DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, as to the point that applied prior art KR-269 fails to teach the second amine listed in the currently amended claim 1, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
With regards to claim 10, applicants argue that the combination of KR-269 with Takegoshi is improper because Takegoshi is dealing with CMP of insulation film [0003], while the KR-269 is dealing with CMP of metals (abstract).
In response, examiner states that such argument is not persuasive because Taketoshi focusing semiconductor production technique including shallow trench isolation, metal plug and damascene process [0002]; and further teaches that the slurry for CMP of the present invention can be applied not only to a silicon oxide film formed on a semiconductor substrate but also production processes of various semiconductor devices, MEMS (Micro Electro Mechanical Systems) and the like, and the like. For example, the slurry for CMP of the present invention can be used for polishing an inorganic insulating film such as silicon oxide film, glass film, silicon nitride film and the like, which is formed on a wiring board having a given wiring; a film mainly containing polysilicon, aluminum, copper, titanium, titanium nitride, tungsten, tantalum; tantalum nitride and the like [0080]. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would easily motivate to polish metallic substrate other than insulation film.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7,9-10,14 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR-2020-0017269; provided with the IDS dated 7/21/2025; herein after KR-269) as supported with PubChem “Glycine” and “Glutamine” (Source: Google) in view of Stender et al (US 2018/0002571).
Regarding claim 1, KR-269 discloses a polishing composition comprising a solvent, metal oxide abrasives, glycine, histidine and imidazole-based compounds (corresponds to the azole compound) [0017], [0018]; and aforesaid glycine (MW 75.07 g/mol) reads on the claimed first amine with the claimed molecular weight, which is supported by PubChem (Source: Google).
KR-269 also discloses that glycine (corresponds to the first amine) is present in an amount of 0.01% to 5% by weight [0023]; and the histidine (may corresponds to the second amine) is present in an amount 0.01% to 5% by weight [0024]; and aforesaid ranges are overlapping the claimed ranges and overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious, MPEP 2144.05.
Unlike the instant invention, KR-269 fails to disclose the second amine is selected from the list provided in the instant claim 1.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Stender et al disclose that a CMP composition for metallic substrate [0020], wherein the composition comprises a chelating agent to enhance affinity of chelating ligands for metal cations and such chelating agents may also be used to prevent build-up of metal ions on pads which causes pad staining and instability in removal rates; and suitable chelating agents include, but are not limited to, for example, histidine, glutamine, tyrosine, etc. [0058], wherein molecular weight of glutamine is 146.14 g/mol, which is supported by PubChem (Source: Google). So, histidine and glutamine or tyrosine all are functionally equivalent, wherein the glutamine is an amino acid and reads on the claimed second amine; and aforesaid teaching reads on the claimed “second amine having a molecular weight of at least 125g/mol”. g/mol
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ Stender et al's teaching of introducing glutamine (corresponds to the claimed second amine) into the teaching of KR-269 in order to enhance affinity of chelating ligands for metal cations and preventing build-up of metal ions on pads as suggested by Stender et al.
KR-269 also discloses that the composition having a pH of 5-9, preferably 6-8 [0059] and aforesaid pH range is overlapping the claimed range of about 2 to about 8 and overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious, MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 2, KR-269 discloses that the metal oxide abrasive may include at least one of silica, alumina, ceria, titania, and zirconia. In particular, silica can be used as the metal oxide abrasive [0019].
Regarding claim 3, KR-269 discloses that the metal oxide abrasive is 0.001% to 20% by weight in the CMP slurry composition [0021]; aforesaid range is overlapping the claimed range and overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious, MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 4-5, KR-269 discloses that the imidazole-based compound may include a monomolecular compound having a substituted or unsubstituted imidazole group [0026]; For example, imidazole-based compounds include imidazole; And methylimidazole, including 1-methylimidazole, 2-methylimidazole, 4-methylimidazole, and the like [0033].
Regarding claim 6, KR-269 discloses that the imidazole-based compound may be included in an amount of 0.001% to 5% by weight [0025], which overlaps the claimed range of 0.001 to 10% by wt.
Regarding claims 7 and 9, KR-269 discloses above that polishing composition comprising glycine (corresponds to the claimed first amine); and histidine (an amino acid, corresponds to the claimed second amine) [0017], [0018]. Additionally, Stender et al disclose histidine, glutamine, etc. being used as chelating agent [0058], wherein the glutamine is an amino acid and reads on the claimed second amine.
Regarding claim 10, Stender et al disclose that the composition comprises a chelating agent to enhance affinity of chelating ligands for metal cations and such chelating agents may also be used to prevent build-up of metal ions on pads which causes pad staining and instability in removal rates; and suitable chelating agents include, but are not limited to for example, amine compounds such as ethylene diamine, amino poly-carboxylic acids such as ethylene diamine tetraacetic acid (EDTA) [0058]; and aforesaid at least ethylene diamine reads on the claimed alkylamine.
With regards to claim 14, KR-269’s CMP composition comprises all the components like the instant composition recited in claim 1 and expected to have the same intended use of such composition as such is capable of doing so and therefore, the polishing selectivity ratio would have been the intended use of the composition.
Regarding claims 18-19, KR-269 also discloses that glycine (corresponds to the first amine) is present in an amount of 0.01% to 5% by weight [0023]; and the histidine (corresponds to the second amine) is present in an amount 0.01% to 5% by weight [0024]; and aforesaid ranges are overlapping the claimed ranges of 0.003% to 16.5% by wt and overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious, MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR-2020-0017269; provided with the IDS dated 7/21/2025; herein after KR-269) as supported with PubChem “Glycine” and “Glutamine” (Source: Google) in view of Stender et al (US 2018/0002571) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takegoshi et al (US 2012/0270400).
KR-269 supported with PubChem discloses above regarding the claim 1 but fail to disclose that the second amine in the composition comprises an alkylamine.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Takegoshi et al disclose a polishing composition comprising abrasive grains and water (resemble as the claimed aqueous solvent) [0030]; wherein the abrasive particles can be silica, cerium oxide, etc. [0058]-[0059]; and the slurry for CMP of the present invention may contain a low-molecular-weight compound having a molecular weight of 10-1,000 as long as the effect of the present invention is not inhibited. Examples of the low-molecular-weight compound include amines such as ethylamine, diethylamine, triethylamine, etc. and the like; amino acids such as glycine, alanine, phenylalanine, glutamic acid, aspartic acid, histidine and the like; and a complexing agent of benzotriazole [0063].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ Takegoshi et al's teaching of using alkylamine by replacing histidine into the teaching of modified KR-269 because both of them are functionally equivalent as suggested by Takegoshi et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SHAMIM AHMED
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/SHAMIM AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713