DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 8/27/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claim 13, which depends from claim 1 is not encompassed by the restriction requirement but is directed to the group I invention.
Claim 13 will be examined along with elected group I.
In light of this correction, the requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse regarding Group I-Group II in the reply filed on 8/27/25.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
At the end of claim 1, the units “K]min-1” appears to be incorrect.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weiss et al. 2019/0062201.
Weiss et al. discloses a lithium aluminum silicate glass ceramic that is free from As2O3 and Sb203 with keatite as a primary crystal phase [0074].
Note that the keatite peak temperature appears to be a material property. The method by which the property is measured has no bearing on the claimed material. Since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the material discussed above would inherently possess the properties recited in the claims. See MPEP 2112. It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971). Products of identical composition may not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655,1658 (Fed. Circ. 1990).
With respect to claims 2,8,9,10,11 Weiss et al. discloses the glass comprises the following components in the following proportions (in wt % based on oxide): See Glass A1
Li20 3.91
A1203 20.5
SiO2 65.1
SnO2 0.27
MgO 0.32
ZnO 1.54
Nd2O3 0
P2O5 0.029
With respect to claim 7, Weiss et al. discloses the keatite containing glass ceramic has a coefficient of mean linear thermal expansion α (20°C; 700°C) of 0.8 to 1.5 x 10-6/K and may be translucent or opaque via customary conversion [0074].
With respect to claims 3-6 and 13, regarding the claimed quotient, color, brightness and associated values, these are material properties. Since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the material discussed above would inherently possess the properties recited in the claims. See MPEP 2112. It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971). Products of identical composition may not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655,1658 (Fed. Circ. 1990).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss et al. 2019/0062201 in view of EP 1,236,695 A2 and ES 2804277 T3.
Weiss et al. discloses a lithium aluminum silicate glass ceramic that is free from As2O3 and Sb203 with keatite as a primary crystal phase [0074].
Note that the keatite peak temperature appears to be a material property. The method by which the property is measured has no bearing on the claimed material. Since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the material discussed above would inherently possess the properties recited in the claims. See MPEP 2112. It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971). Products of identical composition may not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655,1658 (Fed. Circ. 1990).
Further, EP 1,236,695 A2 discloses that the temperature for transformation to the keatite phase can be measured by DTA measurements. Examples of such values are shown in Table 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to determine keatite peak temperatures utilizing such measurements. Note the particular measurement technique is of no patentable significance as the claims are drawn to a composition.
With respect to claims 2,8,9,10,11 Weiss et al. discloses the glass comprises the following components in the following proportions (in wt % based on oxide): See Glass A1
Li20 3.91
A1203 20.5
SiO2 65.1
SnO2 0.27
MgO 0.32
ZnO 1.54
Nd2O3 0
P2O5 0.029
With respect to claim 7, Weiss et al. discloses the keatite containing glass ceramic has a coefficient of mean linear thermal expansion α (20°C; 700°C) of 0.8 to 1.5 x 10-6/K and may be translucent or opaque via customary conversion [0074].
With respect to claims 3-6 and 13, regarding the claimed quotient, color, brightness and associated values, these are material properties. Since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the material discussed above would inherently possess the properties recited in the claims. See MPEP 2112. It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971). Products of identical composition may not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655,1658 (Fed. Circ. 1990).
Further, ES 2804277 T3 discloses lithium-aluminum-silicate glass ceramics can contain coloring oxides to produce a colored glass ceramic. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use these coloring oxides such as those claimed to obtained the desired color properties.
With respect to claim 12, Weiss et al. further discloses
Na2O 0.6
K2O 0.24
Na2O + K2O 0.84
CaO 0.42
SrO 0.018
BaO 2.31
SrO + BaO 2.328
B2O3 0
ZrO2 1.42
While Weiss et al. does not disclose the exact claimed amounts of the following components, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). MPEP 2144.05 I.
TiO2 3.19 vs claimed 2.8 max
SnO2 0.27 vs claimed <0.25
TiO2/ZrO2/SnO2 4.88 vs claimed 4.8 max
Fe2O3 882 ppm vs claimed wt%
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A FIORILLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731