DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 01/13/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2022/0344233, hereinafter Chang) in view of Wan (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2020/0312741, hereinafter Wan).
Re claim 1 Chang discloses in Fig 2 a multichip composite device, comprising: a first region of a bottom surface of an integrated circuit (IC) die hybrid bonded(since 202/206/208 are bonded by blend or mixture of material(s), this may be interpreted as hybrid bonded)[0026] to a first region of a top surface of a base die(204), wherein a bottom surface of the base die(204), opposite the top surface of the base die(204), is to interconnect to a substrate(interposer/device by way of 216)[0028]; a conformal layer(220) on a top surface of the IC die(202/innermost left208/right208), opposite the bottom surface of the IC die(202/innermost left208/right208), and on a sidewall surface of the IC die(202/innermost left208/right208), the sidewall surface extending between the top surface and the bottom surface of the IC die(202/innermost left208/right208); an inorganic dielectric material[0027] on a portion the conformal layer(220), over a second region of the top surface of the base die(204), and laterally adjacent the sidewall surface of the IC die(202/innermost left208/right208), wherein the conformal layer(220) comprises a greater thermal conductivity[0030] than the inorganic dielectric material[0027];
Chang does not discloses a structural member coupled to the conformal layer(220).
Wan discloses a structural member(117)[0038] coupled to the conformal layer(116/119).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Wan to the teachings of Chang in order to have advanced thermal management architectures at the package level [0002, Wan].
Re claim 2 Chang and Wan disclose the multichip composite device of claim 1, wherein the conformal layer(220) is over the second region of the top surface of the base die(204) and in contact with a metal[0030] pad coupled to the base die(204).
Re claim 3 Chang and Wan disclose the multichip composite device of claim 1, wherein the conformal layer(220) is on a second inorganic dielectric material[0027] and one or more through dielectric vias(105 of Wan) (TDVs) embedded in the second inorganic dielectric material[0027], wherein the second inorganic dielectric material[0027] and the one or more TDVs are laterally adjacent the base die(204).
Re claim 4 Chang and Wan disclose the multichip composite device of claim 1, wherein the conformal layer(220) comprises a metal[0030].
Re claim 5 Chang and Wan disclose the multichip composite device of claim 4, wherein the metal[0030] comprises one or more of copper, aluminum, silver, or gold.
Re claim 6 Chang and Wan disclose the multichip composite device of claim 1, wherein the conformal layer(220) comprises one or more of diamond, graphene, graphite, or a compound of boron and nitrogen.
Re claim 7 Chang and Wan disclose the multichip composite device of claim 1, wherein the structural member(117)[0038 of Wan] is directly on the conformal layer(220).
Re claim 8 Chang and Wan disclose the multichip composite device of claim 1, wherein the conformal layer(220) comprises a metal[0030] and a second metal[0030] layer is in contact with the conformal layer(220) and in contact with the structural member(117)[0038 of Wan].
Re claim 9 Chang and Wan disclose the multichip composite device of claim 8, wherein the second metal[0030] layer is between the structural member(117)[0038 of Wan] and the inorganic dielectric material[0027].
Re claim 10 Chang and Wan disclose the multichip composite device of claim 8, wherein a second dielectric material laterally adjacent to the second metal[0030] layer is in contact with the inorganic dielectric material[0027] and in contact with the inorganic dielectric material[0027].
Re claim 11 Chang discloses in Fig 2 a multichip composite device, comprising: a base die(204) comprising a bottom surface to interconnect to a substrate(interposer/device by way of 216)[0028]; a stack of one or more integrated circuit (IC) dies over a first region of a top surface of the base die(204), opposite the bottom surface of the base die(204); a conformal layer(220) on a top surface of an uppermost one of the one or more IC dies(202/innermost left208/right208) and on a sidewall surface of the uppermost one of the IC dies(202/innermost left208/right208); an inorganic dielectric material[0027] on a portion of the conformal layer(220), the inorganic dielectric material[0027] over a second region of the top surface of the base die(204), and laterally adjacent the sidewall surface of the uppermost IC die(202/innermost left208/right208), wherein the conformal layer(220) comprises a greater thermal conductivity[0030] than the inorganic dielectric material[0027];
Chang does not discloses a structural member over the conformal layer(220).
Wan discloses a structural member(117)[0038 of Wan] over the conformal layer(116/119).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Wan to the teachings of Chang in order to have advanced thermal management architectures at the package level [0002, Wan].
Re claim 12 Chang and Wan disclose the multichip composite device of claim 11, wherein the one or more IC dies(202/innermost left208/right208) comprise the uppermost IC die(202/innermost left208/right208) hybrid bonded(since 202/206/208 are bonded by blend or mixture of material(s), this may be interpreted as hybrid bonded)[0026] to a second IC die(202/innermost left208/right208) one of the one or more IC dies(202/innermost left208/right208), and wherein the conformal layer(220) extends between the inorganic dielectric material[0027] and a second inorganic dielectric material[0027] laterally adjacent to the second IC die(202/innermost left208/right208).
Re claim 13 Chang and Wan disclose the multichip composite device of claim 12, wherein the second IC die(202/innermost left208/right208) is hybrid bonded(since 202/206/208 are bonded by blend or mixture of material(s), this may be interpreted as hybrid bonded)[0026] to the first region of the top surface of the base die(204), and a second conformal layer(220) is on a sidewall of the second IC die(202/innermost left208/right208) and over the second region of the top surface of the base die(204).
Re claim 14 Chang and Wan disclose the multichip composite device of claim 13, wherein the second conformal layer(220) is on a third inorganic dielectric material[0027] and one or more through dielectric vias(105 of Wan) (TDVs) embedded in the third inorganic dielectric material[0027], wherein the third inorganic dielectric material[0027] and the one or more TDVs are laterally adjacent the base die(204).
Re claim 15 Chang and Wan disclose the multichip composite device of claim 11, wherein the conformal layer(220) comprises one or more of diamond, graphene, graphite, or a compound of boron and nitrogen.
16Re claim Chang and Wan disclose the multichip composite device of claim 11, wherein the conformal layer(220) comprises a metal[0030].
Re claim 17 Chang and Wan disclose the multichip composite device of claim 16, wherein the structural member(117)[0038 of Wan] is directly on the metal[0030] of the conformal layer(220) or a second metal[0030] layer is in contact with the metal[0030] of the conformal layer(220) and in contact with the structural member(117)[0038 of Wan].
Conclusion
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812