first weight percent”.
FIG. 8 of Chakroborty discloses a similar wavelength conversion device, comprising a silicone-based [0056] lens (806) optically coupled with the LED chip and including phosphor particles [0034], emulsifier particles, and lens shaping particles each immersed within the silicone-based lens, wherein the emulsifier particles comprise a first hydrophobic (inherent property) compound (TiO2) and the lens shaping particles comprise a second compound different from the first hydrophobic compound, wherein the second compound forming the lens shaping particles comprise one or more of hydrophobic (inherent property) fumed silica [0056], wherein the first hydrophobic compound defines a first weight percent by mass of lens and the second compound defines a second weight percent by mass of the silicone-based lens.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tudorica, as taught by Chakroborty. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Tudorica in the above manner for purpose of improving light extraction efficiency ([0007] of Chakroborty).
Tudorica as modified by Chakroborty is silent with respect to “the second weight percent is greater than the first weight percent”.
FIG. 9 of Anxu discloses a similar wavelength conversion device, comprising a silicone-based lens (103) optically coupled with the LED chip (102) and including phosphor particles, emulsifier particles, and lens shaping particles each immersed within the silicone-based lens, wherein the emulsifier particles comprise a first hydrophobic compound (TiO2) and the lens shaping particles comprise a second compound different from the first hydrophobic compound, wherein the second compound forming the lens shaping particles comprise one or more of hydrophobic fumed silica, wherein the first hydrophobic compound defines a first weight percent (23 wt%) by mass of lens and the second compound defines a second weight percent (9 wt%) by mass of the silicone-based lens, and wherein the second weight percent is greater than the first weight percent.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tudorica, as taught by Anxu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Tudorica in the above manner for purpose of significantly reducing variations in chromaticity and luminance (Abstract of Anxu).
Furthermore, said weight percent by mass is related to the moisture resistance and emission intensity. Therefore, said percent is considered to be a result effective variable. The claim to a specific percent therefore constitutes an optimization of ranges. In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the parameters as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 2
Chakroborty discloses the lens has a refractive index greater than or equal to 1.5 (1.5-1.8).
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 8 of Tudorica discloses the phosphor particles comprise one or more of YAG, LuAg, GAL, KSF, or Si3N4 [0098].
Regarding Claim 5
Chakroborty discloses the emulsifier particles comprise one or more of CaF, ZrO2, or TiO2 [0056].
Regarding Claim 7
Anxu discloses a particle loading of the lens shaping particles is between 1 percent and 7 percent weight %.
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 8 of Tudorica discloses a wavelength conversion device comprising: an LED chip (56) operably coupled with a PCB (64) on a first side of the LED chip; a PCB solder mask (36) defining an opening at least partially encompassing the LED chip [0091]; and a lens (48) optically coupled with the LED chip and including phosphor particles [0037], the lens extending above the LED chip in a Z-direction, wherein the PCB solder mask extends outwardly of the first side of the LED chip in the Y-direction.
Tudorica is silent with respect to a lens “including silicone encapsulant, phosphor particles, emulsifier particles, and lens shaping particles each immersed within the lens silicone encapsulant, the lens shaping particles loaded in a concentration of one percent to 10 percent within the silicone encapsulant, wherein the emulsifier particles comprise a first compound and the lens shaping particles comprise a second compound different from the first compound, and wherein the lens extending extends above the LED chip in a Z-direction, wherein the opening has an oblong geometric shape in an X-Y direction”, and “the lens has a width in the X-direction that is greater than a width in the Y direction”.
FIG. 8 of Chakroborty discloses a similar wavelength conversion device, comprising a lens including silicone [0056] encapsulant (806), phosphor particles [0034], emulsifier particles (TiO2), and lens shaping particles each immersed within the lens silicone encapsulant, the lens shaping particles (fumed silica [0056]) loaded within the silicone encapsulant, wherein the emulsifier particles comprise a first compound and the lens shaping particles comprise a second compound different from the first compound, and wherein the lens extending extends above the LED chip in a Z-direction, wherein the opening has an oblong geometric shape in an X-Y direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tudorica, as taught by Chakroborty. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Tudorica in the above manner for purpose of improving light extraction efficiency ([0007] of Chakroborty).
Tudorica as modified by Chakroborty is silent with respect to “the lens shaping particles loaded in a concentration of one percent to 10 percent”; “the second weight percent is greater than the first weight percent”; and “the lens has a width in the X-direction that is greater than a width in the Y direction”.
FIG. 9 of Anxu discloses a similar wavelength conversion device, comprising a silicone-based lens (103) optically coupled with the LED chip (102) and including phosphor particles, emulsifier particles, and lens shaping particles each immersed within the silicone-based lens, wherein the lens shaping particles (fumed silica) loaded in a concentration of one percent to 10 percent (9 wt%); the second weight percent (23 wt%) is greater than the first weight percent.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tudorica, as taught by Anxu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Tudorica in the above manner for purpose of significantly reducing variations in chromaticity and luminance (Abstract of Anxu).
Furthermore, said weight percent by mass is related to the moisture resistance and emission intensity. Therefore, said percent is considered to be a result effective variable. The claim to a specific percent therefore constitutes an optimization of ranges. In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the parameters as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Tudorica as modified by Chakroborty and Anxu is silent with respect to “the lens has a width in the X-direction that is greater than a width in the Y direction”.
FIG. 18 of Lee discloses a similar wavelength conversion device, wherein the lens extending above the LED chip in a Z-direction, wherein the opening has an oblong geometric shape in an X-Y direction, and wherein the lens has a width in the X-direction that is greater than a width in the Y direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tudorica, as taught by Lee. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Tudorica in the above manner for purpose of improving external quantum efficiency and durability ([0001] of Lee).
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 18 of Lee discloses the lens produces asymmetric light distribution as light from the LED chip passes through the lens.
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 29 of Lee discloses the LED chip is trillion-shaped comprising three lateral sides, and wherein the LED chip defines respective edge bevels between each adjacent sides of the three lateral sides and a top surface of the LED chip, the top surface of the LED chip opposite a PCB.
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tudorica, Chakroborty and Anxu, in view of Yoon (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0008816) of record.
Regarding Claim 3
Tudorica as modified by Chakroborty and Anxu discloses Claim 1.
Tudorica as modified by Chakroborty and Anxu is silent with respect to “the phosphor particles, the emulsifier particles, and the lens shaping particles are uniformly distributed within the lens”.
FIG. 2 of Yoon discloses a similar wavelength conversion device, wherein the phosphor particles, the emulsifier particles, and the lens shaping particles are uniformly distributed within the lens, comprising phosphor particles, emulsifier particles, and lens shaping particles each immersed within the lens [0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tudorica, as taught by Yoon. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Tudorica in the above manner for purpose of phase stabilization ([0045] of Yoon).
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tudorica, Chakroborty and Anxu, in view of Kito (JP 2020101576) of record, in view of Hartmann (DE 2009056463) of record for documentary evidence.
Regarding Claim 10
Tudorica as modified by Chakroborty and Anxu discloses Claim 1.
Tudorica as modified by Chakroborty and Anxu is silent with respect to “a center section of the lens has a longer path length for light rays from the LED chip relative to one or more sides, and wherein the phosphor particle concentration by weight is reduced in the center section”.
FIG. 17 of Kito discloses a similar wavelength conversion device, wherein a center section of the lens has a longer path length for light rays from the LED chip relative to one or more sides, and wherein the phosphor particle concentration by weight is reduced in the center section.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tudorica, as taught by Kito. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Tudorica in the above manner for purpose of improving the efficiency of converting the wavelength of excitation light. (Abstract of Kito).
Furthermore, said distribution was a matter of choice, which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular distribution was significant (Hartmann provides documentary evidence). MPEP § 2144.04.
Claims 17-20, 23 and 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nawashiro (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2004/0170018) of record, in view of Baur (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2004/0262625) of record, in view of Abe (JP 6687082) of record, in view of Chitnis (KR 20100132536) of record.
Regarding Claim 17
FIG. 1 Nawashiro discloses a lighting system comprising: a first wavelength conversion device [0034] comprising: a first LED chip (10); and a first lens (19) optically coupled with the first LED chip, wherein the first lens includes a first side portion, a second side portion, and a third side portion, wherein at least a portion of the first lateral side is parallel to the first lateral side, at least a portion of the second lateral side is parallel to the second lateral side, and at least a portion of the third lateral side is parallel to the third lateral side, and wherein the first and second portions are a common distance from the first LED chip and the third portion is a varied distance from the first LED chip; and the first lens includes phosphor particles.
Nawashiro is silent with respect to “a first trillion-shaped LED chip having a first lateral side, a second lateral side, and a third lateral side, the first side portion, the second side portion, and the third side portion converging at a top section of the first lens”; “at least one of the first side portion, the second side portion, and the third side portion has a curved profile between from a base section to the top section” and “the first lens includes phosphor particles, emulsifier particles, and lens shaping particles each immersed within the first lens”.
FIG. 1 of Baur discloses a similar wavelength conversion device, comprising a first trillion-shaped LED chip (2) having three lateral sides, wherein the first trillion-shaped LED chip defines edge bevels between adjacent sides of the three lateral sides.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nawashiro, as taught by Baur. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nawashiro in the above manner for purpose of improving coupling-out and efficiency of radiation ([0008] of Baur).
Nawashiro as modified by Baur is silent with respect to “the first side portion, the second side portion, and the third side portion converging at a top section of the first lens”; “at least one of the first side portion, the second side portion, and the third side portion has a curved profile between from a base section to the top section” and “the first lens includes phosphor particles, emulsifier particles, and lens shaping particles each immersed within the first lens”
FIG. 8 of Abe discloses a similar wavelength conversion device, wherein wavelength conversion material includes phosphor particles (53), emulsifier particles (52), and lens shaping particles (51) immersed within the lens.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nawashiro, as taught by Abe. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nawashiro in the above manner for purpose of improving optical semiconductor device performance and light output (Abstract of Abe).
Nawashiro as modified by Baur and Abe is silent with respect to “the first side portion, the second side portion, and the third side portion converging at a top section of the first lens” and “at least one of the first side portion, the second side portion, and the third side portion has a curved profile between from a base section to the top section”
FIG. 17 of Chitnis discloses a similar wavelength conversion device, wherein the first side portion, the second side portion, and the third side portion converging at a top section of the first lens; and at least one of the first side portion, the second side portion, and the third side portion has a curved profile between from a base section to the top section.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nawashiro, as taught by Chitnis. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nawashiro in the above manner for purpose of forming a monolithic structure to maximize light output.
Regarding Claim 18
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the light system further comprises a second wavelength conversion device comprising: a second trillion-shaped LED chip having three lateral sides, wherein the second trillion-shaped LED chip defines edge bevels between adjacent sides of the three lateral sides; and
a second lens optically coupled with the second trillion-shaped LED chip, the second lens including a first side portion, a second side portion, and a third side portion, wherein the first and second portions are a common distance from the first trillion-shaped LED chip and the third portion is a varied distance from the second trillion-shaped LED chip, because mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 8 of Abe discloses the second lens includes phosphor particles, emulsifier particles, and lens shaping particles each immersed within the second lens. Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 20
Modified Nawashiro discloses the third portion of the first lens is positioned adjacent to the third portion of the second lens.
Regarding Claim 23
FIG. 1 of Nawashiro discloses the first lens defines a curvature of the first lens such that light rays emitted from the first trillion-shaped LED chip strike orthonormal to the curvature of the first lens to reduce backscatter at a polymer/air interface.
Regarding Claim 24
FIG. 1 of Baur discloses the first trillion-shaped comprising three lateral sides, and wherein the LED chip defines respective edge bevels between each of the three lateral sides and a top surface of the LED chip, the top surface of the LED chip opposite a PCB.
Claim 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nawashiro (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2004/0170018) of record, in view of Baur (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2004/0262625) of record, in view of Abe (JP 6687082) of record, in view of Pang (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2008/0246044) of record.
Regarding Claim 17
FIG. 1 Nawashiro discloses a lighting system comprising: a first wavelength conversion device [0034] comprising: a first LED chip (10); and a first lens (19) optically coupled with the first LED chip, wherein the first lens includes a first side portion, a second side portion, and a third side portion, wherein at least a portion of the first lateral side is parallel to the first lateral side, at least a portion of the second lateral side is parallel to the second lateral side, and at least a portion of the third lateral side is parallel to the third lateral side, and wherein the first and second portions are a common distance from the first LED chip and the third portion is a varied distance from the first LED chip; and the first lens includes phosphor particles.
Nawashiro is silent with respect to “a first trillion-shaped LED chip having a first lateral side, a second lateral side, and a third lateral side, the first side portion, the second side portion, and the third side portion converging at a top section of the first lens”; “at least one of the first side portion, the second side portion, and the third side portion has a curved profile between from a base section to the top section” and “the first lens includes phosphor particles, emulsifier particles, and lens shaping particles each immersed within the first lens”.
FIG. 1 of Baur discloses a similar wavelength conversion device, comprising a first trillion-shaped LED chip (2) having three lateral sides, wherein the first trillion-shaped LED chip defines edge bevels between adjacent sides of the three lateral sides.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nawashiro, as taught by Baur. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nawashiro in the above manner for purpose of improving coupling-out and efficiency of radiation ([0008] of Baur).
Nawashiro as modified by Baur is silent with respect to “the first side portion, the second side portion, and the third side portion converging at a top section of the first lens”; “at least one of the first side portion, the second side portion, and the third side portion has a curved profile between from a base section to the top section” and “the first lens includes phosphor particles, emulsifier particles, and lens shaping particles each immersed within the first lens”
FIG. 8 of Abe discloses a similar wavelength conversion device, wherein wavelength conversion material includes phosphor particles (53), emulsifier particles (52), and lens shaping particles (51) immersed within the lens.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nawashiro, as taught by Abe. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nawashiro in the above manner for purpose of improving optical semiconductor device performance and light output (Abstract of Abe).
Nawashiro as modified by Baur and Abe is silent with respect to “the first side portion, the second side portion, and the third side portion converging at a top section of the first lens” and “at least one of the first side portion, the second side portion, and the third side portion has a curved profile between from a base section to the top section”
FIG. 4 of Pang discloses a similar wavelength conversion device, wherein the first side portion, the second side portion, and the third side portion converging at a top section of the first lens (56); and at least one of the first side portion, the second side portion, and the third side portion has a curved profile between from a base section to the top section.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nawashiro, as taught by Pang. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nawashiro in the above manner for purpose of increasing the light angle range and reducing fabrication cost ([0023, 0042] of Pang).
Claims 21 and 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nawashiro, Baur and Abe, in view of Kokudo (WO 2014132726) of record.
Regarding Claim 21
Nawashiro as modified by Baur and Abe discloses Claim 17.
Nawashiro as modified by Baur and Abe is silent with respect to “the first lens further includes quantum dots”.
FIG. 8 of Kokudo discloses a similar wavelength conversion device, wherein the first lens further includes quantum dots (801).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nawashiro, as taught by Kokudo. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nawashiro in the above manner for purpose of improving color precision (Abstract of Kokudo).
Regarding Claim 22
FIG. 8 of Kokudo discloses the second lens includes quantum dots.
Pertinent Art
FIG. 3 of Mueller US 20030227249 discloses a lens including phosphor particles (40), emulsifier particles (38), and lens shaping particles (36) each immersed within the lens. FIG. 1 of Yamada (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0343918) discloses a wavelength conversion device comprising: an LED chip (1); a PCB solder mask (16) defining an opening at least partially encompassing the LED chip [0073]; and a lens (2), filled with wavelength conversion material [0037], optically coupled with the LED chip. Kida (JP 2018035055) of record discloses a wavelength conversion device, comprising phosphor particles, emulsifier particles, and lens shaping particles each immersed within the lens (Abstract), wherein the emulsifier particles comprise a first hydrophobic compound (MgO) and the lens shaping particles comprise a second compound (SiO2) different from the first compound, and wherein the first hydrophobic compound defines a first weight percent by mass of lens and the second compound defines a second weight percent (40-60%) by mass of lens, and wherein the second weight is greater than the first weight (0-45%). FIG. 2 of Murakami (JP 2019091648) discloses a wavelength conversion device comprising: an LED chip (12) operably coupled with a PCB (3) on a first side of the LED chip; a PCB solder mask (7) defining an opening at least partially encompassing the LED chip; and a lens (9) optically coupled with the LED chip and including phosphor particles, the lens extending above the LED chip in a Z-direction, wherein the PCB solder mask extends outwardly of the first side of the LED chip in the Y-direction. Shyu (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0090704) discloses a lens (1) including phosphor particles, emulsifier particles, and lens shaping particles each immersed within the lens [0025]. Ito (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0160604) discloses a wavelength conversion device, comprising phosphor particles, emulsifier particles, and lens shaping particles each immersed within the lens [0037]. Bailey (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0417391) discloses a wavelength conversion device, comprising phosphor particles, emulsifier particles, and lens shaping particles each immersed within the lens [0103]. Hong (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0364639) discloses a wavelength conversion member formed by mixing the phosphor or the quantum dot with glass particles. JP 2016162850 discloses a wavelength conversion device, comprising phosphor particles, emulsifier particles, and lens shaping particles each immersed within the lens. Sun (CN 103378080) discloses the opening has an oblong geometric shape in an X-Y direction, and wherein the lens has a width in the X- direction that is greater than a width in the Y direction. Kato (TW 202028135) discloses a wavelength conversion device, wherein the emulsifier particles comprise a first hydrophobic compound (ZnO or TiO2) and the lens shaping particles comprise a second compound (SiO2) different from the first compound, and wherein the first hydrophobic compound defines a first weight percent by mass of lens and the second compound defines a second weight percent (40-65%) by mass of lens, and wherein the second weight is greater than the first weight (0.15-15% or 0-10%). Su (CN 102945919) discloses a particle loading of the lens shaping particles is between 1 percent and 7 percent weight % (Abstract). Also, US 20140175492, 20040262625, 20120068204, CN 215264324, CN 109008913 and EP 0405757.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1 and 8 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim 17 have been considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The Examiner respectfully submits that FIG. 1 Nawashiro discloses a lighting system comprising: a first wavelength conversion device [0034] comprising: a first LED chip (10); and a first lens (19) optically coupled with the first LED chip, wherein the first lens includes a first side portion, a second side portion, and a third side portion, wherein at least a portion of the first lateral side is parallel to the first lateral side, at least a portion of the second lateral side is parallel to the second lateral side, and at least a portion of the third lateral side is parallel to the third lateral side, and wherein the first and second portions are a common distance from the first LED chip and the third portion is a varied distance from the first LED chip; and the first lens includes phosphor particles. FIG. 1 of Baur is used to modify Nawashiro such that the conversion device comprises a first trillion-shaped LED chip (2) having three lateral sides, wherein the first trillion-shaped LED chip defines edge bevels between adjacent sides of the three lateral sides. FIG. 8 of Abe is used to modify Nawashiro such that the wavelength conversion material includes phosphor particles (53), emulsifier particles (52), and lens shaping particles (51) immersed within the lens. FIG. 17 of Chitnis and FIG. 4 of Pang each is used to modify Nawashiro such that the first side portion, the second side portion, and the third side portion converging at a top section of the first lens (56); and at least one of the first side portion, the second side portion, and the third side portion has a curved profile between from a base section to the top section.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897