DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on 8/25/2022, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . A first Non-Final office action examining claims 1-19 was mailed on 2/21/2025 and a first Final office action examining claims 1-9, 11-15 and 17-19 was mailed on 8/1/2025.
A second Non-Final office action examining claims 1-9, 11-15 and 17-19 was mailed on 2/9/2026 in response to a request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 10/28/2025 was entered. This office action is in response to Applicants submission of 5/11/2026. Claims 1-9, 11-15, and 18-19 are pending and being examined. Claims 1 and 14 are currently amended. Claim 17 is cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo (US 20190371634 A1) in view of Pease (US 20140048529 A1) and Singh (US 20120097661 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Endo teaches a substrate treating apparatus (Fig. 1, [0027], substrate processing apparatus 10) comprising:
a chamber having a treating space (Fig. 1, [0027], chamber 1 with processing space 5); and
a support unit configured to support and heat a substrate in the treating space (Fig. 1, [0029]-[0030], mounting table 11 includes electrostatic chuck 17 within which heaters 23-1 to 23-n are embedded, and wafer 65 is mounted on electrostatic chuck 17), and
wherein the support unit comprises:
a plurality of heating elements configured to adjust a temperature of the substrate (Fig. 1, [0029]-[0030], mounting table 11 includes electrostatic chuck 17 within which heaters 23-1 to 23-n are embedded, and wafer 65 is mounted on electrostatic chuck 17, and where temperature of heater 23-1 is adjustable, [0061]);
a support plate in which the plurality of heating elements are disposed and which includes at least one of a dielectric layer and an insulation layer (Fig. 1, [0030], mounting table 11 includes electrostatic chuck body 21 which is made of an insulator within which heaters 23-n are embedded, and a separate insulating plate 14 is also disposed in mounting table 11);
a power source configured to generate a power applied to the plurality of heating elements (Fig. 3, [0059], AC power supply 74 supplies power to heaters 23-1 to 23-n);
a power supply line transmitting the power generated by the power source to the at least one heating element (Fig. 3, [0044], power supply line 75 connects heater 23-1 and power supply 74);
wherein each heating element is connected to any one of the plurality of power supply lines and any one of the plurality of power return lines but does not share a same power supply line of the plurality of power supply lines or a same power return line of the plurality of power return lines, plurality of power supply units 32-n each contain individual supply lines 75 and return lines, Fig. 3), and
wherein at least one current measuring resistor is disposed outside of the support plate (Figs. 1 and 3, heaters 23-1 to 23-n are disposed within chuck 17, while the power supply units 32-1 to 32-n, which contain switch 71, voltmeter 72, and ammeter 73, [0044], are shown in Fig. 1 to be located outside the chuck 17 and insulating plate 14).
While Endo teaches AC power supply 74 supplies power to heaters 23-1 to 32-n (Fig. 3, [0059]), Endo fails to explicitly teach a plurality of power supply lines configured to transmit the power generated by the power source to the plurality of heating elements, and
a plurality of power return lines configured to ground the plurality of heating elements.
Endo also fails to teach a plurality of current measuring resistors provided on the power return lines and positioned outside the insulation layer, each current measuring resistor corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of heating elements and used for estimating a temperature of the plurality of heating elements.
However, Pease teaches a power source configured to generate a power applied to the plurality of heating elements (Pease, Fig. 5, [0024], power source 510 powers plural heater zones 101), a plurality of power supply lines configured to transmit the power generated by the power source to the plurality of heating elements (Pease, Fig. 5, plural power supply lines 201 are connected between power source 510 and plural heater zones 101), a plurality of power return lines configured to ground the plurality of heating elements (Pease, Fig. 5, ground is connected to plural power return lines 202, which are connected to plural heater zones 101)
Pease is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the common power supply and associated grounding of Pease into the power supply unit circuits of Endo as doing so would provide arrangements of the explicit connections needed to enable multiple heaters to be powered in parallel from one power supply, while still allowing for selective powering of a subset of heaters independent from a different subset of heaters (Pease, [0027]).
To clarify the record, the limitations “adjusting a temperature of the substrate“, “generating a power applied to”, “transmitting the power generated by the power source”, and “used for estimating a temperature of” are merely intended uses and are given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The electrostatic chuck of Endo has embedded heaters and clamps a wafer, thereby being capable of adjusting the temperature of the substrate. The AC power supply of Endo is capable of generating a voltage and the supply line is connected between the power supply and heater, thereby being capable of transmitting said power between the elements. The shunt resistor of Endo is connected on the power lines and measures a resistance, thereby being capable of estimating a temperature when used in conjunction with a conversion table. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
While modified Endo teaches a plurality of current measuring resistors provided on the power supply lines and positioned outside the insulation layer, each current measuring resistor corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of heating elements and used for estimating a temperature of the plurality of heating elements (Fig. 3, [0044]-[0045], shunt resistor 76 is located on supply line 75 between heater 23-1 and power supply 74 within power supply unit 32-1, where plural power supply units 32-1 to 32-n are shown in Fig. 1 to be located outside the chuck 17 and insulating plate 14), modified Endo fails to teach wherein the current measuring resistors are provided on the power return lines.
However, Singh teaches a plurality of current measuring resistors provided on the power return lines (Singh, Fig. 4, [0026], ammeters 530 are provided on power return lines 202 or power supply lines 201) and positioned outside the insulation layer, each current measuring resistor corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of heating elements and used for estimating a temperature of the plurality of heating elements (Singh, Fig. 4, [0026], an ammeter 530 corresponds to each heating zone 101).
Singh is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have provided the ammeter of Endo on the power return line instead of the power supply line as taught by Singh as Singh teaches a simple substitution of one know element (ammeter 530 located on the power supply line) for another (ammeter 530 located on the power return line) to obtain predictable results (measuring of the current flowing through a heater zone, when calculated with the voltage from voltmeter 520, provides a measured heating power of the heater zone to compare to a pre-established heating power to determine a deviation requiring an alarm, Singh, [0024]-[0026]).
Regarding the amendment to claims 1, 3 and 14 claimed switching is disclosed in Endo at Fig 3, 71, Pease at Fig 5 and Singh at Fig 7.
Regarding claim 2, Endo teaches wherein a magnitude of resistance of a current measuring resistor of the plurality of current measuring resistors is smaller than a magnitude of resistance of at least one heating element of the plurality of heating elements ([0045], resistance of shunt resistor 76 is 10 mΩ, resistance of heater at 20°C is 43.5 Ω, Fig. 6).
While modified Endo teaches a plurality of current measuring resistors provided on the power supply lines and positioned outside the insulation layer, each current measuring resistor corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of heating elements and used for estimating a temperature of the plurality of heating elements (Fig. 3, [0044]-[0045], shunt resistor 76 is located on supply line 75 between heater 23-1 and power supply 74 within power supply unit 32-1, where plural power supply units 32-1 to 32-n are shown in Fig. 1 to be located outside the chuck 17 and insulating plate 14), modified Endo fails to teach wherein the current measuring resistors are provided on the power return lines.
However, Singh teaches a plurality of current measuring resistors provided on the power return lines (Singh, Fig. 4, [0026], ammeters 530 are provided on power return lines 202 or power supply lines 201) and positioned outside the insulation layer, each current measuring resistor corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of heating elements and used for estimating a temperature of the plurality of heating elements (Singh, Fig. 4, [0026], an ammeter 530 corresponds to each heating zone 101).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have provided the ammeter of Endo on the power return line instead of the power supply line as taught by Singh as Singh teaches a simple substitution of one know element (ammeter 530 located on the power supply line) for another (ammeter 530 located on the power return line) to obtain predictable results (measuring of the current flowing through a heater zone, when calculated with the voltage from voltmeter 520, provides a measured heating power of the heater zone to compare to a pre-established heating power to determine a deviation requiring an alarm, Singh, [0024]-[0026]).
Regarding claim 3, Endo teaches wherein the support unit further comprises at least one switch on a power supply line of the plurality of power supply lines and/or a power return line (Fig. 3, [0044], switch 71 is on supply line 75), and the current measuring resistor is connected in series to the at least one heating element if the at least one switch is turned on (Fig. 3, [0044], resistor 76 is connected in series with heater 23-1, switch 71, and power supply 74, and power is supplied across resistor 76 when the switch is closed).
Regarding the amendment to claims 1, 3 and 14 claimed switching is disclosed in Endo at Fig 3, 71, Pease at Fig 5 and Singh at Fig 7.
Regarding claim 4, Endo teaches a control unit configured to control the support unit (Fig. 4, [0072], controller 80 controls elements of the apparatus 10, including temperature of heaters 23-n, which are included in mounting table 11, via communication I/F 95), and
wherein the control unit comprises: a resistance measurement unit (Fig. 3, [0045], ammeter 73) configured to measure a current flowing through a current measuring resistor of the plurality of current measuring resistors and measure magnitude of resistance of at least one heating element of the plurality of heating elements based on the measured current ([0045], ammeter 73, which includes resistor 76, measures an instantaneous value of the current flowing through the heater 23-1 based on the voltage measured by the voltmeter 77); and
a temperature estimation unit configured to estimate the temperature of the plurality of heating elements based on the magnitude of resistance of the at least one heating element measured by the resistance measurement unit (Fig. 6, [0056], controller 80 obtains the temperature of the heater 23-1 based on the resistance of the heater 23-1 with reference to the conversion table 111-1, where heaters 23-n are provided in plural).
While modified Endo teaches a plurality of current measuring resistors provided on the power supply lines and positioned outside the insulation layer, each current measuring resistor corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of heating elements and used for estimating a temperature of the plurality of heating elements (Fig. 3, [0044]-[0045], shunt resistor 76 is located on supply line 75 between heater 23-1 and power supply 74 within power supply unit 32-1, where plural power supply units 32-1 to 32-n are shown in Fig. 1 to be located outside the chuck 17 and insulating plate 14), modified Endo fails to teach wherein the current measuring resistors are provided on the power return lines.
However, Singh teaches a plurality of current measuring resistors provided on the power return lines (Singh, Fig. 4, [0026], ammeters 530 are provided on power return lines 202 or power supply lines 201) and positioned outside the insulation layer, each current measuring resistor corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of heating elements and used for estimating a temperature of the plurality of heating elements (Singh, Fig. 4, [0026], an ammeter 530 corresponds to each heating zone 101).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have provided the ammeter of Endo on the power return line instead of the power supply line as taught by Singh as Singh teaches a simple substitution of one know element (ammeter 530 located on the power supply line) for another (ammeter 530 located on the power return line) to obtain predictable results (measuring of the current flowing through a heater zone, when calculated with the voltage from voltmeter 520, provides a measured heating power of the heater zone to compare to a pre-established heating power to determine a deviation requiring an alarm, Singh, [0024]-[0026]).
Regarding claim 5, Endo teaches wherein the resistance measurement unit is configured to determine whether the magnitude of resistance of the at least one heating element is becoming smaller as the magnitude of current flowing through the current measuring resistor is becoming greater (Fig. 4, [0055], controller 80 calculates the resistance of the heater 23-1 based on the instantaneous value of the voltage measured by the voltmeter 72 and the instantaneous value of the current measured by the ammeter 73, and the resistance of the heater 23-1 is obtained by dividing the instantaneous value of the voltage by the instantaneous value of the current).
While modified Endo teaches a plurality of current measuring resistors provided on the power supply lines and positioned outside the insulation layer, each current measuring resistor corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of heating elements and used for estimating a temperature of the plurality of heating elements (Fig. 3, [0044]-[0045], shunt resistor 76 is located on supply line 75 between heater 23-1 and power supply 74 within power supply unit 32-1, where plural power supply units 32-1 to 32-n are shown in Fig. 1 to be located outside the chuck 17 and insulating plate 14), modified Endo fails to teach wherein the current measuring resistors are provided on the power return lines.
However, Singh teaches a plurality of current measuring resistors provided on the power return lines (Singh, Fig. 4, [0026], ammeters 530 are provided on power return lines 202 or power supply lines 201) and positioned outside the insulation layer, each current measuring resistor corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of heating elements and used for estimating a temperature of the plurality of heating elements (Singh, Fig. 4, [0026], an ammeter 530 corresponds to each heating zone 101).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have provided the ammeter of Endo on the power return line instead of the power supply line as taught by Singh as Singh teaches a simple substitution of one know element (ammeter 530 located on the power supply line) for another (ammeter 530 located on the power return line) to obtain predictable results (measuring of the current flowing through a heater zone, when calculated with the voltage from voltmeter 520, provides a measured heating power of the heater zone to compare to a pre-established heating power to determine a deviation requiring an alarm, Singh, [0024]-[0026]).
Regarding claim 6, Endo teaches wherein the temperature estimation unit is configured to estimate the temperature of the heating element based on the magnitude of resistance of the at least one heating element measured by the resistance measurement unit with reference to a reference data representing one to one correspondence between magnitude of resistance and temperature for the at least one heating element (Fig. 6, [0056], controller 80 obtains the temperature of the heater 23-1 based on the resistance of the heater 23-1 with reference to the conversion table 111-1).
While modified Endo teaches a plurality of current measuring resistors provided on the power supply lines and positioned outside the insulation layer, each current measuring resistor corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of heating elements and used for estimating a temperature of the plurality of heating elements (Fig. 3, [0044]-[0045], shunt resistor 76 is located on supply line 75 between heater 23-1 and power supply 74 within power supply unit 32-1, where plural power supply units 32-1 to 32-n are shown in Fig. 1 to be located outside the chuck 17 and insulating plate 14), modified Endo fails to teach wherein the current measuring resistors are provided on the power return lines.
However, Singh teaches a plurality of current measuring resistors provided on the power return lines (Singh, Fig. 4, [0026], ammeters 530 are provided on power return lines 202 or power supply lines 201) and positioned outside the insulation layer, each current measuring resistor corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of heating elements and used for estimating a temperature of the plurality of heating elements (Singh, Fig. 4, [0026], an ammeter 530 corresponds to each heating zone 101).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have provided the ammeter of Endo on the power return line instead of the power supply line as taught by Singh as Singh teaches a simple substitution of one know element (ammeter 530 located on the power supply line) for another (ammeter 530 located on the power return line) to obtain predictable results (measuring of the current flowing through a heater zone, when calculated with the voltage from voltmeter 520, provides a measured heating power of the heater zone to compare to a pre-established heating power to determine a deviation requiring an alarm, Singh, [0024]-[0026]).
Regarding claim 7, Endo teaches wherein the control unit comprises a control part configured to control the power source and/or the at least one switch based on the temperature of the at least one heating element estimated by the temperature estimation unit (Fig. 6, [0056], controller 80 controls switch 71 and controls the power supply units 32-n based on resistance data and values from conversion tables 111-n).
Regarding claim 8, Endo teaches wherein the control part is configured to generate a control signal for increasing an output of the power source if the temperature of the at least one heating element estimated by the temperature estimation unit is lower than a preset temperature (Fig. 4, [0056], when estimated heater temperature is lower than target temperature, controller 80 increases the ratio of periods in which AC voltage is positive, increased conducting period 103).
Regarding claim 9, Endo teaches wherein the control part is configured to generate a control signal for increasing a period during which the switch is turned on if the temperature of the at least one heating element estimated by the temperature estimation unit is lower than a preset temperature (Fig. 4, [0056], when estimated heater temperature is lower than target temperature, controller 80 controls switch 71 to be opened during the increased conducting periods 103).
Regarding claim 11, Endo fails to teach wherein a rectifier on a power supply line of the plurality of power supply lines and/or a power return line of the plurality of power return lines is configured to prevent a reverse current toward the power source.
However, Pease teaches (Pease, Fig. 2, [0018], diode 250 is serially connected between each plural heating element 101 and the plural power supply lines 201 and plural power return lines 202).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the rectifiers of Pease into the power supply unit circuits of Endo as doing so would enable multiple heaters to be powered in parallel from one power supply, as the rectifiers force current in one direction, thereby eliminating possible crosstalk between heating elements (Pease, [0018]).
Regarding claim 12, Endo teaches wherein the plurality of heating elements are arranged in a M x N matrix array when seen from above (Fig. 2, [0042], heaters 23-n are individually provided to corresponding divided regions 66-n in electrostatic chuck 1).
Regarding claim 13, Endo teaches wherein the plurality of the heating elements are arranged on a center of the support unit, and along a radial direction and a circumferential direction of the support unit to heat corresponding portions of the substrate (Fig. 2, [0042], plural heaters 23-n are individually provided to corresponding divided regions 66-n, arranged in circumferential sections radially from the center of electrostatic chuck 17).
Regarding claim 14, Endo teaches a substrate treating apparatus (Fig. 1, [0027], substrate processing apparatus 10) comprising: a chamber having a treating space (Fig. 1, [0027], chamber 1 with processing space 5);
a support unit configured to support and heat a substrate in the treating space (Fig. 1, [0029]-[0030], mounting table 11 includes electrostatic chuck 17 within which heaters 23-1 to 23-n are embedded, and wafer 65 is mounted on electrostatic chuck 17); and
a plasma source configured to generate a plasma for treating the substrate (Fig. 1, [0073], high frequency power supply 36 creates plasma in processing space 5 to etch wafer 65), and
wherein the support unit comprises:
a plurality of heating elements configured to adjust a temperature of the substrate (Fig. 1, [0029]-[0030], mounting table 11 includes electrostatic chuck 17 within which plural heaters 23-1 to 23-n are embedded, and wafer 65 is mounted on electrostatic chuck 17, and where temperature of heater 23-1 is adjustable, [0061]);
a power source configured to generate a power applied to the plurality of heating elements (Fig. 3, [0059], AC power supply 74 supplies power to heaters 23-1 to 23-n);
a power supply line transmitting the power to the at least one heating element (Fig. 3, [0044], power supply line 75 connects heater 23-1 and power supply 74); and
wherein each heating element is connected to any one of the plurality of power supply lines and any one of the plurality of power return lines but does not share a same power supply line of the plurality of power supply lines or a same power return line of the plurality of power return lines ([0044], plurality of power supply units 32-n each contain individual supply lines 75 and return lines, Fig. 3),
wherein the support unit comprises a first plate (Fig. 1, [0030], electrostatic chuck 17 in mounting table 11) and a second plate disposed below the first plate (Fig. 1, [0030], base 16 is located below electrostatic chuck 17), and
wherein the first plate comprises: an insulation layer within which the at least one heating element is buried (Fig. 1, [0030], electrostatic chuck body 21 is made of an insulator within which heaters 23-n are embedded); and
a dielectric layer within which an electrostatic electrode for electrostatically clamping the substrate is buried (Fig. 1, [0030], electrostatic chuck body 21 is made of an insulator within which electrode 21 for clamping is embedded), and
wherein the second plate has a fluid channel through which a cooling fluid flows (Fig. 1, [0032], base 16 has coolant circulation path 25 through which coolant flows), and
wherein at least one current measuring resistor of the plurality of current measuring resistors is disposed outside a first support plate and a second support plate (Figs. 1 and 3, heaters 23-1 to 23-n are disposed within chuck 17, while the power supply units 32-1 to 32-n, which contain switch 71, voltmeter 72, and ammeter 73, [0044], are shown in Fig. 1 to be located outside the chuck 17, insulating plate 14, and base 16).
While Endo teaches AC power supply 74 supplies power to heaters 23-1 to 32-n (Fig. 3, [0059]), Endo fails to explicitly teach a plurality of power supply lines configured to transmit the power generated by the power source to the plurality of heating elements, and
a plurality of power return lines configured to ground the plurality of heating elements.
Endo also fails to teach a plurality of current measuring resistors provided on the power return lines, each current measuring resistor corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of heating elements and used for estimating a temperature of the plurality of heating elements, wherein the plurality of current measuring resistors positioned outside the insulation layer.
However, Pease teaches a power source configured to generate a power applied to the plurality of heating elements (Pease, Fig. 5, [0024], power source 510 powers plural heater zones 101), a plurality of power supply lines configured to transmit the power generated by the power source to the plurality of heating elements (Pease, Fig. 5, plural power supply lines 201 are connected between power source 510 and plural heater zones 101), a plurality of power return lines configured to ground the plurality of heating elements (Pease, Fig. 5, ground is connected to plural power return lines 202, which are connected to plural heater zones 101)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the common power supply and associated grounding of Pease into the power supply unit circuits of Endo as doing so would provide arrangements of the explicit connections needed to enable multiple heaters to be powered in parallel from one power supply, while still allowing for selective powering of a subset of heaters independent from a different subset of heaters (Pease, [0027]).
To clarify the record, the limitations “adjusting a temperature of the substrate“, “generating a power applied to”, “transmitting the power generated by the power source”, and “used for estimating a temperature of” are merely intended uses and are given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The electrostatic chuck of Endo has embedded heaters and clamps a wafer, thereby being capable of adjusting the temperature of the substrate. The AC power supply of Endo is capable of generating a voltage and the supply line is connected between the power supply and heater, thereby being capable of transmitting said power between the elements. The shunt resistor of Endo is connected on the power lines and measures a resistance, thereby being capable of estimating a temperature when used in conjunction with a conversion table. As well, the limitations “for electrostatically clamping the substrate”, and “through which a cooling fluid flows” are merely intended uses and are given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The electrostatic chuck of Endo contains a buried electrode to which a voltage is applied, thereby being capable of electrostatically clamping a substrate. The coolant channels of Endo have a supply and return path, thereby being capable of flowing a fluid, such as a coolant. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
While modified Endo teaches a plurality of current measuring resistors provided on the power supply lines and positioned outside the insulation layer, each current measuring resistor corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of heating elements and used for estimating a temperature of the plurality of heating elements (Fig. 3, [0044]-[0045], shunt resistor 76 is located on supply line 75 between heater 23-1 and power supply 74 within power supply unit 32-1, where plural power supply units 32-1 to 32-n are shown in Fig. 1 to be located outside the chuck 17 and insulating plate 14), modified Endo fails to teach wherein the current measuring resistors are provided on the power return lines.
However, Singh teaches a plurality of current measuring resistors provided on the power return lines (Singh, Fig. 4, [0026], ammeters 530 are provided on power return lines 202 or power supply lines 201) and positioned outside the insulation layer, each current measuring resistor corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of heating elements and used for estimating a temperature of the plurality of heating elements (Singh, Fig. 4, [0026], an ammeter 530 corresponds to each heating zone 101).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have provided the ammeter of Endo on the power return line instead of the power supply line as taught by Singh as Singh teaches a simple substitution of one know element (ammeter 530 located on the power supply line) for another (ammeter 530 located on the power return line) to obtain predictable results (measuring of the current flowing through a heater zone, when calculated with the voltage from voltmeter 520, provides a measured heating power of the heater zone to compare to a pre-established heating power to determine a deviation requiring an alarm, Singh, [0024]-[0026]).
Regarding the amendment to claims 1, 3 and 14 claimed switching is disclosed in Endo at Fig 3, 71, Pease at Fig 5 and Singh at Fig 7.
Regarding claim 15, Endo teaches wherein a ratio of magnitude of resistance of the at least one current measuring resistor to magnitude of resistance of at least one heating element of the plurality of heating elements is about 1:1000 - 1:15000 ([0045], resistance of shunt resistor 76 is 10 mΩ, resistance of heater at 20C is 43.5 Ω, Fig. 6, ratio of ~1:4300).
While modified Endo teaches a plurality of current measuring resistors provided on the power supply lines and positioned outside the insulation layer, each current measuring resistor corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of heating elements and used for estimating a temperature of the plurality of heating elements (Fig. 3, [0044]-[0045], shunt resistor 76 is located on supply line 75 between heater 23-1 and power supply 74 within power supply unit 32-1, where plural power supply units 32-1 to 32-n are shown in Fig. 1 to be located outside the chuck 17 and insulating plate 14), modified Endo fails to teach wherein the current measuring resistors are provided on the power return lines.
However, Singh teaches a plurality of current measuring resistors provided on the power return lines (Singh, Fig. 4, [0026], ammeters 530 are provided on power return lines 202 or power supply lines 201) and positioned outside the insulation layer, each current measuring resistor corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of heating elements and used for estimating a temperature of the plurality of heating elements (Singh, Fig. 4, [0026], an ammeter 530 corresponds to each heating zone 101).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have provided the ammeter of Endo on the power return line instead of the power supply line as taught by Singh as Singh teaches a simple substitution of one know element (ammeter 530 located on the power supply line) for another (ammeter 530 located on the power return line) to obtain predictable results (measuring of the current flowing through a heater zone, when calculated with the voltage from voltmeter 520, provides a measured heating power of the heater zone to compare to a pre-established heating power to determine a deviation requiring an alarm, Singh, [0024]-[0026]).
Regarding claim 18, Endo teaches a control unit configured to control the support unit (Fig. 4, [0072], controller 80 controls elements of the apparatus 10, including temperature of heaters 23-n, which are included in mounting table 11, via communication I/F 95), and
wherein the control unit comprises:
a resistance measuring unit (Fig. 3, [0045], ammeter 73) configured to measure a current flowing through the at least one current measuring resistor and measure magnitude of resistance of at least one heating element of the plurality of heating elements based on the measured current ([0045], ammeter 73, which includes resistor 76, measures an instantaneous value of the current flowing through the heater 23-1 based on the voltage measured by the voltmeter 77); and
a temperature estimation unit configured to estimate the temperature of the at least one heating element based on the magnitude of resistance of the heating element measured by the resistance measuring unit (Fig. 6, [0056], controller 80 obtains the temperature of the heater 23-1 based on the resistance of the heater 23-1 with reference to the conversion table 111-1).
While modified Endo teaches a plurality of current measuring resistors provided on the power supply lines and positioned outside the insulation layer, each current measuring resistor corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of heating elements and used for estimating a temperature of the plurality of heating elements (Fig. 3, [0044]-[0045], shunt resistor 76 is located on supply line 75 between heater 23-1 and power supply 74 within power supply unit 32-1, where plural power supply units 32-1 to 32-n are shown in Fig. 1 to be located outside the chuck 17 and insulating plate 14), modified Endo fails to teach wherein the current measuring resistors are provided on the power return lines.
However, Singh teaches a plurality of current measuring resistors provided on the power return lines (Singh, Fig. 4, [0026], ammeters 530 are provided on power return lines 202 or power supply lines 201) and positioned outside the insulation layer, each current measuring resistor corresponds to a respective one of the plurality of heating elements and used for estimating a temperature of the plurality of heating elements (Singh, Fig. 4, [0026], an ammeter 530 corresponds to each heating zone 101).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have provided the ammeter of Endo on the power return line instead of the power supply line as taught by Singh as Singh teaches a simple substitution of one know element (ammeter 530 located on the power supply line) for another (ammeter 530 located on the power return line) to obtain predictable results (measuring of the current flowing through a heater zone, when calculated with the voltage from voltmeter 520, provides a measured heating power of the heater zone to compare to a pre-established heating power to determine a deviation requiring an alarm, Singh, [0024]-[0026]).
Regarding claim 19, Endo teaches wherein the control unit comprises a control part configured to feedback control the temperature of the at least one heating element (Fig. 6, [0056], controller 80 controls switch 71 and controls the power supply units 32-n, which powers heaters 23-n, based on resistance data and values from conversion tables 111-n) based on the estimated temperature of the at least one heating element estimated by the temperature estimation unit (Fig. 6, [0056], controller 80 obtains the temperature of the heater 23-1 based on the resistance of the heater 23-1 with reference to the conversion table 111-1).
Response to Arguments
In addition to Examiners response to arguments in the last office action it is noted that current measuring resistors are disclosed in Endo away from the heater elements (Fig 3), in Pease (as ammeter in Fig 5) and in Singh (as ammeter in Fig 5 and 6 ). Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee (US 20180040496 A1) teaches switches on both supply and return side of segmented heaters.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RAM N. KACKAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1716
/RAM N KACKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716