DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Argument
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 08/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4, 6-7 and 9-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of an updated prior art search.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7 and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US-20210296288-A1 – hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches an integrated circuit (IC) device (Fig.9 CS7; ¶0047), comprising:
a substrate (Fig.9 118; ¶0035) comprising first metallization features (Fig.9 118B; ¶0036) in a first dielectric material (Fig.9 118A; ¶0036);
a first IC die (Fig.9 SC2; ¶0024) comprising a first surface (bottom surface) of second metallization features (Fig.5 208; ¶0025) in a second dielectric material (Fig.2D 210; ¶0026) hybrid-bonded to the first metallization features (118B) and the first dielectric material (118A) in a first region (left region) of the substrate (118);
a second IC die (Fig.9 SC3; ¶0047) adjacent to the first IC die (SC2) and comprising a first surface (bottom surface) of third metallization features (Fig.9 308; ¶0047) in a third dielectric material (Fig.9 310; ¶0047) hybrid-bonded to the first metallization features (118B) and the first dielectric material (118A) in a second region (right region) of the substrate (118);
a primary fill structure (Fig.9 114 and the top portion of 112 vertically overlapping 114; ¶0031) in contact with at least the first dielectric material (118A) and having an inorganic composition (¶0031), the primary fill structure (114 and top portion of 112) surrounding a perimeter of at least the first IC die (SC2) occupying a majority of a space between the first (SC2) and second (SC3) IC die and adjacent to two or more sidewall edges of at least the first IC die (SC2), but not extending over a second surface (top surface), opposite the first surface (bottom surface), of either of the first (SC2) or second (SC3) IC dies; and
a secondary fill structure (Fig.9 side portions of 112 not vertically overlapping 114) in contact with the substrate (118) within a first remnant of the space between the primary fill structure (114 and top portion of 112) and the two or more sidewall edges of the first IC die (SC2), and within a second remnant of the space between the primary fill structure (114 and top portion of 112) and the second IC die (SC3).
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches the IC device of claim 1, wherein the secondary fill structure (side portions of 112) comprises a physical seam (the centermost line within 112 can be broadly interpreted as an interface) approximately in the middle of each of the first and second remnants (gaps between SC2 and 114) of the space.
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches the IC device of claim 1, wherein the secondary fill structure (side portions of 112) is in contact with a sidewall of the primary fill structure (114 and top portion of 112) and in contact with a sidewall of each of the first (SC2) and second (SC3) IC dies.
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches the IC device of claim 1, wherein:
the primary fill structure (114 and top portion of 112) has a thickness (height) substantially equal to that of the first IC die (SC2) and the majority of the space occupied by the primary fill structure (114 and top portion of 112) is at least 500 μm wide (it can be reasonably believed that 114 is least 500μm wide; ¶0027); and
at least one of the first or second remnants (gaps between SC2 and 114) of the space adjacent to the primary fill structure (114 and top portion of 112) is less than 40 μm wide (¶0027).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches the IC device of claim 1, wherein:
the primary fill structure (114 and top portion of 112) surrounds a perimeter of at least the first IC die (SC2);
the secondary fill structure (side portions of 112) is within a channel (gaps between SC2 and 114) surrounding the perimeter of the first IC die (SC2); and
the secondary fill structure (side portions of 112) is substantially co-planar with the first IC die (SC2).
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches the IC device of claim 6, wherein:
the channel (gaps between SC2 and 114) is a first channel;
the primary fill structure (114 and top portion of 112) surrounds a perimeter of the second IC die (SC3);
the secondary fill structure (side portions of 112) is within a second channel (gaps between SC3 and 114) surrounding the perimeter of the second IC die (SC3);
the secondary fill structure (side portions of 112) is substantially co-planar with the second IC die (SC3); and
the primary fill structure (114 and top portion of 112) is contiguous between the first (gaps between SC2 and 114) and second (gaps between SC3 and 114) channels.
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches the IC device of claim 1, wherein a top surface of the primary fill structure (114 and top portion of 112) is substantially co-planar with the second surface (top surface) of at least one of the first IC die (SC2) or second IC die (SC3).
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches the IC device of claim 9, wherein the top surface of the primary fill structure (114 and top portion of 112) is substantially co-planar with a top surface of the secondary fill structure (side portions of 112).
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches the IC device of claim 1, wherein the primary fill structure (114 and top portion of 112) has a higher silicon or metal content (¶0031 does not limit the materials of 114 and 112, so the materials could be different to meet the claim) than the secondary fill structure (side portions of 112).
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches the IC device of claim 11, wherein the primary fill structure (114 and top portion of 112) comprises predominantly silicon (silicon oxide is disclosed in ¶0031), predominantly silicon and carbon, or predominantly a metal.
Regarding claim 13, Chen teaches the IC device of claim 11, wherein the secondary fill structure (side portions of 112) comprises a greater amount of one or more of a metal, nitrogen (silicon nitride is disclosed in ¶0031), or oxygen than the primary fill structure (114 and top portion of 112).
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches the IC device of claim 1, wherein the primary fill structure (114 and top portion of 112) is directly bonded to the substrate (118).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen.
Regarding claim 16, Chen teaches a system (Fig.16 PK1D; ¶0074) comprising:
a host component (Fig.16 600; ¶0074); and
a composite integrated circuit (IC) device (Fig.16 CS1’; ¶0074) package attached to the host component (600) by interconnect features comprising solder (Fig.16 120; ¶0075), the composite IC device (CS1’) comprising:
a first IC die (Fig.9 SC2; ¶0024) comprising a first surface (bottom surface) bonded to a first region (left region) of a substrate (Fig.9 118; ¶0035);
a second IC die (Fig.9 SC3; ¶0047) adjacent to the first IC die (SC3) and comprising a first surface (bottom surface) bonded to a second region (right region) of the substrate (118);
a primary fill structure (Fig.9 114 and the top portion of 112 vertically overlapping 114; ¶0031), the primary fill structure (114 and top portion of 112) adjacent to two or more sidewall edges of at least the first IC die (SC2) and over a third region (center region) of the substrate (118) comprising a majority of a space between the first (SC2) and second (SC3) IC dies, wherein the primary fill structure (114 and top portion of 112) is absent from over a second surface (top surface), opposite the first surface (bottom surface), of either of the first (SC2) or second (SC3) IC dies; and
a secondary fill structure (Fig.9 side portions of 112 not vertically overlapping 114) within a first remnant of the space between the primary fill structure (114 and top portion of 112) and the two or more sidewall edges of the first IC die (SC2), and within a second remnant of the space between the primary fill structure (114 and top portion of 112) and the second IC die (SC3), wherein the secondary fill structure (side portions of 112) comprises a dielectric material (¶0031).
Chen does not teach wherein the primary fill structure is comprising monocrystalline silicon.
However, Wang does teach pure silicon substrates within the IC dies (¶0024), which comprise through-silicon vias (TSVs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the primary fill structure (114 and top portion of 112) to be made of pure silicon instead of silicon oxide to arrive at the claimed invention. This modification is obvious because it is a well-known substrate option for producing TSVs to potentially connect the substrate (118) to the upper chip (Fig.9 SC1; ¶0029) depicted in Figure 9.
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches the system of claim 16, further comprising a power supply (a coupled power supply is inherent to all semiconductor devices) coupled to provide power to the composite IC die package (CS1’) through the host component (600).
Regarding claim 18, Chen teaches the system of claim 16, wherein:
the first IC die (SC2) is a first of a microprocessor core circuitry, wireless radio circuitry, floating point gate array (FPGA) circuitry, power management circuitry, active repeater circuitry, clock generator circuitry, memory circuitry, or input/output buffer circuitry (¶0034); and
the second IC die (SC3) is a second of a microprocessor core circuitry, wireless radio circuitry, floating point gate array (FPGA) circuitry, power management circuitry, active repeater circuitry, clock generator circuitry, memory circuitry, or input/output buffer circuitry (¶0034).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Yu et al. (US-20200185330-Al – hereinafter Yu).
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches the IC device of claim 1.
Chen does not teach the IC device further comprising one or more through vias embedded within the primary fill structure and directly bonded to interconnect features of the substrate, and wherein a top surface of the through vias are substantially co-planar with a second surface of the primary fill structure, opposite the substrate.
Yu teaches through vias (Fig.17 141; ¶0054 of Yu) that are embedded in a primary fill structure (Fig.17 143; ¶0056 of Yu) and directly bonded to an interconnect structure (Fig.17 148; ¶0058), wherein the vias (141 of Yu) are planar with the top of the primary fill structure (143 of Yu).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the vias of Yu (Fig.17 of Yu) to the device taught by Chen (Fig.1J of Chen) to arrive at the claimed invention. A practitioner of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of connecting a substrate (like that of PM1-3 of Chen) directly to a higher chip (Fig.17 279; ¶0063 of Yu) above a first layer of chips (like that of 200 and 300 of Chen). This is depicted in Fig.17 of Yu where vias 141 couple interconnect 148 directly to chip 279 through primary fill structure 143, with the vias bypassing a lower chip (Fig.17 100; ¶0021 of Yu).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25-29 are allowed.
Regarding claim 25, the most relevant prior art reference US-20250349642-A1 to Wang et al. teaches most of the limitations of claim 25, but not the limitations of “wherein the secondary fill structure has a different width between the two or more sidewall edges of the first IC die and two or more corresponding sidewall edges of the primary fill structure that face the sidewall edges of the first IC die” as recited. Therefore, claim 25 is deemed patentable over the prior art.
Claims 26-29 are allowed for depending from allowable claim 25.
Claims 5 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the most relevant prior art reference US-20250349642-A1 to Wang et al. teaches most of the limitations of claim 5, but not the limitations of “wherein a width of the first and second remnants of the space are unequal by at least 50% of the smaller of the first or second remnants” as recited. Therefore, claim 5 is deemed patentable over the prior art.
Regarding claim 8, the most relevant prior art reference US-20250349642-A1 to Wang et al. teaches most of the limitations of claim 8, but not the limitations of “wherein the secondary fill structure has a different width between the two or more sidewall edges of the first IC die and two or more corresponding sidewall edges of the primary fill structure that face the sidewall edges of the first IC die” as recited. Therefore, claim 8 is deemed patentable over the prior art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.J.K./ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ELISEO RAMOS FELICIANO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817