DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitations “output circuits” in line 9 and “exponents” in line 10, but would have better consistent with other claim elements and clarity if recited as “a plurality of output circuits” and “a plurality of exponents”. Claims 2-13 inherit the same deficiency by reasons of dependence and all other instances would necessitate the change to “the plurality of output circuits” and “the plurality of exponents”;
Claim 14 recites the limitations “output circuits” in line 12 and “exponents” in line 13, but would have better consistent with other claim elements and clarity if recited as “a plurality of output circuits” and “a plurality of exponents”. Claims 15-17 inherit the same deficiency by reasons of dependence and all other instances would necessitate the change to “the plurality of output circuits” and “the plurality of exponents”;
Claim 18 recites the limitations “output circuits” in line 7 and “exponents” in line 8, but would have better consistent with other claim elements and clarity if recited as “a plurality of output circuits” and “a plurality of exponents”. Claims 19-20 inherit the same deficiency by reasons of dependence and all other instances would necessitate the change to “the plurality of output circuits” and “the plurality of exponents”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Construction
Regarding claim 1, the preamble is given patentable weight. Claims 7, 11, and 13 contains the limitation “the device” in the body, which is referring to the limitations as recited in the preamble of claim 1. A skilled person in the art reading the claims would consider the claim in view of the body and preamble, and identify them limited to the technological environment of a device as recited in claim 1. The body of the claim depends on the preamble for completeness, and gives life, meaning, and vitality to this claim. Therefore, the preamble of claim 1 should be afforded patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1, under the Alice Framework Step 1 analysis, the claim falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter: an apparatus.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 1 analysis, claim 1 recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes. The claim recites Mathematical Calculations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mathematical Concepts grouping of abstract ideas, and/or recites Evaluations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas:
“A device, comprising: a plurality of integer multiplier circuits;
a multiplexer circuit configured to provide portions of mantissas of a set of first data elements having a floating-point data type and portions of mantissas of a set of second data elements having the floating-point data type to respective integer multiplier circuits of the plurality of integer multiplier circuits, wherein each integer multiplier circuit is configured to multiply a respective portion of the mantissa of a first data element by a respective portion of the mantissa of a second data element to generate a partial product; and
output circuits configured to generate an output data element based on the partial products generated by the plurality of integer multiplier circuits and exponents of the set of first data elements and of the set of second data elements,
wherein the multiplexer circuit is further configured to bypass providing least-significant portions of the mantissas of the set of first data elements to integer multiplier circuits of the plurality of integer multiplier circuits for multiplication with least-significant portions of the mantissas of the set of second data elements.”
See specification ([0026], [0041-0042]) describing to provide. See specification ([0025-0026], [0041-0042]) describing to multiply. See specification ([0031], [0035], [0059], [0065]) describing to generate. See specification ([0045], [0055], [0059], [0071]) describing to bypass. The steps of “to provide”, “to multiply”, “to generate”, and “to bypass” are processes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind. That is, other than reciting “a device”, “a plurality of integer multiplier circuits”, “a multiplexer circuit”, and “output circuits”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, but for the “a device”, “a plurality of integer multiplier circuits”, “a multiplexer circuit”, and “output circuits” language, the claim encompasses manually providing portions of the data for multiplication and generating output data value based on that result, of which would be possible with aid of pen and paper, as shown in at least Fig. 3, 4, and 5A-B and described in the above paragraphs. For these reasons, the claim recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 2 analysis, the claim recites the combination of the following additional elements: a device, a plurality of integer multiplier circuits, a multiplexer circuit, and output circuits. The device, the plurality of integer multiplier circuits, the multiplexer circuit, and output circuits are recited at a high level of generality, and are examples of generic computing elements, and/or merely generally linked to a particular technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(h)(vi): Limiting the abstract idea of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection analysis to data related to the electric power grid, because limiting application of the abstract idea to power-grid monitoring is simply an attempt to limit the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment). Further, it is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions using a generic computer component or merely as tools to implement the abstract idea or merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. (See MPEP2106.05(f): Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception). Taken alone or in combination, they fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2B Analysis, the additional elements recited above, taken alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed in the Step 2A Prong 2 Analysis, the claim recites limitations described above as recited at a high level of generality merely results in "apply it" on a computer (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. Since the claim does not include additional elements that, alone or in combination, amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, claim 1 is ineligible.
Claims 2 and 4 merely further limit the mathematical concepts and/or mental processes. Claims 2 and 4 do not recite any new additional elements that would necessitate analysis under Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 2 and Alice Framework Step 2B Analysis.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 1 analysis, claim 3 recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes. The claim recites Mathematical Calculations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mathematical Concepts grouping of abstract ideas, and/or recites Evaluations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas:
“wherein the plurality of integer multiplier circuits comprises:
a first set of integer multiplier circuits having a first bit size; and
a second set of integer multiplier circuits having a second bit size different from the first bit size.”
See specification ([0012], [0026], [0030], [0060-0061]) describing a first bit size and second bit size. The steps of “having a first bit size” and “having a second bit size different from the first bit size” are processes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind. That is, other than reciting “the plurality of integer multiplier circuits”, “a first set of integer multiplier circuits”, and “a second set of integer multiplier circuits”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, but for the “the plurality of integer multiplier circuits”, “a first set of integer multiplier circuits”, and “a second set of integer multiplier circuits” language, the claim encompasses manually assessing a first bit size and a second bit size different from the first, of which would be possible with aid of pen and paper, as shown in at least Fig. 4, and 5A-B and described in the above paragraphs. For these reasons, the claim recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 2 analysis, the claim recites the combination of the following additional elements: the plurality of integer multiplier circuits, a first set of integer multiplier circuits, and a second set of integer multiplier circuits. The plurality of integer multiplier circuits, a first set of integer multiplier circuits, and a second set of integer multiplier circuits are recited at a high level of generality, and are examples of generic computing elements, and/or merely generally linked to a particular technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(h)(vi): Limiting the abstract idea of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection analysis to data related to the electric power grid, because limiting application of the abstract idea to power-grid monitoring is simply an attempt to limit the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment). Further, it is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions using a generic computer component or merely as tools to implement the abstract idea or merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. (See MPEP2106.05(f): Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception). Taken alone or in combination, they fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2B Analysis, the additional elements recited above, taken alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed in the Step 2A Prong 2 Analysis, the claim recites limitations described above as recited at a high level of generality merely results in "apply it" on a computer (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. Since the claim does not include additional elements that, alone or in combination, amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, claim 3 is ineligible.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 1 analysis, claim 5 recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes. The claim recites Mathematical Calculations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mathematical Concepts grouping of abstract ideas, and/or recites Evaluations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas:
“wherein the bit size of the first set of integer multiplier circuits is eleven bits and the bit size of the second set of integer multiplier circuits is eight bits.”
See specification ([0026], [0042-0044], [0053-0054], [0060-0061]) describing a first bit size is eleven bits and second bit size is eight bits. The steps of “the bit size is eleven bits” and “the bit size is eight bits” are processes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind. That is, other than reciting “the first set of integer multiplier circuits” and “the second set of integer multiplier circuits”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, but for the “the first set of integer multiplier circuits” and “the second set of integer multiplier circuits” language, the claim encompasses manually assessing the first bit size as 11 bits and the second bit size as 8 bits, of which would be possible with aid of pen and paper, as shown in at least Fig. 4, and 5A-B and described in the above paragraphs. For these reasons, the claim recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 2 analysis, the claim recites the combination of the following additional elements: the first set of integer multiplier circuits and the second set of integer multiplier circuits. The first set of integer multiplier circuits and the second set of integer multiplier circuits are recited at a high level of generality, and are examples of generic computing elements, and/or merely generally linked to a particular technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(h)(vi): Limiting the abstract idea of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection analysis to data related to the electric power grid, because limiting application of the abstract idea to power-grid monitoring is simply an attempt to limit the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment). Further, it is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions using a generic computer component or merely as tools to implement the abstract idea or merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. (See MPEP2106.05(f): Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception). Taken alone or in combination, they fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2B Analysis, the additional elements recited above, taken alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed in the Step 2A Prong 2 Analysis, the claim recites limitations described above as recited at a high level of generality merely results in "apply it" on a computer (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. Since the claim does not include additional elements that, alone or in combination, amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, claim 5 is ineligible.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 1 analysis, claim 6 recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes. The claim recites Mathematical Calculations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mathematical Concepts grouping of abstract ideas, and/or recites Evaluations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas:
“wherein the output circuits comprise:
a first shift circuit configured to shift bits of the partial products based on the exponents of the set of first data elements and of the set of second data elements;
a first integer adder circuit configured to add the shifted partial products to generate a sum; and
a composition circuit configured to generate the output data element based on the sum generated by the first integer adder circuit.”
See specification ([0047]) describing to shift. See specification ([0048]) describing to add. See specification ([0051]) describing to generate. The steps of “to shift”, “to add” and “to generate” are processes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind. That is, other than reciting “the output circuits”, “a first shift circuit”, “a first integer adder circuit”, and “a composition circuit”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, but for the “the output circuits”, “a first shift circuit”, “a first integer adder circuit”, and “a composition circuit” language, the claim encompasses manually shifting the partial products, adding, and then outputting the result, of which would be possible with aid of pen and paper, as shown in at least Fig. 4, and 5A-B and described in the above paragraphs. For these reasons, the claim recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 2 analysis, the claim recites the combination of the following additional elements: the output circuits, the first shift circuit, the first integer adder circuit, and the composition circuit. The output circuits, the first shift circuit, the first integer adder circuit, and the composition circuit are recited at a high level of generality, and are examples of generic computing elements, and/or merely generally linked to a particular technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(h)(vi): Limiting the abstract idea of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection analysis to data related to the electric power grid, because limiting application of the abstract idea to power-grid monitoring is simply an attempt to limit the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment). Further, it is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions using a generic computer component or merely as tools to implement the abstract idea or merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. (See MPEP2106.05(f): Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception). Taken alone or in combination, they fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2B Analysis, the additional elements recited above, taken alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed in the Step 2A Prong 2 Analysis, the claim recites limitations described above as recited at a high level of generality merely results in "apply it" on a computer (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. Since the claim does not include additional elements that, alone or in combination, amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, claim 6 is ineligible.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 1 analysis, claim 7 recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes. The claim recites Mathematical Calculations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mathematical Concepts grouping of abstract ideas, and/or recites Evaluations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas:
“wherein the set of first data elements are paired with the set of second data elements, respectively, to form a plurality of data-element pairs,
wherein the device further comprises an exponent circuit configured to:
add the exponents of the first data element and the second data element for each data-element pair to generate a respective exponent sum;
determine a maximum exponent sum from the respective exponent sums;
for each data-element pair, determine a difference between the maximum exponent sum and the respective exponent sum,
wherein the first shift circuit is configured to shift the bits of the partial products based on the respective differences between the maximum exponent sum and the respective exponent sums, and
wherein the output data element is generated based on the maximum exponent sum.”
See specification ([0063]) describing to form. See specification ([0027]) describing to add. See specification ([0027]) describing to determine. See specification ([0048]) describing to shift. See specification ([0051]) describing is generated. The steps of “to form”, “to add”, “to determine”, “to shift”, and “is generated” are processes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind. That is, other than reciting “the device”, “an exponent circuit”, and “the first shift circuit”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, but for the “the device”, “an exponent circuit”, and “the first shift circuit” language, the claim encompasses manually pairing, adding exponent from the pairs, determining the largest exponent, determining the differences between the largest exponent and a respective exponent, shifting based on the difference, and then outputting the result, of which would be possible with aid of pen and paper, as shown in at least Fig. 4, and 5A-B and described in the above paragraphs. For these reasons, the claim recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 2 analysis, the claim recites the combination of the following additional elements: the device, the exponent circuit, and the first shift circuit. The exponent circuit and the first shift circuit are recited at a high level of generality, and are examples of generic computing elements, and/or merely generally linked to a particular technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(h)(vi): Limiting the abstract idea of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection analysis to data related to the electric power grid, because limiting application of the abstract idea to power-grid monitoring is simply an attempt to limit the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment). Further, it is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions using a generic computer component or merely as tools to implement the abstract idea or merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. (See MPEP2106.05(f): Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception). Taken alone or in combination, they fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2B Analysis, the additional elements recited above, taken alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed in the Step 2A Prong 2 Analysis, the claim recites limitations described above as recited at a high level of generality merely results in "apply it" on a computer (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. Since the claim does not include additional elements that, alone or in combination, amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, claim 7 is ineligible.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 1 analysis, claim 8 recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes. The claim recites Mathematical Calculations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mathematical Concepts grouping of abstract ideas, and/or recites Evaluations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas:
“a sign circuit configured to determine an output sign for each data-element pair based on sign bits of the respective first data elements and second data elements,
wherein the output circuits further comprise a conversion circuit configured to generate two's complements of the shifted partial products based on the respective output signs prior to being added by the first integer adder circuit.”
See specification ([0025], [0064]) describing to determine. See specification ([0049]) describing to generate. The steps of “to determine” and “to generate” are processes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind. That is, other than reciting “a sign circuit”, “the output circuits”, “a conversion circuit”, and “the first integer adder circuit”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, but for the “a sign circuit”, “the output circuits”, “a conversion circuit”, and “the first integer adder circuit” language, the claim encompasses manually determining an output sign, generating two’s complements, and then adding, of which would be possible with aid of pen and paper, as shown in at least Fig. 4, and 5A-B and described in the above paragraphs. For these reasons, the claim recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 2 analysis, the claim recites the combination of the following additional elements: the sign circuit, the outputs circuits, the conversion circuit, and the first integer adder circuit. The sign circuit, the outputs circuits, the conversion circuit, and the first integer adder circuit are recited at a high level of generality, and are examples of generic computing elements, and/or merely generally linked to a particular technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(h)(vi): Limiting the abstract idea of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection analysis to data related to the electric power grid, because limiting application of the abstract idea to power-grid monitoring is simply an attempt to limit the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment). Further, it is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions using a generic computer component or merely as tools to implement the abstract idea or merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. (See MPEP2106.05(f): Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception). Taken alone or in combination, they fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2B Analysis, the additional elements recited above, taken alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed in the Step 2A Prong 2 Analysis, the claim recites limitations described above as recited at a high level of generality merely results in "apply it" on a computer (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. Since the claim does not include additional elements that, alone or in combination, amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, claim 8 is ineligible.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 1 analysis, claim 9 recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes. The claim recites Mathematical Calculations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mathematical Concepts grouping of abstract ideas, and/or recites Evaluations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas:
“the composition circuit is further configured to:
convert the sum generated by the first integer adder circuit from two's complement to signed-magnitude format; and
round the converted sum to a predetermined bit length,
wherein a sign bit of the output data element is based on the converted sum, an exponent of the output data element is based on the determined maximum exponent sum, and a mantissa of the output data element is based on the rounded sum.”
See specification ([0034-0035]) describing to convert. See specification ([0036]) describing to round. See specification ([0035-0037]) describing a sign bit, exponent, and mantissa. The steps of “to convert”, “to round”, and “sign bit, exponent, and mantissa” are processes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind. That is, other than reciting “the composition circuit” and “the first integer adder circuit”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, but for the “the composition circuit” and “the first integer adder circuit” language, the claim encompasses manually converting to signed-magnitude, rounding, and basing the sign bit based on the converted sum, exponent based on the largest exponent sum, and mantissa based on the rounded sum, of which would be possible with aid of pen and paper, as shown in at least Fig. 4, and 5A-B and described in the above paragraphs. For these reasons, the claim recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 2 analysis, the claim recites the combination of the following additional elements: the composition circuit and the first integer adder circuit. The composition circuit and the first integer adder circuit are recited at a high level of generality, and are examples of generic computing elements, and/or merely generally linked to a particular technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(h)(vi): Limiting the abstract idea of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection analysis to data related to the electric power grid, because limiting application of the abstract idea to power-grid monitoring is simply an attempt to limit the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment). Further, it is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions using a generic computer component or merely as tools to implement the abstract idea or merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. (See MPEP2106.05(f): Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception). Taken alone or in combination, they fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2B Analysis, the additional elements recited above, taken alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed in the Step 2A Prong 2 Analysis, the claim recites limitations described above as recited at a high level of generality merely results in "apply it" on a computer (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. Since the claim does not include additional elements that, alone or in combination, amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, claim 9 is ineligible.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 1 analysis, claim 10 recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes. The claim recites Mathematical Calculations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mathematical Concepts grouping of abstract ideas, and/or recites Evaluations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas:
“the composition circuit is further configured to:
normalize the rounded sum; and
adjust the maximum exponent sum based on the normalization,
wherein the exponent of the output data element is based on the adjusted maximum exponent sum and the mantissa of the output data element is based on the normalized sum.”
See specification ([0036]) describing to normalize. See specification ([0037], [0066]) describing to adjust. See specification ([0027], [0037]) describing the exponent. The steps of “to normalize”, “to adjust”, and “exponent” are processes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind. That is, other than reciting “the composition circuit”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, but for the “the composition circuit” language, the claim encompasses manually normalizing, adjusting based on the normalization, and basing the exponent on the adjusted and normalized values, of which would be possible with aid of pen and paper, as shown in at least Fig. 4, and 5A-B and described in the above paragraphs. For these reasons, the claim recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 2 analysis, the claim recites the combination of the following additional elements: the composition circuit and the first integer adder circuit. The composition circuit and the first integer adder circuit are recited at a high level of generality, and are examples of generic computing elements, and/or merely generally linked to a particular technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(h)(vi): Limiting the abstract idea of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection analysis to data related to the electric power grid, because limiting application of the abstract idea to power-grid monitoring is simply an attempt to limit the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment). Further, it is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions using a generic computer component or merely as tools to implement the abstract idea or merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. (See MPEP2106.05(f): Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception). Taken alone or in combination, they fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2B Analysis, the additional elements recited above, taken alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed in the Step 2A Prong 2 Analysis, the claim recites limitations described above as recited at a high level of generality merely results in "apply it" on a computer (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. Since the claim does not include additional elements that, alone or in combination, amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, claim 10 is ineligible.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 1 analysis, claim 11 recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes. The claim recites Mathematical Calculations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mathematical Concepts grouping of abstract ideas, and/or recites Evaluations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas:
“the multiplexer circuit is further configured to:
provide different combinations of the portions of the mantissas of the set of first data elements and of the set of second data elements to the plurality of integer multiplier circuits during different respective cycles of the device.”
See specification ([0022], [0051]) describing to provide. The step of “to provide” is a process that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind. That is, other than reciting “the multiplexer circuit”, “the plurality of integer multiplier circuits”, and “different respective cycles of the device”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, but for the “the multiplexer circuit”, “the plurality of integer multiplier circuits”, and “different respective cycles of the device” language, the claim encompasses manually providing the different combinations, of which would be possible with aid of pen and paper, as shown in at least Fig. 4, and 5A-B and described in the above paragraphs. For these reasons, the claim recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 2 analysis, the claim recites the combination of the following additional elements: the multiplexer circuit, the plurality of integer multiplier circuits, and different respective cycles of the device. The multiplexer circuit and plurality of integer multiplier circuit are recited at a high level of generality, and are examples of generic computing elements, and/or merely generally linked to a particular technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(h)(vi): Limiting the abstract idea of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection analysis to data related to the electric power grid, because limiting application of the abstract idea to power-grid monitoring is simply an attempt to limit the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment). Further, it is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions using a generic computer component or merely as tools to implement the abstract idea or merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. (See MPEP2106.05(f): Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception). The “different respective cycles of the device” limitation is an example of insignificant extra-solution activity, mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g): Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity). Taken alone or in combination, they fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2B Analysis, the additional elements recited above, taken alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed in the Step 2A Prong 2 Analysis, the claim recites limitations described above as recited at a high level of generality merely results in "apply it" on a computer (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. The limitation described above as an insignificant extra-solution activity are also well-understood, routine, or conventional (for ‘cycles’: see Patterson, David A., and John L. Hennessy. Computer Organization and Design: The Hardware/Software Interface (5th Edition). Morgan Kaufmann, 2013. (hereinafter “Patterson”), p. 33-38). Since the claim does not include additional elements that, alone or in combination, amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, claim 11 is ineligible.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 1 analysis, claim 12 recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes. The claim recites Mathematical Calculations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mathematical Concepts grouping of abstract ideas, and/or recites Evaluations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas:
“a second shift circuit configured to shift bits of the partial products generated by the different respective integer multiplier circuits based on a bit position of the portion of the mantissa of the first data element multiplied to generate the respective partial products; and
a second integer adder circuit configured to add the shifted partial products corresponding to each of the first data elements to generate respective partial sums,
wherein the first shift circuit is configured to shift the bits of the partial sums based on the determined difference between the maximum exponent sum and the respective exponent sum of the corresponding data-element pair,
wherein the conversion circuit is configured to generate two's complements of the shifted partial sums, and
wherein the first integer adder circuit is configured to add the shifted partial sums to generate the sum.”
See specification ([0047]) describing to shift. See specification ([0048]) describing to add. See specification ([0048]) describing to shift. See specification ([0049]) describing to generate. See specification ([0049]) describing to add. The steps of “to shift”, “to add”, “to shift”, “to generate”, and “to add” are processes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind. That is, other than reciting “a second shift circuit”, “a second integer adder”, “the first shift circuit”, “the conversion circuit”, and “the first integer adder circuit”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, but for the “a second shift circuit”, “a second integer adder”, “the first shift circuit”, “the conversion circuit”, and “the first integer adder circuit” language, the claim encompasses manually shifting bits, adding the shifted bits, shifting based on the differences of the exponents, converting to two’s complement, and adding to generate the sum, of which would be possible with aid of pen and paper, as shown in at least Fig. 4, and 5A-B and described in the above paragraphs. For these reasons, the claim recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 2 analysis, the claim recites the combination of the following additional elements: the second shift circuit, the second integer adder, the first shift circuit, the conversion circuit, and the first integer adder circuit. The second shift circuit, the second integer adder, the first shift circuit, the conversion circuit, and the first integer adder circuit are recited at a high level of generality, and are examples of generic computing elements, and/or merely generally linked to a particular technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(h)(vi): Limiting the abstract idea of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection analysis to data related to the electric power grid, because limiting application of the abstract idea to power-grid monitoring is simply an attempt to limit the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment). Further, it is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions using a generic computer component or merely as tools to implement the abstract idea or merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. (See MPEP2106.05(f): Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception). Taken alone or in combination, they fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2B Analysis, the additional elements recited above, taken alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed in the Step 2A Prong 2 Analysis, the claim recites limitations described above as recited at a high level of generality merely results in "apply it" on a computer (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. Since the claim does not include additional elements that, alone or in combination, amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, claim 12 is ineligible.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 1 analysis, claim 13 recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes. The claim recites Mathematical Calculations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mathematical Concepts grouping of abstract ideas, and/or recites Evaluations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas:
“the output circuits further comprise:
a third shift circuit configured to shift bits of the sum generated by the first integer adder circuit based on a cycle count of the device,
wherein the composition circuit generates the output data element based on the shifted sum.”
See specification ([0022], [0051]) describing to shift. See specification ([0022], [0051]) describing generates. The steps of “to shift” and “generates” are processes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind. That is, other than reciting “the output circuits”, “a third shift circuit”, “the first integer adder circuit”, “based on a cycle count of the device”, and “the composition circuit”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, but for the “the output circuits”, “a third shift circuit”, “the first integer adder circuit”, “based on a cycle count of the device”, and “the composition circuit”, language, the claim encompasses manually shifting the sum and then output the value based on the shifted value, of which would be possible with aid of pen and paper, as shown in at least Fig. 4, and 5A-B and described in the above paragraphs. For these reasons, the claim recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 2 analysis, the claim recites the combination of the following additional elements: the output circuits, a third shift circuit, the first integer adder circuit, based on a cycle count of the device, and the composition circuit. The output circuits, a third shift circuit, the first integer adder circuit, and the composition circuit are recited at a high level of generality, and are examples of generic computing elements, and/or merely generally linked to a particular technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(h)(vi): Limiting the abstract idea of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection analysis to data related to the electric power grid, because limiting application of the abstract idea to power-grid monitoring is simply an attempt to limit the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment). Further, it is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions using a generic computer component or merely as tools to implement the abstract idea or merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. (See MPEP2106.05(f): Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception). The “based on a cycle count of the device” limitation is an example of insignificant extra-solution activity, mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g): Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity). Taken alone or in combination, they fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2B Analysis, the additional elements recited above, taken alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed in the Step 2A Prong 2 Analysis, the claim recites limitations described above as recited at a high level of generality merely results in "apply it" on a computer (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. The limitation described above as an insignificant extra-solution activity are also well-understood, routine, or conventional (for ‘cycle count’: see Patterson, p. 34-37). Since the claim does not include additional elements that, alone or in combination, amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, claim 13 is ineligible.
Claim 14 is directed to a device that performs similar limitations to claim 1. The claim 1 analysis similarly applies to claim 14. Additionally, claim 14 recites the following: each integer multiplier circuit is provided a different pair of portions of mantissa, wherein the pairs of portions of the mantissas do not include a pair comprising a least-significant portion of a mantissa of the set of first data elements and a least-significant portion of a mantissa of the set of second data elements.
Under the Alice Framework Step 1 analysis, the claim falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter: an apparatus.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 1 analysis, claim 14 recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes. The claim recites Mathematical Calculations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mathematical Concepts grouping of abstract ideas, and/or recites Evaluations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas:
“each integer multiplier circuit is provided a different pair of portions of mantissa, wherein the pairs of portions of the mantissas do not include a pair comprising a least-significant portion of a mantissa of the set of first data elements and a least-significant portion of a mantissa of the set of second data elements.”
See specification ([0045], [0055], [0068]) describing to provide. The step of “to provide” is a process that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind. That is, other than reciting “integer multiplier circuit”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, but for the “ the integer multiplier circuits” language, the claim encompasses manually providing portions of the data by excluding specific portions, of which would be possible with aid of pen and paper, as shown in at least Fig. 4, and 5A-B and described in the above paragraphs. For these reasons, the claim recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 2 analysis, the claim recites the combination of the following additional elements: integer multiplier circuits. The integer multiplier circuits are recited at a high level of generality, and are examples of generic computing elements, and/or merely generally linked to a particular technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(h)(vi): Limiting the abstract idea of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection analysis to data related to the electric power grid, because limiting application of the abstract idea to power-grid monitoring is simply an attempt to limit the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment). Further, it is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions using a generic computer component or merely as tools to implement the abstract idea or merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. (See MPEP2106.05(f): Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception). Taken alone or in combination, they fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2B Analysis, the additional elements recited above, taken alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed in the Step 2A Prong 2 Analysis, the claim recites limitations described above as recited at a high level of generality merely results in "apply it" on a computer (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. Since the claim does not include additional elements that, alone or in combination, amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, claim 14 is ineligible.
Claims 15-17 recites similar limitations to those of claims 2-5. The claims 2, 3, 4-5 analysis similarly applies to claims 15, 16, 17, respectively. Claims 15-17 are similarly rejected.
Claim 18 is directed to a device that performs similar limitations to claim 1. The claim 1 analysis similarly applies to claim 18. Additionally, claim 18 recites the following: a controller circuit; an accumulator circuit; and a plurality of multiplication and accumulation (MAC) cells, wherein each of the plurality of MAC cells comprises: input circuits configured to receive; and output circuits provide the output data element to the accumulator circuit, wherein the accumulator circuit is configured to accumulate the output data elements generated by the plurality of MAC cells to generate an output tensor.
Under the Alice Framework Step 1 analysis, the claim falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter: an apparatus.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 1 analysis, claim 18 recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes. The claim recites Mathematical Calculations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mathematical Concepts grouping of abstract ideas, and/or recites Evaluations, which is specifically identified as an exemplar in the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas:
“a controller circuit; an accumulator circuit; and a plurality of multiplication and accumulation (MAC) cells, wherein each of the plurality of MAC cells comprises: input circuits configured to receive; and output circuits provide the output data element to the accumulator circuit, wherein the accumulator circuit is configured to accumulate the output data elements generated by the plurality of MAC cells to generate an output tensor.”
See specification ([0022], [0039-0041], [0071]) describing to accumulate. The step of “to accumulate” is a process that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind. That is, other than reciting “a controller circuit”, “an accumulation circuit”, “a plurality of multiplication and accumulation (MAC) cells”, “input circuits configured to receive”, and “output circuits provide the output data element”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, but for the “a controller circuit”, “an accumulation circuit”, “a plurality of multiplication and accumulation (MAC) cells”, “input circuits configured to receive”, and “output circuits provide the output data element” language, the claim encompasses manually accumulating the output data elements to generate an output tensor, of which would be possible with aid of pen and paper, as shown in at least Fig. 4, and 5A-B and described in the above paragraphs. For these reasons, the claim recites Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2A Prong 2 analysis, the claim recites the combination of the following additional elements: a controller circuit, an accumulation circuit, a plurality of multiplication and accumulation (MAC) cells, input circuits configured to receive, and output circuits provide the output data element. The controller circuit, the accumulation circuit, the plurality of multiplication and accumulation (MAC) cells, input circuits, and output circuits are recited at a high level of generality, and are examples of generic computing elements, and/or merely generally linked to a particular technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(h)(vi): Limiting the abstract idea of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection analysis to data related to the electric power grid, because limiting application of the abstract idea to power-grid monitoring is simply an attempt to limit the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment). Further, it is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions using a generic computer component or merely as tools to implement the abstract idea or merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. (See MPEP2106.05(f): Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception). The receiving and providing the output data limitations are examples of insignificant extra-solution activity, mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g): Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity). Taken alone or in combination, they fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Under the Alice Framework Step 2B Analysis, the additional elements recited above, taken alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed in the Step 2A Prong 2 Analysis, the claim recites limitations described above as recited at a high level of generality merely results in "apply it" on a computer (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. The limitation described above as an insignificant extra-solution activity are also well-understood, routine, or conventional (for ‘receiving’ and ‘providing’: see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II): Storing and retrieving information in memory). Since the claim does not include additional elements that, alone or in combination, amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, claim 18 is ineligible.
Claims 19-20 recites similar limitations to those of claims 2, 4-5. The claims 2, 4-5 analysis similarly applies to claims 19 and 20, respectively. Claims 19-20 are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 14-15, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20210263993 A1 Urbanski et al. (hereinafter “Urbanski”).
Regarding claim 1, Urbanski teaches a device (Fig. 13A-C “1300” [0124]), comprising:
a plurality of integer multiplier circuits (Fig. 13A-B “1334” and other unnumbered multipliers [0132]);
a multiplexer circuit (Fig. 13A-B “1330, 1332” and other unnumbered muxes [0132]) configured to provide portions of mantissas of a set of first data elements having a floating-point data type (Fig. 13A-B “1308” mant. A[0]:A[n] of vector A [0127]) and portions of mantissas of a set of second data elements having the floating-point data type (Fig. 13A-B “1324” mant. B[0]:B[n] of vector B [0127, 0132]) to respective integer multiplier circuits of the plurality of integer multiplier circuits (Fig. 13A-B “1334” multipliers corresponding to “1308” mant. A[0] and “1324” mant. B[0] [0129]), wherein each integer multiplier circuit is configured to multiply a respective portion of the mantissa of a first data element by a respective portion of the mantissa of a second data element ([0131-0132]) to generate a partial product (Fig. 13A-B outputs from “1334” and other unnumbered multipliers [0132] products from each multipliers); and
output circuits (Fig. 13A-C the circuitry following multiplier, and before accumulator “1336, 1342, 1346, 1353, 1351, 1355A, 1357” [0132, 0135, 0138]) configured to generate an output data element (Fig. 13C “1359” [0135]) based on the partial products generated by the plurality of integer multiplier circuits (Fig. 13A-B outputs from “1334” and other unnumbered multipliers [0132] products from each multipliers) and exponents of the set of first data elements (Fig. 13A-B “1314” [0127]) and of the set of second data elements (Fig. 13A-B “1316” [0132]),
wherein the multiplexer circuit is further configured to bypass providing least-significant portions of the mantissas of the set of first data elements (Fig. 13A-B mant. A[n] [0127-0129]) to integer multiplier circuits of the plurality of integer multiplier circuits for multiplication (Fig. 13A-B “1334” and other unnumbered multipliers [0132]) with least-significant portions of the mantissas of the set of second data elements (Fig. 13A-B mant. B[n] [0127-0129]).
Regarding claim 2, the teachings addressed in the claim 1 analysis and rejection
are incorporated, and Urbanski teaches wherein:
a mantissa bit size of the floating-point data type is twenty-four bits ([0124] using the logic given for the 32-bit example (N=32), (N=24) since N can be any value between 0 to N and given the example is 32 is inclusive of N=11 [0129]), and
wherein the portions of the mantissas provided to the plurality of integer multiplier circuits (see claim 1 mapping) comprise the least-significant portions each including eight bits from eight least-significant bit positions of the respective mantissas ([0124] 16-23 element positions input to 1301C), middle portions each including eight bits from eight middle-bit positions of the respective mantissas ([0124] 8-15 element positions input to 1301B), and most-significant portions each including eight bits from eight most-significant bit positions of the respective mantissas ([0124] 0-7 element positions input to 1301A).
Regarding claim 6, the teachings addressed in the claim 1 analysis and rejection
are incorporated, and Urbanski teaches wherein:
the output circuits (see claim 1 mapping) comprise:
a first shift circuit (Fig. 13A-B “1336” [0132-0133]) configured to shift bits of the partial products based on the exponents of the set of first data elements and of the set of second data elements ([0132-0133] shifted based on max exponent “1341” based on exponents “1314” [0127] and “1316” [0132]);
a first integer adder circuit (Fig. 13A-B “1346” [0138]) configured to add the shifted partial products to generate a sum (Fig. 13A-B “1347A-Z” [0138] [0143] single product); and
a composition circuit (Fig. 13C “1303” [0143, 0146]) configured to generate the output data element (Fig. 13C “1359” [0135]) based on the sum generated by the first integer adder circuit ([0143, 0146]).
Regarding claim 7, the teachings addressed in the claim 6 analysis and rejection
are incorporated, and Urbanski teaches wherein:
the set of first data elements are paired with the set of second data elements, respectively, to form a plurality of data-element pairs ([0132]),
wherein the device further comprises an exponent circuit (Fig. 13A-C “1338, 1340, 1353, 1363” [0132], [0135]) configured to:
add the exponents of the first data element and the second data element for each data-element pair to generate a respective exponent sum (Fig. 13A-B “1338” [0132]);
determine a maximum exponent sum from the respective exponent sums (Fig. 13A-B “1341” output from “1340” [0132]); and for each data-element pair, determine a difference between the maximum exponent sum and the respective exponent sum (Fig. 13A-B “1340” [0132], [0134], [0141] comparator circuit),
wherein the first shift circuit is configured to shift the bits of the partial products based on the respective differences between the maximum exponent sum and the respective exponent sums (Fig. 13A-B “1341” to shift registers “1336” [0132]), and wherein the output data element (Fig. 13C “1359” [0135]) is generated based on the maximum exponent sum (Fig. 13A-B “1341” [0132], “1353” [0135]; Fig. 13C “1363” [0135]).
Regarding claim 8, the teachings addressed in the claim 7 analysis and rejection
are incorporated, and Urbanski teaches further comprising:
a sign circuit (Fig. 13A-B “1344” [0134]) configured to determine an output sign (Fig. 13A-B output from “1344” [0134]) for each data-element pair based on sign bits of the respective first data elements (Fig. 13A-B “1326” [0134]) and second data elements (Fig. 13A-B “1328” [0134]),
wherein the output circuits further comprise a conversion circuit (Fig. 13A-B “1342” [0142]) configured to generate two's complements of the shifted partial products based on the respective output signs ([0132]) prior to being added by the first integer adder circuit (Fig. 13A-B “1342” before “1346” [0138]).
Claim 14 recites similar limitations to claim 1. The claim 1 analysis similarly applies, and additionally in claim 14, Urbanski teaches: each integer multiplier circuit is provided a different pair of portions of mantissa (Fig. 13A-B “1308, 1324” mant. A[0] and mant. B[0] [0141]), wherein the pairs of portions of the mantissas do not include a pair comprising a least-significant portion of a mantissa of the set of first data elements (Fig. 13A-B pair “1308, 1324” does not include mant. A[n] [0141]) and a least-significant portion of a mantissa of the set of second data elements (Fig. 13A-B pair “1308, 1324” does not include mant. B[n] [0141]).
Claim 15 recites similar limitations to claim 2. The claim 2 analysis similarly applies, and claim 15 is similarly rejected.
Claim 18 recites similar limitations to claim 1. The claim 1 analysis similarly applies, and additionally in claim 18, Urbanski teaches: a controller circuit (Fig. 13A-B “1306” [0129]); an accumulator circuit (Fig. 13C “1310” [0144]); and a plurality of multiplication and accumulation (MAC) cells (Fig. 13A-C “1301A-1301Z, 1303, 1310” [0129]; Fig. 16 “1604” [0194]), wherein each of the plurality of MAC cells comprises: input circuits configured to receive (Fig. 13A-B “1301A-1301Z” [0124]); and output circuits (Fig. 13A-C the circuitry following multiplier, and before accumulator “1336, 1342, 1346, 1353, 1351, 1355A, 1357” [0132, 0135, 0138) provide the output data element (Fig. 13C “1359” [0135]) to the accumulator circuit (Fig. 13C “1359” to “1310” [0135]), wherein the accumulator circuit is configured to accumulate the output data elements generated by the plurality of MAC cells (Fig. 13 C “1310” [0144-0145]) to generate an output tensor ([0044], [0127], [0139-0141] Flexpoint).
Claim 19 recites similar limitations to claim 2. The claim 2 analysis similarly applies, and claim 19 is similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 16-17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urbanski as applied to claims 1, 14, 18 above, and further in view of US 20180157961 A1 Henry et al. (hereinafter “Henry”).
Regarding claim 3, the teachings addressed in the claim 1 analysis and rejection
are incorporated, and Urbanski discloses wherein:
the plurality of integer multiplier circuits (see claim 1 mapping).
Although Urbanski discloses the plurality of integer multiplier circuits, they appear to be silent to disclosing a first set of integer multiplier circuits having a first bit size; and a second set of integer multiplier circuits having a second bit size different from the first bit size.
Henry discloses a first set of integer multiplier circuits having a first bit size (Fig. 18 “242A” [0178] 16 bits); and
a second set of integer multiplier circuits having a second bit size different from the first bit size (Fig. 18 “242B” [0178] 8 bits).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Urbanski’s accelerator circuitry with Henry’s integer multiplier circuitry and sizing because they are in the claimed invention’s same field of endeavor of multiply-accumulate architecture ([abstract]). Modifying with Henry’s integer multiplier circuitry and sizing purport improvements via its flexibility for the programmer ([0200]), and therefore improves the efficiency of calculations by modeling the amount of precision needed by the particular application ([0200]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure Urbanski’s accelerator circuitry with Henry’s integer multiplier circuitry and sizing as doing so would have been beneficial.
Regarding claim 4, the teachings addressed in the claim 3 analysis and rejection
are incorporated, and Urbanski discloses wherein:
a mantissa bit size of the floating-point data type is eleven bits ([0124] using the logic given for the 32-bit example (N=32), (N=11) since N can be any value between 0 to N and given the example is 32 is inclusive of N=11 [0129]), and
wherein the portions of the mantissas provided to the plurality of integer multiplier circuits (see claim 1 mapping) comprises the least-significant portions each including three bits from three least- significant bit positions of the respective mantissas ([0124] 8-15 element positions input to 1301B where only 8, 9, and 10 are utilized given N=11), most-significant portions each including eight bits from eight most-significant bit positions of the respective mantissas ([0124] 0-7 element positions input to 1301A), and complete portions comprising all eleven bits of the respective mantissas ([0124], [0129] N=11).
Regarding claim 5, the teachings addressed in the claim 4 analysis and rejection
are incorporated. Urbanski is silent with disclosing the bit size of the first set of integer multiplier circuits is eleven bits and the bit size of the second set of integer multiplier circuits is eight bits.
Henry discloses the bit size of the first set of integer multiplier circuits is eleven bits (Fig. 18 “242A” [0178] 16 bits, which is at least 11 bits and effectively is 11 when 5 bits are not utilized in multiplication) and the bit size of the second set of integer multiplier circuits is eight bits (Fig. 18 “242B” [0178] 8 bits).
The motivation to modify provided with respect to claim 3 similarly applies.
Claims 16-17 recite similar limitations to claims 3-5. The claims 3 and 4-5 analysis similarly applies to claims 16 and 17 respectively, and claims 16-17 are similarly rejected.
Claim 20 recites similar limitations to claims 4-5. The claims 4-5 analysis similarly applies to claim 20 respectively, and claim 20 is similarly rejected.
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urbanski as applied to claims 1, 14, 18 above, and further in view of US 20200026494 A1 Langhammer et al. (hereinafter “Langhammer”) in view of Patterson.
Regarding claim 9, the teachings addressed in the claim 8 analysis and rejection
are incorporated, and Urbanski discloses wherein:
the composition circuit is configured (see claim 6 mapping), the sum generated by the first integer adder circuit from two's complement (see claim 6 mapping), and the output data element is based on the determined maximum exponent sum (see claim 7 mapping).
Urbanski appears to be silent with disclosing:
convert the sum generated by the first integer adder circuit from two's complement to signed-magnitude format; and round the converted sum to a predetermined bit length, wherein a sign bit of the output data element is based on the converted sum, an exponent, and a mantissa of the output data element is based on the rounded sum.
Langhammer discloses:
convert the sum generated by the first integer adder circuit from two's complement to signed-magnitude format (Fig. 7A “718” [0062], [0065]); and
round the converted sum to a predetermined bit length (Fig. 7A “724” [0062], [0065-0066]), wherein a sign bit (Fig. 7A output of “728” [0062], [0066]) of the output data element is based on the converted sum (Fig. 7A final floating-point containing “Ss” in relation to “Ms” of which was converted in “718” [0061]), an exponent (Fig. 7A output of “726” [0062], [0066]), and a mantissa (Fig. 7A output of “724” [0062], [0065-0066]) of the output data element is based on the rounded sum (Fig. 7A “724” [0065-0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Urbanski’s accelerator circuitry with Langhammer’s converting, rounding, and sign/exponent/mantissa features because they are in the claimed invention’s same field of endeavor of multiply-accumulate architecture ([0038]). Modifying with Langhammer’s converting, rounding, and sign/exponent/mantissa features would have yielded predictable functionality as the features are derived from the classical implementation and architecture of adders, thus making them known techniques in the art ([0004], [0061, 0068]). Further, converting (see Patterson, p. 75, 199-200) and rounding (see Patterson, p. 205) are common operations utilized in floating-point adders, and floating-point formats are known in the art (see Patterson, p. 197-198). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure Urbanski’s accelerator circuitry with Langhammer’s features as they are well known in the art corresponding with adder architectures, doing so would have been yielded predictable functionality of performing the converting and rounding features and basing in floating point format (sign, exponent, mantissa).
Regarding claim 10, the teachings addressed in the claim 9 analysis and rejection
are incorporated, and Urbanski discloses wherein:
the composition circuit (see claim 6 mapping), the maximum exponent sum (see claim 7 mapping), and the output data element (see claim 1 mapping).
Urbanski appears to be silent with disclosing:
normalize the rounded sum; and
adjust the maximum exponent sum based on the normalization,
wherein the exponent of the output data element is based on the adjusted maximum exponent sum and the mantissa of the output data element is based on the normalized sum.
Langhammer discloses: normalize the rounded sum (Fig. 7A “722” [0062, 0065]); and
adjust the maximum exponent sum based on the normalization (Fig. 7A “726” receives output from “724” post normalization and rounding [0066]),
wherein the exponent of the output data element is based on the adjusted maximum exponent sum (Fig. 7A “726” receives output from “724” post normalization and rounding and further outputs “Es” [0066]) and the mantissa of the output data element is based on the normalized sum (Fig. 7A “724” receives output from “722” and further outputs “Ms” [0065-0066]).
Langhammer discloses normalization before rounding, however, it would have been obvious to modify the order of these operations and thus functionality of the values processed it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Further, Langhammer discloses configuring the circuitry in such a way would be recognized by one skilled in the art ([0024], [0155]).
The motivation to modify provided with respect to claim 9 similarly applies.
Regarding claim 11, the teachings addressed in the claim 10 analysis and rejection are incorporated, and Urbanski discloses wherein:
the multiplexer circuit (see claim 1 mapping) is further configured to:
provide different combinations of the portions of the mantissas of the set of first data elements and of the set of second data elements ([0124]) to the plurality of integer multiplier circuits (Fig. 13A-B “1334” and other unnumbered multipliers [0132]) of the device (see claim 1 mapping).
Urbanski appears to be silent with disclosing during different respective cycles.
Langhammer discloses during different respective cycles ([0042], [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Urbanski’s accelerator circuitry with Langhammer’s cycle features because they are in the claimed invention’s same field of endeavor of multiply-accumulate architecture ([0038]). Modifying with Langhammer’s cycle features would have yielded predictable functionality as the features are derived from clock-based architecture ([0042], [0050]). Further, clock-based architectures are commonly utilized, are known in the art, and are used to assess performance of devices and algorithms (see Patterson, p. 33, 36). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure Urbanski’s accelerator circuitry with Langhammer’s cycles features as they are well known in the art corresponding with clock-based architectures, doing so would have been yielded predictable functionality of performing based on clock cycles.
Regarding claim 12, the teachings addressed in the claim 11 analysis and rejection are incorporated, and Urbanski discloses further comprising:
a second shift circuit (Fig. 13C “1355A-Z” [0135]) configured to shift bits of the partial products generated by the different respective integer multiplier circuits (Fig. 13A-B “1334” and other unnumbered multipliers [0132]) based on a bit position of the portion of the mantissa of the first data element multiplied to generate the respective partial products ([0138], [0143]); and
a second integer adder circuit (Fig. 13C “1357” [0135]) configured to add the shifted partial products corresponding to each of the first data elements to generate respective partial sums (Fig. 13C first outputs from top row of adders in “1357” [0138], [0143]),
wherein the first shift circuit (Fig. 13A-B “1336” [0132-0133]) is configured to shift the bits of the partial sums based on the determined difference between the maximum exponent sum and the respective exponent sum of the corresponding data-element pair (Fig. 13A-B “1341” to shift registers “1336” [0132]),
wherein the conversion circuit (Fig. 13A-B “1342” [0142]) is configured to generate two's complements of the shifted partial sums ([0132]), and
wherein the first integer adder circuit (Fig. 13A-B “1346” [0138]) is configured to add the shifted partial sums to generate the sum (Fig. 13A-B “1347A-Z” [0138] [0143] single product).
Regarding claim 13, the teachings addressed in the claim 12 analysis and rejection are incorporated, and Urbanski discloses wherein:
the output circuits (see claim 1 mapping) further comprise:
a third shift circuit (Fig. 13C “1366” [0145]) configured to shift bits ([0146]) of the sum generated by the first integer adder circuit (Fig. 13A-B “1346” [0138]) based on the device (see claim 1 mapping), wherein the composition circuit (see claim 6 mapping) generates the output data element (Fig. 13C “1359” [0135]) based on the shifted sum (Fig. 13C “1359” shifted with accumulated value “1358” output [0145-0146]).
Urbanski appears to be silent with disclosing a cycle count.
Langhammer disclose a cycle count (Fig. 5A “Cycle” #1-23 [0042], [0050]).
The motivation to combine provided with respect to claim 11 similarly applies.
Conclusion
/MARKUS ANTHONY VILLANUEVA/
Examiner, Art Unit 2151
/James Trujillo/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2151