Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 12-14, 17-18 and 26-27, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIMOMURA (Pub. No.: US 2022/0302146).
Re claim 10, SHIMOMURA, FIGS. 42C-D [as shown above] teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a set of word lines (146/246, ¶ [0205]) extending in a first direction;
a first via [FV] in a trench (265) wherein the first via [FV] extends in a second direction (vertical) different than the first direction (horizontal), wherein the trench (265) extends through at least a portion of the set of word lines (upper sets of word lines 246), and wherein the first via [FV] is surrounded by a first dielectric line ([FDL]/52 on the right);
a second via (76) in the trench (265), wherein the second via extends in the second direction (vertical) and is coupled with a word line of the set of word lines (146/246), and wherein the second via (76B) is surrounded by a second dielectric liner (76A); and
a third via [TV] in the trench (265), wherein the second via [SV] is between the first via [FV] and the third via [TV] along the first direction (horizontal), wherein the first via ([FV], by dielectric layer 52 of FIG. 11B, [0177]) and the third via ([TV], by dielectric layer 52 on the left) are electrically isolated from the word line of the set of word lines (146/246), and wherein the third via (TV] is surrounded by a third dielectric liner [TDL], a thickness of the second dielectric liner (76A) being greater than a thickness of the first dielectric liner ([FDL] on the DRAWING SCALE) and greater than a thickness of the third dielectric liner [TDL].
In re claim 10, however, Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). However, the picture must show all the claimed structural features and how they are put together. Jockmus v. Leviton, 28 F.2d 812 (2d Cir. 1928). The origin of the drawing is immaterial. For instance, drawings in a design patent can anticipate or make obvious the claimed invention as can drawings in utility patents. When the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979). See MPEP § 2121.04 for more information on prior art drawings as “enabled disclosures.”
Re claim 12, SHIMOMURA, FIGS. 42C-D teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the second via being coupled with the word line [FWL] is based at least in part on a first material (76A) surrounding the second via contacting the trench at a first level of the trench along the second direction.
Re claim 13, SHIMOMURA, FIGS. 42C-D teaches the apparatus of claim 10, further comprising: a first contact [FC] and a second contact [SC] on the trench, wherein the first contact and the second contact are aligned along the first direction, wherein the first contact contacts the trench at a first level of the trench along the second direction (horizontal).
Re claim 14, SHIMOMURA, FIGS. 42C-D teaches the apparatus of claim 13, wherein: the second contact [SC] is coupled with a fourth via [FourV], and
the fourth via is aligned with the second via along a third direction (Z-direction) different than the first direction and the second direction.
Re claim 17, SHIMOMURA, FIGS. 42C-D teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the second dielectric liner comprises an oxide material (76A, [0207]).
Re claim 18, SHIMOMURA, FIGS. 42C-D teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the second contact via structure (76B, ¶ [0264]).
SHIMOMURA differs from the invention by not showing wherein the second via comprises titanium, or titanium nitride, or tungsten, or any combination thereof.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to include the above said teaching because SHIMOMURA paragraph [0214] does disclosed “The at least one conductive material can include, for example, a metallic barrier material (such as TiN, TaN, and/or WN) and a metallic fill material (such as W, Cu, Mo, Co, Ru, etc.)” since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416.
Re claim 26, SHIMOMURA, FIG. 42D [as shown above] teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the first via [FV] penetrates a first wall of the trench (right wall of 265), the second via [SV] penetrates a floor of the trench (bottom of 265), and the third via [TV] penetrates a second wall of the trench (left wall of 265).
Re claim 27, SHIMOMURA, FIGS. 42C-D teaches the apparatus of claim 26, wherein the first wall of the trench (right wall of 265) and the second wall (left wall of 265) of the trench are coated in an oxide material (oxide material of 232, [0364), and the floor of the trench (contact 246/146) is not coated in the oxide material.
Re claim 28, SHIMOMURA, FIGS. 42C-D teaches the apparatus of claim 10, further comprising a staircase contact coupled (electrically thru 61) with the second via [SV] by a connection that comprises metal routing (76B), wherein the staircase contact is coupled with the word line (246, [0205]) through the second via.
Claim(s) 10, 17 and 26-27, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN (Pub. No.: US 2022/0406714) in view of SHIMOMURA
Re claim 10, SHIN, FIG. 32 [as shown above] teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a set of word lines ¶ [0065] extending in a first direction;
a first via [FV] in a trench [T] wherein the first via [FV] extends in a second direction (vertical) different than the first direction (horizontal), and wherein the trench [T] extends through at least a portion of the set of word lines ¶ [0065];
a second via [SV] in the trench [T], wherein the second via extends in the second direction (vertical) and is coupled with a word line of the set of word lines; and
a third via [TV] in the trench (265), wherein the second via [SV] is between the first via [FV] and the third via [TV] along the first direction (horizontal), and wherein the first via [FV] and the third via [TV] are electrically isolated (by dielectric layer 202c, [0035]) from the word line of the set of word lines.
SHIN fails to teach wherein the first via is surrounded by a first dielectric line;
wherein the second via is surrounded by a second dielectric liner; and
wherein the third via is surrounded by a third dielectric liner, a thickness of the second dielectric liner being greater than a thickness of the first dielectric liner and greater than a thickness of the third dielectric liner.
SHIMOMURA teaches wherein the first via [FV] is surrounded by a first dielectric line ([FDL]/52 on the right);
wherein the second via (76B) is surrounded by a second dielectric liner (76A); and
wherein the third via (TV] is surrounded by a third dielectric liner [TDL], a thickness of the second dielectric liner (76A) being greater than a thickness of the first dielectric liner ([FDL] on the DRAWING SCALE) and greater than a thickness of the third dielectric liner [TDL].
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of enhancing the electrical contract through stack structure as taught by SHIMOMURA, [0006].
Re claim 17, in the combination, SHIMOMURA, FIGS. 42C-D teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the second dielectric liner comprises an oxide material (76A, [0207]).
Re claim 26, in the combination, SHIN, FIG. 32 [as shown above] teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the first via [FV] penetrates a first wall of the trench (right side wall of [T]), the second via [SV] penetrates a floor of the trench (bottom of [T]), and the third via [TV] penetrates a second wall of the trench (left side wall of [T]).
Re claim 27, in the combination, SHIN, FIG. 4 teaches the apparatus of claim 26, wherein the first wall of the trench and the second wall of the trench are coated in an oxide material (oxide material of 110, [0090]), and the floor of the trench (contact 240 of metal material) is not coated in the oxide material.
Re claim 28, in the combination, SHIN, FIG. 4 teaches the apparatus of claim 10, further comprising a staircase contact coupled with the second via [SV] by a connection that comprises metal routing (314, FIG. 28, [0071]), wherein the staircase contact is coupled with the word line (240, [0031]) through the second via.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot due to a new ground of rejection [due to the new matching elements] and under 103 rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TONY TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893