DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments to the claims, filed on 11/3/25, have been entered in the above-identified application.
Any rejections made in the previous action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 42-44, 46-48, 56-58, and 60-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Loftus et al (US 2013/0065020 A1).
Regarding claims 42, 47, and 48, Loftus teaches a roofing shingle (e.g., roofing membrane that is cut into the shape of a roofing shingle) comprising a substrate (200) (e.g., reinforcing layer) having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface, wherein the substrate comprises a single layer of material; a polymeric film (22) (e.g. membrane layer) directly contacting (e.g., fused to) the second surface of the substrate; a layer of asphalt (24) (e.g., adhesive coating such as asphalt) located on the first surface of the substrate; and a plurality of granules (28) located on the layer of asphalt; wherein the layer of asphalt directly contacts the first surface of the substrate; and wherein the plurality of granules directly contacts the layer of asphalt (para 10, 13, 37, 40-43, 53-55; fig 2a, 3).
Regarding claim 43, Loftus teaches the reinforcing layer (i.e., substrate) comprises woven, knitted, or nonwoven glass, polyester, or combinations thereof (i.e., glass or organic mat) (para 56)
Regarding claim 44, Loftus teaches the membrane layer comprises polyester, nylon, and/or PVC (para 38).
Regarding claim 46, Loftus teaches the asphalt may contain fillers, (i.e., filled asphalt) (para 43).
Regarding claims 56, 60, and 61, Loftus teaches a roofing shingle (e.g., roofing membrane that is cut into the shape of a roofing shingle) comprising a substrate (200) (e.g., reinforcing layer) having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface, wherein the first surface includes a headlap portion and an exposed portion.
Loftus further teaches wherein the substrate comprises a single layer of material; a polymeric film (22) (e.g. membrane layer) directly contacting (e.g., fused to) the second surface of the substrate; a layer of asphalt (24) (e.g., adhesive coating such as asphalt) located on the first surface of the substrate; and a plurality of granules (28) located on the layer of asphalt; wherein the layer of asphalt directly contacts the first surface of the substrate; and wherein the plurality of granules directly contacts the layer of asphalt (para 10, 13, 37, 40-43, 53-55; fig 2a, 3).
Regarding claim 57, Loftus teaches the reinforcing layer (i.e., substrate) comprises woven, knitted, or nonwoven glass, polyester, or combinations thereof (i.e., glass or organic mat) (para 56)
Regarding claim 58, Loftus teaches the membrane layer comprises polyester, nylon, and/or PVC (para 38).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 49-51 and 53-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Loftus.
Regarding claims 49, 54, and 55, Loftus teaches a roofing shingle (e.g., roofing membrane that is cut into the shape of a roofing shingle); wherein the roofing membranes may be stacked which would have suggested or otherwise rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention a stack comprising a plurality of roofing shingles (para 13, 40, 68; fig 3).
Loftus further teaches the shingles comprise a substrate (200) (e.g., reinforcing layer) having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface, wherein the substrate comprises a single layer of material; a polymeric film (22) (e.g. membrane layer) directly contacting (e.g., fused to) the second surface of the substrate; a layer of asphalt (24) (e.g., adhesive coating such as asphalt) located on the first surface of the substrate; and a plurality of granules (28) located on the layer of asphalt; wherein the layer of asphalt directly contacts the first surface of the substrate; and wherein the plurality of granules directly contacts the layer of asphalt (para 10, 13, 37, 40-43, 53-55; fig 2a, 3).
Regarding claim 50, Loftus teaches the reinforcing layer (i.e., substrate) comprises woven, knitted, or nonwoven glass, polyester, or combinations thereof (i.e., glass or organic mat) (para 56)
Regarding claim 51, Loftus teaches the membrane layer comprises polyester, nylon, and/or PVC (para 38).
Regarding claim 53, Loftus teaches the asphalt may contain fillers, (i.e., filled asphalt) (para 43).
Claims 45, 52, and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loftus.
Loftus teaches the membrane layer may be between about 1 and about 120 mils thick (i.e., 25.4 microns to 3048 microns) (para 39).This range substantially overlap that of the instant claims. It has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Loftus, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP § 2144.05).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the instant claims have been considered but are moot due to the new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) and 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of a new prior art of record. The Applicant is directed to the 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 103 sections above.
Conclusion
NATHAN VAN SELL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1783
/NATHAN L VAN SELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783