DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application No. 17/895,916 filed on 08/25/2022.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 12/01/2025 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. These IDS has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pub # 2020/0154566 to Iwai et al. (Iwai).
Regarding independent claim 1, Iwai discloses a package substrate (Fig. 7: 500), comprising:
a core (Fig. 7: 11), wherein the core comprises glass (¶0033);
a first layer (41) under the core (11);
a second layer (40) over the core (11);
a via (51) through the core (11), the first layer (41), and the second layer (40), wherein a width of the via (51) through the core (11) is equal to a width of the via (51) through the first layer (41) and the second layer (40);
a first pad (34) under the via (51); and
a second pad (24) over the via (51).
Regarding claim 7, Iwai discloses comprising:
a first buildup layer (Fig. 7: 31) under the first layer (41); and
a second buildup layer (Fig. 7: 21) over the second layer (40).
Regarding claim 8, Iwai discloses wherein the first pad (34) is in the first buildup layer (31), and wherein the second pad (24) is in the second buildup layer (21).
Regarding claim 9, Iwai discloses wherein a width of the first pad (34) and the second pad (24) is greater than a width of the via (51) through the first layer (41) and the second layer (40).
Regarding claim 10, Iwai discloses wherein a centerline of a portion of the via (Fig. 7: 51) through the core (11) is aligned with a centerline of the via (51) through the first layer (41) and the second layer (40) (See Examiner’s Mark-up below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwai in view of US Pub # 2022/0192017 to Ko.
Regarding claim 2, Iwai disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 from which this claim depends.
Iwai fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first layer and the second layer comprise a photoimageable dielectric (PID).
Ko discloses wherein the first layer (Fig. 4A: 12) and the second layer (12) comprise a photoimageable dielectric (PID).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the dielectric layer of Iwai with the material of the dielectric layer as taught by Ko in order to transmit signal (¶36), as PID materials were well known for use in package substrate build-up layers at the time of the invention.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwai in view of US Pub # 2022/0093517 to Aleksov et al. (Aleksov).
Regarding claim 3, Iwai disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 from which this claim depends.
Iwai fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first layer and the second layer comprise silicon and nitrogen.
Aleksov discloses wherein the first layer and the second layer (Fig. 44: 108) comprise silicon and nitrogen.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the dielectric layer of Iwai with the material of the dielectric layer as taught by Aleksov in order to improve the strength of the mechanical interface (¶0047).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwai in view of US Pub # 2020/0273763 to Tsuchida.
Regarding claim 4, Iwai disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 from which this claim depends.
Iwai fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first layer and the second layer comprise titanium and nitrogen.
Tsuchida disclose wherein the first layer and the second layer comprise titanium and nitrogen (Fig. 2: 20).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the dielectric layer of Iwai with the material of the dielectric layer as taught by Tsuchida in order to enhance the adhesion with the glass plate (¶0062).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwai in view of US Pub # 2023/0207332 to Strong et al. (Strong).
Regarding claim 5, Iwai disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 from which this claim depends.
Iwai fails to explicitly disclose wherein the via comprises an hourglass shaped cross-section through the core.
Strong discloses wherein the via (Fig. 4A: 417) comprises an hourglass shaped cross-section (¶0036) through the core (¶410).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the via of Iwai with the hourglass shaped cross-section as taught by Strong in order to increase pad to via contact area, relieve stress within the core material.
Regarding claim 6, Iwai discloses wherein the via (51) comprises rectangular cross- sections (Fig. 7) through the first layer (41) and the second layer (40).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub # 2005/0064707 to Sinha, US Pub # 2005/0150683 to Farnworth et al., US Pub # 2005/0230835 to Sunohara et al., US Pub # 2007/0044999 to Shibata et al., US Pub # 2013/0240259 to Yoshimura and US Pub # 2016/0111380 to Sundaram et al.
/MOHSEN AHMADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896