Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the best mode contemplated by the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s) has not been disclosed. Evidence of concealment of the best mode is based upon the phrase “substantially free” wherein is it free at all?
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by MATSUNO (Pub. No.: US 2023/0275026).
Re claim 1, MATSUNO, FIG. 14A/19A teaches a microelectronic device, comprising:
a stack structure comprising vertically alternating conductive structures (46) and insulative structures (32) arranged in tiers, each of the tiers individually comprising one of the conductive structures and one of the insulative structures;
a staircase structure (134/146/144, ¶ [0139]) having steps comprising edges of at least some of the tiers of the stack structure, the stack structure comprising sidewalls horizontally bounding the staircase structure and extending upward from the steps of the staircase structure;
a first liner material (134) on the steps of the staircase structure and the sidewalls of the stack structure, the first liner material comprising horizontally extending portions on the steps of the staircase structure and vertically extending portions on the sidewalls of the stack structure;
an etch stop structure ([ESL], FIG. 12C [as shown below]) on the horizontally extending portions of the first liner material (134) and extending continuously in a first horizontal direction [FHD] and having a smaller width than the steps in a second horizontal direction [SHD] orthogonal to the first horizontal direction, the vertically extending portions of the first liner material on the sidewalls of the stack structure [VE] being substantially free of the etch stop structure [ESL]; and
conductive contact structures (86/86, [0163]) vertically extending through the etch stop structure (144) and the first liner material (134) and to the conductive structures (46, FIG. 19A) of the stack structure.
Re claim 5, MATSUNO, FIG. 19A teaches the microelectronic device of claim 1, wherein each conductive contact structure (84/86) is substantially horizontally surrounded by the etch stop structure (144).
Re claim 6, MATSUNO, FIG. 19A teaches the microelectronic device of claim 1, wherein the etch stop structure (144) comprises a strip of material spanning multiple steps of the staircase structure in the first horizontal direction.
Re claim 7, MATSUNO, FIG. 12C [as shown below] teaches the microelectronic device of claim 1, wherein the etch stop structure (144) is spaced apart from the vertically extending portions of the first liner material (134) in the second horizontal direction by at least some distance [SHD].
Re claim 8, MATSUNO, FIG. 19A teaches the microelectronic device of claim 1, wherein the first liner material comprises a dielectric oxide material (134, [0085]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUNO in view of Haratipour (Pub. No.: US 2024/0373644).
Re claim 2-3, MATSUNO teaches all the limitation of claim 1.
MATSUNO fails to teach the limitation of claims 2-3.
Haratipour teaches wherein the etch stop structure comprises a doped nitride material; and wherein the doped nitride material comprises a carbon-doped nitride material (310/314/318, FIG. 3, [0103]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of preventing the electron migration as taught by Haratipour, [0103].
Re claim 4, in the combination, Haratipour teaches the microelectronic device of claim 1, wherein the etch stop structure comprises a substantially undoped dielectric material, the substantially undoped dielectric material comprising a dopant-free nitride material (silicon nitride, [0103]).
Re claim 9, in the combination, Haratipour teaches wherein only upper regions of the etch stop structure (outermost layer 144, FIG. 17B) is doped with a chemical species.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that MATSUNO fails to teach "the vertically extending portions of the first liner material on the sidewalls of the stack structure being substantially free of the etch stop structure. " Additionally, claim 1 has been amended to recite the etch stop structure is "on the horizontally extending portions of the first liner material."
The Examiner respectfully submits that Matsuno discloses a an etch stop structure ([ESL], FIG. 12C [as shown below]) on the horizontally extending portions of the first liner material (134) and extending continuously in a first horizontal direction [FHD] and having a smaller width than the steps in a second horizontal direction [SHD] orthogonal to the first horizontal direction, the vertically extending portions of the first liner material on the sidewalls of the stack structure [VE] being substantially free of the etch stop structure [ESL].
For the above reasons, it is believed that the rejections should be sustained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TONY TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893