DETAILED ACTION
In addressing the rejection ground, each claim may not have been separately discussed to the extent the claimed features are the same as or similar to the previously-discussed features; the previous discussion is construed to apply for the other claims in the same or similar way.
In the office action, “/” should be read as and/or as generally understood. For example, “A/B” means A and B, or A or B.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of electing Group I (claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 02/06/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-9, 22, 26 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pehlke et al. (US 2019/0013836) in view of Li et al. (US 2023/0253923) [or Ponnampalam et al. (US 2016/0014613) and Li et al. (US 2023/0253903)].
Regarding claim 1, Pehlke discloses a non-transitory storage medium [see at least paras. 0171, 0181, 0182] comprising instructions [see at least paras. 0181, 0182] that, when executed [see at least paras. 0181, 0182], cause a device to perform a method comprising: reconfiguring a front end circuit of the device [e.g. figs. 14-15] from a first mode [see at least abstract] having a receiver radio frequency (RF) signal processing path [interpreted as a path can be used for a receiver radio frequency (RF) signal processing, see at least fig. 15] with a first relative order [a relative order is interpreted as the relative order of signals passing (at least) two elements] into a second mode [see at least abstract] having the receiver RF signal processing path with a different relative order [see at least abstract]; detection [see at least 804 ] of an overload condition with respect to a low noise amplifier. Pehlke does not discloses determining that a timeout period has completed; and reconfiguring the front end circuit from the second mode to the first mode in response to determining that the timeout period has completed. However, Li discloses determining that a timeout period has completed [e.g. timeout period based on detected level], the timeout period based at least in part on detection, via a detector coupled to an input of a low noise amplifier and reconfiguring a front end circuit of the device from a first mode having a receiver radio frequency (RF) signal processing path with a first relative order into a second mode having the receiver RF signal processing path with a different relative order [see at least paras. 0044, 0045, fig. 2]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Pehlke in accordance with the teaching of Li regarding a detector in order to apply configuration based on an input power level of an RF signal [paras. 0044, 0045].
Alternatively (when timeout period is a predetermined time, which was not claimed), regarding claim 1, Pehlke discloses a non-transitory storage medium [see at least paras. 0171, 0181, 0182] comprising instructions [see at least paras. 0181, 0182] that, when executed [see at least paras. 0181, 0182], cause a device to perform a method comprising: reconfiguring a front end circuit of the device [e.g. figs. 14-15] from a first mode [see at least abstract] having a receiver radio frequency (RF) signal processing path [interpreted as a path can be used for a receiver radio frequency (RF) signal processing, see at least fig. 15] with a first relative order [a relative order is interpreted as the relative order of signals passing (at least) two elements] into a second mode [see at least abstract] having the receiver RF signal processing path with a different relative order [see at least abstract]; detection [see at least 804 ] of an overload condition with respect to a low noise amplifier. Pehlke does not discloses determining that a timeout period has completed; and reconfiguring the front end circuit from the second mode to the first mode in response to determining that the timeout period has completed. However, Ponnampalam discloses determining that a timeout period has completed; and reconfiguring the front end circuit from a second mode to a first mode [see at least paras. 0013, 0025-0026, 0080; e.g. change parameters] in response to determining that the timeout period [see at least paras. 0010, 0021, 0032, 0073; e.g. 12 hours; e.g. the timeout period is based on a (satisfied/enough) data of performance]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Pehlke in accordance with the teaching of Ponnampalam regarding a predetermined time in order to utilize a well-known predetermine time to reconfigure parameters [see paras. 0013, 0025-0026, 0080]. The combination does not disclose a detector coupled to an input of a low noise amplifier. However, Li discloses to a detector coupled to an input of a low noise amplifier and reconfiguring a front end circuit of the device from a first mode having a receiver radio frequency (RF) signal processing path with a first relative order into a second mode having the receiver RF signal processing path with a different relative order [see at least paras. 0044, 0045, fig. 2]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Pehlke and Ponnampalam in accordance with the teaching of Li regarding a detector in order to determine an input power level of an RF signal [paras. 0044, 0045].
Regarding claim 7, the combination discussed above discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 1. Pehlke does not disclose delaying reconfiguring when a packet of a receive RF signal is being received. However, it’s well known to not interrupt a received packet in order to avoid data loss. The official notice of the foregoing fact is hereby taken. For example. US 2021/0014791 by Freda discloses delaying reconfiguring when a packet of a receive RF signal is being received [see at least para. 0290]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Pehlke, and Li (or Ponnampalam and Li) in accordance with the teaching of Freda regarding a receiving packet in order to avoid data loss. Also, please see rejection of claim 22.
Regarding claim 8, the combination discussed above discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: in the second mode and during the timeout period, in response to a level of an RF signal received in the receiver RF signal processing path exceeding a threshold, reconfiguring the front end circuit from the second mode into a third mode in which the low noise amplifier is bypassed [see at lease figs. 14-15 Pehlke]; in the third mode, determining that a second timeout period has completed; and reconfiguring the front end circuit from the third mode to one of the first mode or the second mode in response to determining that the second timeout period has completed.
Regarding claim 9, the combination discussed above discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 8, wherein the method further comprises maintaining the front end circuit in the third mode for the second timeout period comprising a second dwell time and thereafter reconfiguring the front end circuit from the third mode to the first mode.
Regarding claim 22, the combination discloses a method comprising: reconfiguring a front end circuit of a device from a first mode having a receiver radio frequency (RF) signal processing path with a first relative order into a second mode having the receiver RF signal processing path with a different relative order; determining that a timeout period has completed, the timeout period having an adaptive duration based, at least in part, on detection of an overload condition at an input of a low noise amplifier of the receiver RF signal processing path; reconfiguring, the front end circuit from the second mode to the first mode in response to determining that the timeout period has completed. See rejection of claim 1.
The combination does not disclose delaying reconfiguring when a packet of a receive RF signal is being received. However, it’s well known to not interrupt a received packet in order to avoid data loss. The official notice of the foregoing fact is hereby taken. For example. US 2021/0014791 by Freda discloses delaying reconfiguring when a packet of a receive RF signal is being received [see at least para. 0290]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Pehlke and Li (or Ponnampalam and Li) in accordance with the teaching of Freda regarding a receiving packet in order to avoid data loss.
Regarding claim 26, the combination discussed above discloses a wireless device comprising: a radio frequency (RF) front end circuit comprising: a receive path to receive, process and output a receive RF signal, the receive path comprising a low noise amplifier (LNA);switching circuitry coupled to the receive path; and a control circuit coupled to the switching circuitry, the control circuit to control the switching circuitry to configure the receive path for operation in one of a plurality of modes; and a controller coupled to the RF front end circuit, wherein the controller is to: reconfigure the RF front end circuit from a first mode having the receive path with a first relative order into a second mode having the receive path with a different relative order; determine that a timeout period has completed, the timeout period based at least in part on detection of an overload condition with respect to a low noise amplifier of the receive path; and reconfigure the RF front end circuit from the second mode to the first mode in response to determining that the timeout period has completed. See rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 30, the combination discussed above discloses the wireless device of claim 26, wherein the controller is to delay the reconfiguration of the RF front end circuit from the second mode into the first mode when a packet of a receive RF signal is being received in the receive path. The combination does not disclose delaying reconfiguring when a packet of a receive RF signal is being received. However, it’s well known to not interrupt a received packet in order to avoid data loss. The official notice of the foregoing fact is hereby taken. For example. US 2021/0014791 by Freda discloses delaying reconfiguring when a packet of a receive RF signal is being received [see at least para. 0290]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Pehlke and Li (or Ponnampalam and Li) in accordance with the teaching of Freda regarding a receiving packet in order to avoid data loss.
Claims 2-3, 5-6, 11, 23-24 and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pehlke et al. (US 2019/0013836) in view of Li et al. (US 2023/0253923) [or Ponnampalam et al. (US 2016/0014613), Li et al. (US 2023/0253903)] and Yoshioka (US 2019/0212715).
Regarding claim 2, the combination discussed above discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 2, wherein the timeout period comprises a first dwell time, and the method further comprises: initializing the first dwell time to an initial predetermined value. The combination does not disclose dynamically updating the first dwell time. However, it’s well-known to dynamically update a first dwell time. For example, Yoshioka discloses to dynamically update a first dwell time [see predetermined time] based on operation of a device [see at least paras. 0075-0076, 0084, fig. 1]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Pehlke and Li (or Ponnampalam and Li) in accordance with the teaching of Yoshioka regarding setting of a predetermined time in order to update a well-known predetermine time based on a condition [see at least paras. 0075-0076, 0084, fig. 1].
Regarding claim 3, the combination discussed above discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 2, wherein the method further comprises dynamically updating the first dwell time based at least in part on a duration of the front end circuit in the first mode.
Regarding claim 5, the combination discussed above discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 2, wherein the method further comprises in the second mode and during the first dwell time, dynamically updating the first dwell time when reconfiguring the front end circuit from the first mode to the second mode is not linked to a detection of a valid packet received in the receiver RF signal processing path.
Regarding claim 6, the combination discussed above discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 5. The combination does not disclose delaying reconfiguring when a packet of a receive RF signal is being received. However, it’s well known to not interrupt a received packet in order to avoid data loss. The official notice of the foregoing fact is hereby taken. For example. US 2021/0014791 by Freda discloses delaying reconfiguring when a packet of a receive RF signal is being received [see at least para. 0290]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Pehlke, Li (or Ponnampalam, Li) and Yoshioka in accordance with the teaching of Freda regarding a receiving packet in order to avoid data loss.
. Regarding claim 11, the combination discussed above discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 1, except wherein the method further comprises: reconfiguring the front end circuit from the second mode to the first mode when the timeout period concludes without a level of an RF signal received in the receiver RF signal processing path exceeding a threshold; and resetting the timeout period when, during the timeout period, the level of the RF signal path exceeds the threshold. The combination does not disclose dynamically updating the first dwell time. However, it’s well-known to dynamically update a first dwell time. For example, Yoshioka discloses to dynamically update a first dwell time [see predetermined time] based on operation of a device [see at least paras. 0075-0076, 0084, fig. 1]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Pehlke and Li (or Ponnampalam and Li) in accordance with the teaching of Yoshioka regarding setting of a predetermined time in order to update a well-known predetermine time based on a condition [see at least paras. 0075-0076, 0084, fig. 1].
Regarding claim 23, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 22, wherein the timeout period comprises a first dwell time, and the method further comprises: initializing the first dwell time to an initial predetermined value; except dynamically updating the first dwell time based on operation of the device. The combination does not disclose dynamically updating the first dwell time. However, it’s well-known to dynamically update a first dwell time. For example, Yoshioka discloses to dynamically update a first dwell time [see predetermined time] based on operation of a device [see at least paras. 0075-0076, 0084, fig. 1]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Pehlke and Li (or Ponnampalam and Li) in accordance with the teaching of Yoshioka regarding setting of a predetermined time in order to update a well-known predetermine time based on a condition [see at least paras. 0075-0076, 0084, fig. 1].
Regarding claim 24, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the method further comprises dynamically updating the first dwell time based at least in part on a duration of the front end circuit in the first mode.
Regarding claim 27, the combination discussed above discloses the wireless device of claim 26, wherein the timeout period comprises a first dwell time, and the controller is to: initialize the first dwell time to an initial predetermined value; except dynamically update the first dwell time based on operation of the wireless device. The combination does not disclose dynamically updating the first dwell time. However, it’s well-known to dynamically update a first dwell time. For example, Yoshioka discloses to dynamically update a first dwell time [see predetermined time] based on operation of a device [see at least paras. 0075-0076, 0084, fig. 1]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Pehlke and Li (or Ponnampalam and Li) in accordance with the teaching of Yoshioka regarding setting of a predetermined time in order to update a well-known predetermine time based on a condition [see at least paras. 0075-0076, 0084, fig. 1].
Regarding claim 28, the combination discussed above discloses the wireless device of claim 27, wherein the controller is to dynamically update the first dwell time based at least in part on a duration of the RF front end circuit in the first mode.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 10, 25, and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 and 22-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection rely on at least a new reference, Li et al. (US 2023/0253903)/Ponnampalam et al. (US 2016/0014613), which was/were not applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK C CHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2842