DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
RE: the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103, Applicant’s amendments and arguments have been fully considered. However, further search and consideration have prompted the new grounds of rejection presented herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210098400A1 (“Shen”) in view of US20070099368A1 (“Ahn”), further in view of US20200075523A1 (“Torres”).
RE: Claim 1, Shen discloses A method (method 10, FIG. 1) comprising:
providing a substrate (200A and/or 206, 209 formed over 200A; FIG. 2, [0011]-[0012]);
patterning a first photoresist material layer (220A in FIG. 6A) overlying the substrate to form a first opening (222 defined by in 220A in FIG. 6A) with a first width (first width of 222 defined by 220A in FIG. 6A) in the first photoresist material layer;
patterning a second photoresist material layer (220B in FIG. 6A) overlying the first photoresist material layer to form a second opening (222 defined by 220B in FIG. 6A) aligned with the first opening with a second width (second width of 222 defined by 220B in FIG. 6A) in the second photoresist material layer;
depositing metal (copper included in 230, [0029], FIG. 7A) in the first and second openings to form a metal trace (230);
forming a dielectric layer (combination of 240 and 246, FIGs. 9-12, 240 includes silicon nitride or silicon oxide, [0034]; 246 includes polyimide, [0036]; the instant application identifies silicon nitride, silicon oxide, polyimide as dielectric materials, [0040], [0045]) overlying the substrate; and
forming an interconnect (252 or 252’, FIGs. 13, 14A-14B) on the metal trace.
Shen does not explicitly disclose:
the bottom layer 220A is a photoresist;
the process of patterning the second photoresist material layer overlying the first photoresist material layer to form the second opening aligned with the first opening with the second width in the second photoresist material layer is performed after forming the first opening with the first width in the first photoresist material layer;
the second width of the second opening is smaller than the first width of the first opening.
However, Shen discloses both the bottom layer 220A and the photoresist layer 220B (together referred to as the masking element 220) are configured to be patternable by the same lithography process. For example, the lithography process may include exposing the masking element 220 to a radiation source (e.g., extreme ultraviolet, or EUV, radiation) through a photomask, and developing the exposed masking element 220 to form a desired pattern in the masking element 220, [0019]. Since 220A and 220B are patterned by being exposed to light through a photomask and developed to form a desired pattern, 220A and 220B are both considered a photoresist.
Alternatively or additionally, in the same field of endeavor, Ahn discloses photoresist layers 27, 28, 29 and 30 are patterned by a photolithography process, an electron beam lithography process, etc. to form an opening, FIG. 2D, [0026]. Ahn further teaches Here, the composition of the first and second photoresist layers 27 and 28 should be decided by considering an etch selectivity so as not to damage the first and second photoresist layers 27 and 28 while the third insulating layer 26 is over-etched, [0027]. FIG. 2D in Ahn shows that each photoresist layer 27, 28, 29, 30 has a different opening width, where the width of the opening in 30 is smaller than the width of the opening in 29.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the bottom layer 220A a photoresist layer as taught by Ahn in order to simplify manufacturing as this would result in the bottom layer 220A and the photoresist layer 220B each being configured to be patternable by a lithography process as taught by Shen, which Shen teaches includes exposing the masking element 220 to a radiation source (e.g., extreme ultraviolet, or EUV, radiation) through a photomask, and developing the exposed masking element 220 to form a desired pattern in the masking element 220, [0019].
In the same field of endeavor, Torres discloses in FIGs. 5A-5B:
patterning a first resist material layer (502 in FIG. 5A, [0038]) overlying a substrate (102) to form a first opening (504) with a first width (first width of 504 in FIG. 5A) in the first resist material layer;
after forming the first opening with the first width in the first resist material layer, patterning a second resist material layer (506 in FIG. 5B) overlying the first resist material layer to form a second opening (508) aligned with the first opening with a second width (second width of 508 in FIG. 5B is smaller than first width of 504) smaller than the first width in the second resist material layer;
depositing metal in the first and second openings to form a metal trace (electroplating a metal to the contact 106 to fabricate the conductive bump 108, [0038]).
As Torres discloses that each of the resists 502 and 506 are patterned and etched to form first and second openings 504, 506 on a substrate 102 for the deposition of metal, [0038] each of the patterned resists 502 and 506 functions as a mask.
Further, Torres teaches that film resists are illuminated prior to etching, [0031].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first patterning process in FIG. 6A so that forming the bottom layer 220A of the masking element 220 is formed with a first opening having a first width is performed before forming the photoresist layer 220B of the masking element 220 with a second opening having a second width smaller than the first width as taught by Torres in order to widen the starting width of the first opening in the bottom layer 220A in FIG. 6A, thereby widening the base of the resulting RDL 230 to improve its structural and mechanical integrity.
RE: Claim 3, Shen in view of Ahn, Torres discloses The method of claim 1, wherein prior to patterning the first photoresist material layer overlying the substrate, the method further comprises depositing at least one seed layer (216, FIG. 4 which is before 220A and 220B are formed, [0016]) on the substrate.
RE: Claim 4, Shen in view of Ahn, Torres discloses The method of claim 3, wherein prior to forming the dielectric layer overlying the substrate, the method further comprises removing the first and second photoresist material layers via a first etching process (referring to FIG. 8, the patterned masking element 220 is removed, [0030]; FIG. 8 is before FIGs. 9-12 which shows dielectric 240, 246).
RE: Claim 5, Shen in view of Ahn, Torres discloses The method of claim 4, further comprising removing exposed portions of the at least one seed layer via a metal etching process (portions of the seed layer 216 not disposed under the RDL 230 are selectively removed from the workpiece 200 without removing, or substantially removing, portions of the RDL 230 or the first passivation layer 212. In one example, the etching process may be a dry etching process, [0030], FIG. 8; the seed layer is metal, [0016], therefore, etching portions of the seed layer is considered a metal etching process).
RE: Claim 6, Shen in view of Ahn, Torres discloses The method of claim 1, wherein forming the dielectric layer overlying the substrate includes depositing the dielectric layer over the substrate and the metal trace (FIGs. 11-12 show 240, 246 deposited over 230 and 206, 209 which are formed over 200A) and patterning the dielectric layer to form an opening (248, FIG. 12) over all or a portion of the metal trace.
RE: Claim 7, Shen in view of Ahn, Torres discloses The method of claim 6, further comprising depositing a metal layer (seed layer of bump 250 including copper, [0039]-[0040]) in the opening of the dielectric layer and on the metal trace.
RE: Claim 8, Shen in view of Ahn, Torres discloses The method of claim 7, further comprising patterning a third photoresist material layer (masking element (not depicted) including a photoresist layer over the protection layer 246, [0040]) overlying the dielectric layer to form an opening (re-exposed opening 248, [0040]; Shen teaches exposing the masking element to a radiation source through a photomask, developing the exposed masking element to form a patterned masking element that re-exposes at least the opening 248, [0040]) over the metal layer.
RE: Claim 9, Shen in view of Ahn, Torres discloses The method of claim 8, further comprising depositing an under bump metallization layer (bulk conductive layer of 250, [0039]-[0040]; FIG. 13 shows 250 in 240, 246) in the opening of the third photoresist material layer (250 would be deposited in the opening of the photoresist layer so that it is deposited in 248) and on the metal layer (forming the bulk conductive layer over the seed layer, [0040]) and removing the third photoresist material layer via a second etching process (After forming the solder layer 252, the patterned masking element is removed, [0041]).
RE: Claim 21, Shen in view of Ahn, Torres discloses The method of claim 3, wherein the at least one seed layer comprises titanium tungsten (TiW) and copper (Cu) (the seed layer 216 includes copper, [0016]; Though not depicted, a barrier layer may be formed be between the seed layer 216 and the patterned first passivation layer 212. The composition and methods of forming such a barrier layer are similar to those discussed above with respect to the contact vias 208 and the conductive lines 209, [0016]; though not depicted, the contact vias 208 and/or the conductive lines 209 each includes the conductive layer disposed over a barrier layer. The barrier layer may include titanium, titanium nitride, tantalum, tantalum nitride, tungsten, cobalt, cobalt nitride, tungsten nitride, ruthenium, ruthenium nitride, other suitable metals, other suitable metal nitrides, or combinations thereof, [0013]; therefore, the barrier layer includes a combination of titanium and tungsten which is considered to be titanium tungsten (TiW); the barrier layer and the seed layer 216 formed over the barrier layer are in combination considered to correspond to the claimed at least one seed layer).
RE: Claim 22, Shen in view of Ahn, Torres does not explicitly disclose The method of claim 7, wherein the metal layer comprises TiW and Cu.
However, Shen discloses the bump 250 includes a bulk conductive layer containing copper, nickel, cobalt, aluminum, gold, silver, palladium, tin, bismuth, their respective alloys, or combinations thereof. The bump 250 may optionally include a seed layer (not depicted) disposed under the bulk conductive layer in the opening 248 and configured to facilitate the formation of the bulk conductive layer. Depending upon the composition of the bulk conductive layer, the seed layer may include copper, tantalum, titanium, titanium nitride, tantalum nitride, other suitable materials, or combinations thereof, [0039].
Shen further discloses the contact vias 208 and/or the conductive lines 209 each includes the conductive layer disposed over a barrier layer. The barrier layer may include titanium, titanium nitride, tantalum, tantalum nitride, tungsten, cobalt, cobalt nitride, tungsten nitride, ruthenium, ruthenium nitride, other suitable metals, other suitable metal nitrides, or combinations thereof. For embodiments in which the conductive layer includes copper (or any alloy thereof), the contact vias 208 and/or the conductive lines 209 may further include a copper-containing seed layer over which the conductive layer is deposited, [0013].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a barrier layer containing a combination of titanium and tungsten, which is considered to be titanium tungsten (TiW) to prevent copper in the copper-containing seed layer and/or copper in the bulk conductive layer of 250 from diffusing into the protection layer 246 and prevent short-circuiting. The combination of the barrier layer and the copper-containing seed layer of 250 is considered to correspond to the claimed metal layer.
RE: Claim 23, Shen in view of Ahn, Torres discloses The method of claim 9, wherein the under bump metallization layer comprises Cu (bulk conductive layer of 250 includes copper, [0039]).
RE: Claim 24, Shen in view of Ahn, Torres discloses The method of claim 9, wherein forming the interconnect comprises forming a solder bump (252 or 252’, FIGs. 13, 14A-14B) on the under bump metallization layer.
RE: Claim 25, Shen in view of Ahn, Torres discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the dielectric layer comprises polyimide (246 includes polyimide, [0036]).
RE: Claim 26, Shen in view of Ahn, Torres discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the dielectric layer comprises silicon oxide or silicon nitride (240 includes silicon oxide or silicon nitride, [0034]).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen in view of Ahn, further in view of Torres as applied to claim 3, and further in view of US 8168540 B1 to Reid et al. (hereinafter “Reid”).
RE: Claim 27, Shen in view of Ahn, Torres does not explicitly disclose The method of claim 3, wherein the at least one seed layer is deposited via electroplating.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Reid discloses that a copper seed layer is deposited via electroplating, Col. 4, lines 9-11. Reid further discloses that electroplating processes can typically deposit very thin conformal films, the invention addresses the conflict between excessive field thickness and inadequate sidewall coverage obtained with films laid using PVD, Col. 1, lines 45-50.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deposit the seed layer via electroplating as taught by Reid which would allow the deposition of a very thin conformal seed layer, which would ensure adequate sidewall coverage in 214 in FIG. 4 of Shen while saving material costs.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL ANGUIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899