DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed on June 3, 2026 has been fully considered and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goergen et al. (US 2020/0153515 A1) in view of Pitwon (US 2017/0010421 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 4 and 5, Goergen discloses device comprising a case (210 in Figs. 22A-22B) configured to secure a laser source (paragraph 0075 discloses the optical module being an optical transceiver comprising a VCSEL laser); and an electro-optical (EO) connector configured to connect with an EO port (220 in Figs. 23A-23B), the EO connector comprising: an optical connector (216) configured to connect with an optical port (222) of the EO port and is configured to provide light from the laser source to the optical port; and an electrical connector (218) configured to connect with an electrical port (228) of the EO port, wherein the laser source is configured to at least one of receive power through the electrical connector or facilitate establishing a communication channel through the electrical connector (paragraph 0117), wherein the optical connector and the electrical connector are on a first side of the case and aligned on a first plane (see Figs. 22A-22B showing 216 and 218 aligned on a plane at the end surface of 210); wherein the electrical connector comprises a printed circuit board (218 is a board with “electrical signal interfaces” as described in paragraphs 0134-0135) having an internal portion positioned within the case (board 218 must have a portion within the case in order to electrically connect to components within the case) and an external portion extending further from the case relative to the optical connector (see Figs. 22A-22B).
Still regarding claims 1, 4 and 5, Goergen teaches the claimed invention except for one of the optical connector and the electrical connector moveable within a range of distances to compensate for misalignment. Pitwon discloses an electrical connector configured to at least partially engage with an electrical port prior to an optical connector contacting an optical port, wherein the electrical connector provides a coarse alignment for the optical connector in paragraph 0037. Pitwon further discloses the optical connector is moveable within a range of distances to connect with the optical port in response to the optical connector being aligned to the optical port within the range of distances to facilitate optical and electrical connections and compensate for misalignment in paragraphs 0038-0040 and 0061 and Figs. 3A-3D. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to have one of the optical connector and the electrical connector moveable within a range of distances to compensate for misalignment as disclosed by Pitwon in the device of Goergen for the purpose of facilitating connection while minimizing damage to the optical components.
Regarding claim 2, the proposed combination of Goergen and Pitwon teaches the claimed invention except for the case formed from one or more materials selected to block the light emitted by the laser source. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form the case formed from one or more materials selected to block the light emitted by the laser source in order to prevent undesired leakage of laser light, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 3, Goergen discloses the case comprises a heat sink (177 in Fig. 17; paragraph 0126) configured to dissipate heat from at least the laser source.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Goergen discloses the laser source is configured to provide the light to the optical port in response to the EO connector being connected to the EO port and wherein the laser source is configured to receive power through the electrical connector in response to the EO connector being connected to the EO port (Fig. 7; paragraphs 0101, 0103).
Regarding claim 8, Goergen discloses the laser source is configured to provide the light to the optical port in response to a signal being present on a communication channel (paragraph 0104).
Regarding claim 9, Goergen discloses the optical connector provides two or more optical connections (216).
Regarding claim 10, Goergen discloses the electrical connector includes multiple electrical contacts (218) for multiple electrical connections.
Regarding claims 11 and 20, the proposed combination of Goergen and Pitwon teaches the claimed invention except for an optical port on a second side of the case. However, Goergen further discloses the data provided to end users in paragraphs 0063 and 0073. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to dispose optical fibers at an additional optical port on a second side of the case in order to direct the optical signals to said end users while preserving space on the first side of the case, allowing for a higher density of signal transmission.
Regarding claim 12, Goergen discloses a system (Fig. 1) comprising: a network device (14) secured to a case (transceiver 16 is housed within case as shown in Fig. 11A), the network device comprising at least one of a switch or a hub (14 includes “switch”; paragraph 0073).
Regarding claim 13, Goergen discloses the network device further comprises: one or more optical transceivers (16) located in the case, each of the one or more optical transceivers connected to the optical port of at least one of the one or more EO ports.
Regarding claim 14, Goergen discloses the one or more optical transceivers are co-packaged with the network device in Figs. 1 and 11A.
Regarding claim 15, Goergen discloses the network device is configured to at least one of: provide the power through the electrical connector of a particular EO port of the one or more EO ports in response to the particular EO port being connected to the EO connector; or establish the communication channel through the electrical connector of a particular EO port of the one or more EO ports in response to the particular EO port being connected to the EO connector (Fig. 7; paragraphs 0101, 0103).
Regarding claim 16, Goergen discloses the optical connector of at least one of the one or more EO ports provides multiple optical connections (216).
Regarding claim 17, Goergen discloses at least one of the one or more electrical connectors includes multiple electrical contacts (218) for multiple electrical connections.
Regarding claim 18, Goergen discloses the network device is further configured to receive optical signals from one or more devices on a network through the optical port (Fig. 1; paragraphs 0066, 0087).
Regarding claim 19, Goergen discloses a system (Fig. 1) comprising: a network device (14) secured to a first case (transceiver 16 is housed within case as shown in Fig. 11A), the network device comprising at least one of a switch or a hub (14 includes “switch”; paragraph 0073) coupled to a laser source secured to a second case (paragraph 0087 describes different network topologies to communicate data over the network including nodes coupled to other nodes).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed June 3, 2026, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. However, in order to expedite the prosecution of the application, the relevant portions of Applicant’s remarks will be addressed.
On pages 7-8, Applicant states the cited prior art does not teach or suggest the amended limitation regarding the printed circuit board. However, Goergen, upon closer inspection, discloses a printed circuit board (218 in Figs. 22A-22B is a board with “electrical signal interfaces” as described in paragraphs 0134-0135 and thus constitutes a printed circuit board) with an external portion extending further from the case relative to an optical connector (216). Further, Goergen discloses the optical connector (216) and the electrical connector (218) are on a first side of the case and aligned on a first plane (see Figs. 22A-22B showing 216 and 218 aligned on a plane at the end surface of 210). Thus, Goergen and Pitwon, in view of the new grounds of rejection above, still represent a prima facie rejection of the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general or clerical nature should be directed to the Technology Center 2800 receptionist at telephone number (571) 272-1562.
Chris H. Chu
/CHRIS H CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 July 22, 2026