DETAILED ACTION
Claims 13-15 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b)
as being drawn to a nonelected group II, there being no allowable generic or linking
claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/29/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-12, 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. For claims 1, and 21 there is no support in disclosure indicating exposing
polysiloxane-containing composition to infrared irradiation(heat) to thermally initiate
curing of the cover layer, followed by exposing the applied polysiloxane-containing
composition to ultraviolet irradiation to further crosslink and finalize curing of the
polysiloxane-containing composition. For claim 18, there is no support for two steps
curing of polysiloxane-containing composition comprising alkyl and/or alkoxy substituted
polysiloxane. For claim 20 there is no support in disclosure indicating the substrate layer comprises thermoplastic polyurethane.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uwe Weissenberger et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2019/0084285, hereafter 285), further in view of Rym Benyahia et al (WO 2016/096184, here after 184), and John C Chang et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2002/0150765, here after 765).
Claim 21 is rejected. 285 teaches a method for producing a decorative part for an
automotive interior component, the decorative part having a visible side(1a) and an installation side(1b) [abstract lines 1-2, 0013-0014, 0073, fig. 3], comprising the steps of:
providing a decorative layer (2, decorative element) having thickness of 0.1 mm [0036];
providing a substate layer comprising a reinforced plastic material(2a) [0045];
using a press mold to form the decorative layer into a three-dimensionally shaped preform corresponding to a final geometry of the decorative part and bonding the decorative layer to the substrate at the same time [fig. 1, 0074], the three-dimensionally shaped preform having a preform visible side and a preform installation side;
applying a polysiloxane-containing composition to the preform visible side of the three-dimensionally shaped preform by spraying thereby forming a cover layer (3) [fig. 3, 0076-0077, 0040, 0041]; and 285 teaches curing the applied polysiloxane-containing composition with heat, and UV [0041 last sentence], which means two-stage curing sequence comprising exposing the applied polysiloxane-containing composition to infrared irradiation(heat) to which in fact thermally initiate curing of the cover layer, followed by exposing the applied polysiloxane-containing composition to ultraviolet irradiation and finalize curing of the polysiloxane-containing composition forming the cover layer [0041 last sentence]. 285 teaches applying polysiloxane-containing composition to the visible side of the decorative substrate [fig. 1d]. 285 does not teach the polysiloxane-containing composition comprises a crosslinked substituted polysiloxane. 765 teaches a method of making a decorative article and teaches a laminated decorative element with protective layer comprising polysiloxane wherein the polysiloxane is thermoset (cross linkable) [abstract]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of 285, and 184 where the polysiloxane is cross linkable, because it is suitable for protective layer of decorative element. 765 also teaches (further) curing it with UV [0023].
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10, 12, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uwe Weissenberger et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2019/0084285,
hereafter 285), further in view of Rym Benyahia et al (WO 2016/096184, here after 184), and John C Chang et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2002/0150765, here after 765).
Claim 1 is rejected. 285 teaches a method for producing a decorative part for an
automotive interior component [abstract lines 1-2, 0013-0014], the decorative part
having a visible side and an installation side, comprising the steps of:
providing a decorative layer (1a) having a thickness of .1 mm [0036];
using a press mold to forming the decorative layer into a three-dimensionally shaped preform (2+1a+1b) [fig. 1c, 1d] corresponding to a final geometry of the decorative part, the three-dimensionally shaped preform having a preform visible side(1a) [0067] and a preform installation side(1b);
applying a polysiloxane-containing composition (3, to make protective layer) to
the preform visible side(1a) of the three-dimensionally shaped preform
by spraying thereby forming a cover(protective) layer [fig. 3, 0041, 0040]. 285 teaches
curing the applied polysiloxane-containing composition with heat, and UV [0041 last
sentence], which means two-stage curing sequence comprising exposing the applied
polysiloxane-containing composition to infrared irradiation(heat) to which in fact
thermally initiate curing of the cover layer, followed by exposing the applied
polysiloxane-containing composition to ultraviolet irradiation and finalize curing of the
polysiloxane-containing composition forming the cover layer [0041 last sentence]; and
after said step of curing, bonding the preform installation side of the three-dimensionally
shaped preform to a substrate layer (this happens as it is ad on part, therefore has to
be bond to a vehicle part or substrate layer), whereby the decorative part is produced, but does not teach bonding by injection molding. 184 teaches a method of attaching a decorative element to vehicle by injection molding [page 4 lines 31-44]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of 285, where the decorative part is attached to vehicle by injection molding because it is suitable way for attachment. 285 teaches applying polysiloxane-containing composition to the visible side of the decorative substrate [fig. 1d]. 285 does not teach the polysiloxane-containing composition comprises a crosslinked substituted polysiloxane. 765 teaches a method of
making a decorative article and teaches a laminated decorative element with protective
layer comprising polysiloxane wherein the polysiloxane is thermoset (cross linkable)
[abstract]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the
time of the invention was made to have a method of 285, and 184 where the polysiloxane is cross linkable, because it is suitable for protective layer of decorative element. 765 also teaches curing it with UV [0023].
Claims 2 and 18 rejected as 765 teaches polysiloxane is alkyl substituted
polysiloxane [claim 5]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in
the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of 285, and 765 where
the polysiloxane is alkyl substitute polysiloxane, because it is suitable for protective
layer of decorative element.
Claim 3 is rejected. 285, 184 and 765 teach the limitation of claim 1, and 258 teaches the protective coating comprising mixture of polysiloxane, polyacrylates, PMM [0041]. Although 285 does not teach 40-60 wt% of composition is polysiloxane, however differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such thickness and/or concentration are critical.
Claim 4 is rejected, as 285 does not each the applying temperature of the
polysiloxane-containing. composition, it is considered as room temperature (22C), and
relative humidity of more than 30-60% (room condition).
Claim 5 is rejected. 765 teaches making protective layer for decorative element
comprising polysiloxane and teaches curing the polysiloxane at 80-200C [0022].
Although 765 does not teach curing temperature of 50 °C to 100 °C, however
overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been
obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the portion of
[overlapping range] that corresponds to the claimed range. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ
549 (CCPA 1974). and a relative humidity of 10% to 80%. Therefore, it would have
been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to
have a method of 285, where the polysiloxane is cured at 80-100C, because one having
ordinary skill in the art to have selected the portion of overlapping range that
corresponds to the claimed range. Since neither of 285, nor 765 teach heating condition
and amount of humidity, it is considered as room condition which has 30-80% humidity.
Claim 7 is rejected as 285 teaches the cured cover layer (protective layer) has a
layer thickness of 2 um to 25 um [0041].
Claim 8 is rejected as 285 teaches the decorative layer is formed by
metal(pigment) [0033].
Claim 10 is rejected as 285 teaches at least one intermediate layer (adhesion
layer) of a thermoplastic or thermoset material is applied to the decorative layer before
the cover layer is applied [0042].
Claim 12 is rejected as 285 teaches the intermediate layer is a PMMA
intermediate layer [0042].
Claim 19 is rejected. 285 teaches exposing the polysiloxane containing
composition to infrared(heat) and then UV radiation [0041 last sentence], but does not
teach infrared irradiation(heating) for one to five minutes and the ultraviolet irradiation
for thirty to sixty seconds. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the
art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through
routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality. In re Aller, USPQ 233
(CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at
the time of the invention was made to have a method of 285, 184. and 765 where the
infrared irradiation(heating) for one to five minutes and the ultraviolet irradiation for thirty
to sixty seconds, because one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the
optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation.
Claim 20 is rejected as 285 teaches the substrate layer (polymeric attachment) comprising thermoplastic polyurethane [page 8 paragraph 3].
Claims 11, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Uwe Weissenberger et al (U.S. Patent Application: 2019/0084285, here after 285), Rym Benyahia et al (WO 2016/096184, here after 184), John C Chang et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2002/0150765, here after 765), further in view of Shunichi Hashimoto et al (Japanese Patent: 2020049886, here after 886).
Claim 11 is rejected. 285 does not teach the intermediate layer (adhesive layer)
is applied by an injection molding process. 886 teaches a method of making a
decorated article where adhesion layer is made by injection molding [page 8 line 21].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the
invention was made to have a method of 285, 184, 765 where the adhesion layer is formed by injection molding, because it is suitable method for depositing adhesion layer for decorative articles.
Claim 16 is rejected as 285 teaches the intermediate layer is a PMMA
intermediate layer [0042].
Claim 17 is rejected as 285 teaches the intermediate layer is a polyurethane-
containing intermediate layer [0032].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argument regarding 35 U.S.C 112(a) of claim 1 is not persuasive, 0042 teaches IR curing with UV curing but does not indicating exposing
polysiloxane-containing composition to infrared irradiation(heat) to thermally initiate
curing of the cover layer, followed by exposing the applied polysiloxane-containing
composition to ultraviolet irradiation to further crosslink and finalize curing of the
polysiloxane-containing composition.
The applicant argument regarding 35 U.S.C 103 of claim 1 is not persuasive, Weissenberger teaches thickness of the decorative element is 100 um or 0.1 mm [0036]. Further more Weissenberger teaches a press mold way for forming decorative part (see fig.2, and claim rejection above). Benyahia et al also teach new limitation of amended claim 1 such as bonding with injection molding (see claim rejection above).
Regarding claim 3, Weissenberger teaches composition of multi polymers comprising polysiloxane and therefore it is to skill of an ordinary skill in art to chose the concentration of any of the polymers depends on hardness and other properties in absence of criticality. The applicant argument regarding claim 8 is not persuasive, 0033 clearly teaches the decorative element is a polymer with embedded colorant(pigments).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TABASSOM TADAYYON ESLAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718