DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15, 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eid(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2020/0194335, hereinafter Eid) in view of Kim (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2017/0207205, hereinafter Kim) and Choi (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2022/0399287, hereinafter Choi).
Re claim 1 Eid discloses an electronic assembly, comprising: a substrate(901); a first die(905/906) with first and second opposing surfaces, wherein the first die(905/906 of Eid) is coupled to the substrate(901) at the first surface(bottom); a stiffener(902/902c/902d/925)[0041 of Eid] attached to the substrate(901), the stiffener(902/902c/902d/925)[0041] having a cavity that accommodates the first die(905/906), wherein the second surface(top) of the first die(905/906) faces the stiffener(902/902c/902d/925)[0041]; and a thermally conductive layer(930/910 of Eid) positioned in the cavity between the stiffener(902/902c/902d/925)[0041] and the first die(905/906).
Eid does not disclose at least one first trench extending partially through the first die(905/906) from the second surface(top); and a thermally conductive layer(930/910) positioned in the cavity between the stiffener(902/902c/902d/925)[0041] and the first die(905/906) and at least partially filling the at least one first trench;
wherein the first die has a first footprint , the at least one first trench comprising a first inner ring trench having a first inner trench footprint and a first outer ring trench having a first outer trench footprint, the first outer trench footprint being greater than the first inner trench footprint; the cavity having a second footprint greater than the first footprint, the conductive layer extending across the second footprint between the stiffener and the second surface of the first die .
Kim disclose in Fig 5B at least one first trench(380) extending partially through the first die(300) from the second surface(top); and a thermally conductive layer(ML/MLP) at least partially filling the at least one first trench(380).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Kim to the teachings of Eid in order to enhance the operational reliability of the first semiconductor chip [0071, Kim]. In doing so, a thermally conductive layer(ML/MLP of Kim) positioned in the cavity between the stiffener(902/902c/902d/925 of Eid) and the first die(300 of Kim) and at least partially filling the at least one first trench(380 of Kim).
Eid does not disclose wherein the first die has a first footprint , the at least one first trench comprising a first inner ring trench having a first inner trench footprint and a first outer ring trench having a first outer trench footprint, the first outer trench footprint being greater than the first inner trench footprint; the cavity having a second footprint greater than the first footprint, the conductive layer extending across the second footprint between the stiffener and the second surface of the first die .
Choi disclose in Fig 6 wherein the first die has a first footprint (footprint of 400 of Choi), the at least one first trench(trench of 400/300) comprising a first inner ring trench(footprint of trench of 400/300) having a first inner trench footprint and a first outer ring trench(trench of 500BR/300) having a first outer trench footprint(footprint of trench of 500BR/300), the first outer trench footprint being greater than the first inner trench footprint; the cavity(cavity of 50/500FL/500BRa) having a second footprint (footprint of cavity of 50/500FL/500BRa of Choi) greater than the first footprint(footprint of 400 of Choi),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Choi to the teachings of Eid in order to prevents bending from occurring in the semiconductor package [0005, Choi]. In doing so, the conductive layer(930/910 of Eid) extending across the second footprint(footprint of cavity of 50/500FL of Choi) between the stiffener(902/902c/902d/925)[0041 of Eid] and the second surface of the first die(905/906 of Eid) .
Re claim 2 Eid and Kim and Choi disclose the electronic assembly of claim 1, wherein the first die(905/906) has a first footprint and the cavity of the stiffener(902/902c/902d/925)[0041] has a second footprint, and wherein the conductive layer extends across the second footprint between the stiffener(902/902c/902d/925)[0041] and the second surface(top) of the first die(905/906).
Re claim 3 Eid and Kim and Choi disclose the electronic assembly of claim 1, wherein the conductive layer is a liquid metal[0042].
Re claim 4 Eid and Kim and Choi disclose the electronic assembly of claim 3, wherein the liquid metal[0042] comprises metal alloy composites of at least one of tin, indium, gallium, francium, cesium, and rubidium[0042].
Re claim 5 Eid and Kim and Choi disclose the electronic assembly of claim 1, further comprising a dielectric layer(610)[0092 of Kim] positioned in the cavity over the conductive layer and around the first die(905/906), wherein the dielectric layer(610)[0092 of Kim] holds the conductive layer intact to the stiffener(902/902c/902d/925)[0041].
Re claim 6 Eid and Kim and Choi disclose the electronic assembly of claim 5, wherein the dielectric layer(610)[0092 of Kim] comprises an epoxy polymer layer, a polyimide layer, a mold compound layer, or a silicone layer.
Re claim 7 Eid and Kim and Choi disclose the electronic assembly of claim 1, wherein the stiffener(902/902c/902d/925)[0041] is formed of a conductive material.
Re claim 8 Eid and Kim and Choi disclose the electronic assembly of claim 1, wherein the stiffener(902/902c/902d/925)[0041] and the conductive layer is coupled to a reference voltage.
Re claim 9 Eid and Kim and Choi disclose the electronic assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least one first trench(380 of Kim) comprises a plurality of columns(see Fig 5B of Kim).
Re claim 10 Eid and Kim and Choi disclose the electronic assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least one first trench(380 of Kim) comprises a first inner ring trench with a first inner trench footprint and a first outer ring trench with a first outer trench footprint, the first outer trench footprint being greater than the first inner trench footprint.
Re claim 11 Eid and Kim and Choi disclose the electronic assembly of claim 1, further comprising:a second die(905/906) adjacent to the first die(905/906), the second die(905/906) includes first and second opposing surfaces; and at least one second trench(380 of Kim) extending partially through the second die(905/906) from the second surface(top) of the second die(905/906).
Re claim 12 Eid and Kim and Choi disclose the electronic assembly of claim 11, wherein the first and second die(905/906)s are encapsulated within a mold layer(400)[0052 of Kim] with a first footprint, the cavity of the stiffener(902/902c/902d/925)[0041] has a second footprint, and wherein the conductive layer extends across the second footprint between the stiffener(902/902c/902d/925)[0041] and the second surface(top) of the first die(905/906) and the second surface(top) of the second die(905/906), and wherein the conductive layer further at least partially fills the at least one second trench(380 of Kim).
Re claim 13 Eid and Kim and Choi disclose the electronic assembly of claim 12, further comprising a dielectric layer(610)[0092 of Kim] positioned in the cavity over the conductive layer and around the mold layer(400)[0052 of Kim], wherein the dielectric layer(610)[0092 of Kim] holds the conductive layer intact to the stiffener(902/902c/902d/925)[0041].
Re claim 14 Eid and Kim and Choi disclose the electronic assembly of claim 11, wherein the first die(905/906) comprises a central processing unit (CPU)[0070 of Kim].
Re claim 15 Eid and Kim and Choi disclose the electronic assembly of claim 14, wherein the second die(905/906) comprises a graphic processing unit (GPU), a neural processing unit (NPU), a deep learning processor (DLP), a system-on-chip (SOC), a memory device, a field programmable gate array (FGPA) or an 1/0 tile[0159].
Re claim 21 Eid and Kim and Choi disclose the electronic assembly of claim 1, wherein the first die further comprises an active layer between the first and second surfaces and a redistribution layer[0048 of Choi] adjacent to the active layer on a side of the active layer facing the second surface, and wherein the at least one first trench extends through at least a portion of the redistribution layer.
Re claim 22 Eid and Kim and Choi disclose the method of claim 16, further comprising: providing a second die adjacent to the first die(905/906 of Eid), the second die including first and second opposing surfaces; and forming at least one second trench extending partially through the second die from the second surface of the second die.
Re claim 23 Eid and Kim and Choi disclose the method of claim 22, wherein the first and second dies are encapsulated within a mold layer with a first footprint, the cavity of the stiffener has a second footprint, and wherein the conductive layer extends across the second footprint (see Fig 6 of Choi) between the stiffener and the second surface of the first die(905/906 of Eid) and the second surface of the second die, and wherein the conductive layer further at least partially fills the at least one second trench
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1-15, 21-23 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812